Spartanburg, SC 
Pipeline DGC Share
Uploaded By: ToddL Hole #1 (Taken 5/2015)
3 / 303ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Great course. Will be on the rotation.

2-4    8/4/2017   8/20/2017
Review By: DylanLJolley
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Different hole designs. Not repetitive. Requires different shots.

Challenging but so fun that its okay.

Thick woods at times but didn't lose a disc.

Not hard to navigate or walk.

Offers two of the most unique holes i've ever played.

Cons: Some par 3's should be 4's. IMO One hole it would take the most beautiful S curve to get the disc to navigate the trees to even get close to a par. (But again, unique challenging holes so it was fun)

Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed playing here and will be back for sure.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Pretty good

1    4/26/2017   4/26/2017
Review By: acekingking
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: Had some good variety of holes.
Mostly wooded with some open
Cons: Some thick parts along the course that could be cut down some
At the time I played, the grass was really high
Other Thoughts: Nice wooded course. Really need to hit your lines.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Excellent & Unique

1    11/1/2016   11/8/2016
Review By: Polecat-Meow
Played: 44  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 6.3 Years
This review was updated on 3/2/2017
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course has a very one-of-a-kind feel
-Lots of Elevation
-Challenging but still gettable, type of course you really need to throw a few times before you'll know what disc is best (couple tunnel shots into fields with tough to read breezes)
-Really nice setting, very beautiful spot overall
-I like the boxes and pin placements a lot
-every whole feels unique
-easy to find course
-two practice baskets to throw between
-plenty of trash cans and benches
Cons: -Some of the signs are misleading in terms of pin placements so we had to scope out pin location carefully, I think we threw to the 15 basket on hole 10 because of this and had to start over
-layout brings you back on top of some other holes, necessary to play quickly I guess and maximize the space
Other Thoughts: Really interesting tee pads, I liked them a lot. I can't wait to play this course again, what a gem.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Full of Surprises

1    6/11/2016   6/18/2016
Review By: BrotherDave
Played: 146  Reviewed: 143  Exp: 10.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Finding Pipeline DGC is kind of like finding that hip dive bar whose location is kept somewhat hidden to keep out all the tourists and yobbos. You know the kind, in the seedier part of town, down the dimly lit alleyway, past the sedated monkey riding the tricycle and down into the cellar guarded by a Duck Dynasty reject. When we arrived at the park, we pulled up to the park's main entrance, you know, like normal people. Nope, no course there. Keep driving up the hill, past the ball fields and down the rough driveway into the back corner of what looks like a maintenance area. Park at the gravel lot in front of some pipeline related utility area and you're there. You know you're there b/c there are two (2!) practice baskets and a disc golf sign near the picnic table. Walk past the fence and the hidden gem is revealed.

Boring necessary stuff: Tees are those rubber doodads with the gravel in them, installed well but meh. Signage is informative, yippee. Baskets are shiny and heavy chained Discatchers. Transitioning from hole to hole is a snap. The course is no mountain hike but there are some laboring treks on occasion. A few benches sprinkled here and there if memory serves.

Mostly wooded with a quarter or so open bomber holes. The woods are fairly tight on occasion but generally a good width. These holes can be pretty tough if you can't throw lasers off the tee and many are dubiously lengthened out of plausible birdie range. The open holes utilize the pipeline run and they are pretty cool and nice respites from the lumberjacking. Seriously good use of elevation as fun downhill holes are plentiful and at times extreme.

Cons: In lieu of cons I'm doing a brief hole-by-hole:

Hole 1 has a lot of trash and brush piles between the gap and the pipeline, plus noobs could flip one over the fence. Otherwise, good hole playing open to wooded with a fast green.

Hole 2 is the starter hole a hole too late. One splitter tree(s) early to force an anny or hyzer on an otherwise open, shorter hole. Solid.

Hole 3 is great; 500'+ slightly downhill par 4 down the pipeline. Nice rolling terrain.

Hole 4 is a short, tightly wooded gauntlet over a valley. Mid/putter laser time.

Hole 5 is a really nice looking gentle turnover/forehand. Good, solid hole.

Hole 6 is kind of a shorter, more downhill version of the previous hole, except more of a forehand since the basket is hooked around the corner a bit more and the approach is guarded well. The only thing that bothers me about this hole is it's got a touch of classic Schwarz "hump" hole going on with your drive annoyingly obscured by a slight rise in the ground. Hopefully the trees between the basket and the tee as the crow flies aren't trampled and destroyed over time, otherwise this hole may lose a lot of difficulty.

Hole 7 is a "do everything possible just to make par" par 3. You're not reaching the green off the tee unless you have a sweeping hyzer to late flip to turnover to roller for good measure in your toolkit. Tight wooded tunnel all the way lined with tree jail. IMO it's a par 4 shaped fairway with a par 3 distance. I'm not crazy about it.

Hole 8 feels like a par 3.5 hole. Straight through the woods again for 350' with a little uphill green. Most can probably reach the green off the tee with a fast driver but the width of the fairway and the thick rough makes that a very risky proposition if you can't throw this far on a very controlled throw.

Hole 9 is a sweeping hyzer slightly downhill thru the woods again. There's a gap ~100' off the tee with splitter trees at the bend. Rewards luck more than skill as you have a good birdie chance if you avoid the random trees.

Hole 10 gives mere mortals a chance to get a birdie again. Long, downhill thru a tight wooded tunnel again but a doable par 4. Why the similarly tight, long and occasionally uphill holes 7 and 8 are par 3 whilst this is a par 4 is kind of a head scratcher but if you can float a disc long and straight you'll love this hole. Michael Johansen would get a boner thinking about ripping the Comet down this fairway. The basket's approach is neat with a high and low road scenario.

Hole 11 as the signature hole? I think yes. Open bomb down the pipeline again but risk/reward is amplified. It's a distant turnover or bomb flick with the pin tucked into some woods between a small creek and a raging river of a creek. Weak sauce gets you in the little creek or thick rough alongside it. Too much pepper and you miss the approach gap to the green or worse, a landing in the rapids. To top it off you have a slightly raised basket on a stump and a really lovely green. Terrific hole.

Hole 12 is another tunnel-ish, straight to fade, this time on the flats with that huge creek looming on the left. It's long and open enough to tempt you to go for it but the creek is foreboding enough to make you uneasy. Fun, pretty hole.

Hole 13: The token hyzer hole. It's short and a good confidence booster, bordering on deuce-or-die.

Hole 14 is like a shorter version of hole 10. Throw a laser down the tunnel. The green has some spots where it looks like it could get weedy but otherwise a nice putter/mid potential ace-run.

Hole 15 is a fun little hole with a bit of a split fairway, the left lane being a tempting ace-run and the right lane a bit longer looking hyzer. More nice and subtle high/low road elevation change.

Hole 16 is the only real "WTF were you thinking, Schwarz?" hole. A challenging to pull off (in terms of design) open>wooded>open hole that starts flat, goes steeply downhill through the woods, then slightly uphill again. This could rival hole 11 as the signature hole but the angle of the passage thru the wooded middle is just too goofy to attempt to carry off the tee. Any "go for it" drive is surely to be punished with a get-out-of-jail pitch back onto the fairway (that's if you can find your drive). I can't imagine any line thru the air where the disc can reach the 2nd open fairway where you can be rewarded for an easy birdie 3. It's a boomerang line that defies natural disc flight. So lay up to edge of the hill, throw another downhill tunnel shot and make a safe approach to the slightly uphill green.

Hole 17 is an EXTREMELY downhill, wooded, tunnel shot. This one will trick people into throwing nose down too much but it's the classic, "float a putter/neutral mid" type hole you see in the mountains a lot. MJ and his Comet are grinning again. Also another par 4 that should be a 3 considering all the elevation change. This is a gorgeous and extremely satisfying hole and the hanging basket between two holes is a lovely touch.

Hole 18 is a beast of a finishing hole and the only one that really forces you to throw steeply uphill. But it starts with a downhill, slightly L>R blast. The elevation also runs L>R with a knoll on the right. If your drive lands on that knoll the hole doesn't play that uphill. Land left and down and you're looking at a daunting approach fraught with roll-away peril. The green is extremely fast and can have you leaving the course wanting to pull your hair out and murder the designer or feeling fortunate and relieved. This is an epic, well-executed par 4 and possibly my favorite. Footing is very tenuous on that green so better safe than sorry.


Other Thoughts: A little birdie told me that an excellent course designer did the finishing touches on this Schwarz design and it shows. This is a fantastic course and must-play in the area along with the toned down but superb Va-Du-Mar erm, Shoally Creek. Just a few things kept me from rating it higher such as the tees (concrete snob), the occasional enigmatic pars, hole 16's oddly angled fairway and some usual new course stuff like brush piles hiding your discs. The wooded bits got a little repetitive with straight shots through trees but the undulating terrain and pretty woods does a lot to mitigate that. This course can be a workout on a hot and humid day but not too bad.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


1    3/31/2016   4/29/2016
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 271  Reviewed: 260  Exp: 21.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pipeline is a challenging yet enjoyable 18 hole course for most any experienced level of disc golfer. It is primarily a tight wooded technical course, but there are a couple of signature holes that are more longer and wide open that play down the wide clearing for the underground pipeline.

This course has pretty much everything- woods/open (mostly woods); flat/up/down (some really fun downhill throws); water in the form of a big creek that comes into play on #11; variety of shot shapes required (though a majority of the time straight is often your best choice, there are places requiring lefts and rights; length is quite diverse with a combo of some short birdie holes, your basic 3-par holes, and some really tough holes to earn your 3 where a 4 is still not a bad score.

There are a lot of really special holes here. #3 down the hill in the open pipeline area. #11 is another fun downhill with an elevated basket to the right next to the creek (in my opinion is the signature hole here and one of the coolest holes I have every played.) #12 is nice because it is also down in the flat land by the creek and just looks different than most of the other holes. #16 with the unique shot shape or shot placement required to get through from one open area to the other, with a tough basket placement to follow. #17 is a narrow downhill shot. And #18 with the basket up on top of the hill in the dense woods is a challenging finishing hole, not so much the drive, but on the approach which is the difference between finishing with par or bogey. (I thought the back 9 as a whole was better than the front 9. Glad the designers saved the best for last!)

Discatcher baskets are highly visible and in fine shape. Tees aren't concrete (kind of hard to describe) but posed no problems. Tee signs were very good. Navigation signs were well-placed because there are a couple spots that would be confusing on your first round without them.

Very clean course, mowed grass, fairways trimmed and neat, paths from hole to hole were clear. Big bonus is that this course is on land used only for disc golf (no other park/outdoor activities around). You also get the isolated from the rest of the world feel, which I do enjoy.

I noticed that DGCR says this course was built in 2015, so it is in remarkable shape for being so new, as it usually takes more time for courses to get broken in to perfection. I saw there were a couple new hole placements also, which tells me that the locals here working on the course are still looking to make improvements and tweaks.
Cons: Became a little redundant on the middle section of wooded holes (#4-10) with several holes in a row of similar style. They are all pretty tight and mostly straight, not a lot of room for error, thus shot/disc selection becomes pretty conservative on all of them if you want to score well. I did not feel there was a lot of risk/reward options, but mostly here is the shot, now do it, now do it again, and again. Don't misunderstand, I like tight wooded holes, I just prefer a mix of styles throughout 18 holes rather than long stretches of the same kind of hole and shots in a row.

Parking lot does not look like a place you are supposed to park being in the back of the ball fields by all the maintenance vehicles and old or out of season sports equipment. It is just a gravel lot with no actual lined parking spots. It felt a little uninviting and you question if this an area you are authorized to be in. However, there is a practice basket and after a short walk to #1 tee all is forgotten and the course itself is great.

Does not loop back after 9, so be prepared, this course is not really a difficult hike, but does have some length and elevation that could be tiring on a hot southern summer day. Also, I don't remember seeing any restroom facilities in the disc golf area.
Other Thoughts: I was very pleased with the quality and variety of courses in this part of the country. You could spend a week here playing a lot of very good courses.

I debated between a 3.5 and 4.0 because I have this somewhere around a 3.8, but with about half the holes being just ok (nothing special and a touch of redundancy), it just lacked the "every hole is unique" factor that I feel is worthy of a 4.0+ rating. However, I can see why others have rated it very highly, and I have no problem with that. If I lived here I would play here often, and I would definitely play again if I was ever back in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Great Design and Great Fun

1    8/10/2015   1/7/2016
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 315  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.2 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - some well done quality gravel pads. Gravel isn't my preference, but these are in great shape and well done.
-quality baskets and signage
-warm up baskets by the parking lot
-multiuse park, but definitely in a remote part of the park
-all kinds of shots, long short, few open, lots of fun woods, left/right. All the shots are needed. Especially with all of the fun elevation.
-I saw plenty of wildlife and zero other people when I played which made for a very pleasant experience.
-mild water hazards that make for fun golf. There is one giant/deep river, but even though you see it on two holes, it seems to me it only really comes to play on the second one.
-course follows a pretty fun little tempo of difficulty. It's not entirely progressively harder, but rather a score that rises and falls to a great climactic end.
-fair fairways with a number that have more than one route to take.
-great par 4's that require 2 amazing shots to the green.
-great use of steps when needed and solid easy flow/navigation throughout the course
Cons: -it's a straight up 18. 18 pads and 18 pin positions. Not a huge con, but it's going to keep it from getting into the elite status of courses IMO.
-No par 5's or super long grueling holes. Not that any of the holes are really freebies or anything, but I like to have a beastly 900' hole mixed into my best of the best courses.
-hole 13. I didn't like that there was an unmarked barbwire fence on the right side of the hole.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed hiking through this course and seeing turtles and deer about. Listening to the water flowing and playing some amazing golf. The elevation changes are used amazingly and the last 3 holes really leave a good taste in your mouth for wanting more. I do think that 16 would be a lot easier for people with cannons for arms though. But since I don't, I had a lot of fun traversing through the first group of trees. 17 has a neat little twist on top of the world tunnel shots by having the fairway almost entirely flat and split into two different fairways right before the green. But really 18 is the most unique hole IMO on the course. The rolling hill fairway that juts way up to the right with a precarious green makes for quite the score card separator.

All in all, this course is really top notch. With multiple tees/pins I would easily give it a 4.5. If I could give it a 4.25 now, I would. Definitely worth the stop and even to travel a good bit out of the way for. Kudos to all those involved in making this South Carolina gem.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Well Rounded Course

5+    12/8/2015   12/10/2015
Review By: mierze
Played: 48  Reviewed: 6
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
-All holes have fair routes to the basket, albeit tight and challenging
-Diversity in lines and angles for each hole
-Great baskets and teepads
-Elevation comes into play on many holes
-2 practice baskets for back and forth short approaches
-Near soccer fields, for practicing upshots and drives
-Very remote and quiet, don't have to worry about hitting people with discs or being bothered while playing
-Beautiful scenery
Cons:
-Slippery when wet, between the elevation and the dirt becoming slick, it can be dangerous to navigate
-Many drives go out of sight and it can be easy to lose a disc if you aren't careful
Other Thoughts: I love this course, it is close to home and a great course to play if you are looking for a challenge. It's no walk in the park by any means. There are a few pretty open holes, but most everything is pretty tight and demanding. I would like to see perhaps 1 more openish hole to give a little breathing room, but it really isn't necessary, as it stands it's a great course!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Diggin' the Pipeline

1    9/20/2015   10/21/2015
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pipeline DGC is amazing. Challenging to say the least. Takes all kinds of throws to successfully traverse the fairways that are frequently in dense woods and also changing elevation, sometimes drastically. Maybe the best course in the state. The equipment is all good. Tees are concrete, and baskets are still like new. The layout is easy to follow, and the signs are pretty good. There are a few benches and trash cans along the way.

The first hole eases in with a mando as the fairway moves from the open into the edge of the hilly woods. Hole two is slightly uphill and from the woods into an open area. The third hole is where it starts getting good. Open fairway with woods lining either side down a fairly steep hill about 500'. A par 4, but a 2 isn't out of the question if you punch a good drive out there. I did nail it, but couldn't get the 40 foot putt to fall. Hole 4 is a shorty through narrow gaps in the trees, with the fairway dropping and then climbing to a pin above the level of the tee. Managed a birdie there as well, but thats where my good fortune ended. Bogey on 5, a nice hole with plenty of trees as well. 6 really zinged me, a downhill right to left, with a tough line through the trees. I lost a disc there (a sidewinder, transparent white with a green stamp), and three putted to top it off. 7 and 8 dealt me bogeys after I continued to struggle to avoid trees. 9 and 10 were also lengthy and wooded, but I managed to get pars. Hole 11 is another cool look from the tee, again downhill a considerable distance, in the same open line that hole 3 is placed in. This time the basket is set to the right, at the bottom of the hill in front of a good sized creek in a fairly deep ravine. There is a large tree directly in front of the pin, and brushy clusters of smaller trees on either side. 12 is flat, along the edge of the ravine, with a few mature trees on the fairway. 13 returns to the wooded hill sides, but is fairly short. 14 is a bit longer, but still par 3. 15 is another short hole with trees, slightly uphill. Was thinking birdie, but wound up with bogey. No gimmes. The last three holes are very memorable, all par 4 with serious elevation and trees. 16 has some airspace to work with but a right turn downhill, and then back to the left and back up again. 17 is an elevated teepad that drops off immediately and steep to a flatter area with a lot more trees. It is difficult to throw the flat line drive through the tree tops and get the distance required. 18 is woodsy and rolling hills out of the box, but turns right and climbs a steep hill to the pin. I was licking my wounds as I tallied my score. 13 over, 72. Wish I could get a few dozen more rounds here and a more respectable score.
Cons: Not beginner friendly, and probably pretty muddy and a bit treacherous after rain. Other than the lost disc, I have no regrets about this one.
Other Thoughts: What an amazing course. Love the elevation changes. The fairways twist and turn all directions through scenic but challenging woods. There are a couple of average holes, several very good holes, and a few great ones. Spartanburg has multiple course of high quality, but this is my favorite for sure. Possibly my favorite in all of South Carolina. Definitely top 3. Kicked my butt and left me wanting to do it again. Get your gear and check it out. The last three holes are as tough a finish that I have seen in a long time.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 not what I expected from south carolina

1    6/28/2015   7/27/2015
Review By: jamesdevin
Played: 85  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 13.6 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2015
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: challenging for all players
good elevation changes
easy navigation
area is exclusively for disc golf
good tee signs
awesome finishing hole
clean park and new course
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: This course has everything. Short holes though the woods, long holes down hill, and lots of elevation change, and water on a couple holes. Easy to navigate and fun to play. if you love disc gold then you need to play here. it was completely different than every other course I've played in SC (Charleston area) and I will be back next time in heading down on vacation. I highly recommend this course to all.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 SC is becoming a disc golf destination due to courses like this

1    6/1/2015   7/13/2015
Review By: filobedo
Played: 245  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 12.5 Years
9 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
Best course in SC and this course will only get better. The municipality appears to be all for disc golf in their area and this is a gem as I believe this is the best course in SC (I have played 93 courses in SC). Hole descriptions are by RHBH
#1 - Great starting hole! Slight hyzer from open tee to wooded gap with basket up on hill. Starting with a 2 or 4 is possible.
#2 - Hyzer or anhyzer route around tree to guarded target on edge of woods
#3 - Bomb down the pipeline rolling hill from right tee to a left basket near woods line
#4 - Fun ace run through narrow gap to slightly up hill target
#5 - Great slight anhyzer tee shot down tightly wooded fairway to open green
#6 - Play for 3. I heard people complaining about how unfair the hole is but you cannot birdie them all. I you have a flick, use it for best results
#7 - Could be one of the best holes on the course but green is surrounded by woods and guarded. If some trees were taken out by target, and basket moved back or to the left, this would definitely be a gamechanger in tournaments. Still a great hole but make sure your tee shot lands in the middle.
#8 - Great hole and one of the most beautiful on the course. Up and over the hill to target that plays downhill through challenging trees
#9 - Another great hole, slight hyzer with some distance and challenge. Do not end up left off the tee
#10 - Wow, super challenging teeshot through narrow alley to target straight down the tree lined fairway. Stay clean and in the middle. A 3 is a game changer and a 2 is phenominal for ams
#11 - One of the funnest holes on the course from elevated tee with anhyzer to guarded target in an old tree stump near river
#12 - Most likely signature hole along river with prettiest fairway on property. Slight hyzer to protected green
#13 - Very challenging and could use some maintenance. There is a straight route and less risky than hyzer. Very deceiving and unforgiving hole if not accurate.
#14 - Awesome hole for ace run if you are accurate and straight with a midrange or putter. Make the tight fairway clean and putting for 2.
#15 - Great hole, slight hyzer uphill with a few hidden branches to catch high shots.
#16 - One of the most unusual holes I have played. Tee across the pipeline through a strip of narrow forest that drops about 20' in elevation. I threw backhand and thumber off the tee and never got to the fairway out of the forest. If you can get to the opening out side of the trees, you have an extremely long uphill shot to a an open green on a hill. I am so glad the designer placed the target on top of the hill across the ditch as it prevents roll aways which would make the hole super frustrating and not fair.
#17 - Candidate for signature hole. Tee from elevated area about 50' - 75' above the fairway. Get through clean and ams have a chance at 3 and possibly 2.
#18 - Best finishing hole in SC (Chester State Park is a close second). Slight anhyzer tee shot to open area and approach to highly elevated green on hill (think of #17 at Richmond Hill on steroids)
Cons: There are not more new courses as well thought out as this one
Other Thoughts: The municipal leaders and Russell showed up for ribbon cutting at the first event and they seemed motivated to build more courses so please be appreciative and respectful if on property and thank any staff. I have played many Russell Schwartz designs and this is by far the best! I stress to get good directions because it is a little difficult to find out in the country and bring snacks and lots of water and gatorade. Stay away from the Beacon and eat at Ike's near Converse if you like that kind of food.

9 of 11 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.