Winchester, TN 
Winchester City Park Share
Uploaded By: bjreagh Hole #3 (Taken 6/2016)
3 / 257ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #3 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
The 19th Hole Is Still Out On The Course

1    3/4/2018   5/2/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.797 Rating) A moderately sized city park course.
- FUN FACTOR - Winchester City Park is the perfect place to bring three friends and/or three IPAs. There are ample opportunities for birdies. Errant throws are rarely further punished. The odds of losing a disc is near zero and for the most part, no searching in overgrowth areas. The course flows pretty smooth as well.
- RECREATIONAL FRIENDLY - This course is perfect for players learning the game and has no doubt produced some new disc golf addicts. At 5,600 feet, this course will definitely please recreational players offering just the right amount of length and technical challenge.
- TEES - I was not expecting such awesome tee pads at a small town city park. Concrete and 6 feet wide by 12 feet long. All of them were in great condition.
- CHARACTER - In addition to the great tees, Winchester city park has a bunch of typical amenities. For one, seating at least 90% of the holes. The tee signs and course map were done very well. Several trash cans along the layout. Practice basket and an unused community board. There's a mailbox at community board as well, but there were no scorecards inside. :( There are a couple of really nice sized shelters in the park with tons of picnic tables. I also saw two restroom buildings, although one of them was locked on my visit. Missing items include no multi tees, no alternate basket placements and not much shade at the tees.
- NAVIGATION - Although there are no navigational cues along the layout, a photo of the extremely accurate course map will quickly get any player back on track. Baskets are well labeled and the number can be seen from 100s of feet away. Hole signage does not indicate next tee direction.
- ELEVATION - Hole (16) is a really cool tee shot. A good 35 foot drop with Tim's Ford Lake flanking the right side of the basket. Then hole (17) is a nice play 35 feet back up. There are several other plays in the 20 foot range, but perhaps the best thing about the elevation here is that it's fairly easy traverse. I want to say that the slopes never exceed 25 degrees, meaning using a cart here is fairly easy.
- MAINTENANCE - Despite weeks of horrible weather that proceeded my round here, the course was in great shape. Mowed though-out and downed branches were few and far between. The course must drain well too. The course had just got ten inches of rain over a two week span and I didn't see any standing water.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - A touch above average. The backdrop for the course on a few holes is towards Tim's Ford Lake, and it's amazing. Best observed on holes (15) and (16), but there are a few other holes as well. There are 3 really nice woodsy holes on (4), (8) and (14) as well. What brings the course back a bit is the blandness of much of the rest of the holes. A majority of shots are just your run of mill light obstacle city park plays.

Cons: A solid recreational that should please most locals. No significant issues other than the baskets.
- CHAINS - I was not impressed by this mix matched set of baskets. Most of the baskets are an older single chain type. Mach 1s? It also looks like there are a couple of Chainstars, but yet also a few "rat baskets", which I would define as a basket with a mixture of parts from different brands.
- HOLE (10) - A 264 foot 90 degree turning play. There's a mando 100 feet straight ahead, at which time the fairway abruptly turns 90 degrees and runs slightly uphill for an additional 160 feet. The mando is on a hardwood tree where you can no longer define the mando line extending up to the heavens more than 15 feet from the ground. Players will no doubt try to throw skyhyzers in competition and arguments will ensue.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Advanced players will be underwhelmed by this course. Way too many light obstacle holes in the 200 to 300 foot range. Substantial shot planning and shot shaping is only a requirement on two of the three wooded holes. Throwing long isn't a requirement either. The longest par 3 is 368 feet. I could see a 950 rated advanced player averaging 8 down or more out here. Many Rec players should be able to shoot below par as well.
- MISSED OPPORTUNITY - I would have loved to have had scratched throwing at (15) basket from (15) tee and instead, thrown to (16) basket. This play would have been a 600 foot dog leg right along the shores of Tim's Ford Lake. This would have made 18 holes too. Who plays 19?
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - Like most city park courses, there are a bunch of walking paths that wind through the course layout. Whatever is the point of these path are I'll never know ;) Players will likely have to wait a few times for safety reasons.
- DISCONTINUITY - The course is generally stacked hole to hole but there are a couple notable gaps. (11) to (12) crosses a city street. (13) to (14) is a blind 250 foot transition requiring the map to find. (14) to (15) is a 300 foot transition. Finally, (19) back to the parking crosses the street again and it's about a 500 foot journey
- UNIQUENESS - About average. As stated, much of the course plays open and only a few holes have a technical aspect to them. There is only one true blind basket on (2). There are no dogleg holes and only hole (3) plays into a well defined pocket. Water is in play once on (16). There are two short par 4's on the layout (400-500 feet) which I'm sure many advanced players play as 3's.
- WIND - Due to the lack of trees, wind will likely be a major issue. Wind could very likely be the most challenging aspect of the course.

Other Thoughts: I brought my young daughter with me to this one. Its appear to be a really family friendly park complete with a nice sized playground, tennis courts, basketball courts and ball fields in addition to this very serviceable disc golf course. If I lived in town I would be here all the time. If the course got magically transferred to a bigger city, this course would be mad busy. All stated, is Winchester worth a look see for those outside the area? Yes, for those who live within a hour or for those that like to explore courses. However, for those that are looking for the next exotic challenge, this isn't it.
- TIME PLAY - About average. Figure two hours for a foursome.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

In the face of a hurricane west wind

1    3/29/2018   3/29/2018
Review By: wericsson
Played: 48  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Big concrete tees, nice tee signs. Some of the hole names were pretty amusing (others were a bit obnoxious, but hey, comedy is hard).

Better mixture than most city park courses, with some respectable technical shots on a few holes, and more ceiling shots than the pines I'm accustomed to playing in. As far as open holes go, 16 is a lovely shot down a steep hillside with the lake coming into play on the right. Judging by the flotsam, could be really killer when the lake is high.

More thought was given to safety than most park courses: for example, I wondered why there was a random section of 10-12 foot high chain link standing along the sidewalk on hole 1. Then I smacked a tree and slammed into the fence and understood.

Great views of the lake on a few holes, and pretty nice appearance overall as well.
Cons: Single chains. Eclectic mixture, really, but something resembling Mach I baskets seemed to be in the plurality. At least one set of brass chains. (?) I wanted the Florence baskets back when all was said and done.

Typical city park shortcomings: mostly open, and mostly short to shortish, aside from a few obligatory bombers that are dead open. Some OB paths in odd places, but that must be as it must be, I suppose.
Other Thoughts: The wind was raging when I played. Not sure how much was the storm system blowing past and how much was just off the lake, but that was rough.

Definitely not a destination course, unless you happen to be visiting Tims Ford State Park.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 on the up and up!

5+    3/1/2016   3/4/2016
Review By: jacob2918
Played: 13  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: *Brand new 19 hole course
* gorgeous course with views of the lake
* well thought out design
* good mixture of short holes and long true par 4s that require placement shots
* nicely built bridges to cross the few creeks
* bathroom facilities at parking lot as well as throughout the 19 holes
* playground in middle of course for the kids
* brand new tee signs
* true test of your bag from midrange to putter shots and long cranking driver lines as well
Cons: * red clay can be present during heavy rain (wear old shoes on these days)
* some baskets are single chain but they seem to catch just fine
Other Thoughts: I'm a long time tennessee resident as well as a recent local of tullahoma. I played this course when it was just 9 holes. The new design is AWESOME!! truly a test of your entire bag. Your gonna need back hands and forehand shots. Holes range from 180' to well over 450'. There is Mandos and ob. Very well designed and probably one of my favortie new courses in tennessee. Awesome park. Has a playground for the kiddos and plenty of bathrooms available. Not to mention beautiful views of the lake. And brand new tee signs and a full map kiosk are in the works for the very near future. A true hidden gem of a course, I highly recommend checking this place out. It's a great course that's up and coming and will give you anything from tight tunnel shots to wide open lake side hyzer bombs!! NOT THE OLD COURSE THAT WAS HERE THIS IS NEW !! COME CHECK IT OUT!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Redesign - - Disregard previous reviews

1    2/6/2016   2/6/2016
Review By: Declarkus
Played: 153  Reviewed: 16  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice level pads, good use of the land, fairly easy to navigate with black markers on basket spokes pointing to next tees (you're welcome), land drains well with bridges over the wet spots
Cons: No tee signage (DGCR yardage isn't updated yet either), benches or trash cans yet, but the redesign is only a couple months old. A few baskets were a little low, #10 would be unplayable if pavilion was being used.
Other Thoughts: The course has its own parking lot just north of Old Estill with the first pad visible to the left of the lot. The baskets are a mix of a few Mach 1, 2, Liberty's, and the rest are Titans, all new. They all have signs on top with big red numbers facing the tee to make it pretty easy to know which basket to throw at.

Very birdie (& ace) friendly. Most holes under 300', 4 or 5 were in pretty thick woods, but they were all cleared enough to be fair. #12 & 17 are both over 400' (my only 4s). #12-18 are across Old Estill Rd. #14 is a fun ace run in the woods by the lake with a serious drop off and water hazard near the basket. #15 and 16 could also pose water danger when the water level rises after spring.

While not challenging by any means, it's still a fun course that is much better after the redesign than old reviews indicate. It flows well and uses park features in a novel way. It's not a course to go out of your way for, but if you're passing thru, it's worth the detour off I 24.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Much improved redesign!

2-4    6/23/2016   7/9/2008
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 303  Reviewed: 293  Exp: 22.3 Years
This review was updated on 9/5/2016
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course has undergone a much-need major redesign. What used to be a run-down 9 hole course built in the 1970's is now a legitimate 19-hole course. Newer/renovated baskets, excellent color tee signs, 19 all new concrete tees, an interesting design the utilizes a much larger portion of the land. Thank you to those responsible- great work!!!

The course now offers a decent set of challenges for most any level of disc golfer. Most of the holes are city park style (mostly open playing around large mature trees with mowed fairways and no rough). There are 3 holes, however, that play through denser wooded sections offering a glimpse of the more technical and accurate side of disc golf. I liked the variety of length as the course is now spread out all over the park, many driveable holes but also many holes that let you throw it as far as you can (holes range from 188' to monster 470' up a big hill that plays way longer). In general a straight shot is the best on almost all holes, but there are some risk/reward options if you can shape shots to maybe gain a stroke. I like that many holes force you to throw low "tunnel" shots under the trees for the best option to the basket. There is a 3-hole stretch that does have just enough water in play to make you think twice about your shot. I felt each hole was different from the rest, no repetition, and several memorable holes (mostly on the back). All in all, a nice mix of style.

Great signature hole/s by the lake (15-16) offering absolutely stunning views of Tims Ford Lake (one of the prettiest lakes around, and a great place for water sports/boating/fishing.)

I liked that the course starts off more basic and only gets better as you progress to the end. Navigation is not too bad on your first round, especially if you take a good look at the course map on the kiosk for the holes across the road. (also available to print on this site)

There were plenty of benches on the course, restrooms near the parking lot and also some by 12's basket. Picnic pavilions as well. Plenty of parking. There were even scorecards in the box at the kiosk, what a nice bonus (at least for now).
Cons: Not too many now. The baskets were a mix of brands, most had a just a single row of chains (but considering the rusty junk that used to be here, this basically gets a pass.) Some of the more open holes, especially on the front, would become pretty easy if you played here regularly, (but again, better than the alternative of no course or a terrible course.)

Maybe the biggest con is the walking trail on the front, which is a potential safety hazard. It runs right in front of the tees on 5 (in the woods) and 9 (somewhat in the woods), both following holes played in the woods, so you would have no idea if somebody was walking in front of the flight path (especially on 5). It might be a good idea to scout, but I didn't know the path was there until after I threw and I was glad nobody walked in front of my drive.
Other Thoughts: The skill level is just about right for almost any level of player (maybe the super advance would be bored). Really perfect for the disc golfers in the area, and this course will help increase the number of disc golfers for sure.

Again, I am so thrilled to see this course resurrected into something pretty good. Not a destination course by any means, but definitely worth it if in the area. I vacation on this lake quite a bit, so I am glad there is now a decent course here that I can play when visiting.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.