Newtown, PA 
Tyler State Park - West Share
Uploaded By: MatthewBochantin Hole #23 (Taken 10/2016)
3 / 318ft.   3 / 318ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #23 Tee

Course Rating Distribution

Reviews: 16
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
Very Good Now- Will Be Even Better Later

2-4    2/25/2018   2/25/2018
Review By: Ryal
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 0.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Nearly all of the holes have solid tee pads with enough room to get a good start.
+ I very much enjoyed how the course felt like it was part of the landscape itself. Hills, trees, shrubs, stumps, bodies of water, boulders, dirt mounds and ditches are all utilized whenever possible to give the player the sensation that each layout sprouted up as part of the environment.
+ The fairways for the finished holes are cleanly maintained and clearly distinguishable from the rough and OB areas.
+ I love how each finished hole has a name of its own and a diagram that is hand-made with painted illustrations for the locations of the tee pads and targets- including their distances.
+ Many of the holes have sturdy wooden hook stands for the players' disc bags, makeshift benches and trash cans. A lot of considerations have been made for the players' comfort and convenience.
+ The elevation challenges are some of the steepest I have encountered so far in my barely year-old experience with disc golf. Lofty tee-offs downhill and sheer tee-offs uphill will force a player to put more thought into their throw instead of mindlessly tossing.
+ The tunnel shots, like the elevation challenges, force a player to improve on the spot if they are not normally accustomed to throwing through narrow passages of trees.
Cons: - A few of the tee pads are too small for a good run up, and one or two of them showed signs of disrepair. Hole 25 comes to mind.
- As much as I love those hand-made diagrams, I felt as though their relative scale inaccurately represented how far each pin location was relative to the other pins and to the tee pads.
- The course is nestled within a state park, which means a lot of other people are walking around, and there is no guarantee that they will understand what you are doing there. Occasionally, you might have to patiently explain to someone why you didn't want your disc thrown back to you.
- Despite the picturesque landscape, it began to feel repetitive to my mind until I arrived to the open-air holes. Grand elevation challenges and fun little hikes between holes do not make a person forget that they are still surrounded by trees in all directions.
- When I played today, the basket for hole 32 was missing. The basket I was inching towards turned out to be 33. Perhaps I simply missed a sign, but I could not find 32's pin when I backtracked and looked around. Nor could I find 33's tee pad. This might have just been a result of the course's redesigning in progress.
Other Thoughts: Tyler West, in its current condition, is rough around the edges. About a third of its holes are being redesigned and/or replanned, so I am told. The course planners have installed provisional holes for 27 through 31, which is a great sign of good faith and determination from the planners towards the players. I look forward to visiting again in the future to see what the finalized course will look like.

As things are right now, Tyler West is a good continuation of Tyler East. I recommend Tyler West, and of course Tyler East, to anybody seeking a fair challenge that forces you to adapt to a wide array of throws. The finished holes that West has to offer fully utilize the landscape's hills and forest like any good disc golf course ought to do. And those hills make for some good exercise! Pack your hiking boots.

As a final thought, I do want to caution prospective players about coming here after a rainstorm. The hills I mentioned earlier mean that some of the lower areas will inevitably get soaked to the point where they become unusable. I speak no exaggeration when I say that the new long tee for hole 26 was under water when I played today.
Of course, wet conditions always mean mud and slippery leaves no matter where you are, but a hilly park like West becomes just a little more dangerous than other places under soaked conditions. Be careful if you go after the rain.
Have fun. It's hard not to at Tyler West.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


1    10/17/2017   10/18/2017
Review By: Jmk5704
Played: 52  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 3.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Tough holes, good variety
Cons: It felt like some holes they just forced in were they could cause they wanted 36 holes and end up with just some poor holes.
Other Thoughts: Also 27-32 were unplayable at the time so that didn't help my opinion any

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

the other Tyler

1    8/11/2017   8/11/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 104  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: Tyler West is a course that is currently in limbo as many of the holes are temporarily unplayable due to tree removal. Apparently, some of these holes may require a redesign.

Tyler West is a good course with a lot of potential, but it still needs a lot of work. The first couple of holes play much like the East course and have a similar "polished" feel to them. Well defined fairways, cleared out undergrowth, etc. Much of the course, however, is much more rough and "natural". When I played, some of the tees were still unfinished, and there was a lot more undergrowth and undefined holes. The more open holes near the end, including the excellent #18, are nice, and are much better than the open section on the East course.

As the club continues to work on the course, I expect it to improve, and my rating will likely go up. As of right now, however, it doesn't quite have the high standard I associate with the East course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Tyler Durden - West

1    8/22/2016   8/22/2016
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 187  Reviewed: 170  Exp: 11.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Vast course amenities including multiple large concrete tees and tee signs with pin locators, bag hooks, and benches. Great use of the available elevation, mostly wooded terrain, creeks, and incorporating some of open field space to provide a variety challenges from short ace-run par 3s to some hard par 5s. The wooded fairways are well defined and tight while the open holes allow you air out some, however still require precise landing areas with the OB and well placed trees.

The Tyler SP courses have the manufactured feel of some ball golf courses for better or worse as they do add to the challenge of some of the holes. The courses play well from rank beginner to expert. Port-a-potties in parking lot.
Cons: Like Forrest Gump said, playing Tyler is like a box of chocolates, you never know what pin positions you are going to play unless it's a tournament. Being the more newer part of the course, the West Course needs to be broken in more and is rougher than the more established East Course. I wish the holes were numbered 1-18 instead of 19-36. The tightness in the woods can be a little repetitive, and there is no real grip and rip here.

Beware of other park users and discers roaming around the course. I had some random park user walking down the fairway of hole 32 who didn't realize he was on a disc golf course. He was fascinated by the pin markers and thought they were some kind of explosive device until I told what they really were for. There is not much seclusion from other holes and park activities. Lots of foot traffic on the course and erosion although some control measures have been taken.

Navigation can be tricky in a couple places, some backtracking, a map is helpful for the uninitiated. Tall grass OB and the large creek to maybe lose some discs and some poison ivy. Only one loop of 18 holes back to parking lot. For whatever reason I had a number of spit outs here on the normally trusty ole Mach IIIs.
Other Thoughts: As the Tyler Durden review title suggest this course is pretty bad ass and you never know what to expect layout wise which can be a pro and a con. It's probably quite rare to ever play the same layout here casually as the local club seems to move baskets often and constantly improve things. As noted the Tyler SP courses have a manufactured design element to them that make them feel like ball golf in a way, which can also be seen as both a pro and con - being it takes away from the more natural and organic design element that disc golf has traditionally used and been praised for.

The West course definitely boasts more elevation and more left or right turning shots and some fast greens. Some of the more fun elevated tee shots were just touch putter shots where I'd like to be able to rip them harder off the tee and watch them soar longer. This course might be enjoyed more by shorter throwers although the West still has some teeth on many holes. I can't remember which hole (#29 maybe?) it was, but it was a new hole that was my favorite on this course, it was a fairly flat and straight shot off the tee, slightly right, with the basket raised on a large natural mound.

Regardless taken as a whole the Tyler SP courses are supremely enjoyable to play and some of the best disc golf you will find in the area that is renown for disc golf.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Nearly as great as east

5+    4/26/2016   4/27/2016
Review By: PhotoGuy98
Played: 64  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 12.8 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Great variety, well mapped out, hot women walking around the park, multiple pin and tee pad locations, awesome club, scenic.
Cons: The new holes feel like they need to be broken in.
Other Thoughts: Tyler is the best course I've played. I cannot say enough about it. The course and club are 2nd to none. Play it ASAP.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Still a little bit rough around the edges

5+    3/22/2016   3/30/2016
Review By: Buchajs1
Played: 86  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With the massive addition of 9 new holes, I think that this is truly a destination course, and the new holes added on the east course make this place all the more great. This course is thoroughly enjoyable, and will continue to grow and get better with the efforts of the determined local players

Great variety-right turn left turn s curves, this course will require every shot in your bag multiple times. Even on a good round being in the middle of the fairway most of the time there were multiple routes to the baskets and the various routes could require different types of shots that you wouldn't use on your average course. With the added 9 holes, an abundance of variety is available at this destination.

Downhill bombs and huge uphill throws are just part of why this course is in the top ten- on almost every hole there is some sort of elevation changes whether it be a slight downhill or a massive elevation rise that tequires a huge bomb to put it 350 feet up the fairway.

Water- while water is not an immediate hazard, a creek runs beside and behind several holes and if you make a bad shot (like me) you could find yourself adding a few strokes to your score. I really enjoyed the use of water on hole seven, where if you were to overshoot the basket or have an unfortunate rollaway, you could find yourself in the river.

Creative greens- greens were fair yet also made you think about whether to go for it or lay up. Rollaways are prominent bit if you execute your shots well you can stay up. I especially like 9 in c position if you run at you could end up in the water because the green drops right away and you could easily rollaway. If you lay up you can consistently get a 30 ft putt for birdie. A huge amount of work is put into this course, and dedicated locals are always adding to the intricate greens, creating tiered, and elevated baskets, which make the course that much more interesting

Risk reward shots- this course is both mentally and physically grueling in the c positions and can cause you to think if you actually can make that shot. You are rewarded if you execute well here and punished if you don't make the right choice.

Good tee signs as well as good teepads- the tee signs were not only unique, but amazing as well, and you cold tell that great effort was put into them. The concrete teepads were in good shape and provided good grip. Each teepad had a number on the concrete.

Log piles-i like the extra hazard of log piles or "bunkers" it looks pretty nice and turns a short hole easy birdie hole into a hole with multiple lines and being at different heights, the require some height to get over. I especially like the use of these on hole 17 where the teepad looks right at the basket but there is a pile of logs 20ft in front of the pin location. It fits well into this hole because it is not that narrow but the log pile and tree make you execute a variety of different lines.

Cons: This course is certainly still quite rough around the edges, with the long pins playing very difficult if one is not consistently hitting the fairways. The rough/thorns are often very unforgiving, and can result in great frustration. However, I am sure that this will be taken care of in due time, as the locals are very good about keeping the course in tip top shape.

Teepads are only complete on the original holes, with may of the new tees having a flypad draped over the tee or stone dust that does not stay vey level.
Other Thoughts: Due to the fact that all of the cons will be fixed in a matter of time, I have no hesitation in giving this course a 4.5.

This is truly a destination course/complex, but make sure you come during the summer when more of the pins are likely to be in the longer positions.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

The Western Front

5+    3/10/2016   3/18/2016
Review By: Zunz
Played: 81  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 4.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 36 holes in two 18 hole loops from the parking lot
Best tee markers I've ever seen with awesome hand crafted maps and pin position indicators
Course is extremely well manicured
Long concrete tee pads
Multiple tee pads on several holes
3 pin positions on almost every hole
The huge scorecard/layout board/lost disc kiosk
Benches at (almost) every tee box
Water fountains and bathrooms abound
Bag trees at the tees
Tons of easy to find Next Tee signs
Two practice baskets, 1 open and 1 surrounded by large trees
Cons: The wait times on busier days can be excruciating
Some of the tee boxes aren't finished yet
Other Thoughts: Tyler Park is about as good as Disc Golf gets. The West course is already a strong 4.5 on it's own merits, but with the East course right there it bumps this destination course up to a 5. They are constantly switching around the pin positions, so the sheer variety of holes you get to play keeps it from ever getting boring. Whether the basket is in the ace run A's or the behemoth C's, every tee shot is going to make you work. The tee pads on this side of the course are marked 19-36. For the purposes of this review, and to hopefully avoid any confusion, those numbers are how I will refer to 1-18 West.

Elevation is the name of the game on this 18. Although there are a couple of flat holes, almost every hole takes advantage of some type of elevation change, some are pretty steep, some are long and steady. Wear good shoes here, you'll be hiking up and down hillsides all day. It's one of my favorite courses to play alone on a weekday when there aren't a lot of people around and there's a possibility of being almost alone on the course, super extra peaceful and the way the course flows through the park makes it a delightful nature walk. By the same token, one of my favorite places to play with a group of friends. It's just a great course year round.

Some course highlights:

Holes 20 and 23 are downhill wooded gems. Tight throwing lanes down to more open green areas. The short positions are straight in front of you with the longer pins making you also work your disc a little to one side or the other from where the shorts are (room for a bit of fade on the longer pins).

25 is the first hole of the 7 brand new holes on the West course. The short tee throws from up high next to the parking lot allowing you to really see what's going on with this hole. From the lower tee (behind the bathrooms) you're throwing on a tight line out of the box that opens up a little as you go along. There's a hill to the right and swamp if you go way left. The short pin is hidden behind a huge boulder making a straight on approach nearly impossible. B pin is behind the huge domelike mound that is directly behind the basket. C is on top of the second domey mound.

The climb up to 26 is a beast! Pin A is a short straight throw up a little hill that always plays longer than it looks. B and C are around a corner with the B pin placed precariously on a steep, long, semi-open hillside.

27 is a downhill bomb with a swamp waiting to eat any discs that go long.

29 is a bit of a walk across the parking lot.

Hole 31 presents you with a steep uphill throw that snakes left at the top of the hill before turning right and straightening back out for a long steady climb through the woods.

33 has a wide fairway for a hole in the woods. Makes the short pin a fun ace run and the long (at 711') an absolute beast that plays gradually uphill the whole way.

Now that your arm is completely spent, 35 and 36 are the big open field bombs you've been waiting all day for!
36 has a ton of OB waiting for you all along it's left side and further up there are woods to the right. As with the more open field throws on the East course, this fairway gets very skinny where the longer throwers are trying to place their drives, and where most of us are looking at putting our second throw. Pin B is up the hill to the left along the thin patch of grass that is bordered by the tall grass OB on the left and tree grabbing pines on the right. C is an island green in the turn-around of the parking lot.

Final Thoughts: Play Tyler! Make sure you download the map or find a local to play with your first time or three. Bring your A game and Tyler will test you. If you don't have an A game, Tyler is still a great place to come play anyway! It is truly one of the best courses (or technically two) in the country.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.


5+    1/9/2016   1/12/2016
Review By: Jwetherill
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: - Beautiful setting and surrounding areas
- Great holes that are just challenging enough to keep you coming back over and over.
- Always running into friendly players.
- Group that runs the course is beyond out of this world!
- Great lost and found setup. Well maintained.
Cons: I got nothing
Other Thoughts: Love seeing this course grow and unfold. If there is a course you have to play in your lifetime make it TYLER STATE PARK!!

3 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 West Side of Tyler

1    10/21/2015   10/21/2015
Review By: adlacro
Played: 104  Reviewed: 89  Exp: 11.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Just when you thought, wow, 18 great holes of disc golf...well, there's 18 more to come! Tyler West mixes a number of the old holes from the 27 hole layout and adds seven new holes (25, 27-32) to complete the transition to 36, and all holes are playable. The course mixes elevation with distance and a necessity on accurate drives to avoid punishing rough. The old holes are all concrete tees, and the new holes are woodchips which will be concrete, hopefully sooner than later. Nice tee signs at all the old holes, and the new holes have rather accurately drawn maps which will be replaced with new excellent signage just like the other ones. Some holes offer short tees as well. Again, making your way around the course is easy because of the excellent signage, even for those not yet familiar with the newer holes. Bathrooms available near the start and also down between 28 and 29. Water fountains (seasonal) near a couple of the holes. Well maintained.
Cons: Being that this part of the course offers the newer holes, they are not quite up to the standard the broken into holes have, and that will come with time and clearing. They are very playable but you'll really want to strive to stay in the fairway on these holes. The natural tees will get replaced with concrete, just give this hard working crew time. Parking lots and path come into play near a few of the holes, just be cautious.
Other Thoughts: The way this club takes care of this course is an example for other clubs to take note of. Even on the new holes it was still clean and kept well down the fairway. I would think within about a year (if that), when the last of the clearing and pruning is done, the different pin positions are utilized, and the concrete tees are in this will match the east course, and when you put the two together then you have a must play course here in beautiful SE PA.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Tyler West: 19-36

5+    6/30/2015   7/1/2015
Review By: Hobie
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent compliment to Tyler East. The hardwood canopy continues as does the difficulty. Well thought out design and construction, using landscape to its maximum. If Tyler East didn't leave you panting... West will. This course will push every disc golfer to be better. Your going to have to know how to throw different shots to score well. Beautiful views looking down the fairway (or back). Bathrooms, drinking water, safe.
Cons: 7 holes still have temporary tee pads... but suffice nicely. 6 of the new holes are a bit "fluffy"... my advice is to stay in the fairway. When the B & C pin sleeves go in, this course is going to be amazing. Just like the night: "Tyler is dark and full of terrors."
Other Thoughts: Great club and even greater Grounds Keeping Crew. You can tell this course has a lot of Love.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.