Colorado Springs, CO 
The Aviary DGC Share
Uploaded By: Frzb Lloyd Hole #4
-- / --   3 / 340ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 13
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Beautiful place to get in a round!

1    11/8/2019   11/12/2019
Review By: handwasher
Played: 68  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.5 Years
Pros: Great course that mixes in elevation change, trouble, and trees to great effect. Even the short ones are challenging.

Super easy to navigate even for a first timer.
Cons: Pretty easy to find the river on #5, but that's on you.

Amazing Course!

1    5/3/2019   5/13/2019
Review By: kyleocean
Played: 129  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 21.9 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great course with a wonderful use of the space, quite an exciting variety of holes. Water comes into play, lots of cool elevation change and challenge. Nice mix of long and short, open and wooded. Overall just a very nicely done course with lots of risk and reward, nicely shaped holes.
Cons: Tee Signs would be a very nice addition to this course, and it is confusing enough that I would consider them necessary. I found myself using the map on Udisc quite a bit. A couple of the fairways literally cross right over each other, which is unfortunate, however I suppose with the space given there isn't much choice in the matter, so be aware when driving! This course can be quite tricky to find unfortunately. If you google it, you will not find it. Follow the driving directions to the tee!
Other Thoughts: Tried a couple different courses in the area and this course was spectacularly fun! Unlike most courses in Colorado which was great to see! Lots of challenging shots, tons of trees, a nice shorter "birdie alley" in the middle, and just enough water hazard to make things interesting. If I lived in the area this would be my home course for sure, and it was the shining highlight of the trip! if you're traveling through, I would play this course twice before going to something else in the area.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Great addition

5+    7/6/2018   7/25/2018
Review By: RASmith
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great experience playing where hawks hang out. Snakes, too, but that's ok. Plenty of shade on most holes. Tees are nice and rabbits are fun to watch. Short holes in the trees are fun to shoot. The soccer fields provide an excellent warm up area and new players can get a feel for their distances there or on the baseball fields if empty.
Cons: Doodoo creek is doodoo creek. It sucks but is mostly avoidable, at least for rhfh shots along the back side. Hole 1 is always thrown from an improvised area across the bridge by our short throwers. Not much can be done about that if you can't throw the distance, no issue otherwise.

This is like disc golf vs wild at times. I think that's amazing and refreshing but it might upset some people. I started playing in Columbus, Ohio and never had timber, fallen trees as an obstacle there but I like it. Some people may not.

Inmate noises and homeless camps. Whatever, that's life. They are there and some people we take there dislike it. I've hiked the area many times prior to the course build and have no problem with either. It's likely a pro since I've never encountered a crowded course here. Not even close.
Other Thoughts: Compared to other courses in other cities it should be a 3.5. For this city it's a 4. And the reasons it's not better are due to historical misuse of the land and other external factors. That should improve over time as it has so far. Right now it's a hidden gem and fun to play. To me this course feels like the disc golf I learned 20 years ago. Peaceful, challenging, fun, and rewarding. Even on a bad-throw day, you're still mostly alone and able to work on whatever you want to without being disrupted or disrupting others.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

new to town

5+    3/27/2018   3/27/2018
Review By: ME220
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 20.6 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: fun short course.
close to my house.....
Cons: the layout leaves something to be desired. in fact you have to walk a fairway backwards to play the next hole, just leave your bag at the next tee... not a good design for the flow of the course. wouldn't have been that difficult to change that up. oh well. not certain who said this was a technical course but it isn't, especially if you come from the east coast. from my experience, this course is wide open. other than the two holes playing side by side, which I HATE, this is a fun course.
Other Thoughts: fix the side by side holes and this place could host a B-Tier event no problem.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Probably the best in Springs

2-4    12/29/2017   12/29/2017
Review By: ForestGnome
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 12.7 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Lots of fun shots, and even the shorter (~165ft) holes require a little finesse.

Beautiful scenery, and absolutely AMAZING use of the river as an obstacle.

Very little garbage or cacti directly in your way.

No joggers/walkers/dogs in the way. Course is placed along the backside of the park.

Mostly impossible to lose a disc, mostly.

Cons: River is a little dirty and filled with garbage.

Slightly hard to navigate (take a picture of the map with your phone and you're good though)

Other Thoughts: Great introduction to technical courses. Nothing too extreme and no holes without an easier route to the pin/fairway. Meanwhile pros have multiple chances to test their skills by navigating around the foliage, over the river, and back on to the fairway/green.

This is definitely my new favorite in Springs.


3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Good, fun course

1    7/17/2016   7/17/2016
Review By: The woodman
Played: 7  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets, nice lines, easy to navigate. Tee signs at every hole. Very nice property.
Cons: Long walk to the first tee. No sign in the parking lot directing you to the first tee. Luckily I ran across a local who pointed me in the right direction. It's behind the soccer fields by the way. No trash cans but you should always pack your trash out anyway. Some of the fairways, especially 4&18 could use mowing.
Other Thoughts: This is a fun and technical course that takes advantage of the property. Short holes that force you to play with control and creativity, and also takes advantage of the river flowing through the property. Hole 1-5 are mostly open. Hole 5 is a really nice 350ish tee shot from the cliff to the basket tucked behind a large tree. Starting on hole 6-16 you play mostly short, wooded holes. Pretty technical tee shots with the river coming into play if you get too aggressive with your tee shot. 17 opens up a little more. Then 18(which is a long walk and climb back up the cliff) is the lone bomber hole. @480'. Be careful of the river to the right. It's another nice shot from the top of the cliff with the basket tucked under some large trees.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 High quality course coming in to its own

5+    7/3/2016   7/3/2016
Review By: little oz
Played: 94  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 8.4 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A natural oasis in the middle of a primarily industrial area, The Aviary transports you in to a serene world of peacefulness and focus. Formally a haven for homeless campers, a ton of work has gone in to making this a quality course that works fountain creek in to a couple of holes, short wooded challenges that reward putter and mid skills, and risk/reward holes with rough that can swallow discs. Great views of Pikes Peak on hole 5, not crowded because chuckers can't handle the skill level needed. I love hole #1 across the creek to a doable but tight window. Hole 1 tells you that this isn't a course for risk averse folks. Fountain Creek will take discs on 1, 5 and 17 if you aren't careful.
Cons: Subject to mud after rains, as not all tee pads are in yet (about 50% in). The walk down to the 5 basket can leave your shoes caked. I don't consider rough on the sides of 13 or 14 to be a detriment, but you can lose a disc if you don't pay attention. Need to finish the tee pads, and alternate basket positions would be nice. It does lack length a bit, as only 18 (and 2 for me) is really unreachable. Most holes are fairly straight, but trees add impediments you have to work around.
Other Thoughts: You can hear inmates at the adjacent County Jail yelling and screaming on holes 2-3, so it can kind of weird you out. I have played this course over 40 times and it is always a quality challenge. Birds in the trees (hence the name) are abundant. Wind is usually south to north, but not brutal. 6-16 holes are the sweet spot in the woods. Kudos to Eric Bouchard and the City for adding a quality course to the area, especially now with the recent closure of the sadistic Sakuna in Black Forest.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great new course to the area.

1    6/19/2016   6/20/2016
Review By: wolito
Played: 87  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 12.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good new option to the Colorado Springs area. Easy access off I-25. Lots of parking available. A bit of a walk to the first tee, but you cross a large field area that could be used for warmup prior to your first hole. A fairly good mix of hole types. A few longer holes, especially a few that are off a cliff! The middle section has lots of ace opportunities. Lots of trees on the course that provides that much needed shade in the summer. Teepads are on most of holes of great size and condition and the local crew are actively pouring the rest. Signs are easily visible from the prior basket. Baskets are in great shape. Course is well designed based on the available area and didn't feel that I was in risk of getting hit from others discs.
Cons: A few cons but I think that it is no real fault of the designers. Rather the land is not the most ideal since it is close to the river and prone to flooding. Water does come in play on a few holes, but if your disc gets in it, then it may not be worth/able to be retrieved. The trees are great, but may add considerably to the difficulty of throwing good lines and may require a spotter in some places. The rough is very thick in places that will certainly hide discs and perhaps bugs/snakes. Watch where you are walking. I would have liked to have seen more dogleg shaped holes. Most of them are straight shots.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed my time at this course. It is still rather new and needs to be worn in a bit. The couple of "cliff" throws are fun. The middle section is short holes that offer up ace runs if you have good control of your putter/mid disc tee shots. As the course name implies, there are many birds in the area that sing to you as you play. Generally a quite course in that regards. I feel this course is a great addition to the busy course of Cottonwood and the more "open" course of Widefield. I certainly would play again.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Aviary Starting To take Flight

5+    1/28/2016   1/28/2016
Review By: mikeydae08
Played: 13  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 15.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Variety of terrain and elevation changes.
-Challenging and technical.
-Rarely wait for groups in front of you.
-Holes have been cleaned up a tremendous amount. Helps promote a better connection to nature, for a course surrounded by industrial businesses and Government facilities.
Cons: -Not beginner friendly, sometimes frustrating.
-Tees are still in need of concrete.
-Fountain Creek consumes discs as a second job.
Other Thoughts: Bring your cheap discs, it'll help you feel more comfortable attempting difficult shots.
Definitely prepare to pack in and pack out, limited opportunities to throw out garbage.
If everyone stays within the areas marked by logs, and wildlife remains in tact, certain flying creatures could return to their nest (come spring).

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Course is getting there.

5+    9/4/2015   9/5/2015
Review By: SilverSmith
Played: 23  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 24 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New signs get you where you need to go. New course is not busy and there is no pressure to hurry through the holes like at Widefield or Cottonwood. Very little non-disc golf traffic. Very scenic, especially in the lower wooded areas of holes 6 through 16.
Cons: Course is still being cleaned up. There Is a lot of trash from years of non use on is land. Plus, Fountain creek has a tendency to carry all sorts of trash to its shores. Some heavy brush areas and tall weeds can make it difficult to find lost discs (if you find my King around hole 4/18 please call me).
Other Thoughts: I really like the lower wooded holes (6-16). They have a tendency to be shorter holes but challenging with the trees / obstacles. They are easily "birded" with well played shots. Hole five has a nice elevation drop that can look intimidating throwing over the "S" curve in Fountain creek. You may want to wear pants, searching for bad lie can put you in high weeds and cactus. I think this course will be great as it matures. For now it is a fun course close to home. Please help keep it cleaned up and carry your trash out; there are no garbage can as of yet.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.