Minneapolis (Plymouth), MN 
Zachary Playfield Share
Uploaded By: Jenga54 Hole #4 (Taken 8/2014)
3 / 295ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 20
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
1 2 Next >
 Surprising

5+    11/22/2009   11/25/2010
Review By: smyith
Played: 178  Reviewed: 68  Exp: 15.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - the longer holes have Cement teepads
- Has some fun shots
- Not necessarily a deuce on the first 4 holes
- Baskets are solid and catch well
- Hole 8 is a fun end hole
- Great for a super quick round if your crunched for time
- Tight tunnels on the first 4
- there is at least one hole utilizing the pond
- Playground for the kids
- Other sport activities
- Dogs allowed and poo bags provided
- Accurate shot placement with your mids and putters a must for good score.
- Easy to find disc in rough
Cons: - Asphalt and Dirt teepads on first 4 holes
- long walk 4->5 and 7->8
- Not easy to navigate
- tee signs
- Essentially a pitch-n-putt for most players
Other Thoughts: When me and my buddy were on our way to Zachary playfield, we had no idea what to expect. All we knew is it was kinda short and 8 holes. I must say that it ended up being a pleasant experience.
The first hole is a nice lil tunnel shot that opens up right before the basket. Its a tight gap about 1/3 the way down that opens up right before the basket. Then you walk back up by #1s teepad for #2 which is a tight tunnel most of the way down the fairway. any flex either way and your hitting a tree. Hole 3 heads down the hill and around the water tower. Follow the path through the woods to get to #4 which is a tight tunnel half the fairway that opens up to a mowed area that is littered with small trees. The basket is kind of close to #2s basket.
From there walk around to the other side of the playground to find the cement teepads and #5. Hole 5 is open with one tree between you and the basket.
Hole 6 you finally get to put away the pistols and bust out the rifles. A nice downhill shot into a grove of pine trees. Plays about 30-40' short of the marked distance.
Hole 7 is really the only one that is awful. Its just a wide open chuck at the basket. Make sure not to get up to high or you could end up in the baseball field.
There is a long walk back towards #7s tee past #6s tee to get to #8 by the pond. This is just a simple chuck over the water, better to go a little long than short. There is alot of pine trees 50' past the basket so if you really rifle it you wont go to far.
If you're looking for something different to play and live in the area than stop by. It's not a course to make a long trip for but not a bad course if its local. Go play some disc!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 My backyard.

5+    7/2/2010   7/3/2010
Review By: a_beautifulplace
Played: 36  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.2 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Half woods and half open
-There is now a map
-Holes one and three pretty much make the course
-Playing around the water tower is a very fun shot
-I learned to play here
Cons: -There are only eight holes
-Hole six is coming out of the ground
-There are a ton of people here on any night during the summer
-Baseball games in progress on two of the eight holes at most times in the evenings. If you go over the fence, you're going to interrupt the game.
-Hole 7 starts on a horrible path
-You can birdie every hole on the course without any excellent shots
Other Thoughts: This course is in my backyard and was the first course I ever played when I was in high school. I play it nearly every day to warm up on and at times when I am very rushed. As much as I want to say that this course sucks, it really doesn't, it just needs some maint. and maybe a better eye on the set up. It was much better a few years ago. So to the hot shots, this course sucks, but to players that are okay with playing a short and easy play through, this is worth the twenty minuets it takes to play. To the damn kids that are always letting you play through while they hit the pipe. There have been cops on bikes, with dogs back there the last few days. Do what you please, really, but don't be a damn idiot about it. Last thing we need is the police bombarding the place.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Little Course

5+    6/4/2010   6/5/2010
Review By: D21thorpe
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mix of trees and open area. Easy enough that anyone can play yet still challenging enough to be enjoyable for experianced players.
Cons: The course is split in two with the first half in the trees and the second half all wide open.
Other Thoughts: I have seen two aces on this course, but I have also seen a lot of disc lost.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 half cool, half ok

5+    5/5/2010   5/5/2010
Review By: chad-o
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.7 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: the sceanery is cool in the woods when your under the water tower. It has a couple narrow and tight shots but if you get a good line they are aceable.
Cons: the last 4 holes are spread out weird, you have to walk past 8 to get to 6 and 7. and the placement of seven is allittle out of place.
Other Thoughts: It is usually pretty calm at this course so if you just want practice this the place to go.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Better than before

5+    5/28/2003   10/28/2009
Review By: Sadjo
Played: 101  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 37.2 Years
This review was updated on 7/29/2010
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: A short and easy course. Much better than it was when it first went into the ground. Most will like the ease of playing.
Cons: While you'll enjoy your round, you probably are not likely to come back to play. It's a once and done course.
Other Thoughts: I remember playing this course when they had the famed Par 1 on a hole that was 80' long.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    6/5/2009   8/3/2009
Review By: Cradical
Played: 110  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The only pros with this course that I can see is that the first shots in the woods are pretty challenging. Other than that, you only have to worry about throwing over the pond.
Cons: There are no signs that tell you where the next hole is so if it's your first time, good luck finding where to go. The few times I've played it, I've never played the same holes. Everything seems to be different each time I have gone.
A building was recently built in the way of the fairway on hole 3 I think.
All throws are pretty short, I'm not sure there was a need for a driver the last time I went.
I have only ever played 8 holes here, and they've been different ones each time.
Other Thoughts: This course could be an ok course if there was more directions on where to go. If I go back and there are 9 holes and maybe a little bit of signage, I might update my review. If in the area, go a mile to Plymouth Creek or to sunnyside or bassett.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 only play if youre in the area and have the time

5+    6/28/2009   7/7/2009
Review By: MNsnowbikedisc
Played: 21  Reviewed: 6
This review was updated on 6/1/2010
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -intimadating shot across a pond on hole 8
-holes 1, 2, and 4 test how straight you can throw
-ace opportunity on hole 5
-first 4 holes are good for technique
Cons: -only 8 holes
-very confusing layout. excessive walking inbetween holes, if you can find them. (refer to the aerial photo i uploaded)
- recently changed some holes around which made it more confusing
Other Thoughts: -if youre in the area, might as well give it a try if you have time. but don't make a special trip here.
-when you drive along rockford road from west to east, you can play at plymouth creek woods, zachary playfields, sunnyside park, and bassett creek. all 4 courses are close to each other and can all be played in a few hours total.
-however, if youre looking for a better course, i suggest plymouth creek or bassett creek

-please note that in the aerial photo, the ice rink on the right is no longer there, so it's not in the way of hole 7

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  First 4 Holes Great

2-4    5/30/2009   6/1/2009
Review By: jon61575
Played: 17  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The first 4 holes are great for working on your short or mid-range game. They are in a tight woods and will test your accuracy.
Cons: Only 8 holes total. The last 4 holes are nothing special.
Other Thoughts: After playing through the whole course twice I went through the first 4 holes several times working on my accuracy and mid-range game.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Doing construction!!!!!!!!!

2-4    10/27/2008   11/10/2008
Review By: BenHoium
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Wood Shots are fun.

Can get done here really quick if times a factor.
Cons: only 7 holes !!!!!!

Hole 7 is coming out of the ground messed up

after wood shots the rest are boring

Hard to locate hole 1

Doing construction in front of hole 1 to hole 5 when i went by water tower.
Other Thoughts: First four holes are really fun to play then after that the rest are ok at best.

Average course that is ok to try out if you haven't ever played here. But if you far away not worth it.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Construction or something...

1    8/9/2008   10/1/2008
Review By: mndiscg
Played: 365  Reviewed: 358  Exp: 9 Years
This review was updated on 10/21/2008
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: None
Cons: There are only 7 holes here. I believe construction of a water tower or some football fields/tennis courts eliminated the rest. The holes that are there are in bad shape and are unmarked and difficult to find. This is not worth a stop. Go to the nearby Plymouth Creek instead.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

1 2 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.