Grove City, PA 
Hunter Farm Share
Uploaded By: discteacher Hole #4 (Taken 12/2015)
3 / 147ft.   3 / 182ft.   3 / 310ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Gold Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 14
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Boring Bomber Course

1    5/4/2019   5/8/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 444  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 26.2 Years
5 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Course has plenty of parking and very few non disc golfers near the course . You may have to only hold up a time or 2 for people on bikes or an occasional jogger using the park's cement path that runs parallel to a few of holes , maybe 5,12,13 & 16 . There is plenty of land available for this course , mostly wide open . If you love bomber holes , you will get more than your fair share . There is a nice kiosk at the parking lot , pretty decent Discatcher Baskets , Rubber mats , with 3 sets of tees , Gold , Blue and White . A few of the Gold ( longest ) tee pads will give you a little different look at the basket . The signage id good on the course , which is helpful , because you can't always figure out where the tee pads are . More on that in my cons . You may want to take a picture of the map at the kiosk , or better yet , bring the map with you to save time . Course design is fair . a couple of interesting pin placements .
Cons: Buckle in for the cons . #1 . The grass was so high when I played it , that I had to look around a bit for some of my fairway throws . A big downer . #2. The course holds water . I have waterproof hiking shoes , and if my throw just went a little off the fairway ( but still in the wide open ) the water went up over my shoes . #3 This is a sore point for me . If not for the good signage , I might still be looking for some of these pads . When you have the rubber milk carton tee pads , you might want to put something under them , or spray gas killer under them . Grass was growing through a large majority of the tee boxes , making it look like " The Course That Time Forgot " . No amenities : no benches ( okay since I never saw another person playing the whole time ) , no trash cans , Carry out what you carry in , no water fountains . #4 repetitive holes on a lot of the course , the only difference might be a tree or two , or the length of the hole . Wind will be a factor up there , but I didn't list it in my complaints because many long bomber courses in wide open parks will have it come into play .
Other Thoughts: I came over for a round after playing Moraine and Slipper Rock , and expected more from a course that was rated 3.15 on DG Review . I left damp and disappointed . Unless the upkeep on the course is taken seriously and a couple of items tweaked , very few people will try this course . It is a shame , because it can be coupled with Grove City just a couple of miles away . No signature holes here .Too many good courses close by . My recommendation : Leave This One Alone

5 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Worth the drive

1    9/23/2018   9/24/2018
Review By: Brovie
Played: 23  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 8.1 Years
Pros: Gold, blue, and white tee pads.
Really nice variation of distances from hole to hole.
Mostly open holes with a few wooded ones.
Decent use of what little elevation changes are present.
Clearly defined fairways.
Very clear signage allowing for easy course navigation.
Good hole layouts.
Cons: The tee pads could use some love and upkeep as others have mentioned there are several pads that have grass growing up through them.
The rough was rather long which isn't a con from a gameplay standpoint but is in terms of potential to lose discs.
Other Thoughts: The majority of this course is out in the open but the thick rough makes hitting the fairways crucial. The course was still a bit waterlogged but very playable especially if you hit the fairways. The nice mix of doglegs both left and right force you to make some challenging shots at times. This course really impressed me and I would definitely recommend it.

Painful and Forgetable

1    9/29/2017   9/29/2017
Review By: DiscinOhio
Played: 124  Reviewed: 120  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hunter Farm is a LONG course that plays through a HUGE piece of property in Grove City.

Lots of opportunities for the cannon arms to show their stuff. Many long, open holes.

Tee signs are nice. There are also directional signs everywhere so it's pretty easy to navigate around.

Newer DISCatcher baskets. There is also a practice basket next to the parking lot.

Maintained nicely for the most part. Fairways are cut down and well defined.



Cons: In all honesty, Hunter Farm just wasn't really fun. Gets repetitive, just long throw after long throw without a whole lot of obstacles. Gotta mix things up a little bit.

Tee pads are non existent. Grass has grown through them on most holes.

The rough is terrible. This seems to be a windy area, if the wind takes the disc, then kiss it goodbye. Wetlands, head high weeds, etc.

Little change in elevation.

Other Thoughts: Overall, I didn't have much fun here. Too many long, boring holes plus the endless hunt for lost discs. Kind of ruined my mood to start my PA trip.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    8/8/2016   8/12/2016
Review By: k5survives
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great scenery. Not too many obstacles. Cool pin placements. A couple of very fun holes.
Cons: Skinny skinny fairways on front 9. Got lost trying to find 2 holes. Sewage treatment plant can give off a small.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Link style course thats wide open.

1    6/12/2016   6/12/2016
Review By: Jags
Played: 34  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 4.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Disc course is in a very wide-open, beautiful park with jogging trails, ball fields, and a playground. None of these other amentities interfere with disc play as both are separated enough to be a non-issue. Course has some really nice holes and was the most open course I've ever played. Had a real fun round here. I would call this a link-style disc golf course with tight fairways & unforgiving rough.
Cons: This course is kind of hard to follow. There are signs but not enough in the right places to make for good flow. Took a couple wrong turns but eventually found our way. There are groundhogs EVERYWHERE which means there are groundhog holes EVERYWHERE! Be wary and watch your footing. This course could use some more weedeating done on some paths near some tee boxes and around some of the baskets. Rubber mats have weeds growing through mat holes but the bigger problem is most tee pads aren't level. Slippery when wet. Make sure to check out how much wind will be blowing if your going to play here. Since there are only 4-5 wooded holes, there isn't much to stop the wind. Very similar to the wind conditions @ Slippery Rock University. The wind surely didn't help my throwing but if you're going to play Hunter Farm you better be able to hit tight fairways. The rough is anywhere from knee high to chest-high. I didn't lose any discs in the rough but I almost did on several occasions. On hole #14 and #15 there is poison ivy from tee pad the entire way up the mowed fairway to the baskets.
Other Thoughts: This course is unlike any course I've played before being so wide open but so unforgiving with its super tight fairways and ever-blowing wind. It's wide open like Buhl Park but more wide open fields and not so much open-style city park setting. Maybe the park wants wide open fields on the disc golf fairways but with some trees planted in the right places this course could still be wide open but with trees protecting baskets. If this course would have a little more weed trimming done, had more directional signs put up, had the poison-ivy taken care of on the fairways, and had cement tee pads put in, I could see the pro's maybe playing here some day.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Links style course!

2-4    2/3/2016   2/6/2016
Review By: MikeVasey
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: We played two rounds. One from white and one from blue (gold is longest) and were pleasantly surprised by how much fun we had. Being so used to the other courses in the Pittsburgh area which are heavily wooded this was a welcomed change and challenge being that most of it is wide open with flagged off ob (no trees to save your bad throws)! the course was pretty wet but in Feb that's no big deal.. Bring your overstable stuff for the wind... There are a few wooded hole that are pretty technical, one with an elevated basket at probably 5 or 6 feet which was interesting and fun!
(and the ground hog holes others mentioned were flagged with green lawn flags to keep you aware)
Cons: The tee pads are rubber mats with holes in them so some grass was coming through and they were not very level in some places. some of the bridges were sub par but not dangerous or anything and the sewage plant nearby smelled funky but it only hit us on a hole or two (might be worse in the summer)
Other Thoughts: Its about an hour and 20 min from where I live but I will no doubt be making more trips out there to play this fun LONG course!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Fun new course

2-4    12/5/2015   12/5/2015
Review By: jjtwinnova
Played: 110  Reviewed: 86  Exp: 4 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There is a good mix of holes, a fair amount of par fours and fives. Three tee pads and three pin locations. The course loops around after 9 and 18 so there is no walk. Fairways were cut and the rough wasn't substantially high. Innova Discatchers are pretty nice. Good condition as of now. Course design was a great plus with what was there. Alot of openness to work with .
Cons: Some of the tee pads were covered in grass and weeds but nothing intolerable. The bridges to get over the little creeks are subpar. Just wood planks. Course navigation was a little tough, not alot of signs. OB could've been marked a little bit better. There were alot of holes that were just wide open. There is nobody to blame for this because they had to work with what they had, but it was just a bit monotonous. Some of the fairways were carved out to make a little bit more shot shaping. There is a sewage treatment plant on sight that smells a little funky.
Other Thoughts: Being a newer course it obviously has some work to do. I can't wait till the course gets the attention it deserves. The course has a great group of people working on it, so I know it will do just fine.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great new course

1    11/22/2015   11/24/2015
Review By: breiher
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful layout and landscape.
This course offers a little bit of everything in the links style disc golf and the wooded holes.
The open holes give plenty of opportunities to score if you can manage the wind.
The wooded holes are rather technical and most offer two routes to the basket.
I love the circuit boxes that hold the baskets.
Wolf creek provides beautiful scenery.
Three tee boxes with nice tee signs.
Cons: Keep you eyes on the ground on the open holes. There are several massive groundhog holes that can easily cause damage.
The tee boxes could use some love.
Struggled slightly moving from #7 to #8.
Other Thoughts: With a little time and consistent grass maintenance, this course can be exceptional. I'm excited to play here again.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/12/2015   11/6/2015
Review By: Jabumbo
Played: 57  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 20.9 Years
Pros: The length of the course made for a nice challenge. Mix of pars left me with a chance to score on most of the holes. The area is pretty peaceful and has minimal issues with locals on the trails.

At this point, the freshly mowed fairways go a long way from what I imagine this place looked like before. The rough was still pretty rough but if you are hitting your shots you will definitely be rewarded.
Cons: Being a young course, most of the issues are ones that I think will be fixed up with time and a little TLC. The rubber grid tees are nice but could use flattened and cleaned of weeds. Some of the tee shots still had unusual site lines that made ripping that drive more mental than physical.
Other Thoughts: Not knowing the course, the walk outs from hole to hole were occasionally tricky. I'm sure these things will come with time as the course matures and more people are playing.

The regular mowing will definitely play a big role in how this course develops, but it has a lot of great qualities that can be built upon.

Certainly a great improvement and worth a stop when nearby!

 Hidden Gem

1    10/6/2015   10/29/2015
Review By: BigAl724
Played: 161  Reviewed: 139  Exp: 6.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Hunter Farm is somewhat of a hidden gem in the area, marred by low ratings due to the poor condition that the course was initially in. Recently, a ton of work has been done to get the course in quality shape. There's plenty of parking space, porta-potty's, a course map, and a practice basket located near the first tee. I was very pleasantly surprised when I played here as I didn't much about the course before I played. This is a nice location and it's a peaceful setting with the course being mostly set off on its own.

The layout is links-style and reminded me somewhat of SRU, which makes sense since it's been designed by the same man. J Gary Dropcho is one of the best course designers in the area and always makes the best use of the land given. The course is really spread out and consists of a ton of long par 4's and a few par 5's. There is a great balance of open and wooded shots and you won't get much better of a variety of hole lengths than here. Not a ton of extreme elevation changes like SRU, but there's a constant use of rolling hills. Water comes into play in the woods with a few sketchy shots near streams.

While it mostly emphasizes hitting open landing zones with long, accurate drives, there are a few wooded holes mixed in. These are actually my favorite part of the course and really serve well in mixing it up from the open bombs. A few of these are birdie runs, but there are also a couple longer ones that wind their way through the woods. Hole 7 plays like this and combines the use of rolling elevation. It actually reminded me of a lot of the holes at Idlewild, which is nothing to sneeze at.

The three tees are very appropriate at a course like this and do a great job of changing up the hole in terms of distance and the look of the hole from the tee. The tees are plenty long and the tee signs are detailed.

Navigation is very simple due to the many signs pointing you in the right direction and the course loops back to the parking lot after the front 9.
Cons: I can see problems in the spring and summer if the weeds grow out again. About half of the holes have open fairways that are surrounded by rough. If the rough was to grow out any bit high like it was initially, it would really impact the enjoyment of the course.

More of a preference thing, but I wish the course had more opportunities for line-shaping and choosing from different routes. There's a great mix of open and wooded holes, but I wish the open holes weren't as wide open in the fairways. However, I understand the intentional design of having this course emphasize long and accurate shots while staying in the fairway.

The course had been recently mowed when I played, but there were still weeds and grass growing through the tee pads. With the rate of improved maintenance here, I imagine that this will continue to improve over time.

The tee pads were sometimes lumpy and uneven. Not a huge problem but the long run-ups required here would serve better using a little bit flatter of a surface at times.
Other Thoughts: This is a long, bomber type course that will test your distance and accuracy in a big way. Staying on the fairway is key. I didn't want to put this in the cons, but because of the course's length, it takes a while to play and can be exhausting. A great hike for sure. This is a course that should only improve over time and I'm glad to see it in the area. With the recent additions near Hermitage and the redesign of SRU, this area has come a long way with disc golf and no longer is simply all about Moraine. Just don't overlook this course while in the area.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.