Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #9 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 166ft.   3 / 306ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 101
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11

1    6/24/2019   6/24/2019
Review By: Breh
Played: 133  Reviewed: 131  Exp: 10 Years
4 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: This is the most well upkept course I've ever played, beautiful dosen't even do it justice
It's so pristine and you can tell some serious time and money has been put in here. Some really great views
Long and short tee pads and baskets on everyhole, that our in phenomenal shape. Brooms and The walk ways our all well done in beautiful brick and wood chips. Steps our put in everyplace you would need them. Great tee signs and layout. I feel like I needed a collar shirt just to be playing here. Some iconic basket placements, and holes like hole 17! You can tell so much has been done here, simple navigation and a variety of shots and choices.
Cons: None really everything I could want in a course
If I had to knit pick maybe the tall grass off the fairway but that's why they call it rough. the small walkout from 14 to 15? That's really me reaching though this course is incredible
Other Thoughts: This might have took my top spot of courses ever played

4 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Well love and well maintained track

1    6/18/2019   6/18/2019
Review By: Moose33
Played: 75  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 8.4 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I thought this might be at least a very good course based on the reviews and ratings, but have to say that it was a more complete track than I would have thought. The course is pay to play but it seems that many of the worthwhile ones these days are. It's fairly easy to find the course within the park and the large map, as well as scorecards with the map on them are freely available as well as mini pencils right by the beginning of the course.

I have to say the accurate signs, benches on every hole, bag hangers, and large teepads were fantastic. As well as well built steps, supporting walls, small bridges and similar.

The baskets are all Innova baskets, one set with blue bands for the Longs and the normal yellow for the shorts. There is also a short tee on many of these that would make this somewhat challenging course more accessible to newer and lower powered players.

There is a good use of elevation here particularly on 17 which is a booming downhill par 4 that comes back uphill to the pin.

There is a little water in play, mainly just one hole, but the use of tee lines and natural barriers make it a fun play.

The greens all have a big wood chip circle around them which is a nice touch.

There are even accurate next tee signs on every hole, which is incredibly rare.

Also looks mowed fairly recently.
Cons: It's got very few big flaws. A couple of spots where fairways cross a little close and a few more where there possibly could be a more interesting line.

The 6.50 per day is higher than many comparable courses but I'm not going to knock it for that. If the money is at all going back to the course it's worth it.
Other Thoughts: This is a really solid course with a ton to recommend it. I used so many tee shots that it wasn't just a typically FH/BH hyzer course, I used some OH shots and turnovers, tight tumble hyzerflips and overall had to work a little bit to score well.

If your close it is recommended you play here.

Also has a nice practice area with a couple of chainstars to warm up.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

The Ideal in Course maintenence

2-4    5/30/2019   5/30/2019
Review By: Sveden
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: If you would like to see quite possibly the most gorgeously maintained disc golf course please visit Bryant Lake DGC. Massive concrete teepads. Concrete sidewalks abound inbetween holes as well as wonderfully overbuilt wooden steps built into hillsides. Always perfectly mowed and trimmed.

This course has something for everyone in my opinion. Has some really long beautiful bombs as well as several fairly short yet blind approach holes.
Cons: It is really a great course and one of the few on the West Side of Minneapolis so sometimes it gets a little busy.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Top Tier course

1    8/23/2017   11/15/2018
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 119  Reviewed: 105  Exp: 2.9 Years
This review was updated on 1/4/2019
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros:
- Hole 1 is a great opener, but don't take it lightly. Sure, it looks wide open, but any left fade will take you off the fairway.
- Hole 2 feels tighter than it actually is - the landing area is pretty forgiving for an up and down par.
- Hole 3 in another one where you don't want to be wrong left, because your approach will be obstructed.
- If you're playing the Whites, when you get to Hole #5, take a look at the Blues for future reference. This is a good example where the designer gives you a choice: if you're playing the from the Blue, sure it's longer - but you get and extra stroke since its a Par 4. I think that's a fair tradeoff, and it's encouraged me to play more courses from the Blues.
- Hole 6: again, don't go left. You'll change a birdie run into a scramble for bogey.
- Take a moment to admire all the lumber on Hole 7 (while cursing it under your breath).
- Do you have a thumber in your arsenal? If so, then Hole #15 is for you! The landing area is nice and soft, so you don't have to worry about roll, so a nice high thumber will thread the needle and give you a birdie run.
- I really have to admire the balls of the designers when it came to the long pin placement on #16. It's fairly easy to take the rock out of play, but the narrow fairway, combined with thinking "there's a giant rock right in front of the pin!" makes this hole get into your head.
- 17 is all about the fade, not the distance. Aim to compensate for the fade, and throw easy.
- 18 is a good, if not great, finishing test. Get through the valley to take as much of the hill out of your second shot as possible.
Cons:
- There's left-side trouble on a lot of the holes, and if you're a RHBH who's not throwing well today, that will get a little old, especially when a slightly poor shot gets made worse by steep slope. This may sound silly, but I prefer variety in my screwups, and not "oh, there I go again, and the course is going to kill me for it..."
Other Thoughts:
- If anyone tells you "disc golf ain't golf" take them to Bryant Park. In addition to all the challenges of the game, you're playing at a beautiful site that's been given as much care in the design as any top tier ball golf course.
- Terrific signage and all the small touches, like bag hooks, broom hooks, cards and even pencils. I hesitate when I see "pay to play", but this place makes you feel like your money is being put back into the course.
-Bryant Park is top tier because it does everything well, and it treats the game seriously: every fairway, every tee area, every green is well thought-out.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Beautiful Halloween day at Bryant Lake

1    10/31/2018   10/31/2018
Review By: Monkeypaws
Played: 60  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 8 Years
5 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: • Excellent signage - they really anticipate where people are gonna be looking for help and put signs there.
•Ginormous tee pads - footing is not a concern here - even saw a few mini-brooms attached to signage in case of snow.
•Shot variety: Lots of tricky elevation shots, left to right, right to left, trees blocking just the perfect routes. Course design is top notch.
•Benches at every hole: and a wire cage design that defeats the disc charger crowd :)
•Trash and recycling almost every other hole: never have I seen so many places to put the rubbish, and as a result, the course is clean as a whistle. Who knew?
Cons: None that I saw
Other Thoughts: I've been wanting to play here for a few years.

I paid the $6.50 to play (honor system), and it was worth every penny to me. I even got a scorecard and a pencil! Coulda cheated, but glad I didn't.

I expected to get me arse kicked here, but finished only +1.

I was lucky to get the perfect fall day to play - mild wind, sunny and warm(54). Can't wait until the next round.

5 of 9 people found this review helpful.

One of the Best Courses In Minnesota

5+    10/5/2018   10/6/2018
Review By: trevster
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.1 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - course design is absolutely phenomenal, fantastic use of landscape; very creative basket placements.
- well maintained fairways and rough; even at it's thickest points, you shouldn't have too much trouble finding a disc.
- big map at the start of Hole 1 showcasing the course is easy to read and colorful.
- bathrooms and drinking fountains on site.
- 16/18 holes have both long and short tees, and lots of them have multiple baskets as well, making for lots of variety and replayability.
- teepads and baskets are top notch and color coded for long and short tees/pins; blue for long, yellow for short.
- baskets have wood chips around them, a nice touch.
- walking paths between holes are very nice; most of them have a decorative brick path with signs pointing where to go when there's a bit of a walk.
- on holes where the teepad for the next hole is close to the basket for the current one there's a large netting structure guarding the teepad from incoming discs.
- each teepad has a pole with hooks on it designated to hold bags.
- landscape is beautiful (I even saw some wild turkeys and some deer); bring a camera.
- perfect variation in holes; some go up, down, across, or any mix of the three.
- course is challenging, yet fair, with a good combination of easy holes and harder holes.
- never confusing on where to go.
- no two holes feel the same, will require lots of different types of shots and you'll get to use every disc in your bag.
- feels like a championship caliber course; it's easy to see a lot of care went into every aspect.
- overall just a super fun course to play.
Cons: - first time coming to the park can be confusing as to where to park; there isn't one big parking lot, rather several smaller ones along the road.
- that's literally it.
Other Thoughts: I grew up on the Elm Creek course and have played all the courses within the area, yet it took me seven years to get over to play the Bryant Lake course... huge regret. I'm not kidding when I say this is BY FAR the best course in the area, and arguably the best course in Minnesota. I know it's my favorite course that I've played.

The course is breathtakingly beautiful. Each hole looks spectacular and visually appealing. They went above and beyond with the design of pathways and basket areas. Many of them have decorative bricks and structures built from wood that give a cozy, polished vibe to the course.

They say the "signature hole" of Bryant Lake is Hole 17, which I would be inclined to agree with. You throw over a wooded area, a road, and a parking lot to an open field and then straight into a wooded area to reach the blue basket. It's very intimidating the first time around - I almost didn't even throw it because I was worried I wouldn't make it over. However it plays much easier than it looks because of the elevation, it really doesn't take that much strength to get one to the fairway.

I don't want to pick apart each hole because that would ruin some of the fun, but here's a couple spots to look out for...
- the left side of the fairway on Hole 7 drops off pretty steep and due to the location and distance from the teepad, any hyzer shot that lands in there could roll way down the hill.
- behind the basket of Hole 8 also drops off really fast, so be careful not to overshoot; my disc only landed maybe 10 feet down the slope, but I couldn't get my footing right to throw another shot because of how vertical it was.
- there's a swampy marsh area off to the left of the fairway on Hole 14 that looked absolutely miserable to get caught up in.

The walk from Hole 7 to Hole 8 takes you through a wooded area on a decently long walk. They might even be able to add in a few holes in the woods there to make it a 21-Hole romp.

Also, I think this course is the most fair when it comes to how the Pars are measured in comparison to the other two Three Rivers Park District courses (Elm Creek & Hyland). There are some easier "up-and-down" short Par 3s that even beginners could Birdie, but then the next hole will require a perfectly executed tee-shot to Birdie, while still being a possible Par if you stray off the main path. Both Elm Creek and Hyland have certain holes that are nearly impossible to Birdie and are unfairly marked a Par 3 (looking at you, Hole 5 at Elm). Even the Par 4s are eagle-able if you have a big arm.

Bryant Lake is truly a top-tier course, and more than worth the $6.50 they're asking per round; you could charge me $20 a round and I'd still play it.

Awesome course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Well-maintained course with wide variety of shots

1    5/13/2018   5/13/2018
Review By: rayoflight
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This disc golf course has a healthy amount of challenge, but even if you do end up in a bad spot you can find your disc again. The roughs off the fairway are kept substantial enough that they will make it hard to get your par from off the fairway, but they're not so punishing that they would make beginners want to quit. A 950 rated player might find it a bit easy, but for most people who aren't substantially above average disc golfers this course will be hard enough just to get par on.

-There is a mix of technical and distance holes. The last two holes in particular require you to throw a considerable distance to get a 3, though a 4 is quite doable with under 300' of power. On some of the tighter fairways and more downhill holes though, knowing how to throw a putter off the tee is EXTREMELY valuable. This course will teach you about disc selection and risk management.

-The scenery is beautiful. Because you're going up and down the hills in a lightly wooded course next to a lake, you're likely to see a fair amount of wildlife. There are also some great views from on top of some of the hills.
Cons: -Pay to play, costs $6.50 to play or $45 for a season pass. You have to pay for the extensive course maintenance they do, so it's worth it in my opinion, but if you're broke then that can be a deal breaker.

-There can be ticks in the spring and summer. Minnesota definitely has some lyme disease, so take appropriate precautions by using bug spray and checking for ticks after you get back from disc golfing.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  GREAT COURSE!!!

1    9/30/2017   9/30/2017
Review By: Mcsilva051
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great layout and very well kept.
Cons: Lost my Beast on 17, the MONSTER Drive Hole. It was crazy.
Other Thoughts: Played twice today and enjoyed it. Great Atmosphere and friendly players. Everyone helped when I need to figure out where to head to next.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 country club

5+    9/18/2017   9/18/2017
Review By: dickwolf
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 24 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very nice practice or warm up area.
very interesting holes. much elevation change, but does not leave you exhausted.
multi pads and baskets on (i believe) every hole.
not a breadcrumb of trash on the course.
benches, trash, and ash tray on every tee. there are even places to hang your bag on every hole!
awesome place to play disc golf.
Cons: not really cone, more observations.
not cart friendly.
found the course to be borderline easy. maybe i just played well, but i would think a course this nice would be more difficult, or have the option to be. still awesome, dont get me wrong.
Other Thoughts: this course is the closest thing i have played to a disc golf version of a high end country club. totally worth the $6, or the $45 season pass.
not a single complaint, even my listed cons arent really cons.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Rude staff, Police patrolled

5+    7/12/2015   11/5/2016
Review By: sdmaas
Played: 24  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2017
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Well maintained, good mix of technical and bombers, garbage cans and restrooms on the course, good design
Cons: Long waits at peak times, slow course reconstruction (when it does happen), some spots of poor maintenance, rude staff, in the middle of Eden Prairie-the most pretentious city in MN next to Edina
Other Thoughts: I had to update my review to reflect the course management. To preface this, I have played this course over 30 times... I will never step foot here again. If the course worker is not at the entrance, you can't throw. $180 ticket if you do...Ask me how I know. As a former season-pass holder and long-time veteran, I expect to pay for a good course. (I didn't try to not pay, just couldn't.) I disagree with the cost of the course and would rather drive 10 minutes to the next course.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 ... 10 11

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.