Minneapolis (Eden Prairie), MN 
Bryant Lake Park Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #17 (Taken 6/2015)
3 / 257ft.   4 / 536ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Yellow Basket to Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 94
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
GREAT COURSE!!!

1    9/30/2017   9/30/2017
Review By: Mcsilva051
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Great layout and very well kept.
Cons: Lost my Beast on 17, the MONSTER Drive Hole. It was crazy.
Other Thoughts: Played twice today and enjoyed it. Great Atmosphere and friendly players. Everyone helped when I need to figure out where to head to next.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

country club

5+    9/18/2017   9/18/2017
Review By: dickwolf
Played: 45  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 21.4 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: very nice practice or warm up area.
very interesting holes. much elevation change, but does not leave you exhausted.
multi pads and baskets on (i believe) every hole.
not a breadcrumb of trash on the course.
benches, trash, and ash tray on every tee. there are even places to hang your bag on every hole!
awesome place to play disc golf.
Cons: not really cone, more observations.
not cart friendly.
found the course to be borderline easy. maybe i just played well, but i would think a course this nice would be more difficult, or have the option to be. still awesome, dont get me wrong.
Other Thoughts: this course is the closest thing i have played to a disc golf version of a high end country club. totally worth the $6, or the $45 season pass.
not a single complaint, even my listed cons arent really cons.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Rude staff, Police patrolled

5+    7/12/2015   11/5/2016
Review By: sdmaas
Played: 19  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/11/2017
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Well maintained, good mix of technical and bombers, garbage cans and restrooms on the course, good design
Cons: Long waits at peak times, slow course reconstruction (when it does happen), some spots of poor maintenance, rude staff, in the middle of Eden Prairie-the most pretentious city in MN next to Edina
Other Thoughts: I had to update my review to reflect the course management. To preface this, I have played this course over 30 times... I will never step foot here again. If the course worker is not at the entrance, you can't throw. $180 ticket if you do...Ask me how I know. As a former season-pass holder and long-time veteran, I expect to pay for a good course. (I didn't try to not pay, just couldn't.) I disagree with the cost of the course and would rather drive 10 minutes to the next course.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Best kept course

5+    10/13/2016   10/17/2016
Review By: surlyhodags
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: One of the best up kept courses in the State.
Recycle, Trash, cigarette butt garbage on every hole.
Constantly improving with new retaining walls and always very clean.
# 17 is top 5 holes in the state.
Cons: Could use a few more technical holes but good mix of technical and wide open holes.
Really difficult to critique this course.
Wish they had a system for returned discs.
Other Thoughts: Looking forward to the improvements over time as well.
Have 2 putting holes they installed in the last year near hole 18.
In addition has a free access beach with vball and swimming and grilling.
Great park in general.

2 of 8 people found this review helpful.

My favorite Course

5+    6/12/2016   8/19/2016
Review By: Bitter Mouse
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22.4 Years
0 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: I love this course, with a wide variety of holes. It is wonderfully kept up and has wonderful elevation changes and 17 is one of my favorite holes I have ever played..
Cons: A bit light on tight woods holes and it is a dog free course.

0 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Exceptional

5+    5/15/2016   5/21/2016
Review By: redvinesfrolf
Played: 8  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 4.6 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -Excellent pads, two baskets a hole, every aspect of signage is well-done and helpful.
-Varied and interesting design on each hole.
-Well-conditioned grounds. The Park District works constantly to enhance the place with fantastic results.
-Enough elevation, which they make good use of.
-Restroom and water fountain accessible before 1 and after 14.
-Scenery is very nice.
Cons: -Not super challenging for the experienced player.
-Often very crowded.
Other Thoughts: Bryant Lake is an awesome course. It's very well taken care of, and constantly improved upon. It has many memorable holes, especially 5, 7, and 17. It's one of the best around the Twin Cities (or anywhere, for that matter) and certainly deserves a play. Also, the Three Rivers Park pass is a must for anyone who plays around here or Hyland. The two are very different but both are outstanding courses that can be enjoyed again and again. Since the Park District seems committed to improvement (11's tee and the net and the stairs before 15 were redone before 2016), I hope they will add more tee and basket options to lengthen the course and expose the many interesting playing angles possible on an outstanding piece of land.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Price hike

5+    4/16/2016   4/18/2016
Review By: Bobafred78
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: landscaping
Cons: none
Other Thoughts: This is a great course. Paying $5, $6 or $7 is fine. Just play more than one round to make it worth the investment. However making the daily fee $6.50 was a silly decision. Just make it an even dollar amount!

1 of 10 people found this review helpful.

WOW!! Best Course I've Played

1    10/20/2014   4/6/2016
Review By: mjz22
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.4 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Challenging!! Fun!! Beautiful Course (scenery and landscaping are incredible) Perfectly Manicured, Disc Golf Park Only (no other activities on the premises), no pets, no litter, benches, multiple baskets and tees, perfectly marked and mapped. Hole 17 is unbelievable as already stated over and over again.
Cons: Uhm.... I wish there wasn't a winter in Minnesota, otherwise I would be here all year round :)
Other Thoughts: $5 is a very small price to pay for what you get to enjoy out of this course - its features, maintenance, and the overall aesthetics are very tough to beat

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Will be coming back.

2-4    4/3/2016   4/3/2016
Review By: drumm3rn4ut
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a great course overall with its own little quirks. First off, the tee pads were great. All of the teepads had a color at the front: blue for long and yellow for short. Most of the holes had two tee pads on them, some with three because one wasn't officially used anymore.
Next up, the baskets. Most of the holes had two baskets on them. They were color coded, again yellow and blue. Usually the blue tee pad had a better view to the blue basket. All of the baskets were in great condition and caught well.
Most of the holes had their own layout/design. Some of them were kind of repetitive, not to the point of them being bad. Some of the holes had a great view of the lake, and if you weren't careful, your disc could end up there too. 17 was probably the most fun hole there because of the massive elevation change. You throw off a massive hill over a road. You have to judge the wind and what disc you are using, or else you could hit a car in the parking lot to the right or OB to the left or right.
Cons: With the whole disc hitting a car, don't park in the parking lot off of hole 17 or there is a good chance you car is going to be hit. I saw mine get hit and luckily it wasn't damaged. Also, going from hole 14 to 15 was a bit confusing and led me the wrong way. Today was a busy day because it was a warm spring day on the weekend. I had to wait on every single hole for a while.
Other Thoughts: Overall, Bryant Lake Park is a great place to disc golf if you are around. The course is well up kept and clean. This is a pay to play courses, and the fee was raised to around $6.20.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Scenic, fun, awesome.

1    9/17/2015   11/17/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 337  Reviewed: 211  Exp: 6.2 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole course located in Minneapolis, MN

Concrete tee pads, with two on nearly every hole. Long, grippy, just about as perfect as can be.

Discatcher baskets, all in near perfect repair. Most holes have two permanent pins, with the shorts in yellow and the longs in blue. Pretty great.

Excellent tee signs at each hole, with distance and hole layout and par. Also, bag holders as well. A very nice touch. Navigation was pretty darn simple.

I can't imagine a scenario where a course could be any better manicured. Perfect mowing, built up tees and pin positions, stone paver paths...it's a sight to behold.

While this isn't the toughest course in the world, it's damn fun. Good variation in distance, lots of rolling hills and elevation, and a pretty large selection of shots. There's a hint of openness to the course, but it's designed well enough that you don't ever feel like it's an open course. The top of the world shot on hole 17 is fantastic, as well....one of the best I've played.

Speaking of sights to behold, the views here are pretty stunning. Looking out over Lake Bryant from on top of the hill is probably a top 5 scenic view in my disc golf experiences. I don't often stop to click pictures of the scenery on a course, but I definitely did here.
Cons: There's not much to bad here. P2P ($5) isn't everybody's cup of tea, but with amenities like this, it's really hard to complain about it.

LOTS of traffic here during peak hours. We were here on a beautiful Saturday afternoon, and we paid the price. I'd assume it's not as bad during weekdays. This is a popular course, and for good reason.

As mentioned above, there's a fair amount of holes that are relatively open. Fortunately, most of those have some sort of elevation involved, and they're relatively well spaced out on the course. The prairie grass on these holes can eat some discs, though...especially on windy days.



Other Thoughts: Simply put, this is a fantastic course in a fantastic area for disc golf. If I get back to this area, I will definitely be back again. If YOU get to this area, you're doing yourself a major disservice by not playing it.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.