McLouth, KS 
Rose Park Share
Uploaded By: Rob Martin Hole #1 (Taken 6/2013)
3 / 288ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

2-4    6/25/2017   7/1/2017
Review By: Thimns
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The course is well laid out, and features a variety of open holes and wooded shots. Both times I've been I was the only player, which I kinda liked.
Cons: while probably not a con for better players, The straights in the wooded portions are very narrow at times and the undergrowth next to it is very dense and frequently thorny.
Other Thoughts: It's a good course in a beautiful park, but if you're prone to leaving the fairway wear pants to save yourself from the brambles

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Frozen Rose

1    12/26/2016   12/29/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Rose Park has some unusual holes, and does well fitting 18 holes into the nooks and crannies of a small park that has a lot of other stuff going on. There is a playground, high school athletic facilities, a pond and some picnic shelters. None of them were being used when I played there the day after Christmas, save for a gentleman walking laps on the track.

Expanded from 9 to 18 holes, the tees are all concrete and have signs, and those DGA baskets with deep buckets were all good. There bright spots throughout the course, with some water, woods, elevation, and long par 3's.

It begins with hole 1 near the playground as you drive into the park, very easy to find. A decent starter that is discreetly slanted downhill and has a couple dozen trees as you get near the pin.

Hole 2 is a hard dogleg right with thick rough if you cut the corner too tight. 3 is a good one that has a straight shot to a clearing before fading sharply left once you enter. It also has thick rough if you get away from the line. Neither are easy birdies, especially if the wind is out in force.

Hole 7 doglegs hard to the left, and is guarded by trees and tall grassy bushes. Number 8 is very high risk and reward, with a pond on the right, and steep drop off into dense growth to the left of the berm.

10 is the most crazy, toughest hole, and I liked it the best. The fairway bends left before reaching a bridge, and the basket is to the right once you get across. Getting across the bridge is not easy, because there is water to the right, and mushy grass where the water makes its way toward the pond on the left. Both sides of the bridge have many trees, chopping the approach into a slivers if you are not right at the front end of the bridge.

12 is long for a par 3, and there is a train caboose on the right side that I hit with my terrible second shot. I have never hit a caboose with a disc before, I wouldn't recommend it.

14 has the largest elevation change, dropping off the side of the road about 20' pretty quickly, and a big tree waiting to catch any disc that flies too far to the right.

17 was a fun hole that is shielded by tree branches down the middle, but has a left opening for the RHFH hyzer, or a smaller tunnel to the right if you want the RHBH hyzer. I mistook the basket for hole 4, which is visible down the center of the right hole, to be 17. It would have been a great throw had I been right, but it wound up costing me as I blew the comeback and made a bogey.

18 is in some thick trees as well, it bends to the left and is perfect for a RHBH hyzer if you can avoid being knocked down by all the trunks, stumps and branches.
Cons: I don't remember playing a course that crossed roads so many times. Holes 1, 6, 12, 13, and 14 all do it. May not be an issue most of the time, when if the park is host to sporting events, practices or picnics, it could be frustrating.

Some of the tees were pretty small, I like them to be larger myself. 8 and 10 have significant chances to lose discs in water or rough. 11 and 12 play close to the shelters, dangerous if they're occupied.
Other Thoughts: It isn't the strongest 18 in the state, and has some definite issues. Probably several holes that become unplayable if there are lots of people, and cars parked in the lot.

However, Rose Park does have a full 18 now, and I would think the rural location doesn't draw a lot of traffic most of the time. I'm guessing holes 6-14 are the new holes, and you could skip some or all of them to shorten it up to 9 or 11 holes.

Hitting the caboose on 12 was a new one, but another weird thing I had never seen occurred on hole 8. My brother in law turned over his driver straight into the pond. We were able to retrieve it without getting our feet wet, because the water was frozen. Not solid across the entire surface, but that edge appeared to be shallow. I was not totally confident it would hold, but couldn't leave his plastic sitting there in plain sight. It slid 25' from the edge, but I was able to scoot out there slowly, and slid it back reaching the last few feet with a stick. I guess that is as close as I will ever get to playing ice hockey.

The wind was killing it that day, and both of us were shut out from getting any birdies all day. I had a putt on 15 but missed it, and he had a good look on 18 but could not convert. I was 11 over par (65) at the end of the round with 2 double bogeys. Extremely frustrating, everything that I threw hard was highjacked by the wind, and there were not a lot of good drives from either of us.

If you are running out of new courses to play in the area, this is not a bad option. I will likely come back and try to post a more respectable score eventually. Just not until I get a great weather day, or at least a day with no wind.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Pretty decent course

2-4    7/27/2016   8/12/2016
Review By: Noah PDX
Played: 14  Reviewed: 2
Pros: -Good use of natural landscape
-Good mix of throw types required
-Basket quality is good with hole # marking
-Tee pads are concrete with good signage
-Grass was well maintained (when I was there)
Cons: -Pretty flat area
-The deep rough is very rough hard to find disks with lots of spiders
-There are a few roads and parking lots that conflict with disc flight path. I threw right over a truck parked on the side of the road.
-There is a hole on the back 9 that is a disc eater. About 10ft wide strip with nasty pond water to the right and a drop off spider infested deep rough on the left. Beginners skip this hole.
Other Thoughts: If more people played this course and kept the spider population down the course would be much better.

 Record of previous reviews

5+    5/16/2015   5/19/2015
Review By: Rob Martin
Played: 184  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 7.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Increased from 9 to 18 holes. The additional 9 holes definitely add an increased level of dificulty and variety.

Concrete pads

Excellent baskets

Signage, benches, trash cans. Maintained fairly well.
Cons: While they do have concrete pads, they are a bit short. The original 9 pads were placed into the ground. The second 9 holes the pads were poured on top of the ground so they are elevated.
Other Thoughts: Here is a combination of reviews from the original Rose Park course listing that was retired.

Chained Evil rated it a 3.0 and wrote:
Pros: This course offers a nice mix of moderate and longer length holes. The flow is logical and there is good signage and new DGA baskets with next tee arrows on top of them. The course is clean and plays around a park and school grounds.
There is a kiosk at the start of the course with scorecards.
Hole 1-slight dog leg to the right and plays slightly downhill
Hole 2-uphill shot with a sharp dog leg right and the basket is tucked into the tree row
Hole 3-dog leg to the left, tunnel shot off the box
Hole 4-wide open
Hole 5-plays on the backside of the football field
Hole 6-open shot
Hole 7-dog leg to the right with 2 trees off of the box
Hole 8-dog leg to the right and the basket sits behind the gap in the tree row
Hole 9-dog leg to the left

Cons: Some of the signs here seem to be facing the wrong direction, don't know what that was about. The tees for holes 4-6 are a bit on the short side. There are no alt pins here either. The walk from 3's basket to 4's tee is a bit long, but necessary to bypass the soccer field.


Other Thoughts: This is a nice 9 hole course that will provide you with a decent challenge. Wind could be a factor on some holes depending on which direction you were throwing. You will want to stay on the fairway because the rough is thick in spots and thorny in other spots. Getting back onto the fairway could be added strokes for sure.
Overall this is a pretty good 9 hole course that is worth the play if you are close by.

bigreddog gave it a 3.5 and wrote:

Pros: This course has a lot of doglegs and forces you to throw every path of shot. 3 holes have left to right and 2 have right to left. Also some holes are tighter so they encourage lower shots than the open holes 10/10

There is a large variety of openness on the holes even though there are only 9. There are two that are almost but not completely wide open, some that are tight only closer to the basket, some only near the tee, and two tight the whole way. 10/10

Newly opened and nicely mowed fairways but the rough isn't too thick. There are new tee signs and several benches in good condition throughout the course. A couple of the wooded holes are a little rough around the edges but more foot traffic should fix it. Course maintenance 9/10

Baskets are brand new and tees are concrete with no cracks. The tees are a little small, but they're still concrete. 8/10

Navigation between holes is pretty easy because most have a trail mowed from one basket to the next tee. There is one confusing part after hole 4 because the 4 basket is close to the 8 basket so the trail to 9 looks like it could be the trail to 5. Overall 8/10

Even though there are lots of obstacles, there isn't much deep grass so discs are pretty easy to find except for the third hole and possibly the eighth hole if you miss on the wrong side. 8/10

Benches and shade make for a comfortable round. No water fountains or bathrooms that I saw but I didn't look that hard. 7/10

This course would be able to challenge players of most skill levels but may be frustrating for beginners on the more wooded holes. 7/10

Navigation on the actual holes is pretty good but there are a couple of tricky spots. From the 4 tee you can see the 8th basket too and also from the 5th tee you can see the sixth basket about the same distance away. 6/10

Cons: No alternate hole positions, but this is a very new course and that could change in the future. 0/10

There isn't much elevation present. there are 3 holes that are slightly downhill but none that are uphill or with much slope from the side. Hole 5 does have an elevated football field to the right that makes for an interesting shot. 2/10

Most holes have only one way they can be played so they don't require much decisionmaking. Holes 1, 7, and 9 do have a couple of possibilities but overall it's not the best. 3/10

There isn't a large variety of distances on the holes. Hole 5 is significantly longer than the rest but is more wide open. 6 is shorter and also wide open and 8 is shorter and requires a window shot on the drive. Other than that though most holes are right about 300. 5/10

Other Thoughts: I wish there were 18 holes on this course because the 9 that were there were really fun. I'm sure that only having 9 holes will cause this course to be rated down but I don't think that's something a course should be counted down for.

It's kind of a long drive from Olathe for only 9 holes but I can't wait to go again once I'm back in Lawrence.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center