Montgomery, AL 
Auburn University of Montgomery Share
Uploaded By: spotswood Hole #21
3 / 185ft.   3 / 185ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #21 Tee: Patio and over path OB



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Needs Some TLC

1    1/12/2018   3/28/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.377 Rating) A typical University style course that has well maintained grounds, but not a well maintained set of disc golf basic amenities.
- HOLES (1 - 9) - IMO, the best part of this course. Several tunnel shot, pocket shots and uphill and downhill shots. Hole (8) is gushingly gorgeous with its series in mini hills leading to a tunnel framed basket. Hole (7) is another really cool moving tunnel shot with the basket placed on top of a 10 foot high mound.
- UNIQUENESS - Above average. A really nice hole length separation from sub 200 to beyond 500 feet. Several 20 foot and plus elevation plays, something I was not expecting in Montgomery. The tree coverage mixture is really good as well. Everything from completely open to heavily wooded. The one major missing element is water, although some may say this is a blessing. Also, not sure if there are any par 4s or 5s as I couldn't find anything to say one way or another. Hole (22) may fit the bill as a par 4. The hole is well guarded at the basket and it's over 500 feet and it has OB on the left side. I went ahead and updated the blank DGCR hole data to indicate this hole as a par 4.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - A touch above average. Holes (1-9) are the bread winners out here. There are a lot of blandish open plays from about hole (10) on. However, the fact that the open school grounds are so well kept, mowed and landscaped, it doesn't detract the entire beauty enough to bring the course to below average.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This course manages to find the perfect middle ground between too easy and too hard. The skills required should allow a nice challenge for intermediate players and also fair enough for rec players, These two groups make up the largest portion of the disc golf community.

Cons: This course needs a lot of TLC to shine once more.
- TEES - I have never played on such a wide diversity of teeing surfaces on one course. Concrete, asphalt, carpet, artificial turf, dirt and grass. I think concrete was the most common surface but it was at less than half of the holes. I was unable to locate tee (22) according to the map so I played it at the closest tracked down grassy area. Some of the tees use existing sidewalks and are extremely short. For example, (13) tee is played perpendicular to the sidewalk, so I only had 5 feet to work with.
- NAVIGATION - Not having a printed map or one downloaded to a phone is a bad idea. I was constantly checking my phone to see where to go. Lots of missing signage (see cons signage below) and navigational cues were spotty. Some baskets had arrows but an equal amount did not. The woodsy part of the layout had a few directional signs and intuitive paths and it was the easiest part of the layout to follow IMO.
- SIGNAGE - Tee signs were only present on 9 or 10 holes and they appeared to be several different versions. The first nine holes were the most complete but after that I only saw a few more. A couple signs towards the end of the layout had numbers on them that didn't match the online course map. I did not see a course map posted on site although I may have missed it in my haste and also due to my start on (11).
- CHARACTER - In addition to poor tees and signage, the course doesn't have the extras and comfort items like that seen on established courses. No seating, no practice basket, no shelter, no alternate basket placements and the quality of the baskets will be questioned by many traveling players. There are a few multi- tees in the woods, but the surfaces are natural.
- TIME PLAY - I was running between holes and this one still took me over an hour. First time solo players will need at least 5 to 10 minutes of recon time due to the navigational issues stated above. Figure a four sum out here will take 2 1/2 to 3 hours to finish a round.
- LACK OF ADVANCED LEVEL CHALLENGE - Note, I rated the difficulty of this course as a 22 hole par 67. It reads as upper rec level where an 885 rated player should average course par. There are a few Blue tees located in the woods that offer a couple longer challenging woods plays. On the flipside, there are even more sub 300 foot opens plays. Shot shaping is required on only a handful of throws.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - Several holes play along and across walking paths. Hole (2) plays along a moderately used road. A few holes bring into play a multi-use soccer field. Hole (11) plays adjacent to a parking lot.

Other Thoughts: A mixed bag of a course that appears to be top dog in town. (There is only one other course in Montgomery). There were definitely some things I liked about this course, especially holes (4) thru (8), but after that there were way too many plays that were either completely open or with light obstacles requiring little to no thought. A redesign of a substantial portion of the course with more holes using the underutilized wooded area to the left of tee (5) as well as an upgraded amenities package, could easily have me considering a 3 or even 3.5.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Winter season short days

1    12/4/2017   12/5/2017
Review By: Saintdenis3
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Map is available and course is easy to navigate for first time users. Bathrooms and parking is available by tee #1.
Other Thoughts: Great course. Plenty of holes to challenge your tight shots and plenty of open holes to test your arm. First time playing, I arrived at 430Pm on a winter day, Finish 18 holes as it was getting dark, only took 80 minutes to complete a round of 18. Not all holes are Cleary marked but with a map and a little common sense, it is easy to find the next tee box. Holes located in the woulds have big rocks to mark the tee pads.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Always a fun course to play!

5+    4/28/2017   6/6/2017
Review By: jrodkelly1
Played: 28  Reviewed: 7
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A good mix between wooded and open holes.

Lots of different shots required off the tee which always makes for a fun round

Hole 12, 15, and 18 are a blast

There is a great group of guys at Aum that keep the course well maintained, and they care about making it better.

Always a challenge because it's usually windy out.

Cons: Not all holes have great tee boxes.

Signage is coming soon from what I last heard. If you don't have a map it is hard to find the holes.

This course really could use some new baskets

Holes 19 and 21 really could be used more effectively boring t-shots

people are always walking on the cart path which really can cause congestion on the course.
Other Thoughts: I really do like the design of the course, there are plenty of shots where you can rip it! Also this course will only get better over time, because the people in the River Region care about it. If you've just moved to the are they have a great league. Definitely worth the drive to play if you are close.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Ok but needs a lot of work

1    3/6/2017   3/6/2017
Review By: Foreman2317
Played: 5  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 6.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good length
Mostly open - good for drives
On campus so grounds are mostly maintained
Cons: Poorly marked or not marked at all tee's
Little to no course direction
Mostly open - bad for really sunny hot days
Baskets are not marked
Holes grouped close together at times
#11 is right next to the parking lot which puts you in sever danger of hitting a car
Other Thoughts: This course needs work. I would not have found most of the holes without the map that's on here and the UDisc app. Even then I still couldn't find 13. Tee pads are sometimes concrete, sometimes dirt, sometimes a floor mat. Not a single basket is marked which gets tricky when the holes are near each other. I feel like with even just a small amount of maintenance this course could be great but as of right now it's pretty tough to keep track of where you are.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Local golfer review

5+    3/25/2016   3/28/2016
Review By: MultiNubs
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 12/8/2016
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fairly diverse holes. Some heavily wooded holes that will challenge your skill level to hit lines.

Very open holes to compliment the wooded holes to help get you back to even.

Good elevation changes, nothing too drastic.

This course will put every shot you have in your bag to the test at some point.

Never crowded.

Mini local club sanctioned tournaments The first sunday of every month.
Cons: Some of the fairways get tight when the trees grow back in during summer time.

Missing Signage. Local club has a map posted to this page. It helps, however, tee boxes are mostly natural tees and not perfect.

Some damage baskets(still playable) and tees.

Difficult to navigate without the map.
Other Thoughts: This course has a LOT of potential but due to recent construction on AUM's campus many holes were relocated from their original positions and thus all existing signage was rendered unusable.

This course is VERY fun to play, if you can navigate it. Take the time to follow the map, once you know the layout it's a very fun 22 hole course.

DO NOT CUT ANY TREES OR BUSHES. We've had a lot of issues with people widening the wooded holes fairways. These holes are supposed to be difficult! The current course record is -10, it's not hard, just learn to throw better!

The local club, River Region Disc Golf, does what it can to keep the course playable and are in the process of getting signage in order so that players can at least find their way around the course.

Typically, local golfers are very eager to show new or out of town players the flow of the course. If you'd like to navigate yourself there is a map on this webpage. OR you can goto facebook and search for river region disc golf club and contact someone directly for help!

This course will get better in the coming years, and hopefully more courses will pop up soon!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 nice course, needs better signs

1    3/19/2016   3/19/2016
Review By: gimpyninja
Played: 25  Reviewed: 5
Pros: There were some fun woods holes and well maintained grass on field holes. There are over 20 holes.
Cons: lack of signs or miss marked. unstandardized tees made it hard to find where some of them were.
Other Thoughts: I liked it and plan to go back again.

 Decent Course in need of signage!

1    7/15/2015   7/15/2015
Review By: Jpuder
Played: 38  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 16.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Has both wooded and open holes.
- Good elevation changes and use of the land.
- Course is laid out around the beautiful AUM campus.
- Fun course that incorporates all types of skills; technical, distance, anhyzer, hyzer, low ceiling.
Cons: - NO SIGNAGE! I played this course with a buddy who found the overhead course map online. Without it there is no way we would have known where to go. Every now and then there were spray painted markings indicating the hole number, which helped. However, this course is in desperate need of signs near the tee boxes.

- Uses "natural" tee boxes. Some happen to be on walking paths which helps. However, most are areas where the grass has been beaten down. Some were completely MIA so we threw from the general location according to our online map.

- A few pins are in rough shape. Most are just old but completely serviceable. One is a complete joke with half the basket smashed inward.
Other Thoughts: The main point is this; the course design is very good but without signage or obvious tee boxes it is nearly impossible to play this course without the online map. THE MAP IS UNDER "LINKS/FILES"!!

This course could without question be a 3 - 3.5 if signs were installed and a few baskets were replaced.

It was definitely worth the drive from Auburn to play the course and I would play it again!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.