Augusta, ME 
Augusta Disc Golf - Dragonfly Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  

2-4    7/4/2019   8/13/2019
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 322  Reviewed: 310  Exp: 23 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dragonfly is the 9 hole putting practice course at Augusta. When we first pulled in the parking lot, I thought they just had an abnormal number of like practice baskets in one area. But then I saw they are intended to be played in a specific order with flat stone markers in the ground for each one numbered 1-9.

Understand what this course is and what it is intended to be: putting practice, and I think it does an outstanding job of accomplishing just that. All holes are within make range with a putter, but for most people none are gimmees. And if you aren't careful, a fly by or rollway might yield a 3 on a 50 foot hole!

The variety is perfect and is a good representation of what kind of putts you might be faced with once on the real course- some open and flat, some elevation, and some with a tree or branch to curve around.

This is really well-designed to make 9 very short holes interesting and fun. And it is a great way to get yourself warmed up for the tougher Augusta courses.
Cons: Not really a "course", just an extra bonus for the Augusta Complex.

One might say that maybe the holes are kind of close to each other in a small area, but the holes are short and you only need a putter and should only be throwing at putting velocity, so that doesn't really matter.
Other Thoughts: A rating here is nearly irrelevant as this thing barely qualifies as a "course", but for putting practice (or even an intro course for kids) Dragonfly really shines for achieving its intended purpose.

And I must say it was still a fun addition to playing Quarry Run. We played Dragonfly multiple times just running for "aces" then mocking each other whenever somebody got a 3!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Fun little putter/warm-up spot.

1    8/6/2019   8/6/2019
Review By: markmcc
Played: 266  Reviewed: 243  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Frankly, I am at a loss as to how to rate these little putter courses. They really aren't courses at all as much as they are warm-up areas.

This one features excellent baskets, 2-foot square concrete "teepads", and bricks arranged to let you know which hole number you are one.

Hole lengths range from 37' - 68' with a bit of elevation and enough trees and shrubs to add interest to a few holes. So this isn't the kind of putter course where you'd expect to can most of the putts. Plan to miss a bunch of them and then drop in the second shot.
Cons: I don't consider this a course, and most complexes wouldn't list it as one. I've been to several places that feature a similar set-up and simply include it as an added attraction to the main course(s).
Other Thoughts: The entire Augusta Disc Golf Complex is outstanding, and this little putter course is just the icing on the cake.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 putter

2-4    6/2/2016   9/2/2016
Review By: Jmewhite1
Played: 24  Reviewed: 13
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good little putting area. Has nice new baskets and a well mowed area to practice your putting
Cons: Its just a practice putt area, i wouldn't call it a course.
Other Thoughts: Nice new basket, good area to warm up for the other course.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Putter course!!?!?!

1    6/27/2015   6/28/2015
Review By: Everett Evans
Played: 93  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 26.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: About the highest quality putter course anyone would ever think to make!! New baskets, clean tees with numbers outlined in brick, perfectly mown, some up, some down, some obstacles here and there.

Free!
Cons: Can't really think of anything, it is exactly what you would think if you imagined a top-notch putter course. Maaaybe one or two more holes with stuff in the way, or something right in front of the tee?
Other Thoughts: Rating this as a putter course, not against any other full-size courses. I thought it would be a bit silly and boring, but after a couple of holes we started to feel the pressure and it was a lot of fun. Not much to say about the course, it is literally nine holes ranging from 40 to 70 feet or so. If you are a really good putter you might go -5 or so, pretty much anyone should finish around par (using a par of 2). Great warmup or cool down and a nice accent to the full course on location, which is already one of the best in Maine.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.