Lee, NH 
Forest Glen Share
Uploaded By: Jimb Hole #4 (Taken 7/2018)
4 / 317ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Approach



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Short Wooded Fun

1    7/3/2018   7/12/2018
Review By: Jimb
Played: 105  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 11.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Close to Durham and other seacoast towns in NH which means plenty of places to eat, get gas, etc, within just a short drive to the course.

All 18 DGA baskets in excellent shape. Plus there's a practice basket in a small field across from the path to the first tee. White "next tee" directional markers are in place for every hole, I believe. Each tee is clearly marked by yellow posts with the hole # on them. Many holes have yellow directional arrows in the fairways to show the way to the basket. The tees themselves are just dirt, but are mostly flat. Some of the tee areas are pretty short, but so are most of the holes or throws required off of the tee.

This is a somewhat tight, somewhat technical, short, very wooded course. I believe that the fairways must have been cleaned up some since a previous review as the fairways on virtually every hole are now well defined. I'm not saying that they're wide, but they are there. There aren't too many saplings in the fairways as the course plays now. It's definitely a course where over multiple plays the power needed to hit the intended lines would be a learned skill. Generally speaking, the par 4s are all short and you need to hit a landing zone off of the tee to have a look at the basket. Most of the doglegs are severe.

The course probably favors RHBH tee shots with around half of the holes turning left off the tee. The amount of turn varies greatly from hole to hole, from gentle left fade, to 90 degree turns, to one (as has been mentioned before) almost horseshoe shaped hole. The rest are a mixture of straight and right turning holes. There's not a lot of elevation on the property, but the course makes decent use of it. There are a couple "across small valley" tee shots along with uphill, level, and downhill throws.
Cons: On a couple/few of the holes, the severity of the dogleg on a short par three is such that it would be nearly impossible to get close to the circle for a birdie putt. Maybe with more play I would find better lines. But after just one play it seems that, if the current tee and basket locations are kept, that the inside of the curve in multiple fairways could use some clearing. Instead of a 150' throw to a 90 degree (or more) dogleg, the inside corner could be mellowed to allow for a more reasonable hyzer, for example.

The course is quite short, and all in the woods. So some of the holes seem repetitive. No real "holes to remember."

When I showed up it was about 7:00 a.m. and I happened to run into the owner. She said that they normally don't open until 10;00 and that I was lucky to run into her. So you may want to find a phone number and call ahead of time if you're planning on playing early.
Other Thoughts: After reading the most recent review before mine I was considering not even bothering to play the course. I'm very glad that I did, though. It was the closest course to my brother in law's house that I hadn't played yet at 40 minutes away so I thought I'd give it a shot. I would definitely go back again as I was only able to play 18 and would like to go around a couple times to get a better feel for the lines.

I took a lot of pics, but most didn't turn out well on my phone as dark as it was in the woods. If I had better pics, I'd remember the holes better. Unfortunately, though, none really stood out enough for me to remember many specifics. So I'll just give an idea of what I think of a couple that I do remember that would be typical of the course.

Hole #15 was a cool right turner. It's a short par 4 at only 326'. Your drive needs to be about 250'-275' to hit the landing zone for a clear look down at the basket that is basically a 90 degree turn to the right.

Hole #16 is only 262', but plays distinctly uphill. It's a left turner, but there are two distinct lines to take off of the tee. I tried them both. One was a wide, high hyzer. The other was a straight, tight line, needing fade at the end. I just happened to hit both fairways cleanly and my drives ended up about 15' apart, despite the totally different lines.

Hole #17 is really short at 186'. It is a very straight, tight, fairway with a drop-off down to some water beyond the basket. Just a fun little hole.

I would recommend playing the course if you like short, wooded, courses. Don't go far out of your way to play it and hopefully you won't be disappointed. Chances are, it won't be your favorite course. But hopefully you won't hate it. I found it quite fun and a pleasant play, especially since navigation was so simple due to all of the next tee and directional signs.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Terrible. Just.... terrible

2-4    7/1/2016   9/19/2017
Review By: jtreadwell
Played: 92  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Nice baskets
- Onsite camping
- Makes other courses look better?
Cons: - Little to no disc golf experience is evidenced in the design.
- Natural and rough teepads
- Thickly wooded fairways with hoards of tiny trees
Other Thoughts: This is the only course within an hour of me that I've not played numerous times. Twice was plenty. The course was clearly not designed by anyone that has played much disc golf, as the lines are over-tight, awkward, and above all, no fun to throw. Of the 90+ courses I have played around the country, this is the bottom rung. Many of the holes make very little sense, and force difficulty with fairways full of brush, low branches, and tiny trees in the only visible lanes. Do you like horseshoe shaped holes? They have em and the fairways are so thickly wooded that it's easier to get a 2 cutting through the woods than it is to get a 4 following the fairway.

I have held off on reviewing this course because I would rather write about courses I enjoyed (there are so many excellent ones out there!), but this is literally the only course I would recommend skipping entirely and I'd hate for anyone to play it thinking they were going to get a 2.5 disc experience. To paraphrase Billy Madison:

Forest Glen, what you've just built is one of the most insanely idiotic courses I have ever played. At no point in your rambling, incoherent design were you even close to anything that could be considered a reasonable hole. Everyone in this room is now dumber for having played it. I award you no points, and may God have mercy on your soul.

Half a disc for nice baskets and the effort. Sorry if you're the designer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

forest course part of small campground

1    9/18/2017   9/19/2017
Review By: Startedw165
Played: 286  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 34.1 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good DGA baskets (18 + practice).
Short walk between holes, many directional guide signs indicating next tee. All tee areas currently marked with 2 yellow posts about 18" high that are visible before you get to them. Most holes have a yellow arrow nailed to a tree suggesting where to throw your tee shot and the direction towards the pin from that point. It would have been so much easier to just say "yellow arrow on tree in the fairway", but that would have implied that most holes have fairways. The yellow arrows are key since only 3 of 18 baskets are visible from the tee.
The course is in a pleasant forest with what seemed like a thick canopy; potential refuge on a hot summer day. Certainly, undergrowth is minimal, some smaller tree like stuff scattered and low areas with ferns but no thorns were encountered despite the inevitable walking off the beaten path to reach my lie. I saw salamanders scampering from under leaves and other signs of a healthy, somewhat natural forest.
Designers managed to fit 18 holes in a small area that utilizes undulating terrain. No large hills or super steep drop offs, but topography throughout and a few pins on slopes. Despite short hole distances, 90 degree doglegs and tight openings make below par scores tough to get.
Campground offices have cold drinks, some discs, nice people and a bathroom. FYI - current fee is $5 round or $8/day. Preparations were clearly being made for campground to close for this year. The campground portion is separated from DG.
Cons: Natural tee areas. Some with roots and other uneven footing, but none badly rutted. I used all 18, not having to move to the side or front of any of them. Run up space is often short, with trees, rocks or recent growth limiting.
The course has less limbs and sticks on the ground than others in the area and "thank you' to those that have cleaned up the course. But several brush piles are very poorly placed and interfere with landing zones. #7 requires a left to right flight path along a small ridge with forest along the right edge and drop off to the left. A series of brush piles sits in the narrow landing area, an actual fairway in this case, and a so well aimed shot can land right in one. These stick piles are waist high and there are birds flying in and out of all of them as if they live there. Discouraging to land in the center of the fairway and have to deal with that. Brush piles off to the left side catching discs that would otherwise slide down the hill would be so much better. Several other cases of brush pile placement affecting a risk / reward opportunity to the point of 'why try, trouble lurks there too'.
Many tall, thin trunked trees dominate this course and block 'up shot' lines whenever your tee shot fades or slices off the very tight pathways. New players could get discouraged here; every shot needs to be well placed or else have no clear path to basket on next shot. No chances to just throw long.
Other Thoughts: Could easily support many groups playing at the same time. Doubt it happens much though. No signature holes.
Don't think Forest Glen is 'typical' and its better than the other course that I gave a 2.5 (Hodges Dam). Not ready to give it higher even though I had fun there and glad I went.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 This has the potential to be good

2-4    9/12/2015   9/29/2015
Review By: ragebikes
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.4 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Challenging layout, not crowded, awesome DGA baskets, lots of undulation, 1 practice basket.
Cons: Not a lot of signage, tee pads aren't installed yet, a little thick on the sides of the fairways.
Other Thoughts: Improvements ARE being made. Trees are tagged for cutting and trimming, tee pads are delivered, worth the $5 even though there are free courses in the surrounding area.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.