Cedar, MN 
VisionQuest Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #15 (Taken 9/2015)
3 / 198ft.   3 / 264ft.   3 / 291ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #15 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

1    5/25/2017   5/28/2017
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 269  Reviewed: 185  Exp: 13.6 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course is located only a couple miles from blue ribbon pines which can make for an awesome day of disc golf. The course is 18 holes. The first 13 holes are moderately wooded and flat. The last 5 open up but that's where the water comes into play. The flow is very intuitive and easy to follow. There are 3 sets of tees on every hole which is always nice to see. The blues are shorts and are very short. The reds are the mids and add a lot more distance than the blues. Finally the blacks are the longs and add a little to quite a bit more distance and some different angles. The tees are all artificial turf and were all in fine shape. The baskets are red powder coated Arroyo Vortex's. This is the first time I've played on these and they're pretty nice. I did have a beautiful 40 plus foot shot that hit perfect get spit right out. I don't know if it was the inner crossed chains that caused this, but I was stunned that shot didn't stick. Other than that I liked the baskets. The tee signs are fantastic. They show a nice layout of the hole, par and distances. Very well done here. There are wood chips around pretty much every pin too which is pretty awesome. The course is permanent which I always love to see. Middle of nowhere kind of feel to it so it's a very peaceful vibe here. They have golf carts you can rent to which is cool. There is a nice mix of different shots required here. Left, right, tunnel. The water makes you triple think your approach on a number of holes. Really well done with this. The OB is explained in great detail on the map/scorecards provided with fair drop zones. All around a really awesome set up here. A lot of work has gone into making this a top notch course and it shows.
Cons: $10 per person isn't out of hand for a course like this, but with BRP only being $8 and a few minutes away and being better it is a bit steep. I don't know what happened to all the rakes by the ponds to retrieve discs. We had a couple go in on 15 on the peninsula and there were no rakes to retrieve them. These would be nice to have here. Not necessarily a con but just something odd I'd never seen before but on the red tees there were 4 or 5 par 3.5's. This just seemed strange. Again not a con to the course but how do you score that. Kinda weird that's all.
Other Thoughts: With this and BRP being so close you'd be hard pressed to find a better day of disc golf. Definitely worth playing if you're anywhere near here. I personally prefer BRP to this but this is still an awesome course. Also on our second round we played holes 3 through 18 with the only other 2 out there on a Wednesday. They were nice enough. Tried to eat our bags a couple times but otherwise very friendly. Never played a round with a couple pygmy goats before but it was pretty hilarious. They followed us around like dogs do.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Definitely worth playing

1    8/16/2016   3/12/2017
Review By: SpencerK
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me start by saying I have only played from the black tees.

The staff was extremely kind and inviting, and as travelers made us feel very welcome.

The course is beautiful and manicured, with man made water hazards, very well done engraved benches at each holes, mulched greens surrounding almost every basket, made mad tees, peninsulas, and mounds to add to the flavor of the course. It has a small pro shop that I believe they have intentions of upgrading, with all sorts of gear and plastic for sale, as well as golf carts to rent.

The course offers a lot of variety in shots, some very exciting and challenging holes, and most of all holes that feel very satisfying to play well. Between well guarded bunker holes, elevated baskets with OB looming behind, more than one peninsula/island landing zone you have to stick, baskets guarded by a grove of pine trees, and the mound shot, this is a course that gives you cause for celebration is you can pull off a great drive.

It definitely shows that the people who built the course are trying their best to create an incredibly unique disc golf experience, which was tons of fun to play, and is very exciting to see popping up.

Cons: Unless you play small-ball the entire time, there is a solid chance at least one of your discs is going in the water. The people in charge are very good about retrieving discs and contacting people, but this doesn't do a ton for you when you're just traveling through. The water shots are awesome, but I would definitely recommend bringing some extra plastic with you.

There are a couple of holes that can feel a little gimmicky. The OB drop-off basket and the mound shot come to mind mostly. They're not bad holes, but a couple feet can definitely make the difference between them going really well and going really poorly. Definitely satisfying to pull off well, but they can also leave you looking at a bogey even with playing good golf.

The teepad on the dock felt a little odd. I had no trouble getting some good launches off of it, and enjoyed the novelty of it, but it was definitely a little awkward feeling at first.
Other Thoughts: All in all this course does have quite a bit of novelty over just really great golf, but I think it's a good mix that makes the course a special place. Everyone there seemed like great people, and it's great to see someone putting so much time and effort into creating something so special for the world of disc golf.

It feels like someone set out to create a disc golf amusement park, and that's exactly what they did. It's extremely fun, extremely well maintained, and extremely entertaining, but I don't think it's the highest caliber disc golf course in the world. It's an awesome place that I would stop and play anytime I'm traveling through, but I don't think it's somewhere I would play very consistently if I lived in the area. Definitely worth playing at least once though, it's one of a kind.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Amazing course, surreal experience

5+    2/5/2017   2/22/2017
Review By: EJBusch
Played: 13  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.5 Years
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -Fantastic signage
-Fantastic baskets
-Good length, with a mix of some shorter more technical holes as well
-Lose a disc in the water? No big deal, take a paddle board out there and get it back! Or wait until they go get it. They'll send a text to let you know they have it waiting for you!
-The Red and the Black teepees are very different and create the feel of almost having two courses.
-The land is incredibly well maintained
-These might be my favorite teepads out there. They maintain them so well in the winter, whereas concrete will often be icy and slippery. They're a good size, too. Plenty of room to make your throw.
Cons: -I've had a couple discs taken from the shack that were found. They may have changed their policy but at the time they didn't check names for lost & found discs
-At $10 it is twice the cost of BRP, which is down the road, but this is nitpicking because BRP, frankly, should also be $10
Other Thoughts: This isn't just a great course, it's an amazing experience. Ziplines, paddleboards, fun side games, good leagues, etc! I've never played anything else like it.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

VQ

5+    10/8/2016   11/7/2016
Review By: surlyhodags
Played: 5  Reviewed: 5
2 Helpful / 11 Not
Pros: Vision Quest is a great course, if you are in Minnesota and want to play the top courses come out to VQ and BRP.

Complete with Zip lines, camping, bag toss, fire pits and much more.

I have had 6+ discs returned to me. They are very good about messaging you and letting you know when they have found your discs.

3 Tee boxes for every hole keeps the variety fresh.

Carts available at all times is awesome and reasonably priced
Cons: The only con I can list for the course is that in general it's pretty darn flat. In their defense they do have a some man made structures that they created to keep things interesting but compared to other top level courses that is one thing they lack.

Flat courses is just the nature that is available in MN. Unfortunately with the exception of a few courses and the local ski hills courses-in which those courses you have a lot of distance elevation change but not much for technical holes.

Geographically with what they have to work with they did a great job.
Other Thoughts: Owners are fun to chat with, club house/semi trailer has a lot of discs for sale and snacks available as well.

2 of 13 people found this review helpful.

A mixed bag...

2-4    10/7/2016   10/8/2016
Review By: SpikeHyzer
Played: 97  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 14.8 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Upon arrival, you're greeted with all sorts of various things. Zip Lines, a decent sized pond, baskets everywhere. The course is very well maintained and you can tell a lot of hours have been poured into getting this course to where it is today. We had enough time to play a round from the blacks(longest) and the blues(shortest).

Some of the pro's I noted while playing a couple rounds there yesterday.
1. The teepads are really nice, although I could see these being a pain if wet.
2. The land is spectacular. Lots of room to expand if they ever wanted to.
3. The golf carts are a nice touch. Definitely made it easier to get around out there.
4. Lot's of various activities you can play if you need a break between rounds.
5. Makes good use of the water.
6. Outhouses everywhere in case nature calls.
7. Lots of signs everywhere to help get you to the next hole.
8. Some really good and unique holes.
Cons: 1. You don't really need a varying shot selection to get around.
2. The black tee's left little to be desired. With some more work, they could be fun, but for the most part they offered more luck and than skill unless you're a Paul McBeth or Ricky Wysocki.
3. Safety of the floating dock teepad. We didn't play it, but it didn't seem very unsteady.
4. Having multiple teepads per hole is nice, but sometimes the teepads were only separated by about 10 feet and didn't really change anything for the shot.
Other Thoughts: I'll definitely be back to play it again as I didn't get a chance to play the red layout. This course has huge potential to be a top caliber course, but it needs refinement. I do recommend you stop by and give it a try. I'd be willing to bet that the Blue pads could be a blast to play superclass on.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

Very solid course

1    8/13/2016   8/19/2016
Review By: Bitter Mouse
Played: 63  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 22.6 Years
1 Helpful / 8 Not
Pros: Challenging course, a wide variety of different and interesting holes requiring different shots. Very well maintained course, pads and pins. Very good signage.
Cons: Relatively pricey. It felt a bit forced, with each hole needing to be special, to the point I kind of wanted a straight up normal DG hole.
Other Thoughts: There are three great courses in MN, and I think this is third. Bryant Lake and Blue Ribbon are slightly better IMO, but it is close and with time I might change my mind.

1 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Nice course but lacks replay value

2-4    7/8/2016   7/8/2016
Review By: Aim For The Chains
Played: 134  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 9.5 Years
24 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: VQ is a well maintained property with lots of extra "stuff"... I came to play DG though.

There are outhouses and small semi trailer proshop with a tent party area with games etc. Doesnt do much for me personally and BRP has nicer shop/snack shack in middle of course.

Benches on every hole and some trash cans throughout (some overflowing with trash)

Course has solid flow from hole to hole and easy to follow. Teepads are nice turf with good length and signage which looks great.

Cons: Most of the holes are straight shots and you dont need many discs or unique throws to play VQ. Even the holes which have some "line shaping" required generally are just right turns.
Hole 2 for example ive now 2'd twice out of 3 times playing there with a simple roller and if i had any FH welp' easy.

Even with some built up hills and decks etc the course really lacks elevation of any kind. Even the huge hill which was constructed next to "lake lisa" actually makes the shot flat. You throw from one raised area to another raised area... Seems like a lot of work for an essentially flat ground line from tee to basket lol.

This course doesnt have holes that awe me as a player nor my buddy who has played most of the 100+. The replay value isnt there with all the different teepad areas being similar lines on a slightly shorter or longer distance. Why not use the foliage to the right or left in some cases and force a shot? adding distance or taking it away isn't the only point to different tees.

Ill never understand gold level type teepads being put directly behind a red/blue level. It doesn't feel like there is an established disc golf designer actively involved with how the pars and layout are set up.

The deck like teepads suck. Hate the floating dock. Feels just terrible to throw off of for such a long hole.

Vortex baskets have very heavy chains (some appearing already to have rust spots) and not a fan of them at all. A few putts literally pushed back out of the chains hitting basket on the way down and flipping back out. It was pretty ridiculous. (and dont tell me it was a bad putt....ive played DG a few times now)

This might be one of the most over hyped courses considering the cost of $10 per day too. My buddy said he doesnt care if he ever comes back and would play BRP down the road before VQ anytime. I tend to agree.


Other Thoughts: This is a nice property but the actual disc golf lacks pretty bad. If you're entertained by shiny things and feel like you need a golf cart to play a short 18 hole course to be cool well VQ is for you.

If you come to MN and want to play some fantastic disc golf well im not sure this is best the place. I would prefer more holes with some shorter distances mixed in to force unique shots. Lots of birdie-able holes even with my lame skillset. Compared to actually hard disc golf without the fluff VQ is like a 3 compared to a place such as Hidden Lake. I like DG these days over the fluffy stuff which was cool-- when we first started playing and had no idea what good DG was all about'

24 of 30 people found this review helpful.

 Perfect In Every Possible Way

2-4    7/2/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: ComputerScientist0
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: The course is an absolute blast to play.

-Every hole is immaculately manicured

-Every basket is surrounded with wonderful mulch, which both looks and feels nice

-If you happen to throw a disc in the water, the course has paddleboards, paddleboats, and kayaks strewn around so you can go retrieve it

-The baskets are lit at night, which looks awesome in the dark, and allows for some really fun night playing

-Up near the parking lot they've got games set up and a large tent nearby with a grill... bring some meat!
Cons: None.
Other Thoughts: Mike just may be the nicest person that I've ever met... accommodating in every sense of the word!

Bring a floating disc, or those sticky Styrofoam circles... the odds are great that you'll throw one (or three!) in the drink!

0 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Cadillac of courses

5+    8/7/2016   7/5/2016
Review By: Tesla
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 8/7/2016
0 Helpful / 19 Not
Pros: Aug
Just played today and must say, this place keeps getting better. Met the owner out there cutting branches, swiping tees, and just simply working the place for my enjoyment. He joined in even for the back nine!! Anyhow the place looks amazing, plays excellent all out a good time.

June
Everything about this place is a Pro !!!! From the tee's to the fairways to the basket, it's clean and extremely well maintained. Lighted baskets for the early morning and dusk games not to mention an insane night course. Words cannot give this place a proper description. A MUST play. Oh yeah, cart rental, zipline, trampoline, happening real soon, footgolf. Best part yet, if you sink one in the water, you will get it back. Thanks Mike for making this dream a reality. Can't wait to see what's next.
Cons: Ummmmmmm............ On evening rounds the sunsetting on an amazing backdrop can hinder your view on 16.
Other Thoughts: GO PLAY THIS COURSE !!!!!!!

0 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Over the top

5+    7/2/2016   7/4/2016
Review By: Oramensaft
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 17 Not
Pros: The moment I rolled into the parking lot I was in love. By far the most visually appealing disc golf course I have played yet.

Long and shorts, all water holes have a nice drop zone

Turf on the tee's are top notch.

Paddle boards, paddle boats, and kayaks dispersed through water holes for easy recovery

Mike, the owner is the most hardworking genuinely good guy you will run into.
Cons: If you have a really weak arm you may end up in water.

Too beautiful to leave

0 of 17 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.