Hollywood, FL 
Orangebrook Country Club Share
Uploaded By: d11rok Hole #11 (Taken 3/2018)
3 / 406ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #11 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
I guana play disc golf

1    12/26/2017   1/11/2018
Review By: BogeyNoMore
Played: 268  Reviewed: 157  Exp: 14.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty much what you'd expect for DG on a private golf course. Plays along to the front 9 of the facility's east bolf course, so DG'ers and Bolfers have to be aware of each other and follow etiquette.

Variety: Decent. Mostly long, open and flat. Makes makes use of some intelligently placed trees to force some degree of line shaping, but most of it's further down the fairway, so you're at liberty to choose from multiple lines off the tee. Nice range of distances; half the holes fall in the 300-400 ft ,several between 500-600, and a few north of 600'. A few baskets are somewhat tucked away, but most are in the open, which means brisk winds can play with your putts. Most holes play straight ahead, but there are few doglegs and # 18 bends from R to L in a wide, U-shape.

Challenge: Good. Mostly in the form of distance, wind, and OB. Favors those who can get 350 -400 consistently but it's not entirely about the distance. Water in play on a few holes. Some trees can create a low ceiling for 2nd shots depending on your lie. Occasionally, I had think about where my shot would land to set up my next, but this ain't a placement critical course.

Use of natural elements. Good. Fairly well-designed to make good use of available elevation, trees, and to a lesser extent water.

Elevation: Decent. Most of the course is pretty freakin' flat, but they did an admirable job using the available mounds, berms, etc. Comes into play on 2-3 holes, including a really nice elevated tee..

Wildlife: Plan on seeing plenty of iguanas (like reptilian squirrels), unless it's unusually cold for SoFla.

Aesthetics: Good. No better/worse than your typical park-style course. Certainly not an eye sore, but I'd hoped for better at a facility the with country club in its name.

Equipment: Decent. Chainstars in good shape. Tee markers are yellow pavers with hole # in black. Some holes tee from the asphalt cart path, some from natural tees along-side the golf fairways. Footing was a non-issue..

Impeccably manicured fairways (by DG standards).

Ammenities/facility: Excellent. Far better than anything we're used to. Beer wench on a golf cart.
Cons:
Navigation: My biggest gripe. MAKE SURE YOU GET A MAP at the pro shop or forget about playing here. Tee markers are yellow pavers set flush with the ground, and finding 'em can be a bear. The problem is they're flat, so you can't see them until you're nearly on top of them, let alone from a 150' away. Badly needs something vertical that can be seen from a distance. Never found the legit tee for #17. Even wire marking flags (like we use for CTP's) would be a huge help (see Other Thoughts).

Scorecard lists a plethora of OB, which gets obnoxious at times, particularly since the cart path is nearly always OB, and nearly always easily in play. Whether you elect to observe their OB rules is up to you.

Personally, I didn't mind hoofing it, but you either have to pay $10 for a cart or, expect some long walks. Mentioned more as informational, but I have to call it a con..

No holes impose a specific line off the tee, and while there's some degree of shot shaping, I found the course lacked any truly technical holes.

Asphalt cart path throughout = not good for discs.

A few holes play close to a noisy, buzz killing interstate. In particular (the hole with the elevated tee), an extreme case of flippiness/wind, could potentially turn that into a Buzzz killing interstate.

Any body of water in SoFla can contain gators.
Other Thoughts: Enjoyed my round, but when you're walking 8600 ft of course (plus some lengthy stretches between holes), you don't want to tack on another few hunded feet per hole looking for tees.

Told the guy at the pro shop how hard it is to spot the tee markers (even using the map to get you close), and that the inability to spot the tees until you're on top of them adversely affects the pace of play, and as such is a disservice to golfers and dg'ers alike. I mentioned they could even get by with some cheap wire marking flags and he was actually thought it was a good idea... time will tell.

FWIW, the golfers were quite respectful and receptive, even pointed out some of the baskets when I was looking up ahead for them.

For the most part, it's a good round, with plenty of chances to air it out, but nothing special, and not as quite as good as some of the other combo golf/dg courses I've played. Totally worth the $3 fee. Another $10 for a cart is in line with what I've seen at other courses, but IMO not worth it.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Worth the experience

1    4/13/2016   4/20/2016
Review By: Lawrence Orbach
Played: 30  Reviewed: 1
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The golf cart experience was the draw for me and 13$ to play and ride was very reasonable.
-Wildlife was abundant, iguanas, ducks, tropical birds, and maybe gators which is why I donated one of my disc to the drink.
-(Not for everyone) I thoroughly enjoyed have a bloody Mary to start my round and have the beer/snack cart on the course was a pleasant surprise as well.
-I like the idea of putting the courses on top of each other, paying to play, and minor dress code. I feel like these are steps in the right directions for growing the sport.
-Lots of open holes to stretch your arm out.
Cons: -Navigation was extremely frustrating. I really wanted to like this course a lot but spending that much time trying to figure where throw from and to was maddening. Luckily the cart allowed me to stake out where the basket might be from the "tee pad" that is if I found it.
-No tee signs or even a map. Never found holes 12 & 13 but that's probably because couldn't figure out which direction to throw on 11. I eventually found the chains on 13 and got back on track. Also, 17 is a big dogleg left. Took me a while to find that one too.
-Course workers, while friendly, didn't really have any knowledge of the disc golf course. I asked a few time for help and the answer I routinely got was " you mean the Frisbee thing?" and that's about it.
-This may be a one off, but I found the trees sticky. I left two in the sky and that's never happened to me before. Maybe it's a FL thing but that doesn't happen to often in New England.
Other Thoughts: -Follow the ball golf cart path and look for the YELLOW MARKERS flush with the ground. That's the only chance you have in figuring some of the course out. Some of the markers are cracked and I never found 12 &13.
-Although playing with a cart is awesome, be wary. You're almost not walking at all so you need to warm up and loosen up between shots. I tweaked my hamstring on my first flick about halfway through the round.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in south Florida !

5+    9/12/2015   9/16/2015
Review By: discjocky
Played: 16  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Golf cart . This course has to be #1 on your list if you are looking to play DG down here in SFL . Great flow to the course with a mixture of pin placements . The big hyzer shot will not be the only shot you'll need like most courses . You'll also need anhyzer's,straight and well shaped shots just to shot par. Brandon Bostwick did a amazing job on designing this course he spent several months trying different placement's before submitting this final layout . Take in the sights while your there like the buring owls in there protected area's,large iguana's and various other birds . $13 per person plus tx. so if you share a cart it is still $13 p.p. so that's $26 plus tx. you can walk it for $3 but it's long .
Cons: One con is you cant play till after 12 on the weekends so early rounds only happen when our club the BDGA holds events like the SFL dbls. championship . Check our facebook page or website for more info on future events . The other is only for now one tee pad per hole and there long/pro am pads will be in soon .

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Pay to play that is worth the $

2-4    8/9/2015   8/13/2015
Review By: joesouthfla
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Beautiful course
-Nice flow considering it is shared with the ball golfers
-Golf carts
-Smart use of hazards. If you land in a sand trap you play it where it lies with a one stroke penalty.
- Challenging with a nice variety of open and technical shots
- Nice change from playing in public parks
Cons: -Course currently only has pro tee pads marked.
- No tee signs
- No concrete pads, you throw from the cart path on most holes and dirt on some
- Only one basket position
- Cannot play in the morning on Sat. Or Sunday
Other Thoughts: -Being able to play disc golf on such a nice well maintained course plus have a golf cart is awesome and worth the money
-The course has a dress code, collared shirts are required.


3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  

5+    7/30/2015   7/30/2015
Review By: cjuice954
Played: 51  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/3/2015
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Where as this course does slightly benefit the big arm, there is plenty of trouble to get into. Somebody who can throw an accurate 350 can hang with the 400ft+ throwers. You have to actually think about your next shot. It has a very fair par of 64. Not many tweener holes because of cleverly placed baskets near sandtraps and other "hazards". You are forced to throw actual risk and reward golf shots. This course is what south florida needed.
Cons: Since the course is so new, the signs and additional tee pads have not been marked and a couple natural area teepads exsist.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Orangebrook

2-4    7/6/2015   7/6/2015
Review By: Peter S
Played: 159  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 24.1 Years
This review was updated on 7/31/2015
8 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very long open course allows you to throw further (if you can) than any other park in Broward. Pay to play means no fairway homesteaders to look out for, no cars on the grass, no joggers or children. Golf Carts to recon the very long holes. Since this is a golf course we know there would be a lot of long holes. However, there is also a nice mix of some 300 - 400 foot holes with golf bunkers to miss, trees to go over, between around or under (did a roller upshot on 1 and a roller off the tee on 14). There is also some fun out of bounds to consider such as water, putting greens and sand traps. Some of the challenge is the distance but some holes offer distance and shot selection such as #1, no easy warm up hole here it's a 555' hole that has a low celing the last 200' or so. #17 is sure to be a signature 808' par 5 to a hidden green (cart recon time). There is a rest room by the pro-shop but also one on the course saving a cart ride all the way back to the clubhouse if nature calls. There is a mobile concession stand that drives the course that you can flag down which has drinks/snacks.
Cons: A little hard to find the numbered stones that designate the tee area as there are no signs, just stones on the ground. Stones just give hole number, no par or distance. Only one tee per hole and in need of some shorter tees to appeal to more players skill levels. Pricy, says $13 in description but they charged us $27 for two people in one cart.
Other Thoughts: There were also some ball golfers that share the course. For the most part the baskets are away from the ball fairways but be aware of the balls going by, since disc is new here the golfers may not be aware of us yet. Lots of wildlife such as lizards of all sizes, turtles, birds and Burrowing owls.

8 of 9 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.