Waterloo, IL 
Konarcik Park Share
Uploaded By: NKern Hole #17 (Taken 7/2015)
3 / 268ft.   3 / 283ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #17 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 10
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Disc Golf Pastor

2-4    6/24/2017   9/22/2017
Review By: Disc Golf Pastor
Played: 52  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.4 Years
Pros: Challenging and fair fairways, good baskets, good signs. Course flows well for the most part.
Cons: Needs more trash cans and benches. Some signs for the longer walkers between holes would be good.
Other Thoughts: This is a good example of city course. A good mix of holes but will challenge players that cannot throw strait. Lots of tight wooded holes! That said 3 holes are more or less wide open. This is a good course to play with other people opposed to alone. The rough can get deep in places. I enjoy this course and would play more often if it was closer to home.

Hard to Say, Fun to Play

1    10/26/2016   12/6/2016
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 350  Reviewed: 239  Exp: 14.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Konarcik Park is a really nicely kept park and the disc golf course is decked out with great Gateway Titan goals, great tee signs, and pretty level tees, a couple with turf that I liked a lot. I really like this course just because it was fun. There are mostly grassy fairways, with some hilly slopes, a good number of mature trees, a pond, and a few holes in more densely wooded and brushy parts of the park. The course layout is easy to follow, and fairly short, offering a lot of birdie opportunities. 9 holes are under 225', 5 that are 250'-325', 3 are in the 410'-420' range, and the par 5 at the end measuring 695'. Overall par of 58, makes it possible to get way under if you have good control and sink some putts. My first and only round was a 53, with six birdies and one bogey. Not very often I get under par my first round on any course, so it is obviously not high difficulty. Would be a fun course to learn in, but there are enough challenging lines going in between trees, up and downhill throws, and longer holes to make it fun for some experienced players too. It isn't not championship level, and that's a lot of the fun for me. It is possible to string together 5 or 6 birdies, which I like because I can so rarely come close to that. I liked hole 1, it gives you a good feel for the setting. Not long, but plenty of trees that will knock down most drives that aren't accurate. Hole 2 is longer, still a par 3 and also with grassy fairway and scattered trees. Hole 3 was my first birdie, shorter and only a couple of trees to avoid. Number 4 is the first par 4, and I was able to birdie it also. Uphill off the tee, with a few very large trees to navigate around, as well as several smaller ones in front of the basket. Hole 5 easily could have been a deuce as well, but I threw a mid range where a putter would have done the job. It's a short downhill run with the pin tucked at the bottom to the left in the fringe of the woods. I overshot the pin, following up with a bad second throw out of the rough and a two putt. I made up the lost shot next hole with another bird. Hole 6 is a short one in woods that is slightly uphill and goes left to right a little. Hole 7 yielded another birdie, after I nailed the driver shot through the gap into the open air, and it curved right toward the pin as it faded. This was the location that is not to far from the waters edge, but you have to miss badly to the right to get in the pond. Hole 8 is almost wide open, a little downhill, with some brush and woods if you get behind the short pin that I played. 9 is another putter shot that a healthy flight path and a few trees on either side, and bushes nearer to the basket. 10 tees from the bottom, across the stream, and turns slightly to the right as it climbs uphill on the other side into a woodsy pin location. Another fun hole, but I couldn't hit the putt here. 11 is really tricky, I was lucky to save par. It tees between some big tress with tons of thick branches, and bends hard right as it drops in elevation and follows a line of trees to the pin. I scrubbed out off the tee and only flew about 40'. My next shot somehow hit just the right line and parked 10 feet from the pin. 12 is uphill, and in the woods, with thick brush lining either side, and the pin over the ridge at the top among a couple more large trees. 13 is also kind of a tight run through the woods, not long, but you need to hit a well defined line to get there. 14 brings another par 4, and could be the hardest hole on the course in my opinion. Has lots of trees, up hill, and with a narrow window out of the woods to approach the green. A bad bounce here could put you in a really tough spot. 15 is accesable, but it is surrounded but a multitude of mature trees. I got the right to left hyzer line that I wanted, and was able to get another birdie. Hole 16 is a more open fairway, but still has a few tall pines to get around on your way to a pin tucked away on the edge of the woods. Hole 17 is another weird one, a bit longer and goes through the woods over ground that is not level, on a twisty line that could be sort of tough to hit. The final hole is a banger, almost 700' and a par 5. It is open and downhill most of the way if you keep it in the middle. At the bottom of the hill there is a gap in the trees and the basket sits on the right up the side of the next hill a short way. An eagle is possible, if you hit two great throws or make a long shot on the third attempt. I made a decent 30 foot putt to get the birdie 4. These are the pin locations on the day that I played, but there are two on each hole, as well as alternate tees.
Cons: A few of the transitions between holes have a short walk, but the map under the links to the course is very good. Lack of major challenges may leave the pros out there wanting more.
Other Thoughts: Waterloo IL is a bit out of the way, but since I was in St. Louis and headed back east, I thought I would give it a shot. Glad I did, because Jefferson Barracks beat me down that morning, so it was a big boost in confidence to go way under par here. The park is immaculate, and the overcast weather with little wind was perfect. I love the Gateway baskets, and this was different from the other McCormack designed courses that I had played up to here. Seemed lighter on difficulty while still being fun, and not repetitive. Reminds me a little of Earlewood in Columbia SC or Boyd Pond in Beech Island SC. A good mix of shot shapes, distances, and nice use of the hills and trees to get the most out of the space. I thought I might have remembered most of the tees being concrete, aside from the two covered with turf, but they are mostly natural in the pictures, so either I am mistaken, or they have been upgraded since the pics were posted. Either way, they were good enough to not be bad, and really wouldn't impact my rating much. I would like to give this course a 3.75 really. I will go ahead and round up. Very enjoyable and lots of variety, enough change in style from hole to hole to keep it interesting. Plenty of trees that offer resistance but it isn't discouraging. A nice change of pace, but not just a pitch and putt. Check it out if you live nearby, or if you happen to get close and have some extra time.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Meh

1    10/15/2016   10/15/2016
Review By: eupher61
Played: 97  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 15.6 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is an enjoyable course for a reasonably skilled player. Signage is good, typical of GDS work. Concrete pads are in for one of the "two" placments on each hole. The park is beautiful, the pines really give it a great look and feel.
Cons: I would not take a beginner here, the frustrations are potentially too great and frequent. Some holes are simply too much. It might be better to put a couple shorter holes at the end, instead of one 700' tight line. Taking out one of the farthest back, short holes woukd help the flow.
Other Thoughts: The trademark strolls are longer here than almost any other course, save Sioux Passage. It would be difficult to get 18 in the park without the hikes though.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

b-e-a-utifil

1    5/22/2016   5/23/2016
Review By: Tan-Vic-Own-Sim-Moon
Played: 70  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 6.6 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Awesome looking course with great views. great mix of wooded shots and a few open ones. Great finishing hole over 700ft and through a narrow opening on second shot (Third/Fourth Shot for Shawn Simon). Once you find where to throw it's a 5 star!
Cons: no course map, near impossible finding holes on the first time playing. Over half the pins hidden from tee pad so if you haven't played the course good luck finding where you are throwing. You have to almost walk the course once to see where every pin and hole is. Over a 1/4 mile walk between holes at least twice. Poison Ivy everywhere.
Other Thoughts: The course is great to play, but brutal finding the pins and holes. Tee pads are new so very short run ups.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Short, Wooded Course

1    11/6/2015   11/10/2015
Review By: mdejong
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.4 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nice park setting
Tight fairways that demand control of your putter/midrange
Good elevation changes
Great signage
Cons: Most holes were very short
Natural tee pads
Long walks between holes
Other Thoughts: Overall, this was a great course. I appreciate courses that have a lot of short holes, but a few more holes that required my driver would have been nice. It was fun to play, but I don't know if I would make the drive out from St. Louis to play it again.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Playing in the pines

5+    8/16/2015   8/16/2015
Review By: highzer123
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course starts off with some of the best fairways that exist in the St. Louis metropolitan area. Holes one and two have drives that take you straight through the heart of a grove of lollipop pine trees that stand 60+ feet tall. The fairways are very tight and they command you to throw near perfect lines every time. Holes 3, 4 and 5 all wind around previously unused grass areas and the park grounds keepers have been keeping well maintained. Hole 6 offers a short left to right shot that if you get offline you will once again pay for. Hole 7 is one of the better looking holes on the course as a RHBH player can throw a tunnel shot through another grove of pine trees or they can lay a big hyzer out over the top and let it fade in towards the basket. Hole 8 Is one of the more challenging holes that will require more of a placement shot off of the drive, followed by another touch approach shot...GOOD LUCK on hole 8. Holes 9 and 10 play through some winding wooded shots. Hole 10 also offers a pretty awesome creek on the right side of the fairway, that when full is very nice to play next to. Hole 11 Is another beautiful hole that has guardian trees protecting the fairways all the way down, but you can feel like a hero if you make it through. Holes 12 and 13 get back into the woods for more tight wooded hole golf that will test a lot of the shots you have in your bag. These holes are some of the most fun holes on the course if you can stay in the fairways. Holes 14, 15 and 16 are situated in the best looking area of the whole park. These three holes snake through another grove of the pine trees that leave you with a majestic feeling as you step up to each tee pad. Hole 17 is a wooded hole that can serve as a heartbreaker for an otherwise good round. If you get greedy on this hole, you might end with a nasty kick and be taking your medicine just to get a pitch out for par/bogey. Hole 18 ha got to be one of the best holes in the St Louis area. This is a par 5 that offers a chance at eagle for those who can hit long tight lines. This fairway rolls forward with a gradual drop in elevation. The honeysuckle on the right side of the fairway will eat your disc and the left side of the fairway offers a straight line of trees that can serve as jail. Once you have taken your drive, you are then looking at a drop zone through a narrow alley where you can finally run at the basket.
Cons: This is still a very young course so it is hard to very judgemental about some of the thick roughs and the young conditions. There are no tee pads yet, but that will surely be coming soon. This course will need to have great amenities that match the feeling and the vibe that you get while walking through the fairways. More trashcans are needed, but it was implied that they will be coming soon.
Other Thoughts: As this course gets seasoned and all of the amenities get put into the place, this could easily become a 5.00 rated course. Playing blues and whites offer very different experiences and will change the lines that you take on multiple holes. This was a very well thought out course that offers a good time for new players and can certainly challenge well seasoned players as well. Love this course and cant wait to see it grow.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Hiking the McCormack Trail

2-4    7/11/2015   7/20/2015
Review By: stubborn puppet
Played: 48  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 6.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/24/2015
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: > Exceptional challenges, variety and difficulty throughout.

> A very safe and thoughtful design that ensures players and the public stay out of each others way, and that players are safe from one another.

> Adding to the variety, in general, every single hole seems as a great contrast to the one before and after. I don't think there is a similar or redundant hole in the entire park.

> It's a punishing course in so many ways, even a little unfair a couple of times... but never in a way that makes one upset about the design/layout - more of a "you devious bastard, I love you" kind of way.

> I personally love holes that combine open fairways with tight woods, and Konarcik Park does a lot of this. Many holes start in the fields with the large, sparse trees and then into the tight dark woods. Others start in the woods and then open up into the fields. Fresh!

> Punishment for bad throws is definitely a factor on almost every hole, but nothing as horrible or unforgivable on some other area courses designed in the last several years ;) It's just enough to make players REALLY want to stay on the fairway and out of trouble, but not enough to make you curse the designer over lost discs and twisted ankles.

> There are lots of opportunities to golf creatively - as in being able to really think about how you want to approach the fairways and baskets. While there are certainly a few ace opportunities, most of the holes really do earn their par by forcing you to do much more than drive as far as you can then pitch in.

> The tee signs do a good job of pointing players in the right direction and showing the way to the next tee.

> Navigation is pretty good. I've never had a course map and, other than a few minor head-scratchers on my first visit, I found everything without much trouble.

> Plenty of shade along the way.

> This is a very clean park from what I can tell. That's nice.

> The park is nice and dry, even shortly after a heavy rain. There are no muddy spots to avoid. We'll hope it stays this way for a long time... but you know.

> The grass has been well maintained/mowed every time I've been. It's new, so we'll see how that lasts.

> This is also a pretty park - the kind of place you like to go to relax and feel at home in nature.
Cons: > Though I make my review title in jest, there is truth in humor. There are some really, really long hikes (not walks) between many of the holes. I'm not sure that I would sacrifice the quality of the holes the way they are... but two of these long hikes seem to be at least a quarter of a mile (or a little more) each. It is for this reason that my friends and I now ask, "Do you wanna go hike the McCormack Trail?" when thinking of playing Konarcik.

> Perhaps it's just a person beef, but Hole 1 can bite me. I love a challenge and some nice tight fairways... but there are just too many darn trees right in the fairway and the line is so very, very tight and unforgiving on the first hole that I was anticipating a terrible course the first time I played. There should be more than a 3 foot wide line to the basket, in my opinion... but I am glad they didn't cut down big trees to accommodate my whining.

> Me, I don't ever usually sit down during a game. However, especially considering the numerous long hikes, this course is really gonna need some benches.

> The natural tees are OK for now, but they will be a disaster very soon if concrete pads aren't installed. And I did not like the artificial turf tees that have been used in many places - they are awkward and, in many cases, had roots or rocks underneath that could result in a twisted ankle or a fall.

> This course needs a sign to point out where the course begins (which is immediately at the entrance to the park). The first time I drove around for a long time trying to find basket one and ended up settling for starting at hole 3 after parking in the wrong lot and finishing on hole 2. A kiosk would be nice too.

> Unfortunately, on every single hole on the course, if your shot goes off the fairway, expect to spend a ton of time trying to work your way through dense, twisted honeysuckle bushes and poison Ivy everywhere. I honestly believe this course has these problems more than any other course in the area. Seeing how much the Midwest needs to rid itself of the plague of honeysuckle, a very aggressive campaign and several dozen work days to clear this park would be great.
Other Thoughts: Anyone who is familiar with my reviews should take notice that my "cons" list is shorter than my "pros" list... and that many of my complaints are things that can be solved - things which do not necessarily relate to the times when one is actually about the business of playing.

This is a very good course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Old broken Soldier review

1    7/11/2015   7/12/2015
Review By: Redleg
Played: 53  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 6.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Brand new course so brand new baskets. They grab well. The signage is very good. Lots of different types of holes, great use of terrain. Lots of different lengths you will use a lot of your bag. If you don't hit your line you will pay on most holes. When you do hit it you will love it.
Cons: no tee pads (hope they add them) Course map at hole one could help. There are a couple of long walks between holes. Still some small stumps in the wooded holes. Nothing in the list of cons are deal breakers
Other Thoughts: This is a great new course only played it once so far but I can wait to play it again. Don't pass this one up put it on your wish list.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Beutiful course

5+    7/6/2015   7/8/2015
Review By: discinfool
Played: 25  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 20.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The is a very nice course in a beautiful park. It will definitely have you using many different shots to play each hole.
Great for a beginner or even a seasoned player.
The course uses a lot of unutilized park space.
The tee signs are very nice and detailed.
There are a few garbage cans evenly spaced throughout the course.
There are also water faucets at pavilions by holes 7 and 11 that you can refill your water bottles.
Cons: There are a few long walks between a couple of the holes.
One being from hole 11 and 12 and another from hole 17 and 18.
There are ticks and mosquitos but if you wear enough bug spray you should be fine. It should also get better after the rain slows down and summer ends.
Other Thoughts: park is open dusk to dawn.
alcoholic beverages are permitted

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Gem in Southern Illinois

1    7/3/2015   7/4/2015
Review By: NKern
Played: 49  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.8 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Beautiful park setting. Large football field adjacent to parking lot for warm up throws (provided it is not in use). Ample trash cans throughout the park. This place is super clean and I hope it will remain that way. Nice mix of holes. Elevation changes. Shot shaping fairways. Lots of fun!
Cons: The only con I could really come up with was BUGS!! Incessant gnats and mosquitoes throughout the entire round. I will however largely place the blame on the recent rainfall and flooding in the area though.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center