Woodstock, GA 
Dupree Park Share
Uploaded By: lazrman778 Hole #8 (Taken 6/2016)
2 / 95ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
The whole course is an ace run!

1    6/29/2018   6/29/2018
Review By: Schreuds2.0
Played: 54  Reviewed: 53  Exp: 1.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Before I begin this review, I must say, this course is catered exactly to beginners, which makes it difficult to review as a actual course, yet I will try to, hence the low score.

-Tee pads are concrete and in good condition, they are really short, but so are the holes, so you don't really need a run up anyway.
-Baskets are super visible, bright green and super close.
-After hole 6, trees are used well and make this course better, before that, it is basically on the side of a field.
-There aren't really paths, but a lot of tees are super close, so you don't really need them.
-Navigation is easy, without a map, or tee signs, enough said.
-There is a pond that a couple holes play around, they use it well (except 15), however it is pretty nasty, so if you toss a disc in there, you gotta get gross.
Cons:
-No tee signs, many holes don't really need them, but I always like to see the distances.
-A couple fairways are nice, but almost all of them are poorly placed as they play across paths, bridges, benches, etc. some are also water.
-The only hole that uses elevation is 7, it uses it OK, but it is a steep drop that is hard to walk down.
-No benches, not a major con because this is a quick play.
-This is a typical park location with some small woods, it isn't really stunningly gorgeous
-It is hard to say whether or not there is a variety of shots, because the holes are so short they basically are putter short throws, some have different bends, but they are kind of boring.
Other Thoughts: This gets a 3/4 on the new shoe index. This course really is an awesome course for beginners, and the par makes score interesting, but, the only reason I would go back to this course is to hit an easy ace.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


1    5/12/2018   5/17/2018
Review By: bjreagh
Played: 303  Reviewed: 293  Exp: 22.3 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Let me begin by saying the purpose of this course has noble intent. It is designed for beginners, and maybe more specifically kids, maybe a suitable intro for the wife/girlfriend. This is all primarily due to the distance of the holes- everything is super short.

From an experienced player standpoint, it is an excellent course to practice your mids and putters. Great for working on getting up and in from 50-200' in what should take only 2 shots, then you can take that skill to a more normal course.

There are 18 holes in this smaller but very nice neighborhood park. New lime green Prodigy baskets (not my favorite color or brand of basket, but they look appealing and get the job done). Concrete tees (short, but you don't need any run-ups).

I was impressed with the variety here. Begins open and flat, then some elevation, then some tight woods, throw in some holes right on the lake and you get an excellent sampling of what you might encounter once you graduate to the normal type course. In fact, many holes are much tougher than you might think if you just look at length. With the water, narrow fairways, and being fearful of hitting people, it gave me quite a challenge at times. Though after a couple rounds here I think I could hit the par 36 mark.

Navigation wasn't too bad. There was a map by hole 1. Tees aren't numbered and there are no tee signs, but the baskets are never that far from the tee. (8, 10, 18 were the toughest to find)

Quick play/practice for the experienced player.

Could be used as is for an Ace Race event.
Cons: If this course was intended to be played brand new players or by weaker armed kids, there are some major issues I have with the hole design.

Holes 2-5 start out relatively simple, but they play around the same perimeter of this field that has a walking/running trail on it, and these holes are almost in line with the paved path. I know enough to wait and am decent at control- but will newer players? Please be courteous and do not use drivers.

Hole 6- basket is the edge of a very, very steep cliff. Discs could easily fly or skip to the bottom, even with a good shot, and it is quite tricky to get up and down the steep hill.

Hole 7- fun downhill shot, but again the hill is steep when you have to walk down it

Hole 9- plays over a walking path/lake viewing pier. It was almost impossible to play as we had to wait for a nearly never ending line of people. Finally enough people became interested in to what we were doing (clearly most people had no idea what those basket chain things were used for.) Oh, yeah, the basket is on a slope near the lake- tough test for newbies: don't hit people, don't throw in the lake. Not sure about this.

Hole 15- is a legit over the water shot for anyone. A bit of distance but accuracy is a must to not hit the many trees protecting the basket. Again, newbs are probably throwing discs in the lake here. (either their brand new discs or borrowed discs from the person that brought them here) I almost didn't play it because I was afraid of losing my favorite putters/mids, as that was all I was carrying.

Hole 17- tough shot with water in play, a large tree in the way and uphill. But the toughest part was all the people with small children that were on the lakes edge just enjoying the water. Challenging shot because I was afraid of hitting somebody- so I threw a safe soft shot as people were watching and interested as we "played our little game".

Hole 18- plays the paved trail like the first few holes

The concrete tees were nice, but they were elevated off the ground more like platforms, be careful not to fall off and scrape or twist an ankle.
Other Thoughts: I am not knocking this course for its intent- I love it the concept and actually really enjoyed it and would definitely use it to practice on if I lived close by. But it is a definite conflict designing a course like this that comes so close so many times to other park users, in what is a nice park with lots of other features and seems to be quite popular and busy. If used for an intro course, maybe just play 1-6,18 and some of the non-water wooded holes. I think it actually functions better for experienced players as a par 36 short game course, just avoid peak park times like nice weekends and afternoons.

Tough to rate- interesting design, accomplished the intent of a par 36, but I question the amount of overlapping of other park activities. Likely to played only by locals, not a destination course. I only played here as a fun final round on our way out of town after spending a few days playing courses around the Atlanta area. According to DGCR, a 2.0 is Reasonable and I feel like that is a pretty good description. Though I have no issues with others thinking it to be a 3.0+

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

A Permanent Ace Race Course

1    3/21/2018   5/17/2018
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.213 Rating) A mostly beginner friendly city park course touting par 2s instead of 3s.
- ACEABILITY - Numerous holes, is not all, are highly aceable. Young kids could get their first ace here for sure. I knew going in that the course was very short so I was secretly thinking that I'd be walking away with my first Georgia ace. Seasoned players should walk away with an ace on every 10th round or less. However, a lot of players I know would be conflicted on whether to even count these shorties as an ace.
- CHAINS - Awesome Prodigy baskets that are in great condition. This makes ringing up the chains even that much easier.
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - Dupree Park is the kind of place I would bring a first timer to. Most of the shots are less than 150 feet. This is a great place to learn the game as there is nice mix of short open and wooded shots. The only hic-up for beginners is going to be hole (15) which is a real island hole that has trees guarding the safe landing zones after clearing the water hazard.
- COURSE MAP - An adequate course map is posted on site on the way to tee (1).
- NAVIGATION - With the course map and considering the extremely short layout, traversing this course is fairly easy. Most next tees are within 50 feet (see cons) and it's just a matter of looking around to spot a 4 by 6 concrete pad.
- QUICK PLAY - This layout can be run by a solo in 30 minutes by a seasoned player. Beginners and novice players should be done in less than 45 minutes. Groups of four should be done in around an hour.
- MAINTENANCE - The course and overall park grounds were in spectacular shape for my visit.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - After getting to tee (6), I wrote in my notes that the beauty was below average. Nothing but bland open short tee shots for the first 6 holes. However, starting on tee (7) and through hole (15), the layout looks really nice. There are several shots that play around a small lake and there's sloping wooded terrain which made me enjoy these ace runs just a bit more. Overall, this portion raised my overall beauty score to be just above average.

Cons: A course with limited appeal.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Although throwing below par will rarely occur for even the better players, this course really only has beginner challenges for 17 of the 18 holes. I threw up a 40 on a windy day and I have a feeling that most intermediate level players will be breaking into the 30s quite often. I only felt challenged one time, hole (15), which as mentioned above is a well guarded water play.
- MULTI USE HAZARDS - Like many city park courses, Dupree Park has proximity issues with other park amenities. There is a walking path that comes into play at least ten times. Hole (9) plays adjacent to a site seeing platform. Hole (17) has a playable line that brings a shelter into play.
- BASKET AND TEE SEPARATION - There are numerous occurrences where the basket and next tee are perilously close. Numerous times they are separated by less than 40 feet.
- LOOSE DISC OPPS - For a beginners course, this one has higher than normal odds to lose a disc. Holes (9), (10) and (15) all have lake water in play. A substantial misfire or ricochet could mean a lost disc.
- TEES - The smallest poured concrete pads I've ever seen. 4 feet wide by 6 feet long. For a skilled player like me they are adequate as I either did a standing throw or did a one step approach. However, considering that the course is designed for beginners the short pad will not be long enough to learn the footwork for a run-up or walk-up throw.
- CHARACTER - A touch below average. The park definitely has some nice non disc golf related amenities. Three nice shelters each with two picnic tables. There are restrooms and a broken drinking fountain. However, the disc golf related amenities are mostly missing. No tee signage and only a couple of benches at the tees. No practice baskets, no alternate pin placements and no multiple tees.
- UNIQUENESS - Other than the fact that the course is par 2s, this course lacks the uniqueness that one would see on the average 18 hole course. The layout is just so short with no plays over 200 feet in length. The only hole I didn't throw a putter was on (17) which required a low sweeping shot to get it close. The basket has been moved farther left compared to the pictures on DGCR. Other than (17), no other hole twists more than 5 degrees. There are no blind basket placements, only a few windows to hit, and only a few holes are guarded well by trees. There is water in play on 3 holes which will make one question their love for their putter.

Other Thoughts: The second time I've played an all par 2 layout (Flying Armadillo, TX is a far superior example) Sure it can be fun running at some of these baskets but many of the plays are so non-descript that many seasoned players won't be satisfied. A really tough course to rate. I'd give it a 2.25 if I were allowed to do so. I'd say for beginners it's a really good course. However, for those with intermediate level skills and above I think this one will be a "check, I've played it" type of course.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/5/2017   10/9/2017
Review By: AveryG
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 1.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great for beginners like me
Has a good number of hazards to work around and improve on
Quiet/not busy in middle of week day
Huge field in the park to practice throws
Concrete tee pads
Cons: Large hill going down on number 7, almost fell
Short tee pads
Other Thoughts: This was a great course to play. I am new to the game and still am working on my skills, and this course was perfect for that.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Dupree Park

2-4    6/5/2016   6/9/2016
Review By: lazrman778
Played: 186  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 7.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Has concrete tee pads

Has a good mix of open and wooded fairways

Some holes have changes in elevation

Hole #7 has a rope for the steep descent from the tee

Course flows pretty well

Short course - excellent for the junior or player working on the short game or ace runs

Well-maintained

Free parking

Restrooms
Cons:
Walking path meanders throughout the course and parkgoers can cause some delays on holes #1-6 and #18

Water comes into play on holes #7, #9, #13, #15, and #17 where 15 and 17 can be factors in losing a disc

Park can get very busy on the weekend with other parkgoers

Has no tee signs but not a big deal

Concrete tee pads are raised and short but also not a big deal
Other Thoughts:
This is a nice par 2 course in the Cherokee County area where one can go out and work on the short game and make ace runs or bring a junior to play a good mix of holes. I like coming out here to warm-up before heading to nearby Sequoyah Park. Also, this course has an open field so you can work on any long driving if needed. Some of the holes are too close to the walking path for my taste, so one can expect delays in playing during the weekend. Also, the duck pond can be popular with parkgoers at holes #9 and #17.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 great intro course

1    4/10/2016   4/11/2016
Review By: kurt
Played: 93  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 23.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: great course to introduce beginners/young kids to disc golf.
really like the prodigy baskets.
Cons: no signage
lots of people use this park
Other Thoughts: i played holes as laid out, but also played skipping tees (one tee to two basket, two tee to three basket, three tee to four basket and etc). playing the "extended layout" was pretty good.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Dupree Park

1    3/12/2016   3/15/2016
Review By: craigd
Played: 120  Reviewed: 110  Exp: 10.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is one of a kind. Instead of lengthy par 3's, 4's, or 5's, the course is designated as a "par 2" layout. As such, expect shorter holes that for an experienced golfer are more like upshots than actual drives. For the beginner, look for a manageable course that couldn't be more friendly for a first timer. After the first few holes, you'll tiptoe into a polite wooded area that introduces you to what a "standard" course will bring. There is a peppered variety of open shots along with some slight elevation changes and some tightly wooded shots to mix things up. There is even some water in play a couple times that will keep you on your toes, especially hole 15, which arguably is one of the tougher holes on the course. Concrete tees and of course the new Prodigy baskets round out the bells and whistles.

While geared towards new and up and coming players, the course is perfect for practice for the most seasoned of players. There is a open area for field work with multiple baskets to aim for, lots of upshot/putting practice, and of course the challenge of trying to shoot par (36).

This is a clean park, easy to get to, and while not a destination course, it's worth it to stop by to add to your courses played list, a day of practice, or get that illusive ace.
Cons: Concrete tees are here although they don't offer a ton of real estate. No biggie as a modest run up (if any at all) is all you'll need. Rather than being poured level with the ground they were formed and poured on top of grade so a four inch lip is present on most holes around the pad.

The holes around the field, 2-5 or so were repetitive and somewhat boring. Hole 15 didn't seem to offer a clear line, and as a water carry, didn't seem appealing to me. I only brought my putter and as my go to disc, didn't have the urge to throw the hole. I figured two things might happen here. I'd throw a good shot hit a tree and go in water or a bad shot and end up under basket (okay I'm exaggerating). But still the risk of the water wasn't worth me throwing my main putter. Just my suggestion bring something that you can throw that won't leave you heartbroken just in case.

Lots of casual folks on the course that delayed the round. Had to wait a while and finally skip a hole due to small children (like a previous reviewer stated) climbing on a basket.
Other Thoughts: As long as you know what to expect when playing here this is a solid "par 2" course. Certainly something different from most courses you'll normally play. With that in mind, based on the course designer's intention I'll give it a 3 out of 5. If you are looking to introduce new players to the sport, this is the place!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Interesting beginner course, busy multiuse

1    9/19/2015   9/19/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 67  Reviewed: 67  Exp: 7 Years
This review was updated on 2/4/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Dupree is a nice little multiuse park with a fantastic playground, soccer fields, basketball court, work out area. soccer fields and a duck pond.

Recently this par 2 beginner course has been added, and it meanders around the outside of the park in a very easy to follow, fairly short fashion.

Brand new Prodigy baksets are really nice and I like the lime green, easy to see but it doesn't stick out in s park that is mainly focused on family activities.

Tee pads are nice, but smallish you would never need a Run up if your older than about 10 here so that's fine. A little high off the ground but the kids seemed to like this.

Fairly well thought out, and I really liked #7 fun little down hill shot.
Cons: It's short, but that is sort of the point.

No signs, not that they are needed.

I don't like elevated pads but it's not a killer.

Main problem is how close to the soccer fields and other activities some of the holes are.

Kids were climbing on baskets likes jungle gym and making sandcastles on the greens.
Other Thoughts: Fun play and my daughter loved it, it's not perfect but worth the play.

Come after the soccer games end around 2:30. If you come on a Saturday.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Bravo for thinking outside the box

1    7/11/2015   7/11/2015
Review By: Foyboy89
Played: 40  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 4.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -The baskets are brand new and I think better than Disc Catcher pro's
-Amazing course to get kids (12 and under) interested in Disc Golf. (great course for a family activity)
newly poured concrete tee pads
blatantly obvious layout you don't really need signage or maps
-low traffic for a public park
Cons: -tee pads are a bit small for adults
-holes 1-5 are basically all identical an obstacle or two would have been nice (I know its for kids but a mando or large rock or bush to avoid would have made it more like disc golf and less like putt putt)
No signage or par info by the holes (not like it was 100% necessary)
Other Thoughts: I never give anything more than a 3.0 rating for a 9 hole course but I had to make an exception here. Great concept for a small course and if we want to have more 5-10 year old's playing Disc Golf we need more courses like this I'm a little confused as to what is going on with hole 7 its def a hard hole to navigate (especially if your 7) if the course is supposed to be where moms with 4 kids under 10 and one in a stroller can take their kids out for a day in the park and learn disc golf then hole 7 makes that entirely impossible however as an adult I certainly thought it was a fun hole concept but couldn't imagine trying to keep up with my kids or keep them clean and dry tromping down a hill and through a muddy creek.
I think when par info is posted it should be by age group like they should all be par 4 holes for 6 and under (except 7 should be par 5). 8 and under should get par 3 on holes 1-5 par 4 on 6 par 5 on 7 and par 4 on holes 8&9. 10 and under should get par 3 on all but hole 7 where they get an extra shot. Adults (11 and over) should have par 2 on everything (like it is posted) it would be a really fun family activity and even the playing field based on your age. I cant wait to see how this course is when its compleeted

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.