Mahwah, NJ 
Campgaw Reservation - Green Share
Uploaded By: gottafixit Hole #6 (Taken 6/2009)
3 / 239ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Green aint too mean

1    5/22/2013   6/5/2013
Review By: Magiken
Played: 58  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 8.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Good shot variety
Interesting forest scenery
Interesting wildlife here and there
A fair course for beginners to average players
Cons:
Tees are mostly dirt
A little tricky to navigate in spots
No restrooms/water that I could see
Lotsa bugs (could be seasonal)
The ski run area has high grass that is VERY WET (again, likely seasonal)
Other Thoughts:
Tips:
Bring a map
When you arrive, park and head towards the ski lifts. When you see buildings, walk in front of them and go all the way to the left into the forest to find tee #1. This wasn't totally clear to me on the map(s).

Random Thoughts:
So obviously you need to read both the Green and Blue/Black reviews to know what you're getting out here although this is one case where the three courses really are quite different. To start, this was my first 'ski lift' course and I was really looking forward to seeing what that would be like. Overall I was not disappointed. Fortunately, this was a small ski lift so it was more attainable from a physical exertion standpoint. Having said that though, be prepared. This is a good 2-3 hour hike, and I said 'hike' back there, not walk. It's pretty steep and pretty rocky in places, so wear proper foot wear and take care where you step. As for the course, my first bit of advice would be, don't think you're going to play more than one course at a time. Despite the sharing of some fairways and baskets, it's really not realistic considering the distances involved with the Blue/Black courses. Just stick to the Green and you'll be ok. Unfortunately, there aren't any 'top of the world' shots on the Green course; the closest is #17 which is a fun long downhill shot, but you can always go back to the top of the hill and play those scenic ones after. The Green course is really quite fair from a par perspective. It does demand accurate throws of the variety that are mostly straight for the first half of the flight, but even nicking a tree doesn't mean you can't make par. I found that as long as you didn't string two bad throws together, par was very attainable. Navigation is pretty easy although there are a couple spots where finding the next tee did get tricky due to the distance between holes and the overlapping courses. Keep your head on a swivel and you'll see signs. Note to course maintainers: These navigation signs would be much easier to see in neon orange or something. Dull white makes them blend into the forest a bit. There was also a basket missing (I think #15 maybe?), and I mean just the basket part. The chains and pole were there. Odd and a first for me. =)

Bottom Line:
A really good beginner course that demands control over distance. It very much reminded me of the forest courses we have here on the West Coast. I can't imagine what it's like playing in the winter time but I would love to find out.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Overrated average course with one signature hole.

1    6/24/2012   6/25/2012
Review By: prerube
Played: 250  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 10.5 Years
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Signage, some holes had long and short tees. Discatcher baskets
Lots of wooded holes with some nice elevation changes. The rocks add a good bit of scenery as well.
Hole 17 is the clear signature hole with the basket extremely elevated throwing down to the basket.
Holes 8,13, 15,16, and 18 were enjoyable or memorable holes.
Cons: Serious lack of maintenance.
Signage is falling apart, the backs of the signs are totally different holes, so it could cause confusion.
tees were in rough shape with rocks and roots creating problems. Signature hole 17's tee pad was basically 4 feet by 4 feet because that was all that was usable. Tee 1 was a dirt tee, tee 3 was concrete, tee 4 was gravel.

Baskets are unlabled, all have velcro for numbers, but no numbers (probably due to the 2 layouts)

Grass was up to knee high on several holes. Holes 12-14 were nearly unplayable with out a spotter, which is a shame because 13 had the interesting boulder infront of the basket.

Lots of garbage scattered around baskets.

Set up on the site as 2 courses, this is not 2 courses. This is a seasonal course that changes layouts.
Other Thoughts: I read about the amazing views and holes that made you want to clear out your bag, but hole 17 was the only hole where I was tempted to throw a second disc. (holes 12-14 I was tempted not to throw at all) I was also hoping for 2 tees on each hole to play it twice, but there were not 2 tees and even if their were, I would not have played it again.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Wooded hills

1    8/24/2011   11/3/2011
Review By: mashnut
Played: 828  Reviewed: 775  Exp: 15.7 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course circles the ski hill in the surrounding woods. The Green layout stays completely in the trees, offering technical lines and some punishment for errant shots with light rough and lots of trees. There is elevation on most of the holes, and it's used pretty well to keep things interesting. There are a couple steeply uphill shots and some fun downhills. Elevation and rock piles around greens add some challenge to the short game with rollaway potential.

There is some length variety, most holes are fairly short but the elevation changes make some play longer or shorter. There is basic signage for both layouts, and a good set of course maps online. We didn't have a problem following the green layout at all.
Cons: The tees are terrible. They're natural pads that are rutted out and have roots and rocks sticking up waiting to break your ankles. At times the signage can be a little confusing, with the black sign on one side and the green on the other, make sure you look at both sides. There are some long walks that would have been a bit confusing without the course map.

The course has a lot of holes with left turning shots, it seemed like there was room to design a more balanced course with a little better hole shape variety. A few areas of the course hold water and can get a bit swampy. Some of the steeper hills have erosion issues and can be difficult to walk in wet conditions.
Other Thoughts: There is pretty good fun factor here, the technical lines and elevation combined with the rocks make for some interesting shots. Beginners will find the distances reasonable, and though you can get kicked pretty far off the fairway on an errant shot there are lines for recovery shots. More experienced players won't find it terribly challenging, most of the course is mid and putter practice for better players. I would definitely stop here again if I'm in the area, especially during the season when the black layout is available too.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 technical challenge

5+    10/26/2011   10/27/2011
Review By: Peterb
Played: 78  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 24.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - awesome terrain changes
- beautiful trees
- well designed challenging, yet gettable shots
- never crowded despite being close to NYC
- plentiful parking
- nice baskets
- sense of seclusion pervades the entire course
- good mix of straight, left, and right turning shots
- excellent use of elevation changes. Several uphill shots on the front nine, accentuated by the difficult 8th hole, which is a fairly extreme uphill shot. Nice drop offs and basket positioning on several holes. Hole 17 is indeed a gem of a tunnel shot, quickly dropping at least 40 feet from the tee and then sloping gently most of the fairway to the basket.
- other amenities available, like bathrooms, and a soda machine with gatorade
- benches at most tees
Cons: - tee pads are mostly natural and a bit rutted. Perhaps understandable in the context of the ski hill course, but concrete would be a major upgrade here.
- signage is inconsistent and unless you know the course, can be difficult to follow. This needs to be rectified for this permanent course. The kiosk says that all the tees will be marked with the green circle (to maintain consistency with the ski hill system) but as of 10/26/2011, the signage doesn't readily indicate this.
- course drainage is a problem on the holes at the bottom of the hill. This affects holes 1-4, and holes 17-18. Boots are recommended
- a few too many RHBH hyzer holes. Overall the course has good but not great balance. A few new basket positions would cure that.
- no need for drivers. The entire course can be played with midranges and putters. Maybe a little more length would be good? Though I suppose if you want length, the mighty gaw gives it to you.
- the infinite amount of boulders and rocks make groundplay unpredictable and will chew up your plastic.
Other Thoughts: All in all, campgaw is a very nice course. If it had concrete tees and was a bit more balanced out I would give it 4.5 stars. I highly recommend playing the course in the autumn (though do not use orange, yellow, or red discs!) as the scenery of the leaves in full foliage is unforgettable. I like to take a jog and play this course with 2 or 3 discs, though the footing is tricky for anyone, so be careful out there. I do love how easy it is to get to from the NYC area, and how seemingly unpopular the course is (especially compared to other courses in metro areas). Has the disc golf bug not hit northern jersey yet? I know there are some amazing courses, but perhaps the bada bing! is a bigger draw...

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 No Walk in the Park

1    3/6/2011   3/7/2011
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 73  Reviewed: 73  Exp: 7.1 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 18 hole course which is a shorter version of Campgaw's "Mighty Gaw" layout, although it incorporates some of the same holes. Very technically challenging with terrain, elevation, trees and other obstacles which test your skills. Distances ranging from 200-350 feet make it manageable for most players. Tee boxes and signs are present at each hole, and there are benches/logs at many of the holes to rest. Baskets are all in good shape. Is appealing to both the advanced as well as the intermediate or recreational player.
Cons: Despite the presence of some "next tee" signs, navigation can be tricky in spots and pathways aren't always clearly defined. Crushed stone/dirt tee boxes are often uneven. Some of the signage consisting of temporary foam placards is in poor shape. Rough terrain prevents run up shots on most holes. Ammenities like trash cans and poles to hang your bag at each hole would be welcomed. Can be a muddy, icy, slushy mess depending on the season.
Other Thoughts: Don't be fooled by the shorter distances of the holes; the Campgaw layout is a grueling exercise in disc golf. The terrain is tough on a GOOD day; it can be absolutely brutal in bad weather. Twice I've played here in driving rain/ice and footing can be treacherous. The rocky surface and elevation make it essential you are prepared to play before entering the premises.

Trying to install cement tee pads or provide other amenities at each hole on a course like this is no doubt a major headache, as access up the mountain is awfully tough. Despite this, there has been talk of the Skylands Disc Golf Club trying to pursue these ambitious goals.

One can't objectively rate this course higher than the Mighty Gaw layout, as the distance, travel up the mountain (once instead of twice), and overall layout and level of challenge isn't quite as demanding. But Campgaw is a rugged, challenging course which is totally worth your while and can humble good players.


1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course to play

1    3/1/2011   3/1/2011
Review By: Aupps
Played: 32  Reviewed: 23  Exp: 7.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Tees are clear even though the rest of the course is covered in snow and ice, someone really cares about this course
-Awesome use of elevation and local landscape, accuracy is at a premium
-Used a wide variety of different shots
-Holes are short, but challenging due to trees, elevation, and boulders
-Hole 17 is my favorite hole of the course. The best opportunity to throw huge down hill bombs.
-Great cardio workout walking up the mountain
Cons: -I'm fine with playing on gravel tees (I prefer rubber) but some of the holes did not have obvious tee boxes which made them hard to spot for a first timer playing by themselves
-Not all the signs were in place. Also the signs are temporary. Would be nice to have permanent signs with next tee markers for all holes
-There are no trash cans on the course what-so-ever. The course is riddled with beer cans and food wrappers.
Other Thoughts: I have a great deal of fun playing this course. I mainly used my mids which was good for me as I could use the practice. I also found that the front nine was hard to navigate with out a map. The back nine flowed much better than the front. I am going to bring friends here and recommend it to others, as it is one of the best courses in New Jersey. I also have to come back and try the Mighty Gaw when it's set up, I'm really looking forward to that.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Mighty Gaw's Little Brother

5+    11/27/2010   11/27/2010
Review By: toothyfish
Played: 31  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 8.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2011
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pros and Cons of this course could be very subjective as this is not a typical DG course. Depending on what you like you may love or hate this course. So I will review this course, assuming you are an experienced player that wants a true test. This shorter layout is still difficult, but plays much shorter than the Mighty Gaw layout:

* a PREMIUM on accuracy
* short/long tees on several holes
* will require a large variety of shots and the ability to get out of trouble
* baskets are in great shape
* some spectacular views and amazing use of topography
* plenty of parking and the row closest to the woods is designated specifically for the disc golfers.
* Most of the holes avoid the main ski slope areas, which are known for very high, thick rough.
Cons: Some cons:
* tees are worn in some areas
* signage is not permanent, and has been known to be missing or damaged
* navigation is definately challenging, despite Next Tee signs
Other Thoughts: The Campgaw layout is a shorter version of the Mighty Gaw layout. Technically, they are not to separate courses, but one course with two layouts, depending on season. The Campgaw layout uses much of the Mighty Gaw layout, sometime breaking up a long hole into two shorter ones. This layout takes one up the hill, accross the top and down the other side toward the parking lot, rtather than looping back up. There is minimal reward for good drives, but serious punishment for bad drives. Most of the fairways are very rugged so prepare for alot of standing shots. And being off the fairway may mean settling for bogey to get back on to avoid triple bogey.

While I still wouldn't recommend this course for beginners, this shorter layout is a good way to introduce yourself to such a rugged type of course as it is not nearly as long. Plan on extra time, though.

Prepare for rugged terrain and dress appropriately. Wear hiking boots and be careful!

Because this is a course that is superimposed on a rugged landscape, clear definition of fairways and next tee isn't always obvious, so print out the map. There are "Next Tee" signs, but it's easy to get disoriented. There are several hiking trails that are utilized, but some of these trails are not part of the course and can lead you the wrong way.

There is plenty of parking. Walk from the lot, past the ski lodges at the bottom of the hill to the first tee. There will be a large sign on your way that will have the current layout posted, as the layout changes from the long Mighty Gaw (spring and fall) to the shorter Camp Gaw (up-over-down layout)

Both Campgaw (short) and Mighty Gaw (long) layouts are in place. Since many tees are shared but the hole numbers are different, check both sides of the sign, depending on which layout you are playing.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Camp Gaw Crazy

5+    6/8/2011   7/21/2010
Review By: FrankieDG
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 6/8/2011
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With options to shoot from short or long tees on certain holes. This challenging wooded course has intense uphill holes, deceivingly mischievous down hill holes and doglegs left. Overall this is a fun, challenging, and physically demanding course.
Cons: What's keeping this course from a 5 star rating for me is the litter lining the course.

If you've never played the course before navigating it may at times be confusing.
Other Thoughts: Check for tics and please don't litter the course.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The Mountain Horseshoe

5+    9/30/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 25.5 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2014
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A wonderful little mountain course that plays short, but with lots of trees, rocks and elevation on a majority of holes. You will need to shape your shots here, so I would not depend on your longest fastest discs. There are many birdie opps. on the shorter holes to reward an accurate drive, and enough trees off the fairways to make pars challenging for errant drives. The course is a workout as it works to the top of the slope on 1-9 and finally back down on 17-18. You are mostly in a quiet forest, but make sure you take a short walk toward the chairlifts near the 13th tee for a wonderful view (and a sneak preview of the drives you will have when the course is in "Mighty Gaw" configuration.
Cons: Teepads are gravel (all but one) and crappy. Fortunately, the holes are short enough, so I don't need a run-up to get distance. Still, this course is old enough that there's no excuse for not upgrading the tees.

Other Thoughts: Bring bug repellant in the summer for ticks and Mosquitos. Bring durable plastic (terrain is very rocky).

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 What a sweet course!

2-4    9/19/2007   6/19/2009
Review By: waynewf
Played: 31  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 17.4 Years
4 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: What a beautiful course. This has some really cool holes with tough elevation changes. I recall one hole where your feet weren't enough and you had to get your hands dirty to climb t the next tee. This course is not for the faint of heart or the lazy! You will definately get a work out here.
Cons: This isn't the best marked course, so it's easy to get lost.
Also, in the summer, long pants may be a must as me and my two buddies all had at least 2 ticks and a number of scrapes.
Super long downhill hole + Long waist high grass = some serious problems finding discs, even on good throws.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this really is an awesome course. I feel bad that my "cons" look longer than my "pros"...but you definately have to be prepared for this course and know what to expect, otherwise you could have a miserable day. I brought one guy here for his first time ever playing disc golf and he absolutely loved it.

4 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.