Santee, CA 
Mast Park Share
Uploaded By: Discette Hole #2 (Taken 1/2016)
3 / 201ft.   3 / 280ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 15
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Awesome little course

5+    4/5/2021   4/7/2021
Review By: kwcarroll
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful! It's obvious the city has put a lot of money into making and maintaining this course

Short enough holes that beginners won't be overwhelmed, but enough trees and interesting angles to satisfy the intermediate player

Excellent signage - there is no confusion about where the pin is or the distance
Cons: It's a 9 hole course so if you're looking for 18 you have to play twice. There are 2 tee pads for each hole but they don't always change the hole very much

It can get a little crowded. Since it's a newly remodeled course a lot of people play it, and the wait times at each hole can add up
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a super fun little course, and for 5$ i can't find much (if anything) to complain about

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Much Improved!

5+    7/5/2020   7/5/2020
Review By: endermetal
Played: 24  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 7 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I consider the aesthetic appeal of a course to be one of the most important factors in rating it. After an 18 month closure and $10 million renovation, I'm pleased to say Mast Park has successfully transformed into a lovely piece of disc golfing property.

Native grasses now line the fairways. Landscaping enhancements have resulted in more elevation changes, and the removal of weeds and decaying trees improves the experience.

Additional amenities/upgrades include brand new Mach X baskets, 2 concrete tee pads per hole, and full color tee signs on both pads.

Navigation has always been intuitive, but now I feel the course layout is even better with a couple of the changes they've made, with a few holes being lengthened and others shortened. One of my favorite changes was to hole 6, which now requires a 400' anhyzer for birdie. Incredibly fun shot.
Cons: Due to the novelty of the course, this is easily the most popular course in San Diego county. Hordes of people descended here over the holiday weekend, resulting in lengthy wait times. I'm sure the popularity will wane, but I expect this will be a very popular course for some time.

Mast Park used to be free to play, but it's now pay-to-play, $4 weekdays and $5 weekends. The rationale to charge players is understandable, as the fees are being used to offset course maintenance costs.

Many of the cons that applied to the previous version of the course still apply: Mast Park is a small piece of property with only 9 holes, and there are still too many short simple hyzer shots for those of us looking for more challenge.

There are also no trash cans located on the couse and only a few benches. More benches would be really appreciated because of the heat and the amount of waiting at each hole.
Other Thoughts: Prior to construction, I had played Mast Park about 7-8 times and was never particularly fond of the course; it was a barren, dusty, weed-infested course with mostly short holes, minimal elevation change, and mostly unimaginative lines. If I had to give the previous version of Mast Park a rating, it would probably be a 2.0, so a 1.5 point upgrade to a 3.5 is significant, and is a testament to the changes made to the course. Well done!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Waited a year and a half for this?

2-4    6/26/2020   6/26/2020
Review By: WillWalterSanDiego
Played: 7  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I am an older golfer at 62. Played before the remodel, it was a short but fair course, not the prettiest gal in class but she was fun to play.

Very nicely landscaped with new DISCatcher baskets.
Cons: 1) The fairways were planted with clumps of grass about 12" apart. Terrible unsafe footing, can't run up with out fear of twisting knee or ankle. Discs getting stopped pretty quickly when you hit the clumps in the fairway. The park reopened early 2020, but the DGC was just re-opened while this "grass" grew in.

2) No trash cans anywhere on the course. Each hole has 2 tee pads, most holes don't have benches, the ones that do have just one bench at only one of the tee pads. No bag hooks or brooms. It gets hot in Santee, some shade would be appreciated at the tees/benches, there are none now.

3) Some of the holes require a far stronger arm than I have to either get over the trees or throw a hard low shot that is stopped by the clumpy fairways.

4) Each hole has 3 basket locations, most all of them are pretty close together, limiting the variety of pin placement.

5) Used to be free, now pay to play, $4 or $5 per day or monthly pass available. Morley is priced the same, is closer to my house, and it has 19 holes and a ton of variety (and players)
Other Thoughts: I was very disappointed by the 10 million dollars spent to remodel this facility (the entire park which is very beautiful and clean) pretty much destroyed my joy of golfing there.

San Diego city and county have few disc golf courses, we have a huge county with a large population that needs more and better places to play the game we love.

This course is unplayable for me, an older golfer, as is...

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

fun course, great for locals

1    6/22/2018   6/22/2018
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 340  Reviewed: 279  Exp: 14 Years
This review was updated on 6/26/2020
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -small area used to good effect
-nice rubber tees, 2 per hole
-signage on large wooden posts help locate tees, also have bag hooks
-discatchers in good condition
-three pin locations, great replay value for locals
-navigation is pretty straightforward once you walk from the parking lot past the playground
-a number of trees to contend with on most of the holes, various lines to navigate the fairways
-only free course in San Diego **edit** pay to play now
Cons: -mostly short, only one or two holes to open up a drive
-no particularly memorable holes
-pedestrian trails parallel most holes
-can be tricky to find; enter the park from Carlton Hills Blvd
Other Thoughts: Mast Park is a fun little course that makes the most of the small area it occupies. The first 2 holes feature a number of trees to navigate while the next 2 are pretty wide open. Hole 5 is an island hole with one tree to avoid and the remaining holes play through a sparsely treed area with various routes to the basket. It's a quick play with enough challenge for the beginner to intermediate player to keep it interesting.

The course offers two tees per hole as well as three pin locations. A great amenity for locals on such a small, unassuming course. That said, it's still pretty basic and anyone that can throw 300' will be driving the green on every hole (except hole 4) from either tee to any pin position.

There are so few course in San Diego so I'm sure the players in the area love having a course closer than Morley. It's nothing to drive out of the way for but it's worth playing if you are in the neighborhood. It's another option if you despise the huge crowds you'll find at Morley.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Fun quick 9 hole

1    10/9/2017   10/11/2017
Review By: djtripp20
Played: 60  Reviewed: 36  Exp: 7.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mast Park in San Diego is a great example of placing an accessible, easy to place disc golf course in a small community park. I was looking for a place to play a quick round as I traveled from the airport east into the desert, so this course stood out because of it's relative close proximity to Interstate 8.

First, it took me a minute to actually find the entrance to the park. If you're visiting for the first time, come in off the east side via Carlton Hills Blvd. The course itself is deep in the park past the playground. Once I figured this out, everything was smooth.

The course itself is only 9 baskets, but there are two permanent tee pads on each hole. The tee pads are not directly aligned with each other, so you get a true feel of playing 18 if you run through twice.

Some of the holes force you to throw between trees and shrubs, others are wide open across the park. You'll throw a good mix of hyzers, straight shots, and maybe a tomahawk or two.

The park was surprisingly pretty busy on my Monday afternoon when I came through. There were a consistent line of disc golfers throughout the course. I ended up playing through two groups in my quick 9 hole round.

Summary of pros:

- Ample parking
- Covered pavilion and water fountains
- Well maintained park
- Multiple tee pads on each hole
- Baskets in great condition
- Variety of lengths and angles with shots
- Decent elevation to contend with
- Quick round
Cons: Like I said in the pros, finding this one was a challenge. Using the maps, I thought I could park right outside the tee pad for hole 1, but this was an apartment complex with a big fence between me and the park. I quickly realized I needed to use the lot on the west side of the park, then walk through the park to actually get to the first tee. Once you figure this out it seems probably pretty normal, but I hit a lot of courses and this one just confused me a little bit.

Then of course it's only 9 holes. There isn't much more room in here to add more though, so they really did a good job mixing in what they could.

Some of the baskets were hard to figure out from the tee pad. Many of the holes play pretty close together, so it took me a minute to figure out which target I was shooting for when I stepped on each pad.
Other Thoughts: Final thoughts... if you're in San Diego and you're looking for a quick, fun round... this place is great. I wouldn't go way out of my way to make it a destination or anything, but I don't think it's intended to be that. It fits the role of quick 9-holer perfectly.

Park in the lot on the west side of the park off Carlton Hills Blvd, then walk past the playground to find the first tee. Keep the DGCR map with you because it will come in handy. Have fun!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course with moderate/easy difficulty

5+    11/7/2016   11/7/2016
Review By: programchaos32
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 4.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two different tee positions for intermediate/beginner players and multiple basket positions, a variety of wooded and wide open shots, many chances throughout the course to practice into different wind conditions, not very crowded ever, rubber pads on the tee boxes and also some of the tee pads have a broom stationed next to them to wipe of the tee area.
Cons: Very sandy, rollers don't really work on any part of this course (makes it interesting though), no real signs delineating which way the course goes and no information about the holes or the positions of the holes at the tee boxes. Lots of red ants, be careful setting your bag down! No actual out of bounds areas, although there should be. Watch out for guys walking their dogs through your line not knowing that this is a disc golf course. Could use a pro shop, but the liquor store across from the 7-11 on the corner of Carlton Oaks sells a small selection of discs.
Other Thoughts: All in all a pretty fine course. For the intermediate to beginner player, advanced players might find this course a little easy, but still fun to work on your aces and midrange shots. It's never really crowded here, except right after work on the week days and a tiny bit on the weekends. It's an easier course in San Diego than Morley Field, but it's almost about 70% less crowded. The wind picks up pretty good on the open holes and tends to head in multiple directions around the course as you play it.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good quick play

2-4    11/4/2016   11/4/2016
Review By: Overlord
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: They really did the most they could with the space, I have played it twice in the last couple of weeks and it was exactly what I was looking for.
- All tee pads (two per hole) are rubber and have been in good condition (it seems they have been updated in the last year or so since other reviews)
- Flat, easy to walk terrain.
- Good baskets with multiple pin locations
- Variety of approaches, at least considering the environment
- Not crowded...easy to play
- Wood posts easily identifying each tee pad. Some have hooks to hang your bag
- Easy to find the next hole
Cons: - Very simple course, more in the beginner to intermediate range
- Not a whole lot of variance (as compared to say Morley Field or Bengle Terrace) in terrain, but like I said, they make the best of it
- Short holes, especially the short pins
Other Thoughts: My cons above are purely subjective...the course does not try to be anything that it is not. Play it for what it is: a quick and easy 9 hole-er, turn it into 18 by playing the short tee for the first 9 and the long tee for the back 9.

There is birdie opportunity on every hole, even if you don't have a big arm. Make sure your tee shot counts!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Sandy and hot

1    3/25/2016   4/3/2016
Review By: Pierparknut
Played: 64  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 7.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/20/2016
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -This course is in the back portion of a city park. The front portion is manicured with a playground, basketball, etc., but the back part is typical desert landscape. Few trees, and plenty of sand fill the landscape.
-Brand new Discatcher baskets (and a practice basket) and rubber tee pads. There were two tee pads per hole. The back one was strategically placed in shade on almost every hole.
-There were brooms on some holes to sweep the tee pad.
-The first few holes provide a nice contrast to the rest of the course, as they are very shaded and have some patches of grass. The course overall is well-designed, with forehand and backhand holes.
-Not very crowded.
-Nowhere to lose a disc.
Cons: -There aren't many benches to set your bag down on or sit on. You need some, as it could get very hot here. No trash cans, either.
-This place is animal heaven. I saw rodents, lizards, bees, spiders, but once I saw fire ants, that made me look before I set down my bag. I don't want to imagine what other critters could inhabit the place. Snakes, coyotes . . .
-The ground is very soft sand. I'm fortunate not to have played on a windy day. It would be a terrible dusty mess. Even if you scuff your feet you send up a cloud of sandy dirt. The sand, coupled with those little thorny things from scraggly grass, can really itch when you get some in your shoes.
Other Thoughts: -You can't plan for much skip with the sandy terrain. A "stick it" shot often works best.
-There's no sign for the park, and no signs showing where the disc golf course is. Walk past the playground and up to the left to the first tee. No tee signs either, not that the course needs them, but this place is seriously lacking in signage in all forms.
-This course has good bones, but definitely needs a few things: some TLC, something to keep the fire ants out, and a few more trees. Also, some grass. Maybe it needs a lot of work, actually. I understand it's improving, it is a new course, but as it is it wasn't a very enjoyable round.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Sandy and short

5+    1/11/2016   1/31/2016
Review By: Mr. Butlertron
Played: 352  Reviewed: 128  Exp: 18.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- Free to play
- Bathrooms on site
- Multiple tees
- Multiple pin placements
- Tee signs
- New baskets
Cons:
- some tee boxes were just wood forms filled with sand/dirt, the day I went a few were rutted and puddled
- Course fairways have little separation
- Tees to close to other fairways
- Short holes
- Simple fairways
- Park pedestrians
- Parking lot locks up at "dusk", whenever that is
- Bums
Other Thoughts:
This short simple course had little to obstruct the open fairways. Flicking or backhanding a spike hyzer line with an OS driver was often the easiest and best choice for shot selection. The ground is a mix of soft dirt and sand which makes skip shots difficult. Long tees weren't much further away than the shorts and didn't force me to use different discs.

I was actually pretty impressed with the course considering the type and amount of land available within the park. Ultimately, the biggest thing that separates it from other short courses in the area is that it's free. San Diego is course starved, plain and simple. This course may not be the most challenging, but it will at least divert some traffic away from Morley Field.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    11/8/2015   11/9/2015
Review By: Sharkbite
Played: 175  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 21.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Made good use of an area I'd assume was unused before. Not sure how fast the tress grow there but in a few years id should be much harder. I enjoyed myself
Cons: Long walk back from 9. Be nice to get a few holes in going back to parking lot

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.