Mauston, WI 
Mile Bluff DGC Share
Uploaded By: DerekTonn Hole #1 (Taken 10/2018)
3 / 253ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
You'd Never Know it was There

1    5/2/2021   6/27/2021
Review By: EspressoPatronum
Played: 90  Reviewed: 80  Exp: 16 Years
12 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
- snakes (ok, i think snakes are cool)
- Innova DISCatcher baskets in decent shape
- 3 and 4 are some of the coolest holes I've ever played
- awesome elevation change and incorporation of natural rock features
- straightforward navigation with exception of missing tee sign
Cons:
- snakes (some people don't, for some reason)
- natural tees, some of which are quite uneven
- rudimentary tee signs, and hole 2 sign missing
- decent number of bees to watch out for
- extremely short, only 6 holes
- virtually no amenities
Other Thoughts:
This is a hard course to rate. On the one hand, from the parking area it looks like nothing special, and it's extremely short with only 6 holes. 1, 2, and 6 are pretty ordinary, but 3-5 are what make this course special. 3 starts by playing uphill towards a rock face at an extreme angle. 4 plays along the bluff up on the rocks and is a really cool place to play from a bit of elevation, but with some risk of your disc going down the bluff. 5 throws back down to the main field. It should be noted the slope on hole 3 is extremely steep and the ground is a bit loose, so be careful.

Most disc golfers enjoy nature, right? Well, I hope so. I saw 2 or 3 snakes here within about a 50-100 ft span, they are all over in the grass. They are small, harmless snakes (garter snakes?) so nothing to really get worried about, just easy to miss so watch your step.

I think this course has the potential to be even cooler if it was expanded between holes 3 and 4 to move up the rocks onto the bluff even higher. It might be a bit precarious but it seems like a cool opportunity. If this could be expanded to 9 holes and have some better tee signs put in, it would be pretty decent.

This course takes advantage of the natural area it is in, but is pretty bare bones besides that. Don't expect benches and trash cans at each hole or anything like that - this is more of a tiny park course. That said, you can complete it in 30 minutes so you don't need much. It's kind of in the middle of nowhere, but if you're nearby I do think it's worth stopping for a fun, quick round. I made a point of stopping here just because of how unique it looked.

12 of 12 people found this review helpful.

Coulee Delight

5+    9/2/2020   9/6/2020
Review By: Bfrolfer
Played: 27  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 1.2 Years
Pros: beautiful scenery. Well marked and maintained. Plenty of elevation especially hole 5 from the top of a sled hill.
Cons: Only 6 holes
Other Thoughts: There should be room for the Mauston Kiwanis to add three more tees up the hill.

 Tiny but Mighty

1    5/4/2019   5/8/2019
Review By: aphilso1
Played: 49  Reviewed: 48  Exp: 3.8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful scenery! Holes 3-6 all have some really pretty views, with Hole 3 having an absolutely gorgeous green tucked into the side of a steep rock face.
Baskets are in great shape and tee signs are sufficient to navigate the course easily.
Most of the holes have a fairly technical line to hit, so while the course is short there is still a decent challenge to it. Quite fun overall.
Cons: Only 6 holes, all of them on the short end distance-wise. You really only need putters plus a Firebird-style overstable disc to score well.
Natural teepads are fairly rutted out.
Other Thoughts: Lots of fun, well worth the stop off the interstate. It's a great chance to stretch your legs on a road trip. Would be great if they ever expand the course further up the rock into the trees.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great rest stop

1    8/13/2017   8/16/2017
Review By: aajpity
Played: 53  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 10.2 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I came to the course on my way back up to Minnesota. It was a perfect course to stretch out a little and wasn't far off the main road. I thought the tees were nice and the maps on each hole with par on it was a really nice little touch. The baskets are clean and the space is used rather well. The scenery was beautiful with the rocks on the hill.
Cons: Not much of a challenge but it isn't extremely easy either. The paths were covered with plants that were sometimes sharp which my girlfriend didn't much care for. Houses are to the right of Hole #1 so you're almost playing in people's backyards. Hole #6 has trees knocked down everywhere and I almost lost a disc in the mess.
Other Thoughts: It's a cute little course. I appreciate it for what it is and had a good time.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A welcomed surprise cool course!

1    11/8/2016   11/8/2016
Review By: DrewbieDoobieDoo
Played: 241  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 8.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Although this course is only 6 holes and on little land, it is still a well thought out design on the terrain given. Each tee has a map with distance and direction of the basket. Four out of the six holes incorporate elevation change either throwing to an elevated target, or teeing from an elevated tee box. Hole 3 is a memorable one, with the basket sitting on face of a bluff after a sharp dogleg- really cool hole for any course! All holes make great use of the trees on the land to force lines and reward good shots without being unfair or too challenging for new players.
Cons: Only 6 holes. Footing on some of the natural teeing surfaces uneven/ muddy.
Other Thoughts: Played as a quick stop on a road trip and was very impressed. Great course to stop, stretch the legs, and play six really cool holes. Would love to play this course regularly and make up some "local holes" too.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Worth a stop

1    9/18/2016   9/26/2016
Review By: Freebird
Played: 19  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 13.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great baskets, fantastic signs.
Cons: Short, bugs, plays real close to neighbors' back yards, bugs, lousy parking for the Hog. Did I mention the bugs?
Other Thoughts: I love the tee markers, you have no trouble navigating this course. We played early in the morning and the very long grass which really needed mowing was very wet, making for wet feet and slippery discs. A bad throw or a tree bounce can easily put you in someone's back yard, always an uncomfortable thing, but no one came out to yell at me when I threw my wet slippery disc into the mosquito-infested bushes at the back of their yard. 3 is very cool, as is 4 where you throw back down the bluff over or around some very nasty brush. 6 was kind of fun but it has been a wet year and the middle of the fairway was literally a small pond. All in all, though, a very nice course for a small town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best 6 hole course I can imagine!

1    9/16/2015   12/3/2015
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 752  Reviewed: 214  Exp: 10 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 6 hole course located on the edge of Mauston, WI.

Nice Discatcher baskets, all in really nice shape. One pin position per hole.

We pulled up to this course, on a complete whim on our way home from a bagging weekend in the Twin Cities, and were pleasantly surprised by the first couple holes. Nice and wooded, a little bit of challenge. Then we turned the corner on hole 3 to see the basket, and both of us said "HOLY SH!T". Basket, perched up in the middle of sheer rock walls...just totally awesome. Walking down narrow rock trails next to a sheer face to get to the next hole. Stunning.

Nothing too long here, but it wasn't crazy short, either. Lots of mature trees to add difficulty. Some nice forced lines.

Nice home made wooden signs. Navigation is pretty simple.
Cons: 6 holes. BUM-MER. I can't even begin to imagine how awesome a course going up the rock wall and around could be.

There's some spots that hold water here. Not a huge deal, but it's worth noting.

Natural tee pads...but it is only 6 holes, after all.

No real bomber type holes here...it's all pretty technical.
Other Thoughts: Most of the awesomeness of this course is the setting, even though the golf is pretty solid and fun. You're on the edge of town, with some backyards along the first couple holes...but it feels secluded.

It's not really near anything, but if you happen to be here, go play it. Take pictures. Have a picnic. Groove.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Small Course

1    10/29/2015   10/30/2015
Review By: Birddb
Played: 26  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 6.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Surprisingly nice course.
A variety of shots.
The third basket is a little up the side of a bluff, giving this a nice challenge.
Cons: I didn't realize that some of the next tees were on the previous tee sign, so it was a bit tricky to find the 4th tee box. This was complicated by the fact that the leaves had just fallen and covered up any path that might have indicated where to go.
Would be nice if there were more holes, but I'm not sure where they would go.
Other Thoughts: A few holes reminded me of a shorter easier Justin Trails. Great course for beginners and I think it would provide interest for more experienced players as well. This course was a great surprise.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 AWESOME HIDDEN TREASURETTE!

1    7/18/2015   7/18/2015
Review By: Jimmy_Saskatchewan
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 19.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - For such a little course I was so impressed with how well it was mapped out. There was no confusion about the next hole because the map shows the tee box for the following hole.
- The holes offers a fair amount of challenge and usually hang around 250 feet in length.
- Dedicated course in clean and well-maintained park.
Cons: - a 6-hole course.
- Tees are grass and shaded by woods so they are trampled down to dirt, so it is easy for them to get slippery and greasy.
Other Thoughts: If you plan to make the trip make sure you bring bug dope and a pair of shoes with good tread. Lot of uneven and/or eroded ground around tees & pins.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.