Orlando, FL 
Gordon Barnett Park - North Share
Uploaded By: solomon.trenton Hole #9 (Taken 3/2011)
3 / 234ft.   3 / 234ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 TeeSign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 23
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Play Hole 18 Long, If You Dare

1    7/29/2017   10/21/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 175  Reviewed: 137  Exp: 3.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.108 Rating) A challenging layout with a good amount of hole variety.
- CHALLENGING - I was surprised by the difficulty of the back tees. Much more wooded than the neighboring Parkside course. Several of these wooded holes are over 350 feet from the back tees and they will definitely make an advanced player prove their game. Lots of shot shaping is required and also a couple basket placements will require around a 450 foot bomb.
- UNIQUENESS - For a par 54, one of the more diversified layouts I've played. Several water plays including both a water clear (18) and parallel creek plays on (3), (11) and (12). There are several tunnel shots and a few well defined pockets to hit as well. Several challenging blind basket placements, but also a couple straight up gunning for the chains shots.
- ELEVATION FOR SOUTH FLORIDA - For a course this far south in Florida, a surprising number of plays where elevation is a factor. Holes (1), (11), (13), (14) and (17) all have around 15 feet of change along the hole. It's very rare to have this much elevation change around here. I realize that this would be considered flat most anywhere else, but for the Orlando area I'd say it the course with the most elevation changes.
- SIGNATURE HOLE - Easily hole (18). An island green surrounded by water and connected by a small path. I have a feeling that many people skip this hole due to the difficulty of the shot. I personally waited for 5 minutes to throw before sadly skipping it as the group in front of me was searching for their disc. I suggest carrying a floater or a throw away disc to alleviate the aggravation of losing a favorite disc.
- CHARACTER - A bunch of bonus items that you'd expect from an established course. To start, a nice updated course map near the beginning of the layout. Practice basket, restrooms and drinking fountain all next to the parking area. Nine extra tees and lots of multiple basket placements. A few benches and ample shade on many of the tee boxes. On the down side, the hole signage could really use an updating and I would have liked to have seen a handful of additional benches. Some of the concrete tees were not in great shape or a bit too short. Lastly, I read on some earlier review comments about there being a pro shop on site. It was either closed during my round or it's no longer in service.
- NAVIGATION - I didn't have too much trouble with the updated course map that I snapped a picture of. I think the course is cart friendly as well.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - With nine extra tees I feel that the North course can appeal to wide swath of players. Definitely not beginner friendly or championship difficult, but all the players in between should be able to the throw a fair and challenging round.
- CHILL AREAS - Although only a few tees have benches, they are tucked away and are great places to sit back, relax and observe nature.
- LOCATION - 36 holes on site to allow for an extended disc golf afternoon.
Cons: Overall a solid course, but short of the appeal of the courses located at River City and Bill Frederick.
- LOOSE DISC OPPS - Hole (18) is a disc give away. Also if the creek water level is up, Holes (3), (11) and (12) all have the ability to claim your disc.
- HOLE 8 - IMO a flawed hole. A near impossible 90 degree short left deep pocketing shot. Overgrowth is dense all around the basket. The tee shot forces all shots to be low due to the low hanging branches just in front of the tee box. A smart play is a straight and precisely distanced 200 foot tee shot. This will leave a 4 foot wide and 50 foot long pathway shot to the basket.
- DISCONTINUITY - Two 500 foot walks between holes. Hole (12) to (13) and Hole (16) to (17).
- BEGINNER FRIENDLY - This course is only for beginners who want to lose the one or two disc they own. Too much water and too many narrow fairway to hit. If you are new to the sport, I would suggest the UCF course or Airport Lakes.
- TIME WAITING - The course was getting pretty good use on the Saturday that I showed up. But probably on a more applicable annoying level was the number people strolling along layout oblivious to the fact that people are throwing discs around. I had to skip both (13) and (14) as a couple of sunbathers decided to sprawl out in the middle of the paralleling fairways
- TIME PLAY - This par 54 took me a surprisingly long time to play solo, almost 90 minutes. Figure a group of four will run at least 2 1/2 hours or longer.
- TRASH - During my round the creek that runs along (11) and (12) looked absolutely horrible close up due to all the litter. It's sad to have what could be such a wonderful element, flip to an eyesore. Hole (6) tee appeared to be an homeless encampment and had trash everywhere as well.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - Due to the trash, the overall beauty of the course was a slight detractor to my rating of the course. The a few wooded holes and (18) were very appealing however.
Other Thoughts: I very much enjoyed this layout over the Parkside layout. The North layout has a few glaring flaws, but there are a lot of positives as well. I've played all of the Orlando area courses and I have the North course rated 5th behind Bill Frederick's T1 and T2, and both of the River City courses. Not a destination course like the before mentioned courses, but definitely a must play at least once if you live within an hour of the Orlando area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

The Better Of The Two?

1    7/9/2016   7/9/2016
Review By: thrembo
Played: 147  Reviewed: 101  Exp: 42.4 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The second of two courses at this park is more scenic but also more harder than its little brother. The wooded holes are gorgeous, with a wide variety of tree types, and with an almost arboretum-like feel to it. The course is long and very challenging, especially with the pins in the longest positions.

This course is more secluded than the other course here, with far less sidewalks/roads to deal with.

Nice risk/reward hole at 18.

The course has some minor elevation changes on it.

Friendly locals.

The splattered pine tree (and path around it) were very cool.
Cons: The tee signs are a bit of a mess. Sometimes helpful, sometimes not so much. Definitely, needs new tee signs.

The concrete tee pads are small and with some in bad shape. The course could also benefit from some new tees.

The navigation is a little tricky for first timers. There are a few next tee signs, but some of the more difficult transitions didn't have any signs at all.

Other Thoughts: Very pretty course, but also very hard IMO. The other course here is probably better for newer players, and probably has a higher fun factor for rec level players than this one.

We played it for the first time on a hot summer day after playing the other course here first, and this course whooped our asses. The grass was tall and the fire ants were frisky, but we still had a good time here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    5/5/2014   5/5/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 151  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.4 Years
This review was updated on 6/30/2015
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Free park with restrooms & pro shop by parking area. Tends to not be as busy as the parkside course. Long & short tees. Different than the parkside course with more wooded holes and ends with 12 - 18 on the manacured grass and some elevation on the hills. Signature hole 18 with island landing to finish.
Cons: signs are very old & navigation gets tricky in spots. The baseball field was added after the course and cramped things a bit by 6 & 11 if field is in use.
Other Thoughts: Fun mix of long open holes and long light woods with water to finish.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Superior Experience.

1    9/25/2013   9/27/2013
Review By: reposado
Played: 278  Reviewed: 276  Exp: 6.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Of the two courses at Barnett Park, this is clearly the superior experience.

It starts out very similarly, with a few holes in the park proper. It's on hole 3 where it starts to get interesting. That's where the course heads into the woods, with a number of narrow fairways, punishing rough, and risk/reward shots.

With the exception of 6, 3 through 11 are all very fun holes. My favorite was 8 where he basket is tucked into a nook of woods to the left of the fairway requiring good distance control to properly set up a chance at birdie. 11 is wide open, but the tee is nicely set up on a small bluff looking over a small creek.

Even 12 is almost a good hole. It runs along the aforementioned creek and you can run a nice forehand shot over the creek and fade it toward the basket. If only the football field was not directly to the right of the fairway.

While the end run of holes is less than stellar, the final hole is close to a great hole. It's an island green, that should give you the option of going for it off the tee or throwing along the lake and crossing a smaller stretch of water for a bogey. But the tree on the island has long, thick branches that hang out over the water and will knock down most shots approaching the green from the tee, right into the water.

It also stays a lot drier than Parkside. There was much more rain in the days preceding my round than in the days before I played Parkside, but the North course was dry with the exception of 15-17. And on 15, you can walk around, and hopefully shoot over the drenched area.

Additionally, while there are a few holes that abut the housing at the edge of the park, it is not a problem as it is on 17 Parkside, which may be the worst hole I've ever played.
Cons: There are a few factors that keep it from being the 3.5-level course that it should be. The most significant of these is navigation. Too many of the holes here, especially in the beginning and head section end with the player scratching their head, wondering where the next tee is. I downloaded a map and was still confused on a few occasions.

The worst offender is the 16 to 17 transition, which wasn't even represented accurately on the map. I walked around a tennis court and then past the 15 tee to find it eventually. It's a bit odd.

There's also a few long gaps between holes. The one where you have to walk between the fence and the woods for a longtime? That's not great, but could be improved by a next tee sign after the long walk. I wouldn't have minded a longer walk between 5 and 7 if it allowed for the removal of the terrible hole 6. Not only does that one run along a fence, the hole 7 tee is essentially halfway down the fairway.

Between the transitions and a few extraneous holes, there is room for improvement here.

The other issue is the tee signs, which are inconsistent. Some, while old, are descriptive and even indicate which location the tee is in. Others are worn out or fail to indicate water, such as the small pond right before the 16 basket.
Other Thoughts: It's got some some problems but there are some interesting, challenging holes here. Much more so than the Parkside course.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Island Greens are fun!

1    12/26/2009   12/27/2009
Review By: ARock
Played: 31  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 14.4 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Challenging course that did not have any gimme birdies. The short holes all had wrinkles to make them challenging. Had a few shots I haven't seen before including #1 that required a choice of going high over the treetops or weave through them. Low treetops throughout the course made approaches difficult. The 18th hole is a thing of beauty. 315' to the pin lying on an island green. Must be 290+ to carry the water and the green is not huge. I stood there and threw several just for the fun of it and to enjoy the scenery. Course was open and remote enough to allow dogs off leash on middle holes.
Cons: Park seemed a little rough around the edges. Not sure I'd be comfortable playing there alone or as night approaches. A few holes were under construction. Did have a few "chuck it and pray" holes (defined as holes where there are lots of trees and no clear path through them all).
Other Thoughts: I'd love to go back here and play it again. If nothing else, the 18th hole makes the course worth playing. Also, pretty close to I-95 so makes for a nice break on long road trips.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.