Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - Turkey Lake Share
Uploaded By: BennettUA Hole #6 (Taken 10/2010)
3 / 252ft.   3 / 252ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Basket underneath tree's canopy



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5
A Classic

1    4/15/2017   5/19/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 122  Reviewed: 96  Exp: 3.4 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (3.534 Rating) A true classic of a course.
- CHARACTER - Full of extras and disc golf comforting items. I'll start by noting the teeing experience. Two concrete tees at half of the holes and they are of adequate length. The tees also have good hole signage, are mostly shaded, and there are benches and bag hangers at many if not all the tees. A bunch of pre round goodies as well. There's a water bottle station, port-o-potty, course map and two practice baskets, which was only the second time I'd seen that. (First was Taylor Park in Largo FL.) Other niceties included multiple basket locations, shelters with tables and bridges and stairs at appropriate terrain changes. In addition, the design of these stairs and bridges definitely show craftsmanship.
- COURSE MAP - Be sure and request a map when you pay to enter. Although navigation didn't seem to be too tough without one, I'm still glad I had my map, as I referenced it 3 or 4 times. The course map on DGCR is not up to date.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - I happened to be playing Turkey Lake during a prolonged drought in the Orlando area, and even with that, (dying trees and sandy areas and dead grass) the inner beauty still showed through. A nice variety of older trees, (Pines, Oaks, Maples, Palms, Cypress, etc.) Great backdrop views of the lake on several holes. Also, subtle terrain changes on a few holes, which was a nice surprise for the Orlando area.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - Although not necessarily a beginners course or an advanced level course, the course somehow manages to provide a prefect middle ground. The odds of losing a disc is low, great for beginners. The fairways are just long enough for some advanced players and there's just enough obstacles to make a skilled player work for it. Pros will however, come away unchallenged.
- FORGIVENESS - The odds of losing a disc due to an errant shot is low with a few notable exceptions. Throwing long on (3) or throwing right on (5). There is also water in play on (13 and 14) but you'd really need to misfire bad to approach it. Other than the water danger, errant throws are usually not further punished, one of the few benefits of a lightly wooded course.
- TWO MORE COURSES ON SITE - Can you really go wrong with 54 holes at one location?
Cons: A solid course, the items below are mostly to show its weaknesses compared to other top Florida courses.
- UNIQUENESS - The hole variety is indeed above average. However when I compare it to other courses I've rated 3.5 or above, it would fall below average among those courses. There's a few slight changes in elevation, water kind of comes into play on one or two holes, a few holes have a pocket to them and there are a few windows to split. The diversity in shot shaping however is what's lacking the most. Most of the holes are lightly wooded and a couple are completely open. There's no huge sweeping dogleg hole. There's a couple of almost tunnel plays, but they lack the full defining features of such. There no par 5 and the one par 4 in very much on the short side.
- ELEVATION - No more than 20 feet of change on any one hole. If you're from south Florida this may seem hilly compared to other courses in the region, but just about every other part of the country would call the course flat. That said, the course does use the elevation well for what was available.
- NOT T2 - I played all three Bill Frederick courses the same day. It ever so slightly appeared that T2 was getting more maintenance attention. There were a few tees needing minor repair. Some of the stone and woodwork for bridges and stairs will shortly be in need of a complete overhaul. There were a few areas cordoned off for construction as well. Maintenance was still better than your average course and I get it why most of the money is flowing to the other courses.
- OPEN HOURS - The park closes at 7pm April thru October and closes at 5 pm the rest of the year. This makes after work rounds real tough to complete and there'd be no night golf.
- WIND - Of the three courses, this one will suffer the greatest impact from the wind. There are a bunch of unprotected and lightly wooded holes right off the lake. 30 mph gust during my visit.
Other Thoughts: The Original Turkey Lake course is a classic as advertised. The course however is beginning to show its age and has a bit of a dated feel to it. On its own merits, It's well worth the price of admission, but I probably wouldn't pay $2 often considering the other options in the area. However, when coupled with T2 and the Woods course, $2 is a bargain.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

good course, but.

1    4/16/2017   4/17/2017
Review By: Flicker55
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.3 Years
0 Helpful / 6 Not
Pros: 3 courses in one park, good facilities and parking
Cons: sugar sand not good for carts on about half of the course. People picnicing on fairways and not happy about being nicely asked to move. New part as you go into park needs alot of work with one hole not even found by 6 people looking.Mismarked holes on most so confusing and I do not think a disc golfer designed it, not a good layout on most of it. Best to skip this part.
Other Thoughts: when I travel to other areas to play new courses I usually realize how great the courses we have in Ocala area. Still love playing other courses.

0 of 6 people found this review helpful.

scenic old school course

1    2/24/2016   4/22/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 278  Reviewed: 217  Exp: 10.2 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2017
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -beautiful park overlooking Turkey Lake
-long and short tee pads
-tee signs and bag holders
-subtle rolling hills giving minor elevation changes on several holes
-scorecards w/ map
-practice basket
-pay to enter the park, no hoodrats
-locals and parks dept seem to get along and have the best for the courses in mind. a few people were out there managing changes and improvements being made to the courses when i started my round.
Cons: -needs a new map to reflect changes that have been made to some holes, finding hole 4 is tricky if you don't know the holes have changed, 6 & 7 aren't so bad since you can see them from the previous holes
-there are lots of similar shots: mostly wide open with one major tree to avoid in the fairway on the front 9 or wide corridors on the back 9. some of them are really fun but it's a lot of the same
-not a lot of memorable shots other than hole 5, which is actually pretty disappointing for "the water hole"
-very windy off the lake. i'm used to it living over in Texas but I'll bet a lot of vacationers taking a break from the magic kingdom are taken by surprise
Other Thoughts: The Turkey Lake course set in the pay-to-enter Bill Frederick Park is a fun track with an old school design. In the ground since 1986, it's an interesting piece of history and a great draw since there are also two other sets of 18 holes in the park, T-2 Turkeynator and The Woods.

The front 9 plays a bit more open with usually one to a few trees to avoid in the fairway. I really like hole 1 which requires an accurate controlled tee shot to get to the green. Hole 5 is the water hole but it is really not much of a hazard for the RHBH player unless you're trying to hard and torque one over to the right. The last two holes on the front 9 offer a tighter tunnel shot with a low ceiling, a nice change of pace.

The back 9 has more trees but the fairways are mostly very wide corridors with a line of trees on either side and no obstacles in the middle of the fairway. Hole 14 is an exception with a super tight window off the box and hole 13 has a picturesque backdrop of the lake on a slightly downhill drive.

The course has changed over time and seems to be going through some further changes as well. It will be nice when the work is done and new signs and a new map can be made. I'm sure Orlando sees a lot of traveling golfers so an accurate map and accurate tee signs for the current layout really make a difference for first time players from out of town.

Overall, it's a fun round with great views but not a lot of memorable holes. The true advantage is having this style of course directly alongside the newer T-2 course with its more modern design. $2 a day for two courses without the riffraff is a great deal, even if there are quite a few pedestrians about in some places.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Great views, great course, great start in FL

1    5/11/2015   7/2/2015
Review By: pmay5
Played: 95  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 14.1 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good concrete teepads on every hole, two per hole, baskets are in good shape, mostly isolated part of this large park. Bill Frederick Park is a large park right near the heart of Orlando on scenic Turkey Lake. Very clean course, you can tell the locals keep up with that aspect also.

There are many different activities at this park, and there is a walking path and camping near the course, but they only affect a couple of holes and can be mitigated pretty easily.

Great views of Turkey Lake, especially on the early morning I was the only one on the course, except for a few long legged cranes walking by as I putted. They stopped to see if I made the putt, I didn't.

The course is laid out on mostly open terrain, with the trees there to force you to shape your shots. Even though there is a lot of shoreline available, #5 is the only hole where you could splash a disc. But it is a hyzer drive for us righties, so it can be managed.

Another good hole is #13, downhill towards the lake, there is a straight line available, but you could fade left toward the lake. I threw a forhand to a more open path and it faded right back into the fairway. #10 was fun, short ace run over a sandy area, reminds you where you are. #18 was a surprise, tight tunnel shot through the trees, the only one on this course.
Cons: Biggest con I had was that opens at 8AM means opens at 8AM for this course. Large iron gates locked for the night, but they did open right at 8:00. I would have preferred a little earlier start.

The tees signs were a little dated, could use an update, but they are part of the history of this course. Not a huge problem, since you can see most of the baskets from the tee.
Other Thoughts: Speaking of history, I understand this was one of the first permanent courses in Florida. A nice start on my DG history cred. The attendant at the gates was helpful, $2 to play, but well worth it. They have discs to rent at the gate, I even left one I found on the course, I asked him to call the number, or add to the rentals.

Really glad I made this my one and only chance to play in Orlando.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Good Show

1    5/23/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
This review was updated on 7/12/2015
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: The layout and navigation flows splendidly, strategic trees around baskets add creativity for approaches, and the wind is a heck of a factor on several holes. I love hole 10 on a elevated tee to a slightly elevated basket heavily guarded by trees. It's a treat playing a course for the 1st time without having a tough time getting around on the course.
Cons: The park offers a lot for non disc players so naturally some folk aren't paying attention
Other Thoughts: Bathrooms are always a plus, let alone clean ones. So glad I went! Hey look 2 clowns with nothing better to do said this review wasn't helpful

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Thanks Bill!

1    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: nevets4433
Played: 58  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 5.4 Years
This review was updated on 5/25/2017
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautifully manicured course that takes a nice walk on the terrain next to a beautiful lake. Holes 3-5 along the water are amongst the most picturesque that I have played anywhere.

Most holes are fairly open with strategically placed obstacles that allow the golfer to really pick their own line and try to hit it. Good throws tend to yield birdie throws, but bad ones may find the frequently placed OB as definied by the many roadways and paved bike trails.

Great tee boxes for both the front and back tees, as well as wonderful signs that help navigation, clearly mark OB, and usually have signposts to hang your bag.

A few holes really stuck out to me. 9 is a really nice tunnel shot that finishes next to the parking lot, so if you only have time to make a 9 hole loop, that is available. 13 by the water is also really beautiful.

This is Florida's oldest standing course which is in and of itself pretty cool (as reported by the course, though this may be questionable).

Multiple practice baskets to warm up by the first hole. There is also a really nice kiosk which suggests proper tee boxes by estimated player rating.

Loads of other amenities in the park including multiple well-kept bathroom facilities are really nice.

It looked like there were some discs to buy or rent at the entrance to the park but I didn't stop for them.
Cons: Only a few here.

You have to pay to enter the park (but $2 is definitely worth it).

The holes by the lake really have a lot of bugs (nothing they can really do about that).

Hole 12 plays a bit close to the campground for comfort.

The trees and bushes on 18 tee could use a slight trimming to help clarify the line.
Other Thoughts: What a great park! And this course is only 1/2 of it. Make sure to check out T2 while you are here.

(there were 2 extra holes, 6A and 6B there when I played. I am told they were for an upcoming tournament. Im not sure they are absolutely necessary and the course flowed a bit better without them in my opinion)

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 good course

2-4    7/17/2014   1/17/2015
Review By: boursin
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: challenging, short holes and longish holes, Great scenery,good pads good baskets. some elevation (for Florida). Nice locals who helped me find a couple of holes.
Cons: alcohol police, do not drink on the course because if you get caught you will be asked to leave the park.
Other Thoughts: Nice course with a variety of looks. Next time I will play T2. the lake is beautiful and the grounds are very well maintained.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 First Time on this course, Novice

2-4    2/1/2015   12/7/2014
Review By: Sorg67
Played: 5  Reviewed: 3
This review was updated on 2/2/2015
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Very playable for novice player. There was enough foliage to require shot shaping, but shaping within the capability of a novice player. As a novice, I cannot speak for the appeal to a more advanced player.

Having played the other Turkey Lake course now, I will add that the original is completely different and provides an entirely different experience. I played them both today and enjoyed them both. They will help you develop your game in different ways.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: May be my new favorite course. Will definitely play here again.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    5/6/2014   5/6/2014
Review By: edwardnaylon
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Amazing scenery on this course and lots of bird chances for higher skill levels. 2 tee boxes per hole.
Good signs, easy to navigate. Great for all skill levels. Well manicured at all times of the year.
Cons: If they moved the holes every now and then, that would make this course a fw rating points higher. But thats about it
Other Thoughts: I love this course and never get tired of playing it

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Turkey lake

5+    1/3/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 146  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.1 Years
This review was updated on 5/6/2014
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: More hills than most Florida courses. Not as busy as the free Gordon Barnett park due to the small enterance fee. Restrooms for the ladies by parking area & others along the course route. Long & short cement tees. baskets always in good shape.
Cons: I dare you to find some. Sometimes other park users in your way but that's not the courses fault.
Other Thoughts: If playing Orlando on the weekend you can avoid the crouds at the free Gordon Barnett park which is always busy.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.