Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - Turkey Lake Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #8 (Taken 10/2015)
3 / 247ft.   3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 49
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Classic must play for FL players.

1    7/13/2017   7/13/2017
Review By: prerube
Played: 250  Reviewed: 222  Exp: 10.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A decent part of the set of 3 on site, a small slice of DG history.

Awesome water bottle filler at tee 1 and 10.

Bath rooms, disc sales in the headquarters. vending machine at the front. Camping in tents or cabins on site.

Some holes play near water to add some scenery and excitement.

2 signature holes. Hole 10 and 18 were the most memorable holes I have played in a long time. both through over valleys and required you to hit the correct line and and hit the window.
Cons: More signs needed in park to guide you to the back. I wadered around T2 and Woods for 40 minutes looking for any sign of the course.

Hole #2 and #14 are insanely unsafe with modern discs. I was uncomfortable throwing, but would be petrified watching new players. I had a long second shot that would have hyzered into the parking lot if it were not for a single branch on #2, and a griplock on hole 14 can be lethal. The long pad on 14 is not a good addition. just 20 feet longet with 2 trees touching the pad.

Elevated hole #4. Elevated baskets can be an awesome addition, but it was not done right. it was elevated just to put a few more branches near the basket. Hole #7's elevation was done better.

You have to walk back the length of hole 14 to get to 15.

A few holes played close to tents and campers, but the tents may have been outside their aloted area, so I cant fault the course without more info.
Other Thoughts: Maps available, but they were no help.

$4 per car covers all 3 courses and is worth every penny. ($2 solo player)

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

good course, but.

1    4/16/2017   4/17/2017
Review By: Flicker55
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 3.6 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: 3 courses in one park, good facilities and parking
Cons: sugar sand not good for carts on about half of the course. People picnicing on fairways and not happy about being nicely asked to move. New part as you go into park needs alot of work with one hole not even found by 6 people looking.Mismarked holes on most so confusing and I do not think a disc golfer designed it, not a good layout on most of it. Best to skip this part.
Other Thoughts: when I travel to other areas to play new courses I usually realize how great the courses we have in Ocala area. Still love playing other courses.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

scenic old school course

1    2/24/2016   4/22/2016
Review By: dreadlock86
Played: 300  Reviewed: 237  Exp: 10.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/22/2017
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -beautiful park overlooking Turkey Lake
-long and short tee pads
-tee signs and bag holders
-subtle rolling hills giving minor elevation changes on several holes
-scorecards w/ map
-practice basket
-pay to enter the park, no hoodrats
-locals and parks dept seem to get along and have the best for the courses in mind. a few people were out there managing changes and improvements being made to the courses when i started my round.
Cons: -needs a new map to reflect changes that have been made to some holes, finding hole 4 is tricky if you don't know the holes have changed, 6 & 7 aren't so bad since you can see them from the previous holes
-there are lots of similar shots: mostly wide open with one major tree to avoid in the fairway on the front 9 or wide corridors on the back 9. some of them are really fun but it's a lot of the same
-not a lot of memorable shots other than hole 5, which is actually pretty disappointing for "the water hole"
-very windy off the lake. i'm used to it living over in Texas but I'll bet a lot of vacationers taking a break from the magic kingdom are taken by surprise
Other Thoughts: The Turkey Lake course set in the pay-to-enter Bill Frederick Park is a fun track with an old school design. In the ground since 1986, it's an interesting piece of history and a great draw since there are also two other sets of 18 holes in the park, T-2 Turkeynator and The Woods.

The front 9 plays a bit more open with usually one to a few trees to avoid in the fairway. I really like hole 1 which requires an accurate controlled tee shot to get to the green. Hole 5 is the water hole but it is really not much of a hazard for the RHBH player unless you're trying to hard and torque one over to the right. The last two holes on the front 9 offer a tighter tunnel shot with a low ceiling, a nice change of pace.

The back 9 has more trees but the fairways are mostly very wide corridors with a line of trees on either side and no obstacles in the middle of the fairway. Hole 14 is an exception with a super tight window off the box and hole 13 has a picturesque backdrop of the lake on a slightly downhill drive.

The course has changed over time and seems to be going through some further changes as well. It will be nice when the work is done and new signs and a new map can be made. I'm sure Orlando sees a lot of traveling golfers so an accurate map and accurate tee signs for the current layout really make a difference for first time players from out of town.

Overall, it's a fun round with great views but not a lot of memorable holes. The true advantage is having this style of course directly alongside the newer T-2 course with its more modern design. $2 a day for two courses without the riffraff is a great deal, even if there are quite a few pedestrians about in some places.


**Like this review? Hate it? Message me and let me know why! I want to make them better!**

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Florida-nice place to visit...

2-4    2/17/2010   2/25/2010
Review By: Rupert M
Played: 78  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 19.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent to good tee-pads on most holes. Mostly cement with some carpeted pads. Decent hole-layout signs with distances and target location. Tee markers and next-tee signs are a plus. Baskets stand out and are very desirable with hole # in orange. Some tees have bag hangers. Alternate tees on some holes. Mostly open fairways with few trees strewn about. Holes range in distance nicely with some ace runs and some bombers. Not much of a chance for lost discs, as there is very little undergrowth. Very nice scenery with the lake coming into play/view on a half dozen holes. Lots of natural scenery with good use of the available elevation. They sell discs at the gatehouse at reasonable prices. Get your maps/scorecards there and tell them you are golfing. It helps with the quality control.
Cons: $2 per person or $4 per car is not a con to me but may be to some. The natural setting is off-set by the freeway being twenty feet from some fairways. The noise from the cars roaring by is quite meddlesome, combined with the constant wind makes it aesthetically un-appealing on some holes. Not many trash cans or benches. Its a multi-use park, so some holes throw over walking paths. Be aware of your surroundings. The hole-layout signs are a bit outdated. They don't always represent the current tee-to-basket situation. Common sense and a map are recommended to find a couple of next-tees. The extra holes were non-existent or just plain hard to find.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed playing at Turkey Lake. Hell, in the middle of winter I probably would enjoy playing anywhere but this place is pretty nice. It will give the experienced players a chance to score under par and the newer player will enjoy the scenery and wide-open fairways. Its well maintained and very popular with the local disc-golf community. When in/around Orlando it makes for a worthwhile stop. Combined with the T2, this place has more than enough to entertain ones golfing needs. Check out High Tide Harry's in Orlando for some great seafood and adult beverages at very reasonable prices.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Place to be in O-Town

1    2/8/2004   5/8/2008
Review By: denny ritner
Played: 167  Reviewed: 113  Exp: 19.5 Years
This review was updated on 5/4/2011
4 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Beautiful park with camping. No safety concerns, unlike Barnett Park.

T1 is a very beautiful course. Very easy to navigate. High fun factor. It provides a decent blue-level challenge, particularly when the wind kicks up.

The schule factor is very low and the only real place to lose a disc is in the water.

The holes near the water are particularly attractive visually.

Home of the Orlando Open, the best annual tournament in central Florida. The new club is strong and runs a good handicap on Saturdays.
Cons: The course requires power, but not much technical skill and shot-shaping. There are only a couple holes that require much strategic thinking.
Other Thoughts: Don't be a dirty discer. Leave the course cleaner than you found it!

4 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Another Great Lakeside Course in Central Florida

5+    3/7/2010   9/11/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 78  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 16.4 Years
This review was updated on 4/12/2010
16 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Varied challenges, views of lake.
Other Thoughts: Turkey Lake Park is set right on one of the largest lakes (among many) in the Orlando area and features cabins, camping, a variety of sports fields, boating, stables, and two distinct and challenging disc golf courses. Both courses are very well maintained and well laid out, and feature a good mix of woods and open holes, and have at least a couple of holes within view of the lake. The original course, known locally as the "old" course I believe, is a varied and pretty par 56 or so course that's more open than not and not too long. The newer course, known as "T2," is par 60-62 I'd say, tighter overall, and features a few truly long holes. Either course alone would be well worth visiting, but put together they create probably one of the best disc golf attractions in all of Florida.

Old Course - The old course is well maintained, and features at least one concrete tee pad per hole, plus good signs. Set toward the back of the park, the lake is in view for many holes, but never really in play, although on a few holes the lake could take a shot that gets away from you. There's a bit of elevation change (just a bit, mind you) so you do get some slight downhill shots along with a nice mixture of right and left breaking shots and open fairways combined with more alleys and somewhat challenging pin placements. #18 is a long par 4 or 5, but otherwise no hole is much more than 300 feet or so. And while the course overall is more open than not, there is some danger with thick rough outside the playing area and no shortage of trees and other foliage. Like most Florida courses, the landscape is lush and beautiful, and features a fine variety of hole layouts.

Both courses are easy to follow even if you don't have a map. The old course has next tee signs where needed, and the T2 course goes further than any other course I've been to to make sure you don't get lost, with multiple next tee signs at most every hole. This is a true blessing, because without these signs T2 would be very difficult to follow; in addition to the length of the course, the distance from basket to next tee adds up to a good bit of walking on T2. Overall, I've played longer courses, and I've played prettier courses, but T2 in particular is longer than most, prettier than most, and has better teepads and signs than any course I've played. You should definitely work this park and both of its courses into your Florida itinerary if you get the chance.

Favorite Hole (Old Course) - #4 - downhill shot among a few orange trees with best view of Turkey Lake.

16 of 16 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.