St. Petersburg, FL 
Tocobaga DGC Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #14 (Taken 2/2017)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 392ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 55
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6
Solid course

5+    11/19/2020   11/20/2020
Review By: jtradz
Played: 8  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 9.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good varied hole styles - from dense woods to wide open.

Varied distances, even though all are Par 3

Beautiful park & scenery, plenty of shade.

Long, level concrete tees.

Easy to find and access course, map posted at hole 1.
Cons: Long walks between holes with little signage. Take a picture of the course map up front!

Underbrush isn't consistently cleaned up - easy for discs to slide under downed palmetto branches. Beware Hole #7...

Susceptible to some marshiness - after heavy rains, #11 and #18 will take a while to drain. If there's enough rain it will affect some other holes as well.
Other Thoughts: My most frequently played course, as I live minutes away. Very solid, but would not consider it a "destination" course, as there are better options in the Tampa Bay area. Throughout the course, beware of thick scrubby underbrush - easy for discs to slide out of sight.

Signature hole - #3, short but technical, with one basket location being the top of a stump, several feet off the ground. Punishes aggressive play.

Hole #7 is VERY overgrown, DO NOT miss to the left. It will eat your disc.

I'd recommend all levels play with a spotter on #7, #13, and #15. Beginners (or those who hate searching for discs) should also have a spotter on #5, #12, and #18, and perhaps more.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Classic Florida course

5+    11/15/2020   11/15/2020
Review By: JohnPSI
Played: 85  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 23.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a classic old school FL course. Sandwiched between I-275 and the water in St Petersburg, it offers convenience and amazing views of the bay, often with boats passing by. The course itself is more technical than bomber, set in mostly tightly wooded areas. It offers concrete blue and red tees and is not biased towards RHBH despite being an old design. Bathrooms, info kiosk, practice basket, a kids play area, pavilions and grills are all located by hole 1, which is also where you park. Signature hole is 3, located along the road to parking with an elevated basket on an old tree stump in the long position. I love to attack the short pin with a Firebird hyzer skip forehand off the road and disc up to an Invictus for the long. The course is mostly friendly to carts.
Cons: Course is starting to show it's age. Many tee's are cracked, many signs are faded, and the baskets are nearing the end of their lifespan. Hole 11's basket has been obviously attacked by some angry gorilla and bent out of shape. The redesign took away a very gorgeous finishing hole 18 to protect sacred tribal areas. Almost nothing nearby in so far as commerce, so make sure you show up with all the food and beverages you need. Thieving palms and scrub palms will hide your disc on many holes, so keep sharp eyes on your shots. Mostly a short course, don't need much more than a fairway driver for most of the course. 14 can be obstructed by overflow parking from the boat ramp. 18 is kind of a mess; use a spotter if possible, avoid the water at all costs and be aware of ants on the green
Other Thoughts: There's ongoing rumors of another redesign affecting holes 11, 12. Hopefully the baskets get replaced, I get at least one cut through or spit out a round. Aced #15 from the blue tee today with a DD Evidence :)

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Decent Course

1    9/12/2020   9/12/2020
Review By: athuff
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: -Great view of the bay
-Good restroom facilities
Cons: -Some holes were underwater and unplayable.
-Many hole signs are illegible and no direction to each hole making it easy to get lost.
-VERY THINK groups of palmetto bushes all around some holes, very easy for beginner players to lose discs.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Finally went back!

5+    9/10/2020   11/17/2019
Review By: nitron2097
Played: 13  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/10/2020
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - You literally come off I-275, turn left or right, and you're in the park, and the course is easy to find once you're there thanks to signs indicating where to park.
- Very Florida course; lots of scrub palms, shots near the bay, and not a lot of water hazards on course.
- Picnic tables scattered throughout the course.
- New sings are pretty accurate and there are benches and bag racks on almost every hole.
- Plenty of parking at the start of the course.
- Park bathrooms are at the parking lot at the start of the course.
- Start of the course is located by other park playgrounds.
- Very accurate course map located by the tee for #1; take a picture of this map to help with navigation.
- Though a lot of the lines are tight, none of them feel impossible to hit.
- You do need a variety of shots on this course; there are a few good RHFH lines and even some overhand opportunities, especially on the first 3 holes.
- The course has been cleared quite a bit; I played here about four years ago and I remember the rough being much worse. They've done some work.
- The short tees are very beginner friendly and make some of the holes much easier for an inexperienced player.
- Lots of trees on course but I never really felt afraid of getting discs treed; the palms are mostly the taller variety and the oaks aren't overgrown.
Cons: - Navigation is the biggest issue; the course was re-designed to keep historical areas segregated from foot traffic so the original layout had to be changed, and in several areas you not only have to cross the park roads but also backtrack or walk along other fairways; none feel particularly dangerous, but you do need to be aware.
- A walking path winds its way through the park and crosses a few holes and passes near several others.
- We did encounter a few people wandering around the park off said walking path across fairways, so just be aware of this possibility.
- If you're playing alone you might lose a disc or two in the underbrush; there are a lot of scrub palms and saw palmetto all over the course, and some of them are dense.
The course really only has a few wide open holes where you can let a drive loose; most of the shots are under 300 and are through tight gaps or over rough for the entire flight.
- Not a ton of canopy for cover, so if its sunny you might need sunscreen or an umbrella.
- We played two months into the dry season and some areas by the mangroves were still a touch mucky, so in the summer some holes can be downright swampy.
- Bugs on a course like this will be horrific in the summer; if you play then bring bug spray.
- No bathrooms or fountains out on the course and the course doesn't return to the lot until the end so be prepared.
- Not much food in the immediate area of the course.
- Some of the greens are very small and you could throw what you think is a great drive or upshot and end up with a short but obstructed putt.

Just an observation more than a con - I really don't like #18. The hole is a short poke and hope shot with two blind basket locations across a murky pond filled with absolutely rank, sludgy water. This is the hole that replaced the original #18 that ran along the beach and finished on a point by the bay, and....yeah, no. The course really has no signature hole anymore and wish that this could be fixed.
Other Thoughts: Nothing really makes this course stand out all that much. It definitely feels to me like a "local course" rather than a "go out of your way to play" type course. It is one of the older courses in Tampa Bay but other courses - especially Picnic Island - now outshine this one.
Have extra discs when you come here and try to play with friends; spot each other's throws. It is easy to lose a shot in all this scrub palm.
But I definitely have a better game than when I played here before.

Some specialty shots I threw:
Thumbers on 1, 2, and 3; #1 is shaped perfectly for a RHTh, and for #2 and #3 it was just my most accurate shot.
Sidearm roller on #5; I just felt like this would get the most distance and it did.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

Solid Exotic Course

1    10/15/2019   11/4/2019
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 714  Reviewed: 338  Exp: 27.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Tocobaga Disc Golf Course sits in Maximo Park right off of I-275 in St Pete . This 18 hole course has apparently undergone many improvements in its 18 year existence . There is a nice Kiosk at the entrance to the course with a nice map on it . Make sure you take a picture of this or copy a map on DGR or you will wander around a bit . There are nice blue Mach 2 baskets on the course , along with a blue striped am cement tee and a red striped cement pro tee . There are also multiple pin positions per hole . The signage is first rate , with colorful pictures describing the hole . Bathrooms are near hole 1 , Basket hanging poles and benches are throughout the course , along with trash cans . The park was clean and mowed when I was there . The course will remind you that you are playing in Florida on every hole , with your typical rough that looks like the top of a pineapple , but on steroids . Many palm trees also grace the course . This course plays mostly tight and technical , flush with low ceiling shots , tunnel tosses and throws to baskets that sit in high rough with almost no green . I think I played victim to this on hole 2 , and I think hole 7 . The course is a thinking players game and requires a variety of different shots . Water really only comes into play on maybe hole 13 , behind and alongside the right of the fairway .The course is flat , somewhat shaded and not overly long , so your body won't take such a beating on it . The course must be a crowd pleaser with the locals as there were a good number of groups here on a late Tuesday afternoon when I was playing . Navigation is tricky in spots , especially in the first 6 or 7 holes . The locals seemed nice and pointed the problem areas to me . There are some next tee signs that help somewhat . It took me over an hour to play the course solo . Try not to play this course solo , or you WILL look for your disc on occasion .A fun play , as long as you don't leave with less discs than you came with . A great finishing hole , #18 , a drive coming out of the brush and trees through a narrow passageway to the basket , looking like it is almost impossible to get through for a putt . Signature hole , Maybe #11 , 436' that you have to drift your drive right , hoping you don't hit the fairway trees in front ..
Cons: #1 . Disc Risk . medium to high . There are plenty of opportunities to lose your disc in the rough here . Playing without a group exposes you to looking for discs thrown to blind shot baskets , especially in the first several holes . Make sure you follow the flight path after letting go of your drive if and when you can . #2 Navigation . The navigation here can be tough . Transitions like 2-3 and 4-5 and looking for 6's tee pad . Also , trying to find the pin positions of some of the blind holes was a problem . The course plays pretty flat .
Other Thoughts: A beautiful park with a solid course , I left impressed with the overall experience . The easiest 18 hole course to get to from an interstate , I came off the exit ramp and was opening up my car trunk to get my bag within a couple of minutes . Deceptively challenging , the course displays a certain fun factor to it , too . Once you start to walk this course , you will know you are in Florida. Palm trees , water , boats nearby , flat .can be windy . All there to remind you why you came . My recommendation : Not a good newbie or 2 disc local , unless either want to go hole with half their allotment of discs gone . Very good for local enthusiasts , intermediates , pros , and especially travelers looking to couple this course up with the many that are close by . Link up with one of the many players here and Just PLAY IT !!!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    6/16/2018   6/17/2018
Review By: swed
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Very technical, have to hit your line to score well. Tropical plants and plenty of Palm trees. Plenty of shaded areas to get out of the sun, 94 degrees when I played.
Cons: Flat
Other Thoughts: I played a handicapped league at 10 a.m. on a Saturday. Locals were very nice and accomadating.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Exotic Flora At A Well Designed Course,

1    1/15/2018   1/15/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.5 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm most impressed with Tocobaga DGC. The lovely, lush park sits just off I-275. It's filled with all these lush tropical plants which is awesome for the most part. The park is just a visual treat with beautiful vegetation and it's scenic views from it's beaches to the vistas over the bay waters.

The recent upgrades (2016) are first class all the way. Start with the park signs leading you to the course's start. A excellent kiosk complete with course map, is helpful. The tee signs are top notch showing all the information you'll be needing plus great tidbits on the Tocobaga Indian Tribe who once roamed this area. The signs show both the blue and red distances plus the long and short are those holes. They also show the next tees. There are next tee signs throughout although my playing partner and I must have missed the next tee sign at # 2, as we struggled to find the third tee. I loved the blue and red lines on the tee pads indicating which pad you're throwing from. I also liked that there were some holes with only one pad. The shorter red tees were sometimes 100' shorter. I brought my son-in-law who has only played a few times and the shorter reds were a nice fit for his game. There are benches on most every hole and plenty of garbage cans.

The course is very technical in places, more open on others holes and features a nice variety of distances and left-right-straight shots. There are a couple of holes where the thick palm bushes may make finding your discs an adventure. Playing with a novice this morning, we never spent more than a minute looking for our discs and managed not to lose any.
Cons: The thick palm bushes could easily suck in your disc never to be seen again.

We had a difficult time finding the # 3 tee but after talking about it, I'm willing to bet we missed the next tee sign which might have been obscured by the palms.

I agree with a previous reviewer that this is probably not a course you'd want to play solo.

Two holes played down streets or paths. There is a walking path which meanders throughout the course but it wasn't' a problem.

We did have to walk up quite a few holes trying to locate the basket positions.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course, great for most players. Hole # 12 could be exciting with the river so close behind the basket. From the red tees which we played today, I'd call this an easy recreational course. From the blues, I think it would probably be an difficult rec course. Either way, I really enjoyed my round here. It's so tropical with all the palms and exotic plants. It shouts "Florida" to me.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 First time playing disc golf in FL

1    9/21/2017   9/21/2017
Review By: Pockets
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice signs
- Multiple tee pads / baskets
- In the shade about 50% of the time
- No bugs when I was there
Cons: - Very flat
- I'm probably just not used to it (I'm from the northeast), but some of the plants in play on a few holes seem like you will never get your disc back, playing solo for the first time I just had to skip a few holes
- Old rusty baskets
Other Thoughts: If this is what it's like to play disc golf in FL, anyone that likes this would love playing in New England, it's almost a different game. I craved being able to throw down or up a hill and also not have to worry so much about palm trees.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 New pads, new signs, great course

5+    12/26/2016   12/28/2016
Review By: fasteddy8170
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: --New short and long cement pads as of 12/18/2016.
--New beautiful tee signs with correct lengths, holes numbers, and directions to next tee as of 12/24/2016.
--equal number of lefty and righty holes. Doesn't favor one side over the other.
--Scenic location.
--Usually not crowded.
--Nice facilities--bathrooms and water spigots in picnic area.
--nice mixture of long and short holes.
--easy to get to--right off the I-275. Course can seen from the highway.
Cons: --the only negative is that the course can eat discs due to the brush. It's best to play the course in a group so you can have spotters for holes such as 2, 7, 13, and 17. And frankly, if you lose a disc there, you hardly ever get it back--not sure who finds them and keeps them.
Other Thoughts: I love the course because it's going to test everything in your game from distance to control, hyzers and anhyzers. If you get on a run, the average player has a great chance to shoot under par. But if you're off, this course will put you into the 60's real fast.

My only hole in one is on this course: #9 with a Champion Leopard.

Favorite holes (I'm a lefty): 7, 8, and 9.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Accurately Beautiful

5+    9/26/2017   8/11/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 471  Reviewed: 447  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2017
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: (3.089 Rating) (REVISED - replayed September 2017) A beautiful course that will test your accuracy.
- CHARACTER - Major upgrades were made to Tocobaga in Dec 2016. Brand new and absolutely beautify signs designed by Jason Zahara. They have a pirate theme to them, which is fitting for the Tampa Bay Area with all its pirate festivals. See the designs for yourself under the media tab. In addition, it seems like more seating was added and it's on almost every hole now. In addition, you'll also find 7 extra hole sleeves, numerous bag holders, numerous tables, shelters, restrooms, a drinking fountain and a practice basket. After finishing (18), walk 200 west toward the water. There are three shelters with scores of picnic tables and beautiful views. A great way to end a round.
- TEES - Brand new concrete tees as of Dec 2016. They are adequately long and wide. 15 of the holes have two tee pads and nearly all of them are shaded.
- CHALLENGING - Not the most challenging course in the Tampa Bay region, but if you can't throw very straight, you will be severely handicapped. The holes are fairly short from the back tees at around 5,100 feet. The front tees will subtract both a good amount distance and difficulty. Advanced players should break par from the backs on a routine basis while intermediate players should break par on occasion.
- UNIQUENESS - The overall uniqueness is about average or a bit above your average 18 hole course. to start, the holes finish in a near even mix of all three ways, straight, left and right. There is a very challenging dog-leg par 3 on hole (14). Hole (2) is an over top play. There are numerous tight tunnel fairways, a few blind shots and a few mandos. The biggest missing item at Tocobaga is elevation, with no hole varying tee to basket by more than 5 feet. Also missing is a par 4, par 5, and a true open hole. Only one or two good opportunities to let one rip as well. Note, there is water on a few holes (12), (13) and (18) but it really doesn't come into play on the first two. As for (18), if it hasn't rained in a while, the hole can be dry. However, if it has rained a lot, (18) can flood quite a bit.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - The overall course beauty is well above average. There are a couple holes that are less than to be desirable with roads in play on holes (3), (6) and (14), but the course more than makes up for it on a bunch of other holes. My personal favs for beauty are holes (11), (12) and (18). I've posted new pictures for the course, check them out under the media tab.
- CHILL AREAS - Lots of secluded areas along the layout and a bunch of picnic tables as well.
- LOCATION - Super easy to get to from I275. Literally like two minutes from exit 16 to the course.
- QUICKER PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 18 in under 75 minutes. Groups of four would probably finish in under two and a half hours.
Cons: I have a couple of concerns with Tocobaga, and the rest are just ticky-tack things.
- FORGIVENESS - This course will test the placement of your shots. Being off your mark by a few feet sometimes isn't good enough. In addition, if/when you a hit tree, the resulting punishment is sometimes more than one throw. I've had to make pitchouts several times in a direction farther away from the basket. Also note, this course is littered with palms. They will steal your disc if you land on top.
- OVERGROWTH - Tocobaga has arguably the most dense vegetation in all of Tampa Bay. Couple that with tight fairways and grounds full of palmetto bushes, you can assume that you'll be looking for your disc at some point. Holes (2) and (7) are especially bad and I advise using spotters on those holes at a minimum.
- NAVIGATION - It will be tricky in a bunch of spots so I don't advise playing your first time here as a single. I made a map of the course and posted it under the links/files tab . The course does generally do a good job with next tee arrows after you finish a hole, but there are gaps in directions, and a bunch of hole transitions are well over 200 feet.
- SPACING - There are a couple of minor spacing issues. The walk to tee (5) crosses the middle of (18) fairway. On hole (6), the back tee is located about twenty feet past basket (5). Tee (8) and (9) is a double back condition where if you park your drive on (8), you can carry your bag 40 feet to drop at tee (9).
- TIME WAITING - This Park gets heavy use and has a bunch of walking paths and roads that will affect your play. Rarely will one play a round here and not have to stop and wait at some point.
- CHAINS - The baskets were brand spanking new in December 2016 and they are already rusting. Also not my favorite style of basket as the chains on these Mach New 2's are a bit light.
- DRAINAGE - 85% percent of the course drains really good. However during the rainy season (Summer and early Fall) the course will flood in spots. Hole (11) and (18) will be the first to have standing water but i've also seen standing water on (8 and 9) as well.
Other Thoughts: A wonderful update during December 2016. My metrics rating of the course shot up quite a bit due to the revision at that time. Tocobaga is not for everyone's tastes. If you like wide open courses I'd suggest checking out Azalea, which is a shorty course in St Pete, or 22nd Street, a long course in Tampa. I also don't recommend bringing beginners here. Way too many trees for arms not adjusted to a precise release point. As for recreational thru advanced players who like technical courses. Those players should very much enjoy this one.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.