St. Petersburg, FL 
Tocobaga DGC Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #10 (Taken 2/2017)
3 / 250ft.   3 / 314ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Tee


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 48
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Accurately Beautiful

5+    9/26/2017   8/11/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 172  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 3.7 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2017
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: (3.089 Rating) (REVISED - replayed September 2017) A beautiful course that will test your accuracy.
- CHARACTER - Major upgrades were made to Tocobaga in Dec 2016. Brand new and absolutely beautify signs designed by Jason Zahara. They have a pirate theme to them, which is fitting for the Tampa Bay Area with all its pirate festivals. See the designs for yourself under the media tab. In addition, it seems like more seating was added and it's on almost every hole now. In addition, you'll also find 7 extra hole sleeves, numerous bag holders, numerous tables, shelters, restrooms, a drinking fountain and a practice basket. After finishing (18), walk 200 west toward the water. There are three shelters with scores of picnic tables and beautiful views. A great way to end a round.
- TEES - Brand new concrete tees as of Dec 2016. They are adequately long and wide. 15 of the holes have two tee pads and nearly all of them are shaded.
- CHALLENGING - Not the most challenging course in the Tampa Bay region, but if you can't throw very straight, you will be severely handicapped. The holes are fairly short from the back tees at around 5,100 feet. The front tees will subtract both a good amount distance and difficulty. Advanced players should break par from the backs on a routine basis while intermediate players should break par on occasion.
- UNIQUENESS - The overall uniqueness is about average or a bit above your average 18 hole course. to start, the holes finish in a near even mix of all three ways, straight, left and right. There is a very challenging dog-leg par 3 on hole (14). Hole (2) is an over top play. There are numerous tight tunnel fairways, a few blind shots and a few mandos. The biggest missing item at Tocobaga is elevation, with no hole varying tee to basket by more than 5 feet. Also missing is a par 4, par 5, and a true open hole. Only one or two good opportunities to let one rip as well. Note, there is water on a few holes (12), (13) and (18) but it really doesn't come into play on the first two. As for (18), if it hasn't rained in a while, the hole can be dry. However, if it has rained a lot, (18) can flood quite a bit.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - The overall course beauty is well above average. There are a couple holes that are less than to be desirable with roads in play on holes (3), (6) and (14), but the course more than makes up for it on a bunch of other holes. My personal favs for beauty are holes (11), (12) and (18). I've posted new pictures for the course, check them out under the media tab.
- CHILL AREAS - Lots of secluded areas along the layout and a bunch of picnic tables as well.
- LOCATION - Super easy to get to from I275. Literally like two minutes from exit 16 to the course.
- QUICKER PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 18 in under 75 minutes. Groups of four would probably finish in under two and a half hours.
Cons: I have a couple of concerns with Tocobaga, and the rest are just ticky-tack things.
- FORGIVENESS - This course will test the placement of your shots. Being off your mark by a few feet sometimes isn't good enough. In addition, if/when you a hit tree, the resulting punishment is sometimes more than one throw. I've had to make pitchouts several times in a direction farther away from the basket. Also note, this course is littered with palms. They will steal your disc if you land on top.
- OVERGROWTH - Tocobaga has arguably the most dense vegetation in all of Tampa Bay. Couple that with tight fairways and grounds full of palmetto bushes, you can assume that you'll be looking for your disc at some point. Holes (2) and (7) are especially bad and I advise using spotters on those holes at a minimum.
- NAVIGATION - It will be tricky in a bunch of spots so I don't advise playing your first time here as a single. I made a map of the course and posted it under the links/files tab . The course does generally do a good job with next tee arrows after you finish a hole, but there are gaps in directions, and a bunch of hole transitions are well over 200 feet.
- SPACING - There are a couple of minor spacing issues. The walk to tee (5) crosses the middle of (18) fairway. On hole (6), the back tee is located about twenty feet past basket (5). Tee (8) and (9) is a double back condition where if you park your drive on (8), you can carry your bag 40 feet to drop at tee (9).
- TIME WAITING - This Park gets heavy use and has a bunch of walking paths and roads that will affect your play. Rarely will one play a round here and not have to stop and wait at some point.
- CHAINS - The baskets were brand spanking new in December 2016 and they are already rusting. Also not my favorite style of basket as the chains on these Mach New 2's are a bit light.
- DRAINAGE - 85% percent of the course drains really good. However during the rainy season (Summer and early Fall) the course will flood in spots. Hole (11) and (18) will be the first to have standing water but i've also seen standing water on (8 and 9) as well.
Other Thoughts: A wonderful update during December 2016. My metrics rating of the course shot up quite a bit due to the revision at that time. Tocobaga is not for everyone's tastes. If you like wide open courses I'd suggest checking out Azalea, which is a shorty course in St Pete, or 22nd Street, a long course in Tampa. I also don't recommend bringing beginners here. Way too many trees for arms not adjusted to a precise release point. As for recreational thru advanced players who like technical courses. Those players should very much enjoy this one.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Maximo to the max

1    11/20/2015   11/20/2015
Review By: Shermanator
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 2.2 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Had a bunch of fun playing this course. This is a course that will make you use your whole bag!
Cons:
-Course is not beginner friendly!

- Hard to navigate, i would try to link up with a local or a friend who has played a few time's.

- I loved almost every hole, but there were many spots that were worn, aged, and overgrown.

- Course could use a makeover

-You need a spotter on half of the holes if you don't want to lose your prized discs!

Other Thoughts: At the end of the day if you already are familiar with the sport that we all love! Then this is a course you should check out. But in my opinion this course is not worth a road trip.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Course Getting Betterish

5+    6/17/2016   10/9/2015
Review By: thrembo
Played: 145  Reviewed: 99  Exp: 42.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2016
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a course that is prized by its locals, and despised by one time visitors. I have never seen a course that is this polarizing before. I have held off on reviewing it myself because its a tough course to judge. It has your typical Florida style plants, and a woodsy jungle vibe to it, but some holes share areas with other park areas, like roads and such.

It can be fun, provided that you neutralize the cons.
Cons: OK, the big problems here, are the wonky navigation, the poor signage, and the possible misnumbered baskets, making this course brutal on 1st timers. GET A GUIDE, or try and hook up with a local for your first time through. They should also know which holes that you will need to spot on.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly scenic, and with care, a fun round can be had here! This wouldn't be my first choice though, if visiting in the greater Tampa area. Taylor, Youth, or Cliff/Coachman might be better options, if in the St Pete/Clearwater side of the bay.

*UPDATE 6/18/2016: Next tee signs helping with navigation, but still a few issues after another of the seemingly endless course modifications (I heard that they had to change the course recently because of some Indian mounds). Hole 5 is over the bridge by 18's tee. The map on this site is wrong. The tee signs seem to have the right hole #'s on them, but layout and distances may be wrong. The tee signs are mostly faded and worn out anyway and could use replacement. Hole 11 sign missing? Hole 9 tee is worn out. Baskets all seem to be properly #'d now.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Florida feel!

1    12/3/2013   12/3/2013
Review By: Lucero 1
Played: 16  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.7 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Beautiful course, just a minute off the highway, and very easy to get to!

Good parking, restrooms, and a nice playground and picnic area for the family.

As previously mentioned, this course offers a wide variety of shots. You can use your entire bag!

There are signs pointing to the next hole, which are highly needed, due to the big con listed below....
Cons: My biggest con: The signs (and even the baskets) aren't numbered correctly, which makes things confusing if you aren't playing with someone who has been there before.

The map at the beginning of the course doesn't appear to match the current layout.

Some of the hole signs don't show the distance, which make it difficult to know what disc to throw.
Other Thoughts: Despite the huge con, the course was very enjoyable to play, once you figure out where you're going.

This would be a tough course to play solo. There are a lot of blind throws, and the rough areas could certainly cause you to spend a lot of time searching for your discs!

If I didn't live 75 minutes away, or if I played this course regularly, I would invest a few dollars in those stick on numbers and at least label the hole and basket correctly!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Have a spotter

1    4/29/2012   5/3/2012
Review By: dan_b
Played: 16  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 13.4 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Fun, relatively easy course. I enjoyed the throwing lanes, and thought the foliage was beautiful.

Good challenge in terms of playing right and left. The bushes act a serious obstacles.
Cons: Had an extremely difficult time navigating the course. Some tees and baskets are mislabeled, and there needs to be map or some help to find the next basket. I went twice before I figured out where hole 6 was.

Flat. Coming from the north, it was odd playing a course with zero elevation change.
Other Thoughts: I would go back, but would rather try a new course in the area. The best part was ending a round at 7:30 with the sun setting on the water behind the 18 basket.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Play it with a guide.

1    12/28/2009   12/29/2009
Review By: jrawk
Played: 83  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/2/2010
6 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: For me, the best aspect of Tocabaga was its location. It is very conveniently located off of I-275 in one of the most beautiful parts of the country. We started our round at 3:30 and finished in time to watch the sunset over the gulf from the waters edge. Has the cleanest bathrooms i've ever been in at a disc golf park, but oddly enough, no hand soap.

Some unique holes early on, as previously mentioned in other reviews. Hole #2 was definately my favorite. Why there aren't more holes like this at other courses is beyond me. See ARock's review below. He describes the hole well. Also noteworthy was #7, a very tight S curve fairway with low palms on each side. I really wanted to replay this hole 3 or 4 times to try and zero in a disc for it. #8 is fun with many different fairway paths to the basket. All throwing techniques are viable options for this hole. You can hyzer around the tree clump or thumb/tamahawk over it, or try a roller around the right side of the fairway.
Cons: I really had a hard time navigating the front 9. And to me this is a big turn-off to this course. Hole 5 seemed to be closed and there was a tiny orange flag/marker with arrow pointing to 6b. We walked around for 10 minutes trying to figure it out, eventually finding the real 6's tee pad and playing. To get to it, we had to walk through thick mud underneath a boardwalk, walking past 17's tee pad and interupting another groups drives.

Many holes (2, 3, 13, 14) play on or across roads in the park, for both pedestrians and cars. It did not seem to be that big an issue, but i can see this being a problem on busy days.

After hole 7, the rest start to feel the same. The holes that open up into grass fields are nothing spectacular and the holes under palm canapies begin feeling repetative.

While 18 no longer exists, the replacement is 8b, and the park did a nice job seperating 8 from 8b, however 8b's tee pad is not concrete like the rest.

Hole 17 is just evil. A water hazard snakes through the course and is possible to lose a disk in it on nearly every throw. Luckily I didn't , but we did have to wait for the group in front of us to dig out the disc they lost (and found another in the process). I'm not from Florida and don't know if that stuff is suppose to smell like that or not, but it was horrid. Outside of tournement play, i think i'd skip it entirely.

Even tho the bathrooms were clean, the park was surprisingly dirty. I saw a lot of trash cans spread throughout the park but litter was everywhere. Not sure if this was because of the wind or not.
Other Thoughts: After playing at Youth Park DGC earlier in the day where all the locals were saying how great of a course Tocabaga is, i was so hyped to get there and play. Everything was great until I got lost finding hole 6. And my spirits were taken away from my round slightly. The park needs to do a better job marking the way from 4 to 5 to 6, or whatever the flow is supposed to be.

The locals also warned me i might lose a disc or two in the brush, but i didn't have a problem finding anything. Seemed like the park had recently trimmed the brush a bit. And there is enough foot paths through the heavy stuff from other players tracking through them.

I'm struggling to give this course a 3 rating, but i know my temper might have been detracting from the experience others have had. I try not to review a course unless i've played it twice, but since i don't think i'll be coming back to the area for a year or two, I am going to give it the benefit of the doubt.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.