St. Petersburg, FL 
Tocobaga DGC Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #14 (Taken 2/2017)
3 / 255ft.   3 / 392ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 47
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2
New pads, new signs, great course

5+    12/26/2016   12/28/2016
Review By: fasteddy8170
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 6.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --New short and long cement pads as of 12/18/2016.
--New beautiful tee signs with correct lengths, holes numbers, and directions to next tee as of 12/24/2016.
--equal number of lefty and righty holes. Doesn't favor one side over the other.
--Scenic location.
--Usually not crowded.
--Nice facilities--bathrooms and water spigots in picnic area.
--nice mixture of long and short holes.
--easy to get to--right off the I-275. Course can seen from the highway.
Cons: --the only negative is that the course can eat discs due to the brush. It's best to play the course in a group so you can have spotters for holes such as 2, 7, 13, and 17. And frankly, if you lose a disc there, you hardly ever get it back--not sure who finds them and keeps them.
Other Thoughts: I love the course because it's going to test everything in your game from distance to control, hyzers and anhyzers. If you get on a run, the average player has a great chance to shoot under par. But if you're off, this course will put you into the 60's real fast.

My only hole in one is on this course: #9 with a Champion Leopard.

Favorite holes (I'm a lefty): 7, 8, and 9.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A Little Slice of Florida Paradise

5+    1/20/2015   1/22/2015
Review By: Shade Seeker
Played: 105  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 12.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Maximo park is a gorgeous setting for disc golf. The course design makes excellent use of the terrain. I've played other Florida courses that got repetitive because every hole is carved from the jungle. At Maximo, there's an even balance of jungle holes and park type holes. That variety is one of the best features of the course. In regard to lefty verses righty holes, I count 9 holes that call for straight drives, 6 holes that call for right turning drives and 3 that call for left turning drives. There are no elevation changes and water only comes into play on the last hole. Risk and reward has mostly to do with clumps of palmettos rather than baskets near water or on steep hillsides. There are two concrete tee pads (long and short) on every hole and two basket positions on most of them. There are plenty of benches and adequate signs.

One of my favorite characteristics of the course is that it forced me to use discs and shots I don't use much in the Midwest. In particular, I used a lot more sidearm shots, many of them on finesse type approach shots. I even used a few rollers.

No particular hole stands out as a signature hole. Some of my favorites were: #5, a tough journey through the jungle; #11, a long park-style hole where you can let your drive rip; #18, where a mossy lagoon forces you to choose between laying up and going for the basket.
Cons: As mentioned often by reviewers here, navigation is a major issue your first time through the course. The tee pads were too short for me. This especially caused me problems on #16. I didn't care for hole #14. You have to cross a road on your drive, but there are small pine trees lining the road that make crossing more a matter of luck than skill. Even if you carry the road, you are often lacking a path to approach the basket on your second shot.
Other Thoughts: I played Maximo over 20 times during the months of December and January. It's a great everyday course that continued to challenge me every time.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Sabal Palms and a Unique Disc Golf Experience

1    3/6/2014   3/6/2014
Review By: S.Cann
Played: 144  Reviewed: 83  Exp: 8.1 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: -This course just has an incredibly unique feel to it. It offers a unique set of challenges that you don't see often.
-There are several holes (2 and 7 are the primary ones) that throw over short Palm Tree-like vegetation that varies in height from 2-5ft. Although this can be a deterrent for some, it's a new/interesting challenge.
-The course feels secluded.
-Dual tees and extra pin placements on almost every hole.
-Carved wooden signs on every hole
-Good mix of distances. Holes range from 220-450 from the Blues and offers the white tees as an option for newer players.
-This course is amazing beautiful. I enjoyed walking around almost as much as the DG itself.
-In order to score well here you have to have a variety of shots mastered as Tocobaga places a premium on accuracy.
Cons: -The flow is somewhat off here. You definitely want a guide your first time out as there are some challenging transitions (Hole 4 to Hole 5 and Hole 13 to Hole 14).
-There are some rough spots where it may be easy to lose a disc.
-Impassable marsh on a couple of holes require you to walk a little bit off the beaten path to avoid it.
-Walking path runs through the course and may slow you down in spots.
-Tees could be a bit longer.
Other Thoughts: Tocobaga has thick vegetation in spots, but rewards a good shot it's just an overall amazing course with a unique feel. It's right near a densely populated area, but still feels isolated. If you're making a trip to the Tampa area put this one on your must-play list.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

5+    5/7/2012   8/13/2012
Review By: looking4owls
Played: 72  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 14 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great layout; flows nicely.
Incredible bright blue baskets.
Scenic play through what I consider beautiful Florida flora and fauna.
Wide variety of shots required; long, short, left, right.
Cons: Small tee pads.
Hole 18, before they removed it due to the Indian mounds, was easily the most scenic, beatiful hole in Florida. too bad it had to be moved.
Hole 5 used to be great too.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Tocobaga Indians--First Disc Golfers

2-4    3/24/2012   4/1/2012
Review By: ohtobediscing
Played: 260  Reviewed: 40  Exp: 37.7 Years
This review was updated on 4/29/2015
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: I felt like a South Seas islander sitting at the first tee. From the table I could gaze across a palm-shaded expanse of grass and pristine sand to watch swimmers, wading fishermen and sailboats plying the sun-drenched, island-dotted blue waters of outer Tampa Bay.
If mature trees were the only vegetation, it would be a stately, almost ball golf-like course. But the vines, mangroves and infinite palmettos make an adamant statement: This is no course for noobs, beginners, or early intermediates with an erratic arm.
None of the holes are really long[400+ on #11], but if you're RHBH only, you'll learn on #1 that this is a very technical course. #2's basket has a 25 ft. radius of grass/sand surrounded by 30+ yds. of chest-high palmettos. #s 7, 15 & 17 are similar. #s 4-6, 12-13 & 18 have mature trees studding the fairway with less sideline vegetation. #s 8-10, 14 and 16 have mostly open fairways, but the baskets are backed by walls of vicious rough. #s12-13 have shallow water with overarching mangroves near the basket. #18 has a small murky pond to throw over, but it dries up a lot of the time.
The course runs counter-clockwise: #5 tee is toward the park entrance from pin #4, and #13 tee is SE of the gazebo near tee #10. Most of the baskets have a distinct path towards the next tee.
Benches are at most pro tees[funny that people get so worked-up by the course that they don't notice them], and the baskets and tops are anodized a beautiful rich blue. The signs were gorgeous at one time, but were covered in a heavy laquer, and many have cracked and become opaque in the sun. Bathrooms well attended. Gazebos, grills and playground right on the shoreline. The marina just outside the park has soda and beer, some snacks.
Cons: Palmettos. The Blue Angel "Palmetto" course has nothing on this place. I played 3 rounds with 3 different groups, and each group had at least 2-3 protracted episodes of disc-hunting. After #7 my legs and Teva-ed feet were slashed and bleeding, and I whimpered and wailed like a lost soul every time the palmettos closed in.
Any open spaces in the brush will have garden spider webs stretched across them, with spiders up to 4 in. across. I took Arachnidology in college and mostly got over my fear of spiders. Mostly.
A few holes throw over roads or near paths. The roads are one-way and easily scouted, and only a quick bicycle could sneak into your drive on the path.
Humid and buggy except Nov.-Feb., with sudden afternoon thunderstorms possible the rest of the year..
Other Thoughts: 8 years ago a woman named Beth showed up and handed out clippers to golfers, saying the vines and certain other woody plants weren't indigenous and should be eliminated. Eventually the DG community went to court to keep her from altering the course. In the midst of researching park records it was discovered that there were Indian mounds on site. Beth now sued the park and DGers, trying to remove the DGC from the "sacred burial grounds". Archeologists were brought in, and it was determined that the mounds were "middens", or ancient trash piles composed of shells, bones, and broken tools. She lost.
But 16th-17th century explorers' sketches were uncovered, that show the Tocobaga Indians playing a game wherein they threw "disc-like" objects. HA! Take that, Wham-O!!

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 GREAT!!

1    1/13/2012   1/26/2012
Review By: NoahPeterson
Played: 58  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 5.5 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Fun and challenging. Fast and short. Mix of holes: woods, open, underbrush. Lots of blind shots.
Cons: Poorly marked, easy to get lost on.
Other Thoughts: This course is a blast. Wicked fun and gnarly. Worth the trip. This is a course you will be glad you played. Don't miss it.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 maximo park

5+    12/24/2011   1/8/2012
Review By: tedy4444
Played: 13  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.1 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: technical shots on many holes. nice varienty of short, tight fairways and longer slightly open shots. great visit for the out of towner looking for a challenge. this is my home course and by far my favorite in the area.
Cons: it is a little easy to get lost if you have never played here before. i find people wandering around almost every time i play here.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

2-4    11/1/2011   11/8/2011
Review By: captainobvious
Played: 7  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Worth a drive from most places
- Technical, not a beginner course
- Variety of different shots and holes
- Variety of plants
- Beautiful park
Cons: - Tee Signs, 15 sign in a tree near 16...but you can figure most out pretty easy. One tee is on a sidewalk near the boat place so make sure to watch for it.
- Some bugs if no wind out, but hey the sport is outside
Other Thoughts: Use bright discs and a spotter down course to prevent losing your discs in the saw palmettos. It is easy to lose track of were your discs go in them. Never really had a problem getting stuck in trees. A few holes near the water, but very very hard to lose a disc to the water because plants protect boundaries well.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Take Me Back to Tocobaga

1    8/2/2011   8/8/2011
Review By: Upshawt1979
Played: 322  Reviewed: 210  Exp: 14 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Tocobaga DGC is one of the best parks in Florida as far as I can say. A lot of distinctly different looks from hole to hole, and a few of the most perfectly framed, scenic views from the tee pads. Loved the plant life and crazy lizards around the course. The park itself seemed tidy and well kept, and there were basic amenities as far as trash cans and benches. The tee pads and signs were adequate, but there was room for improvement there. All of the baskets were there and in fine condition. I liked the consistent changes in direction and line height from hole to hole. Many of the fairways are short enough to drive the green, but there are also some longer ones where you can throw as hard as you can. Nice opportunities to practice forehand drives on a couple of holes. Overall this course rewards versatility, skill, and making your shots. There are low ceilings and high spike hyzers. There are narrow corridors and wide open grassy fairways. Usually the trees and vines will pose a formidable challenge, but Tocobaga is very playable and a whole lot of birdies is not out of the question.
Cons: As much as I liked this park, there is some room for improvement. The biggest fault to me were the short tee pads. They were smooth, level concrete, but were just too short for my run up, and messed up my footwork once or twice. I might give another half point on my rating if the size of the boxes was increased. The tee signs were a bit rough, but OK. The only other downside is the possibility of losing discs. I have never seen so many discs get stuck in trees. Me and the guy I played with each lost one the tree tops. Visible, but not retrievable. Several more hung up, but we got them back somehow.
Other Thoughts: I say this in half of my reviews, but I REALLY wish I could have played a few more rounds at Tocobaga. The course was fully enjoyable. Unique visually, mixing fun and challenge. Played with local dude, Tim, and had a great time shooting a bad score. Loved the course as a whole, and I know I could shoot a much better score (given a couple of more chances).

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Scenery, but rough flow

1    4/1/2010   6/2/2010
Review By: prerube
Played: 243  Reviewed: 219  Exp: 10 Years
12 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Some helpful tee signs (but navigation signs are needed).
Concrete tee pads
A good variety in challenge, distance (165ft-450ft depending upon tee), and foliage density.
Water in play on 3 holes.
Low canopy and palms add challenge and variety, course offers a chance to rip it and chances to practice specialty shots (average hole is 300ft on blue).
Bathrooms near tee one, and not too far from 17 if you need to go before you go.
Cons: Picnicers, other tee pads and busy walkways are occasionally in possible flight paths and can create a safety issue on the weekends.
Navigation was difficult especially with the numbered holes. 6a and 8b really hurt the flow of the game, but they were needed to keep it 18.
The locals said that we all lost out when hole 18 was moved and replaced with a mediocre replacement.
Hole 17 was surrounded by foul, putrid, swampy water that attracted all of Florida's helicopter sized bugs (half suck your blood and half are just there for the rancid smell. It is shallow water, but the ride home will be a bitch if you go disc diving. The discs you find will smell and the interior of your car will hold the odor, don't let the stories of tons of free plastic lure you into that water!
Other Thoughts: The level of challenge and the sharp foliage make this a less attractive option for new players.
Course is located just a few miles from Clearwater Disc Golf Store, which is a must stop destination! If you think Jrawk got excited about the bathrooms, you should hear him talk about the store!

Course was crowed, I had to play the course out of order in order to avoid long lines at certain tees, but the crowds of locals were all friendly and very helpful with the navigation issues.

If you have to choose between the 3 St. Pete area courses (Youth, Taylor and Tocobaga), this is your best bet.

12 of 14 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.