St. Petersburg, FL 
Tocobaga DGC Share
Uploaded By: wellsbranch250 Hole #7 (Taken 2/2017)
3 / 175ft.   3 / 217ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #7 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 50
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

1    6/16/2018   6/17/2018
Review By: swed
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Beautiful park. Very technical, have to hit your line to score well. Tropical plants and plenty of Palm trees. Plenty of shaded areas to get out of the sun, 94 degrees when I played.
Cons: Flat
Other Thoughts: I played a handicapped league at 10 a.m. on a Saturday. Locals were very nice and accomadating.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Exotic Flora At A Well Designed Course,

1    1/15/2018   1/15/2018
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1313  Reviewed: 1262  Exp: 40.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm most impressed with Tocobaga DGC. The lovely, lush park sits just off I-275. It's filled with all these lush tropical plants which is awesome for the most part. The park is just a visual treat with beautiful vegetation and it's scenic views from it's beaches to the vistas over the bay waters.

The recent upgrades (2016) are first class all the way. Start with the park signs leading you to the course's start. A excellent kiosk complete with course map, is helpful. The tee signs are top notch showing all the information you'll be needing plus great tidbits on the Tocobaga Indian Tribe who once roamed this area. The signs show both the blue and red distances plus the long and short are those holes. They also show the next tees. There are next tee signs throughout although my playing partner and I must have missed the next tee sign at # 2, as we struggled to find the third tee. I loved the blue and red lines on the tee pads indicating which pad you're throwing from. I also liked that there were some holes with only one pad. The shorter red tees were sometimes 100' shorter. I brought my son-in-law who has only played a few times and the shorter reds were a nice fit for his game. There are benches on most every hole and plenty of garbage cans.

The course is very technical in places, more open on others holes and features a nice variety of distances and left-right-straight shots. There are a couple of holes where the thick palm bushes may make finding your discs an adventure. Playing with a novice this morning, we never spent more than a minute looking for our discs and managed not to lose any.
Cons: The thick palm bushes could easily suck in your disc never to be seen again.

We had a difficult time finding the # 3 tee but after talking about it, I'm willing to bet we missed the next tee sign which might have been obscured by the palms.

I agree with a previous reviewer that this is probably not a course you'd want to play solo.

Two holes played down streets or paths. There is a walking path which meanders throughout the course but it wasn't' a problem.

We did have to walk up quite a few holes trying to locate the basket positions.
Other Thoughts: Excellent course, great for most players. Hole # 12 could be exciting with the river so close behind the basket. From the red tees which we played today, I'd call this an easy recreational course. From the blues, I think it would probably be an difficult rec course. Either way, I really enjoyed my round here. It's so tropical with all the palms and exotic plants. It shouts "Florida" to me.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

First time playing disc golf in FL

1    9/21/2017   9/21/2017
Review By: Pockets
Played: 4  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 3.5 Years
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: - Nice signs
- Multiple tee pads / baskets
- In the shade about 50% of the time
- No bugs when I was there
Cons: - Very flat
- I'm probably just not used to it (I'm from the northeast), but some of the plants in play on a few holes seem like you will never get your disc back, playing solo for the first time I just had to skip a few holes
- Old rusty baskets
Other Thoughts: If this is what it's like to play disc golf in FL, anyone that likes this would love playing in New England, it's almost a different game. I craved being able to throw down or up a hill and also not have to worry so much about palm trees.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

New pads, new signs, great course

5+    12/26/2016   12/28/2016
Review By: fasteddy8170
Played: 28  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: --New short and long cement pads as of 12/18/2016.
--New beautiful tee signs with correct lengths, holes numbers, and directions to next tee as of 12/24/2016.
--equal number of lefty and righty holes. Doesn't favor one side over the other.
--Scenic location.
--Usually not crowded.
--Nice facilities--bathrooms and water spigots in picnic area.
--nice mixture of long and short holes.
--easy to get to--right off the I-275. Course can seen from the highway.
Cons: --the only negative is that the course can eat discs due to the brush. It's best to play the course in a group so you can have spotters for holes such as 2, 7, 13, and 17. And frankly, if you lose a disc there, you hardly ever get it back--not sure who finds them and keeps them.
Other Thoughts: I love the course because it's going to test everything in your game from distance to control, hyzers and anhyzers. If you get on a run, the average player has a great chance to shoot under par. But if you're off, this course will put you into the 60's real fast.

My only hole in one is on this course: #9 with a Champion Leopard.

Favorite holes (I'm a lefty): 7, 8, and 9.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Accurately Beautiful

5+    9/26/2017   8/11/2016
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 313  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 10/7/2017
6 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: (3.089 Rating) (REVISED - replayed September 2017) A beautiful course that will test your accuracy.
- CHARACTER - Major upgrades were made to Tocobaga in Dec 2016. Brand new and absolutely beautify signs designed by Jason Zahara. They have a pirate theme to them, which is fitting for the Tampa Bay Area with all its pirate festivals. See the designs for yourself under the media tab. In addition, it seems like more seating was added and it's on almost every hole now. In addition, you'll also find 7 extra hole sleeves, numerous bag holders, numerous tables, shelters, restrooms, a drinking fountain and a practice basket. After finishing (18), walk 200 west toward the water. There are three shelters with scores of picnic tables and beautiful views. A great way to end a round.
- TEES - Brand new concrete tees as of Dec 2016. They are adequately long and wide. 15 of the holes have two tee pads and nearly all of them are shaded.
- CHALLENGING - Not the most challenging course in the Tampa Bay region, but if you can't throw very straight, you will be severely handicapped. The holes are fairly short from the back tees at around 5,100 feet. The front tees will subtract both a good amount distance and difficulty. Advanced players should break par from the backs on a routine basis while intermediate players should break par on occasion.
- UNIQUENESS - The overall uniqueness is about average or a bit above your average 18 hole course. to start, the holes finish in a near even mix of all three ways, straight, left and right. There is a very challenging dog-leg par 3 on hole (14). Hole (2) is an over top play. There are numerous tight tunnel fairways, a few blind shots and a few mandos. The biggest missing item at Tocobaga is elevation, with no hole varying tee to basket by more than 5 feet. Also missing is a par 4, par 5, and a true open hole. Only one or two good opportunities to let one rip as well. Note, there is water on a few holes (12), (13) and (18) but it really doesn't come into play on the first two. As for (18), if it hasn't rained in a while, the hole can be dry. However, if it has rained a lot, (18) can flood quite a bit.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - The overall course beauty is well above average. There are a couple holes that are less than to be desirable with roads in play on holes (3), (6) and (14), but the course more than makes up for it on a bunch of other holes. My personal favs for beauty are holes (11), (12) and (18). I've posted new pictures for the course, check them out under the media tab.
- CHILL AREAS - Lots of secluded areas along the layout and a bunch of picnic tables as well.
- LOCATION - Super easy to get to from I275. Literally like two minutes from exit 16 to the course.
- QUICKER PLAY - A single could easily complete a full 18 in under 75 minutes. Groups of four would probably finish in under two and a half hours.
Cons: I have a couple of concerns with Tocobaga, and the rest are just ticky-tack things.
- FORGIVENESS - This course will test the placement of your shots. Being off your mark by a few feet sometimes isn't good enough. In addition, if/when you a hit tree, the resulting punishment is sometimes more than one throw. I've had to make pitchouts several times in a direction farther away from the basket. Also note, this course is littered with palms. They will steal your disc if you land on top.
- OVERGROWTH - Tocobaga has arguably the most dense vegetation in all of Tampa Bay. Couple that with tight fairways and grounds full of palmetto bushes, you can assume that you'll be looking for your disc at some point. Holes (2) and (7) are especially bad and I advise using spotters on those holes at a minimum.
- NAVIGATION - It will be tricky in a bunch of spots so I don't advise playing your first time here as a single. I made a map of the course and posted it under the links/files tab . The course does generally do a good job with next tee arrows after you finish a hole, but there are gaps in directions, and a bunch of hole transitions are well over 200 feet.
- SPACING - There are a couple of minor spacing issues. The walk to tee (5) crosses the middle of (18) fairway. On hole (6), the back tee is located about twenty feet past basket (5). Tee (8) and (9) is a double back condition where if you park your drive on (8), you can carry your bag 40 feet to drop at tee (9).
- TIME WAITING - This Park gets heavy use and has a bunch of walking paths and roads that will affect your play. Rarely will one play a round here and not have to stop and wait at some point.
- CHAINS - The baskets were brand spanking new in December 2016 and they are already rusting. Also not my favorite style of basket as the chains on these Mach New 2's are a bit light.
- DRAINAGE - 85% percent of the course drains really good. However during the rainy season (Summer and early Fall) the course will flood in spots. Hole (11) and (18) will be the first to have standing water but i've also seen standing water on (8 and 9) as well.
Other Thoughts: A wonderful update during December 2016. My metrics rating of the course shot up quite a bit due to the revision at that time. Tocobaga is not for everyone's tastes. If you like wide open courses I'd suggest checking out Azalea, which is a shorty course in St Pete, or 22nd Street, a long course in Tampa. I also don't recommend bringing beginners here. Way too many trees for arms not adjusted to a precise release point. As for recreational thru advanced players who like technical courses. Those players should very much enjoy this one.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful.

  Maximo to the max

1    11/20/2015   11/20/2015
Review By: Shermanator
Played: 6  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 3.4 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Had a bunch of fun playing this course. This is a course that will make you use your whole bag!
Cons:
-Course is not beginner friendly!

- Hard to navigate, i would try to link up with a local or a friend who has played a few time's.

- I loved almost every hole, but there were many spots that were worn, aged, and overgrown.

- Course could use a makeover

-You need a spotter on half of the holes if you don't want to lose your prized discs!

Other Thoughts: At the end of the day if you already are familiar with the sport that we all love! Then this is a course you should check out. But in my opinion this course is not worth a road trip.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Course Getting Betterish

5+    6/17/2016   10/9/2015
Review By: thrembo
Played: 180  Reviewed: 134  Exp: 43.6 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2017
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is a course that is prized by its locals and despised by one time visitors. I have never seen a course that is this polarizing before. I have held off on reviewing it myself because it's a tough course to judge. It has your typical Florida style plants, and a woodsy jungle vibe to it, but some holes share areas with other park areas, like roads and such.

It can be fun, provided that you neutralize the cons.
Cons: OK, the big problems here, are the wonky navigation, the poor signage, and the possible misnumbered baskets, making this course brutal on 1st timers. GET A GUIDE, or try and hook up with a local for your first time through. They should also know which holes that you will need to spot on.
Other Thoughts: The course is fairly scenic, and with care, a fun round can be had here! This wouldn't be my first choice though if visiting in the greater Tampa area. Taylor, Youth, or Cliff/Coachman might be better options, if in the St Pete/Clearwater side of the bay.

*UPDATE 6/18/2016: Next tee signs helping with navigation, but still a few issues after another of the seemingly endless course modifications (I heard that they had to change the course recently because of some Indian mounds). Hole 5 is over the bridge by 18's tee. The map on this site is wrong. The tee signs seem to have the right hole #'s on them, but layout and distances may be wrong. The tee signs are mostly faded and worn out anyway and could use replacement. Hole 11 sign missing? Hole 9 tee is worn out. Baskets all seem to be properly #'d now.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.

  Tough on First timers

1    9/6/2015   9/6/2015
Review By: Leftytemper
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very technical and challenging. While I have seen some people comment on the courses length and not being able to fire off bombs from the tee, that's not what this course is all about. Every disc will be utilized and you need to think strategy on each hole. Very few gimme holes, maybe hole number 2.
Cons: For a first timer this course is (to put it very politely) navigationally challenging. I was very frustrated trying to find baskets and the tee signs are ambiguous and outdated. This course reminds me of the original Gordon Barnett Park.
Other Thoughts: I look forward to playing this now that I know where the baskets are and the nuances of the course. It just needs a tweak of TLC on navigation and signage. Real good course

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Happy brush hunting...

1    4/25/2015   4/25/2015
Review By: jnicola
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: If you're an amazing player with great long distance placement shots, this place could be enjoyable.
Cons: Poor signage. All very faded or damaged.

Plays near roadways and spaces occupied by people, making precision shots that much more difficult.

Lots of natural growth all over. Lost discs can be recovered, but... less than enjoyable.
Other Thoughts: This course is definitely not worth the trip to. If there are other options in town, go check them out cause this isn't worth the trip.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Not your everyday course

1    2/14/2015   2/24/2015
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 89  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 5.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - The course has a lot of beautiful tight lines, and it makes it a good challenge.
- Teepads are good quality and baskets are also good quality
- There is good variety of short and long holes
- Course requires hyzer and anhyzer lines. It makes you use your hole bag
- Course is very shaded and the sea breeze keeps things a little cooler
- Lots of friendly disc golfers and non golfers
- Even though it was tight and thick, discs were very findable
- Course had a high fun factor IF you are already familiar with disc golf. I would not say that it is beginner friendly.
Cons: The only really big con is the navigation. After holes 1 to 4, there is no guide to hole five. Turns out its to the right and over a bridge. But, you will not see this. There were several areas of confused navigation, and also wrong number baskets for different holes. The signs were helpful at times, and non existent at others. Since I enjoyed the course I tend to agree, however, there is a high level of first time frustration if you do not play with a person who has been there. Also another con is the bad tee signs. They were wrong and the distances were way off from the website.
Other Thoughts: Tocobaga has thick vegetation in spots, but rewards a good shot. It's just a decent course with a unique feel. Nothing as special as Cliff Stevens or Taylor Park. It's right near a densely populated area, but still feels super quiet. If you're making a trip to the Tampa area put this one on your play list.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.