Orlando, FL 
Bill Frederick Park - T2: The Turkeynator Share
Uploaded By: reposado Hole #4 (Taken 10/2015)
3 / 188ft.   3 / 188ft.   3 / 294ft.   3 / 294ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 44
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
< Prev 1 2 3
One of Florida's Top Courses

1    4/15/2017   5/24/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 141  Reviewed: 104  Exp: 3.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (4.180 Rating) "This is going to be an awesome course." My first thoughts after arriving at tee (1) and looking down fairway...
- UNIQUENESS - Other than Elevation, this course is stacked with variety. Dog legs in both directions, tunnel shots, pocket shots and blind shots. There's a wonderful water clear on (16). There's one par 5, albeit fairly easy for pro players, and a couple of placement par 4's. There are opportunities to let one rip, and yet also times you'll need to make a precision putter ace run. If I had to call out a missing item it would be a parallel water feature, ie creek play. In addition, holes (12-15) all have the same run of mill feel and were void of any major defining features amongst those four holes.
- MULTI TEES - To date, T2 has the most amount of tees that I had ever seen to on a course. Green, Red, White, Blue and a few Gold as well. I am a big fan of this because it allows every type of player to have the opportunity to play at the appropriate skill level tees.
- CHARACTER - In addition to the tees, this course has just about all the other amenities that you'd expect of an established older course. At the parking and tee (1) area, there's a community board, porta-potty, water bottle station and two practice baskets. There is seating and bag hangers at many tees and most are shaded as well. Many of the holes have multiple basket placements. I really can't think of much to add other that perhaps a pin placement location peg at the tee area so you don't have to run down fairway to locate the basket location.
- CHALLENGING - Other than mid level pros and higher, every skill level will be able to push themselves here. I think your typical advanced player (950 rating) will average even, to a couple over from the gold/blue tees. Playing this level will require a combo of both length and precision on several holes and require the use of every shot in your bag. In addition, hole (16), is about a 350 foot water clear, so if you can't clear that, I'd suggest playing the whites or shorter.
- NATURAL BEAUTY - In general, I found T2 to be above average due to the diversity of the vegetation, lake views and the subtle terrain changes. However, when comparing this course to other top courses I've played, its not on the top tier. It appears that the area is/was going thru a major drought at the time of my visit and its really affecting the look and feel. Several trees appeared dead or dying and the course was extremely dry, sandy and dusty. The course really needs a good soaking. Obviously this is not the courses fault and it did not affect my rating.
- MAINTENANCE - The grounds were in really good condition despite the drought. Very little trash, grass height was in check, the overgrowth was not running away, and only a couple dead branches littered about.
- NAVIGATION - Be sure and request a map when you pay to enter. T2 jogs around a bit, and without a physical map or one downloaded to your phone, you'll end up confused a few times on first go around. The map is solid and it got me back on track every time I questioned my next move.
- EVENTS - This course is known to hold major tournaments in the region and state. So if you're into tournaments you'll want to schedule a weekend here.
- TWO MORE COURSES ON SITE - Can you really go wrong with 54 holes at one location?
Cons: A great course with only ticky tack issues
- ELEVATION - Unless you only play Florida courses, you won't find the elevation changes here notable at all. Perhaps hole (11) drops 20 feet, but that's about it. However, for what elevation is available, Greg Hosfeld the course designer, did an excellent job incorporating it. I personally loved the ridge use on (17) and hole (4) is a wonderful sweeping slight 10 - 15 foot downward angle shot. Other than these noted holes, the rest change by less than 10 feet.
- DISCONTINUITY - It appears that ideal tee shots took precedence over adjacency. OK in my book, but expect several walks between holes over 200 feet. This is why I stress the importance of having a course map. There are numerous directional ques along the layout, but not enough for the clouded minds of many disc golfers.
- OPEN HOURS - The park closes at 7pm April thru October and closes at 5 pm the rest of the year. This makes after work rounds real tough to complete and there'd be no night golf.
- TIME PLAY - It took my friend and I well over 2 hours to complete this course and we never had to wait for other groups. So don't expect some quickie airport layover round here. If you are going for the angle, I'll suggest Airport Lakes.
- PAY TO PLAY - If you can't afford $2 to play this course, then you need to re-evaluate your priorities.
Other Thoughts: One of the best courses I've ever played. It will put a smile on just about every player's face and I highly recommend checking it out if you're in the Orlando area. T2 briefly held the top spot on my personal list of top rated Florida courses, but it was dethroned by Tom Brown in Tallahassee 8 day later.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Great Course

2-4    9/13/2016   12/1/2016
Review By: galluni
Played: 18  Reviewed: 6
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: I played this course when visiting Florida, and I loved it. Great variety of holes and shots. Beautiful forests and fields. Challenging without being unfair.
Cons: Some inconsistency with tee boxes -- not all holes have all colors.
Other Thoughts: I hope to play it again someday.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Great Add on and Compliment

1    5/23/2015   5/23/2015
Review By: freddysez
Played: 16  Reviewed: 16
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has it all; skillful holes in the woods that reward placement without being impossible, some length, the par 5 may be the toughest length hole I've ever played, and the wind can change holes and shots in the blink of an eye
Cons: We played the wrong hole on 5 and ended up playing 8 twice, but fixed it and replayed. I think stating other cons is a stretch.
Other Thoughts: The designers did it right and didn't try to over analyze their vision and kept this a true destination course just like the original

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Love this park

5+    3/20/2014   10/20/2014
Review By: Apsey
Played: 60  Reviewed: 11
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Beautiful park
-Offers par 4's and a par 5
-Requires placement shots
-Some elevation Changes
-Park works with club to keep the courses in great shape
-Camping and cabins available on site
-Two different courses to play on site
-Great tee pads
-Nice Baskets
-Offers variety of short and long pads
Cons: -Gets pretty crazy stagnant hot in the summer time
-If you're a beginner this course may beat you up pretty good
-Costs a couple bucks to get into the park (only like a dollar or two I think)
Other Thoughts: Always enjoy playing this course as well as T1. If you play this course a lot you will become a better player for sure. Looking forward to my next round there.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

I love T2!

5+    1/15/2014   4/24/2014
Review By: Peter S
Played: 149  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 23.2 Years
This review was updated on 8/12/2015
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Like T1, T2 has some long distance holes to air it out. However, also has a more diverse mix of lightly wooded holes. A few holes such as 17 play up while 4 and 5 plays down some hills for a bit of elevation which is rare on most Florida courses. Great water carry on 16 "Crusher Cove" is challenging and scenic and sure to be a signature hole. Another signature hole has got to be #5 called The Long and Winding Road. With a name like that I have to try a roller.

Not as busy as the free Gordon Barnett park due to the small enterance fee.

Cement tee pads for all skill levels red - gold, bag holders, benches on a number of holes and tee signs at most tees.

Restrooms close by parking area.
Cons: Sometimes other park users in your way but that's not the courses fault.

Beer drinking is not permitted in the park to try and cut down on litter. If you decide to go on the down low, please do not litter and pack out all empty beer cans.
Other Thoughts: All holes have numbers but also names which makes the holes very memorable for me. With T1 and T2 together this park has a lot to offer and I would say a excellent 2 course punch.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

One of the best courses in Orlando

5+    6/15/2016   6/19/2013
Review By: blueblur
Played: 126  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 29 Years
This review was updated on 7/27/2016
0 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Challenging course with multiple pin positions and pads. Great tee signs. Designed by Gregg Hosfeld, one of the best designers in the country. Uses water, trees and the limited elevation changes available, to great effect. Bring your A game, especially from the long pads.
Cons: Lots of walking near low mph park roads with speed bumps. Throwing near some of these roads also, but not a major factor and low traffic. Pay to get into park. Due to very limited space, alternate pin positions are usually not very different from each other, but still a plus overall.
Other Thoughts: Most challenging course in the Orlando area.

0 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Did anybody see #8?

1    6/13/2013   6/13/2013
Review By: sloppydisc
Played: 201  Reviewed: 147  Exp: 8.7 Years
11 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: 18 holes in a very nice large park with fishing, camping, playgrounds and lots of paved trails. Just a really nice place. 3 sets of tee for each hole, and signs at Blue and Red tee pads. Signs give distances and hole layout. There is also some signs to aid in navigation. More on that later.

Mostly technical course with tight lines and low ceilings. From the blue tees there is also some long holes and open fields. #5 plays to the tune of 876' from the blue. There are also holes in the low 200' range so hole length variety is pretty good.

This is course is the big brother, or mean step father of the other course on site. The landscape is similar for both, but T2 has thicker more punishing rough, tighter lines and more line shaping needed to succeed. This course should have enough challenge for the best of players.

T2 also utilizes the lake, and has a nice water carry on #16. From the blues the hole is 390' with a water carry that seems about 300'. From the red it makes it about a 100' shorter hole. The basket is then surrounded by a bunch of mature trees. Cool hole.
Cons: Navigation. Make sure you get a map from the booth when you pay. BUT, even with the map I never found hole 8! Heck, it wasn't even on the map. And I walked by 18 to get to 9. Just a strange, wandering layout to this course.

There were a few holes where I couldn't figure out an obvious line to the basket. Might be me, or my lack of FL playing experience. My only guess is that huge sky hyzers and OHs are big here. Probably more experience on the course would clear things up for me or other players.

It's Florida so there really isn't elevation to speak of.
Other Thoughts: I really enjoyed this course. It hurt me in a few spots, but it had lots of great looking technical holes with cool tunnels and low ceilings. There might be a few too many low ceiling shots for some, but in the summer heat all that shade was welcomed. This course is definitely a must play if you are the Orlando area. With 2 courses on site and multiple tee pads on both there is just a lot of good golf here. The park is pristine, and there are also lots of other activities close by. $2 for the park entry fee is a no brainer for this type of facility.

And for the locals, I left a nice Opto River up in the tree behind the short pad on 5. That will be my small donation to the lucky person that walks by after a big storm or high winds. Enjoy.

11 of 12 people found this review helpful.

 Best course in Orlando area

2-4    4/5/2013   4/11/2013
Review By: fictionfree
Played: 13  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 9.1 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Really awesome design
-Challenging holes with "landing zones" that set you up for your second (sometimes third) shot
-Long course is a great workout for experienced players
-Good signage, trash cans and benches throughout
-Textured concrete tees
-Multiple tees
-Great balance of right, left, long, short, air and roller shots
-Most important - a fun course to play, that takes advantage of what little rolling terrain is available
Cons: -13, 14 and 15 are basically all the same hole (low-ceiling, straight shot with basket slightly to left) - in such close proximity, it gets monotonous (though I LOVE those low ceiling shots - moving the baskets around to mix it up would fix the monotony)
-$4 per car to get in the park might seem like a minus to some people, but honestly this course and its sister course are worth the money - plus there is a ton of other stuff to do here, fishing, farm for kids, camping, picnicking, trails, etc.
Other Thoughts: -Played this course several years ago and didn't enjoy it at all - long and monotonous - but just played a week ago and was veryimpressed with the changes - new baskets, new holes, deletion of some old lame holes, and addition of concrete tees and clear signage - don't miss this fun course in the greater MCO area!

-Not a con, but a warning - 16 blue tee is a long drive over the water - plan on losing a disc if you aren't on top of your drive - with my wet noodle arm, I play from the red tee

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 The Yang of the Bill Frederick Courses

1    12/28/2012   1/13/2013
Review By: RussMB
Played: 121  Reviewed: 107  Exp: 12.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/13/2013
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Very Scenic and well maintained State Park ($2 per person/$4 per car to enter) Ask for a Map when you pay.

-This course is a lot more challenging than the original course.

-Course has a rolling terrain that plays near a very scenic lake *This is relative to where you are coming from. Most of the coastal Florida courses are Flat, so someone from Tampa would call this terrain Rolling. Someone from Tennessee would probably consider this flat.

-Nice restrooms at the start. Look for the big building on the right as you approach the teeing area in the parking lot.

-Garbage cans and disc golf signs through out the park

-Close to Universal Studios, but Disney is a little bit of a drive. (In case you are vacationing)

-Colored (Blue, Red & Green) Concrete Tee's to address the multiple Tee locations, Tee signs with Maps & Distance.

-The original Turkey Lake Course and the T2 course start back to back.

-Narrow fairway shots, more use of the trees, terrain and canopies, also has a water carry.

-Fewer lines to choose from, but more finesse is require when it comes to shot shaping here.

-Fair mix of right/left handed shots. Turnover shots, and straight forward long distance shots. Some shots will require you to set up a second shot.

-The blue tees are more pro, while the reds are for the standard player. I wouldn't call this a beginner friendly course, but the green tees do cater to those with underdeveloped arms. Perhaps those wanting to take a swing at it after playing T1.

FWIW

-You are going to see some roped off areas for Gopher Tortoises! Very Cool!

-There are a ton of activities here! If you have a spouse, friend or family member that is wants to watch your kids, then there are a bunch of activities they could do while you get to play a couple rounds here. From Playgrounds to a Farm, there is plenty to do here.

-Camping and Cabin rentals on site as well.
Cons: -Though there are signs, sometimes it's easy to get turned around. Which leads to my next points...

-The course flow is broken between 3 & 4 and 7&8. You'll want to pay attention to where you are going. I walked the wrong way to get to 4, and ended up finding 4's basket before I found the tee.

- I also got turned around looking for 8. It wasn't listed on the park's map. It's listed, but there is no number and I wandered around a bit looking for it. It is, however, listed on the map on this site, you may want to check it for reference if you can.

-9 is a stretch from the parking lot, it's close but not convenient. It is also a long walk to the parking lot from 18. (These are really small things, and it is what it is. After playing two courses, you tend to notice it)

-You have to play along a fenced in area of an RV Campground. It may be a pain to have to retrieve your disc if it goes over.

-There is a walking trails that run throughout the course. You'll want to look before you through!
Other Thoughts: T2 definitely exceeded my expectations! When you can honestly say you had a great time while getting frustrated, then the course has done its job. This course is definitely the Yang of the two courses. It's challenging, but not obnoxious. It requires more specific lines and will push you to be more controlled. You'll work around trees and bushes, as well as fence lines. Add in a few terrain changes, and the challenge becomes more demanding. All that and a 350ft water carry (from the blues) at 16. (240ft from the reds) The layout is definitely well thought out and specific. It's definitely worth your time to stop and play if you are in the area. Just set aside some time so you can take it all in.

These two courses are well worth the cost of admission. I played both courses in about 3.5 hours. This one took me about an hour and a half, playing solo. If you are going to play both, then I would recommend playing the original course first. It'll help get your arm loosened up. I didn't see any gas stations in the immediate vicinity, but it is Orlando. There are plenty of restaurants within a few miles. Any type of shoes and shorts will be fine here. You may have to fight with some thorny weeds on the fringes, but overall you should be fine.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Turkey with Gravy

1    6/29/2011   7/6/2011
Review By: bcr123psu
Played: 81  Reviewed: 64  Exp: 8 Years
13 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Bill Frederick Park: T2-The Turkeynator isn't hard to find. There are signs on the interstate and all over the area pointing you to its location. Once in the park, there is plenty of signage to direct you to the disc golf courses. The park and lake serve as a beautiful setting for disc golf.

The course features a lot of variety with regard to fairway layout, shapes/doglegs, and hole lengths. The course is fairly tree lined, but there are still penty of open holes and a good mix of both open and wooded holes with different playing surfaces, including grass, leaves, dirt, wood chips, and sand. Water is factored into the course design and is especially prevelant on hole #16 where you have a 200' or 300' (depending on the tee) drive across Turkey lake to a fast green...risk vs. reward indeed.

Multiple tees are present on every hole and offer a different playing experience from each position. Most of the tees are concrete and painted or stained their associated color and are in great shape. The baskets at the course are in good condition.

The tee signs are professional and do a great job of depicting the fairway shape, par, and each tee. Additionaly, the baskets include different colored electrical tape to point to the tee of the accompanying color. Even if that wasn't enough, there are direction and other navigational signs to get you to the next tee.

Another conveinence at this park is the restroom, located next to the parking area near holes #1 and #10.
Cons: While playing any course located in a multi-use park, caution must be exercised. On a few holes, the fairways played close to other public areas and is a hair too dangerous for my liking.

Despite the variety of fairway shapes, there is little variation in elevation.

A few of the holes play fairly close to a fenced in RV park. A shaked throw could easily end up over the fence and may be difficult to retrieve.

A few longer walks from basket to the next tee are required, but nothing terribly long or terribly inconvenient.
Other Thoughts: Being a bit longer and more dynamic than the other course on site, if you had to pick only one of the Bill Frederick courses, I'd pick this one for sure. That said, they're both a fun play.

The limited hours of operation make it a bit less convenient than other courses, but the 9-11 hours that the course is open should give plenty of time to play more than a round or two.

The $2 or $4 you may spend to play this course is well worth it and is actually a bargain in the pay-to-play world. I really enjoyed playing T2 and I think most other golfers would too. The next time I'm in Orlando with time to kill, you can bet that I'll be giving this course another rip and I recommend it for anybody else that might be considering playing here.

13 of 13 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.