Bryan, TX 
Jane Long Middle School Share
Uploaded By: JMHartzer Hole #2
-- / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Basket on the ground



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Quality has Declined

1    4/24/2020   4/24/2020
Review By: JMHartzer
Played: 5  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is next to a large field, which is nice to practice driving. It is also close to the highway so it is easy to get to.
Cons: A number of the baskets have broken off the chains, or are on the ground. The course narrowly runs along the edge of a large open area so it is very easy to get a disc lost in the thorns. The course follows and alternates between two sides of a fence, which makes for a frustrating game.
Other Thoughts: I didn't follow the advice of the other reviewers, this is not a fun course to play.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just Plain Bad

1    4/17/2019   4/18/2019
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 287  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Jane Long Middle School is the newest addition to the College Station/Bryan disc golf scene. Because of that, the baskets are brand new, solid Discatchers.

Being on a school property, you never have to worry about the grass being too long.

There is some interesting safari golf possibilities with some basket placements and the small amount of elevation throughout the course.
Cons: This may be the newest course, but it also wins the award of being the worst, which is saying a lot in an area that has some pretty bad courses (I'm looking at you, Tiffany Park and First Baptist Bryan).

There is no discernible direction to play the holes in because the baskets do not have numbers and there are no tee signs or direction on where to start.

If you play basket to basket, you are looking at a heck of a long trek back to where you started to get back to your car. This course is not even good for course bagging, as it takes too dang long to walk for some pretty awful golf.

All of the baskets sit very close to large, forested area. You run the risk of fading off into these bushes where there is a possibility of a lost disc or cut up arms from the thorns.
Other Thoughts: I almost gave this course a rating of .5 strictly on potential alone. The land presents itself for a decent, rec level course, which would be perfect for middle schoolers who attend this school. I gave it a 0.0, because it misses the mark in every single way.

If you are in College Station/Bryan playing every course, you might as well play here, but expect the worst disc golfing experience of your entire trip up to this area.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Is that even a course?

1    3/6/2019   3/6/2019
Review By: hawk12
Played: 271  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 30.6 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are baskets, nice Innova Discatchers...

The grass was mowed.

I guess the kids in school get exposed to the game, if the PT teacher has discs and could teach them, so that's a potential pro.... searching here for more nice things to say I guess.

That's about where the Pros end, sadly
Cons: Not sure if I played 'the course' or my own course, as no signage at all was present, no tee pads, or evidence of prior old tee pads was present.

The baskets were lined up kind of in a line around the edge of a field around a middle school and athletic fields, so when I got done I was a very long walk, back the same way I came in, so I played back to the previous basket each way, then that last basket was 'around the corner in a mowed area...
Other Thoughts: If I wasn't working 1/2 a mile down the road I would not have stopped, but I play everything I can when I travel for work.

This was a nice warm up area, with baskets, for the next course I played just a few miles away.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 A Long Trek For Some Bad Golf!

1    9/25/2017   9/26/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 42.9 Years
11 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: After reading the previous reviews, I am now convinced that I was playing in the correct clockwise direction around the outer perimeters of he school's property. I wasn't convinced this was the right direction as I played the course (baskets) last night. There are no signs. The nice Discatchers baskets aren't numbered. There are no tee pads.

For use by middle schoolers, this is a terrible design. The deep rough is ever present on the left side on holes 2, 5, 6, 7 and 8. They would forever be throwing hyser bombs into the woods. Experienced players might be able to avoid the thick wooded areas.

By the time you've walked all the way around this course only to end at the opposite side of the school, you'll probably be thinking, nevermore. I was.

Is # 8 a ridiculous hole for middle school students? Yes, it is. Do you expect these kids to play this big long sweeping hole around all this rough and not hyser into the thickness two of three times? I would like to watch good players throw tomahawks over the woods for birdies. Or watch Dave Feldberg throw his giant hyser bomb drive around the trees.

Cons: No signs.

No tee pads.

No numbers on baskets.

Too long for middle school students.

Too many chances to loss discs.

Doesn't loop.

Long walk for lousy golf. I guess if you wanted to, you could play this course backwards. Couldn't be much worse.
Other Thoughts: A few days back I played the Goodson Middle School course in Cypress. I found it to be a perfectly designed course for middle school students. This designer should talk to that designer who actually knows and understands 11-14 year olds.

I can't see this course getting much play. I predict it will fall into disrepair and become an eyesore. It's a waste of some good baskets.

11 of 11 people found this review helpful.

 Why bother

1    10/26/2016   10/27/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has real baskets
Fairways are mowed regularly
you will have the course to yourselves
Cons: No tee signs, first basket is a very long walk from the last basket
several holes are right after another for short holes
Other Thoughts: The ONLY reason to play here is work on your upshot name or make up safari holes as you go. The basket are space out going around the sports field and the school grounds.

I did the recommended playing basket to basket when playing

Hole 1 is a little birdie shot down the hill between the tennis courts and the baseball field.

Hole 2 throw along a jogging trail on the slope between the baseball fields and the forest. it is probably the longest hole on the course

Hole 3, we played from next to the baseball field fence to have a level tee, it was a fun downhill shot with the forest on the left and wide open to the right.

Hole 4 is over the edge of the rough to a nice hole on the side of a hill. You can't see the basket from #3 basket, but it is to the right of the hole in the rough.

The next set up holes are all 200 to 250 from basket to basket.

I do not remember there being a single tree in a fairway other than holes 3 on the left or throwing over the rough on #4

Not a big fan of the walk from hole 9 to the parking lot, specially after playing this horrible course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Jane Long Middle School Disc Golf Course

2-4    2/18/2016   2/18/2016
Review By: papabearvas79
Played: 15  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: First things first, this I think is primarily a course for beginners. Nice course for learning a few decent distances and curves if you need some practice in that area without losing too many of your favorite discs. Well manicured. Most chains are visible from the previous chain. Nice disccatcher chains appear fairly unused and in excellent condition. No water hazards visible. Again if your relatively inexperienced this comes in handy. It is around the backside of Jane Long Middle School football field outside their fenced areas so less likely to bother or be bothered by middle schoolers in practice. Most of the chains are fairly close to each other and not alot of long drives are needed. In fact its very possible to leave your distance drivers in your bag and play the entire course with your midrange's or even putters if you have a good enough throw. Even for beginners, advised to use midranges and putters for better learning possibilities.
Cons: Absolutely zero tee off markers and no idea of the range from hole to hole. I had to guess where the first hole began and to make it even a little challenging i had to start off near the parking lot. Too close to parking area for comfort really. Have to play chain to chain for every one after that. Lots of high grass and mildly dense trees surrounding one side of the entire course so for beginners its easy to lose a disc if you dont pay attention where you land. Recommended for midrange and putters so no need to use drivers which made me sad for I do love my drivers. Its in texas so winter hardly ever plays a factor for westher related inabilities to play but it is on school grounds and is expected to keep traffic to a minimum during school hours. Unfortunately the school is occupied well up to 5:30-6pm so for winter months it only gives you roughly an hr to review and learn the course before darkness steals your fun. (Unless you have some glowing discs in your arsenal, also fun) Extremely short course again so if your an experienced player you will get little enjoyment out of this course due to lack of difficulty so if you seek a challenge........look elswhere.
Other Thoughts: Overall im not displeased with the layout of the course personally. I find it challenging enough to bring the kids out and help them learn the game and if your there with your kids during school hrs your less likely to be run off. At least so far that is. Dog friendly however it is advised to pick up after your dog seeing as it is school grounds and police pressence is eminent. Don't ruin it for the rest of us. Pick up after your dog and keep it a pleasent experience for the rest of us please and thank you. All in all, clean course. Good sturdy disc catchers. I will probably speak with the school regarding rules for property and possibly tee markers in the future and post what i find out. Stay tuned. And play hard folks. Make us all look good. Peace.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.