St Albans, WV 
St. Albans City Park Share
Uploaded By: knettles Hole #16 (Taken 8/2015)
3 / --   -- / --   -- / --   -- / -- Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Some Steep Hiking, But still fun

2-4    3/27/2019   4/9/2019
Review By: williams363
Played: 49  Reviewed: 26  Exp: 5.1 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Mostly wooded; but some fun long throws mixed in there.

Pretty good paths through the woods to walk on.

Teepads are nice.

Cons: Could use some updates signs; many holes didn't have tee pads marked, but many did.

Easy to get a little lose going from 12 to 13. Again, could use some updated tee signs and next hole signs.

Trees man.....I don't hate them, but it makes it difficult.
Other Thoughts: I like this course. I've played it a few times. Some construction around 7 and 8 this last time. Had to walk the long way around. Mostly its in good shape, but could use a face lift. New signage would really increase its appeal.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Strap On Those Hiking Boots . Great Design

1    9/16/2018   9/19/2018
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 444  Reviewed: 72  Exp: 26.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I pulled into the parking lot on a Saturday evening and quickly realized that this course was going to take a couple of hours , So I returned the next morning . The park itself can be hard to find , even with the printed front page of the DG Course Review ( I had to ask a pizza delivery guy because they know where everything is , Thank You ). The first hole starts to the right of the front of the park pool . No kiosk present , but you can see the tee sign for this one . The signs are not always correct and can confuse even the more experienced disc golfer .The baskets , in very good shape , 2 tee pads per hole on about every one ( mostly gravel tees , but in need of a refill, and a couple of the early holes just have yellow painted logs for you to tee off in between ) , A lot of NEXT TEE signs to help navigate , which you will need , since I never found a course map online . The signs are the paper set in plastic type , nailed to a tree . Maybe also a piece of tape in the heart of the basket to help ? The first drive will not wrap around the woods to your right , in about 250-300' it will take you into it on your left . A nice pin placement up an embankment to a raised Innova basket . After your putt , you will do an about-face and walk the path behind you . your next drive will be a short right to left midrange shot to the basket . The course will give you the good old West Virginia hike all around the woods . You can feel a strong hint of Johnny Sias creation type lines on this course . A favorite hole of mine on this course is #7 , a 500'+ drive down into a level creek that will break slightly left , but more or less through tightening trees . If you aren't accurate , you could be throwing off behind trees , on either hillside , etc. The basket is hidden behind a small clump of trees slightly elevated from the creek . Classic . Coming off of that hole , you climb around construction to the other side of a road to start up again . Lots of creative up and down lines some tighter than others , but mostly fair , like #9 , a downhill drive through the trees , across a road , past another couple of trees with a canopy to block aggressive drives , to a wide open putting area , with a chain link fence surrounding it to the right . Pretty cool hole . The most treacherous hole will be #11 . You will throw your drive straight up a mountain of a hill , and make you curse the state you are in . The hill is so steep , and the course was wet from a rain a short time ago , that it is hard to attain any kind of footing for a second throw . The basket does sit in the middle of the hill , kind of in what looks like a large man-made fire pit . This is where I lost some time on the navigation flaws . One of the NEXT tee signs tells you to go to the path above you , left . If you stay left , you wind up next to houses in a couple of hundred yards . If you read this , merge left on the path , but turn right , near the top of the hill . These next few holes in the back of the park will bounce you around some , to tightly wooded straight shots , to a real nice drive through a wide enough fairway across a big ravine , basket is on the left , so you will have to break it pretty hard after around 250' . Another has a pin placement up a hill on the only level place to throw to . #16 would be my pick for a signature hole . It is a Top OF The World drive , kind of straight away , lots of rough and trees to your left and a big hillside and open part of the park on your left . There is a small pathway that leads to the basket , which is closely guarded by some trees , bounce off of them and risk rolling down the hill on your right . 17 is a long tunnel throw that moves you right to left , upwards through a row of trees and into weeds and plants to the basket , with small trees scattered in the open fairway . #18 is on your left , slightly behind you . It is your only shot to bomb one , straight ahead , wide open fairway into a valley , then up the hill , close to the parking lot . Hilly ? check . Creative ? check plus .But trying to play this after a rain ? Check , Please ! The course offers a lot , but you will have to create and shape your shots to score anything here . If you execute the lines that are given to you , and hit a minimum of trees , You will leave satisfied . Plenty of parking in the lot , but bathrooms might be a problem ( a port o let or 2 might be nice in the parking lot .
Cons: Disclaimer : Playing the course during or after a rain can be hazardous to your health . The course does offer a share of rough , but in small doses . The flipside to this is that it is so hilly and bare on the paths leading to the holes and from the tee pad to your drives , that you are sure to have mud on your hands , in your shoes , on your socks ( like me ) . The walk from 6 to 7 , especially , where it looks like construction work or a mudslide or something , took the path out . Signage is present , but lacking . I threw sometimes to blind holes that I didn't check out beforehand because of the mud and discovered it wasn't where I thought , AND THERE AREN'T MULTIPLE PINS TO FOOL YOU .....Even when dry , these paths and hills are hard to navigate ( #11 ) , ascend and descend . Throwing across roads and paths on long drives . A lot of people use this park , either just driving through or walking dogs or jogging . Please be aware . . Alban City Parks ,,,,, Have an employee or disc golf club member walk the course and draw up a map to put in the DGR site ! The holes have no trash receptacles and no benches , which is okay with me since I don't think that this course gets the amount of traffic that it should ( I walked through a lot of spider webs ) Carry in and carry out . There is a putting basket near #1 , but it sits in the fairway of hole #1 ( ? ) .I know that this course has only been around since 2015 , but the City of St. Albans and the park board need to make a decision to either put some time and effort into making this the course that it is supposed to be , by installing some steps , putting realistic signs in , dropping wood chips into some fairways , and promoting the course , or turn it over to a club and make it a pitch and putt in a small unused space in the park . St Albans , make the RIGHT choice .
Other Thoughts: A classy area design on typical West Virginia hills , a nice park , plenty of woods holes , What else could you ask for ! ? If the locals are shying away from here on the weekends , then there must be something . I played on a Sunday morning and literally saw one guy waiting for his buddies to play at the start of the course when I was finishing . I played Coonskin Park right after this and saw over 50 . If you are in the area or a local & it hasn't rained lately I wouldn't urge you to play this course , but I wouldn't dissuade you , either . If you couple this course with maybe Redeemer or Barboursville , then go ahead and play it . Heck , it's a free course . I am giving it a 3 only because of the design and nothing else .

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Very Hilly, but fun course

1    4/10/2017   4/11/2017
Review By: sloshed
Played: 21  Reviewed: 11
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -good use of available space and terrain
-Holes are technical, but there is a clear fairway on most
-both tee boxes on each hole give a completely different look at hole
-trails were very clear of underbrush
-there was some signage
-tee pads are a mix of gravel and dirt, but in good condition
Cons: -very, very hilly
-signage could be better
-while the tee boxes were good for dirt/gravel, would like to see concrete or mats
-like the use of the woods, but know that every hole but one is at least semi technical.
Other Thoughts: I thought this was a fun course to play. Why not extremely long, it is very hilly. Every hole but three is heavily wooded and two of the three still have trees covering half of it. This one would be a tough hike for anyone not in shape, or on an extremely hot day.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 St Albans Beheading

1    12/31/2015   1/4/2016
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 219  Reviewed: 196  Exp: 12.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two sets of gravel tees per hole with a tee sign and Discatcher basket. Red is the long and Blue is the short which is backwards from most courses. Navigation is ok for the most part.
Cons: Only one loop of holes back to parking lot. Poison ivy vines galore on holes 1-6, didn't notice much elsewhere. Course can be muddy. Hole 11 is the steepest climb I've ever encountered and borders on the ridiculous. The terrain is simply too steep in places for beginners and many players may not be physically able to traverse it. Some holes could use some more legit fairways.
Other Thoughts: St Albans City course like it's namesake saint is about to be beheaded - by the historical society this time around, rather than the British Romans. Hole 7 which is probably the signature hole playing down the ravine has already had the basket moved once because it was too close to the cave. I've heard say that holes 1-7 may need to be completely redesigned because of some protected flowers. This could be a blessing in disguise though as Holes 1-6 were my least favorites, mostly short tight tunnels, although I liked the basket positions.
Holes 8, 9, 10, 15 and 16 were some of my favorites and the rest left something more to be desired IMO.

Overall I'd say the course is good, but it's not for beginners or the weak, nor is it a championship pro style course, nor an epic style course.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Best in Charleston area

1    12/29/2015   12/29/2015
Review By: JBryant
Played: 107  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 10.2 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Great Innova baskets
-Challenging mix of shots needed
-Punishes you for bad throws
-Pushes you to a new level
-Mostly decent teepads
-Championship caliber from the longs
Cons: It still needs some grooming just like Wine Cellar and Coonskin. I love wooded. I love challenging. I just love fair. They don't call them 'fairways' because you have a thousand trees and no real line or lines.

Treacherous climbs and slippery slopes in some spots. This isn't necessarily a bad thing, but if you don't like a hike, don't play anywhere in WV let alone here. :)
Other Thoughts: The layout of this course is fantastic. However, I started on hole 10 as my hole 1. This to me, played best and provided a great round of disc golf. This makes hole 9 my finishing hole and a great one at that. Again, this course still needs some trimming and tree cutting IMO, including hole 9 among others. BUT, this course is top notch West By God Virginia DG.

Like the previous reviewer said: As it gets some grooming, and I hope it does, this course is easily a 4.5 and rivals the best WV has to offer.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Monster in the Making

2-4    8/16/2015   8/21/2015
Review By: knettles
Played: 116  Reviewed: 25  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Most importantly, great design.
-Utilizes terrain and foilage to give a completely wooded course good variety from hole to hole.
-Holes are tight, but still have fairways.
-Short and long tees offer a moderate to intense challenge.
-Regrind tees are flat, large, and provide good traction :)
-Innova Discatchers are easy to spot in the woods.
Cons: -Some of the rough off the fairways is super thick. Not a big deal, just keep an eye on your disc.
-Only one "open" hole on the course, so if you like wide open bombs, this one's lacking.
-This doesn't affect my rating, but just a heads up to you all about the poison ivy.
Other Thoughts: This is the brand newest course in the area, and it's super exciting to finally see it take hold. It's been in the making for at least three years now, had a few road blocks, and is finally here!

Even though I generally prefer courses that have a more even mixture of open and wooded holes, this one makes up for that in design. For me personally, there are alot of memorable holes that I look forward to playing. There is a ton of terrain involved, but thankfully, there's only one super steep uphill hole. The short tees (as of writing this are still being finished) provide a challenging round that is still accessible to intermediate players, while the longs will really test your game.

I think as this course gets worn in more and the minor underbrush gets trampled, it will really start to shine (more so than it already does).

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.