Huntsville, AL 
Southside Park Share
Uploaded By: cumurph Hole #13 (Taken 12/2015)
3 / 219ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
I thought this was the fancy-pantsy side of town

2-4    3/29/2018   3/30/2018
Review By: wericsson
Played: 48  Reviewed: 43  Exp: 5.5 Years
This review was updated on 4/19/2018
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Concrete tees, new Discatchers, and a sweet course map (shoutout to wellsbranch250) that should make navigation pretty straightforward. A fair mixture of distances, from sub-200 to 454 feet.

Although I'm pretty certain I recall the original version of one hole throwing right at a power substation, this has been rectified, and so now the only safety issue is a remote possibility of throwing over the fence into a little-trafficked dog park.

One or two really solid technical plays (hole 8), and a few other challenging shots.
Cons: Holds water, mud, etc., even in summer, but especially in winter/spring. Worse than any other course I can think of, include a couple which are liable to actually flood. Hole 9 is the worst offender, along with about ten others. The mud also hides ant hills here and there. Ants are fine. Invisible ant bombs aren't.

The open holes are pretty dead open, and on the wooded holes, fairway width seems to have a strong negative correlation with width, so that the 190-foot ace runs have huge, excessive fairways that contrast sharply with the longer woods holes, which are this course's saving grace (but nothing close to competing with Monte Sano or Mastin). As one previous reviewer pointed out, the greatest elevation change, aside from a little two or three foot knob with a basket on top, is the distance your foot will sink into the mud.

Kinda unappealing visually, what with the power lines, mud, etc.

Tee signs are made too nicely (materials-wise) to be so poorly drawn.
Other Thoughts: Part of what makes this course seem so unappealing is the fact that Huntsville is loaded with good courses: Monte Sano on the technical side, Indian or UAH on the long "golf holes" side, Brahan for a party, etc. This one unfortunately tends to get a harder pass than it might otherwise because of that.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disc Golf Dedicated Space

5+    9/8/2018   12/22/2017
Review By: wellsbranch250
Played: 326  Reviewed: 311  Exp: 4.9 Years
This review was updated on 9/8/2018
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: (2.197 Rating) (REVISED - replayed September 2018) A recreational course with a mix of completely open thru heavily wooded holes.
- DGC SPACE ONLY - One of my favorite things about this city park course is not having to deal with other park patrons. There are no walking paths or roads that wind through this layout. Also, there are no adjacent ball fields either. This place is a disc golf dedicated space.
- ACEABILITY - This course is probably the easiest to ace in the Huntsville area. The first four holes are all sub 225 foot mild technical plays. I could see a local Recreational player having multiple aces a year here. I personally have one ace on #5 and have only played 21 recorded rounds here as of this revision.
- SKILL LEVEL FRIENDLY - This course is going to work really well for the local beginner threw intermediate level player whom make up a majority of the disc golf community. There are some short technical plays and a few wide open bomber holes for those that max out at 375. No water hazards and the odds of actually losing a disc is really low.
- QUICK TO PLAY - One of the quicker 18s to play. The course is definitely on the short side and the hole to hole walks are generally less than one hundred feet. I've done solo rounds out here in less than 40 minutes and have also done a five person night round in just over two hours. Figure a group of four with daylight should be in and out in 90 minutes.
- NIGHT GOLF - This is an ideal night golf course. Spacious fairways, only moderate overgrowth, no water hazards in play and lots of locals with glow tape and blacklight flashlights. I have personally participated in a winter night glow league here.
- TEES - 5 foot by 10 foot concrete tees that are in great condition.
- CHAINS - DISCatchers that are in great condition.
- NAVIGATION - A few issues but overall it's not too bad. New course map on site, but there is lots of missing hole signage. From speaking with the local players I've heard stories that kids have stolen them but also that that they were so poorly made that they fell apart

Cons: Substantial drainage issues with Southside and it also won't challenge skilled players like several other area courses.
- DRAINAGE - This course does not drain well. 14 of my 21 rounds out here I have had to deal with flooded fairways. Normally I like to point out which holes are the worst offenders, but there are just so many locations that puddle up. (14) and (15) are the only holes that have been dry every time. I recommend bringing waterproof boots during the Winter. This is the first and only course I have ever deducted my score for drainage. The ponding is just so bad that it's an unusable course for half the year for all but the crazies. Yes, I consider myself a crazy.
- LACK OF CHALLENGE - Advanced level players are going to be very underwhelmed by this course. Other than perhaps hole (7), an advanced player should have them all birdied after 4 or 5 rounds. Intermediate players should be 6 to 7 down routinely. There are several woodsy holes, but only hole (8) is over 250 feet.
- ELEVATION - The flattest course in Huntsville. Hole (5) has a basket on a 3 foot high mound and it's the most notable elevation change here.
- UNIQUENESS - Below average. In addition to being flat, it's an all par 3 layout that has hole lengths varying from around 150 feet to 450 feet. Just prior to my initial review post, the hole data on DGCR listed hole (7) as a par 4 at 550 feet, but the hole was altered from the initial design along with (6) to help prevent discs from going over the power station fence. Another missing element is water, except for standing casual water, (see cons, drainage.) The course does however have a split mix of open to wooded holes
- CHARACTER - As stated in the pros, the basic are done well with nice tees and baskets. However after these core items there really isn't much else here that helps set it apart from every other smaller city park course. No extra tees or basket placements. No practice basket or community board. Lots of missing tee signs, but new tee signs I've heard are in the works and a new test tee sign is in place on (2). There are a few sporadic seating areas and garbage cans.
- RAW BEAUTY - A adequately maintained course but overall it lacks the natural grace like that of area courses Monte Sano, Redstone or Indian Creek. A few too many open holes and there are massive power lines running through the layout. I scored the course a 1.875 out of 5 for beauty.

Other Thoughts: Nothing too special about Southside Park as it grades out as a strong 2. I kind of wish I could assign it a 2.25. The perfect little course for residents on the southern end of Huntsville. Worth a look see at least once if you live in the Huntsville metro area or perhaps more often for those still hunting for their a first ace. For those outside of the area, the first go to course should be Indian Creek. Redstone Arsenal is another good first choice for those with military access.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Huntsville's disc golf scene should be way too mature for this to be their newest course.

2-4    7/31/2016   8/13/2016
Review By: GMcAtee
Played: 447  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice new Innova baskets, concrete tee pads, plenty of parking, can be played very quickly. Bad shots can be punished with a lost disc.

There is one long technical wooded hole. Can't recall which hole # it is.
Cons: Wooded holes are extremely short. Long holes are extremely open and void of trees.

Not too much challenge here. I'm a Rec rated player and shot 10 under par twice, once in leagues. Not challenging enough to keep bringing me back.
Other Thoughts: I've heard the park holds water, but has been dry both times I've played it. This course may be better shrunk down to 9 holes by combining several of the pitch and putt holes and eliminating some boring open holes. Then use the extra 9 baskets somewhere else.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

  Lots of standing water after rain

1    12/2/2015   12/2/2015
Review By: cumurph
Played: 73  Reviewed: 1
This review was updated on 5/24/2016
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice playing in and out of trees. It is about 1/2 open and 1/2 in trees. 15 is fun with basket surrounded by trees. It has rough concrete pads, and signage at every pad. It is the only course in SE Huntsville, so nice to have something close to home for me.

A lot of the low spots, on the holes in the woods, have fresh dirt filling in them. Also, there is gravel being placed around the tee pads. (Thank you to whoever is doing that!)
Cons: In the winter, the standing water is horrible. High top boots, or rubbers would be the footwear of choice. Water can get several inches deep. Hole 9 is the worst with a large "pond'' in the middle of it. There is no easy way around it. 16 is similar, but if you go through the brush and brier on the left, you can keep your feet dry.

At least a 1/4 of the tee signs have fallen off their poles, and the course is almost new.

No bridge to hole one.
Other Thoughts: I think the course has good potential, just the standing water makes it not so fun, if you don't have water proof shoes.

Great baskets, but the yellow paint is already flaking off. Weird for new baskets.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Honest and Fair

5+    9/10/2015   9/11/2015
Review By: Wademade1
Played: 63  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 41.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Trying to provide a fair and honest review for a course that is well layed out for the limited land that was provided. And for the amount of work a handful of individuals have placed into creating this course - KUDOS to each of you.

Still struggling with the amount of land the city designated as a dog park. It has to be the largest dog park I have ever seen. Not sure I would let my dog off a leash inside that area. That aside, here are my thoughts:

Things I like about the course:
1) Good mix of wooded and open holes with both lefty and righty holes.

2) Not too long, so a beginning player wanting to learn the sport will be able to enjoy the course.

3) Baskets are mounted well (Level and right heights), Tee signs on every hole (have one issue here but will explain below)

4) A ton of work has been done on clearing out underbrush and small trees in an area that might have been one of the roughest areas to clear I have seen to date.

5) Location- Huntsville needed another course and having another one on the south side of town is a plus.
Cons: Things I don't like:
1) Even on a dry day this is a very swampy area with a lot of wet/muddy wetland type areas.

2) lots of holes that need to be filled in with dirt from removed trees I am guessing. A few ankle breakers out there if you are not careful.

3) The fence on the Dog Park comes into play on 3 holes and if you are not careful or on a windy day you may end up over the tall fence. It requires a very long walk to a gate and then a very long walk back to retrieve a disc that may or may not be easily found due to the growth of grass and bushes in the dog park.
Hole 18 can be tough.

4) TVA / HSV Utilities power lines, Power Grid and poles can all come into play. Basket 5 was shortened and moved yesterday because a few discs were landing inside the grid fence. CAUTION that area is restricted and you will set off an alarm if you enter the area. Also with 40-50k volts running through that area it is possible for power to arch to you and kill someone. DO NOT ENTER for a lost disc, not worth losing your life over.

5) Parking. Most of the locals have been parking along the road near hole one.No designated parking area, and no gravel or concrete for parking. Maybe something we could discuss with the city. As of now there is not a sign that designates where the DG Course starts or even where hole 1 is located, but that may be coming in the near future.

6) Mosquitos - Due to the amount of standing water, but what course doesn't have a bug issue when there is standing water. When the grass is high in the field, watch where you step because you are liable to get your feet soaked in areas that hold water.

7) Tee pads - Hopefully in the future there will be some dirt build up around the concrete pads. They are not level with the ground currently.

8) Signage - Distances are off, so don't depend on the signs for your throw.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a fun course. Several ACE runs, and few holes to open up your arm. Concrete tee pads are being poured this morning (9/11/15) for the remainder of holes that do not have them installed.

Bathrooms are available at the playground and dog park parking area.

My one hope was that Aldridge creek would have come into play on some of the holes. But since the dog park takes up about as much land as the DG course, it was not possible.

Considering renting a wood chipper if someone had a 4 wheeler that could pull it around, it would be great to take all of the trees laid up in piles and provide a base for the fairways.

Thank you to those who donated garbage cans. Special thanks to John Chamness for the effort put into making this course come to life. I'm sure there are many others who have helped.

Wish we could get the city to consider a course at Ditto Landing with all the new plans that are being established. There is a great potential site on the south side of the harbor in the picnic area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.