Appomattox, VA 
Elk Creek DGC Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #4
3 / 130ft.   3 / 181ft.   3 / 293ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #4 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 19
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Abandoned?

2-4    8/16/2018   8/16/2018
Review By: mshelton
Played: 82  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 17.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Really nice wooded layout with good shot shaping
Cons: Tee signs show long, mid and short tee locations, I never saw a long and only 3 short tee markers
Tee pads are a little narrow and in need of care
Bathrooms were locked as well as the water spigot, no pooping or hydrating on Appomatox Co watch!
Course seems to be abandoned
Other Thoughts: I played this course about 7 years ago on a trip through the area, really liked it and remembered thinking that the course was designed around a Buzzz, just seemed like a majority of the holes fit what could be easily done with one.

Stopped in today to check it out and yep, still has the Buzzz flight feel but it's in need of some help. There are a good amount of trees down and some in the middle of the fairway, from the looks of them they have been down a while. Lots of debris in the fairways, skipped hole 16 which is the only hole in the open because the grass was 2' tall and I didn't feel like losing a disc in the fairway. I guess they just quit mowing it.

The whole course felt weird, like it just hadn't been played in a long time, things were growing up where they would normally be tramped down, dead limbs and such littering the fairways, a lot of the baskets covered in spiderwebs. I didn't hardly see any empty beer and Monster energy cans, the calling card of everyone's favorite disc golfer variety.

I don't know what's going on, this was and still could be a great little course. Maybe all the newer courses around Liberty are attracting the people that used to play here. Maybe in the hyzer huck era no one wants to play wooded courses any more, beats me, just sad that what I remember as a great little course looks to be going to ruin.

If you're passing through and like wooded courses, check it out, it needs to be played, skip 16 and play 1 twice or something, give it some love.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Woods!

2-4    9/4/2013   9/14/2013
Review By: JMcCon
Played: 15  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 18.2 Years
Pros: -Good lay out.
-Challenge though an all wooded course other than two holes.
-Nice park.
-Multiple tees from beginner to pro.
-Hole 10 comes back to where you start hole 1 so, if you wanted to just do half the course you could.
Cons: -Baskets can be hard to spot sometimes they need to put some kind of bright colors on them, like the disc catchers have the bright yellow rim.
-Pro tees can be hard to find.
-Hole 16 can be bad when its not cut (open field).
Other Thoughts: Over all good course and you should try it out if you havnt played here before.

  Elk Creek

1    5/26/2013   6/1/2013
Review By: gbnbrb123
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.6 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Course was very well laid out. Plenty of hooks and crannies to work on technique and distance. Made par or just slightly above par on just above every hole, so may be a little too friendly for some in the scoring. Easy to navigate to next hole, and nicely shaded from the summer sun. Didn't think the course was as tough as others had stated compared to Liberty or Walnut Creek Park.
Cons: Not much here except hard to find the long tees, don't think my buddy and I found one. Earlier review was right about the grass being pretty high on one hole. Better tee design would bump this up to a 4.5.
Other Thoughts: If you want a good challenge without being ridiculously hard and hitting every tree like Liberty's course I would give this one a shot. I thought even if you made a mistake there was always someway to find an exit instead of hitting several trees. Thought the course was very fun and would recommend it to anyone.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging Woods Course

5+    9/23/2012   12/10/2012
Review By: ntguthrie
Played: 103  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 11.2 Years
This review was updated on 3/26/2016
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Course flows very nicely, there are two 9-hole loops that start/end at picnic shelter. A practice basket is located at the entrance.
- Lots of variety on hole design. There's a good mix of left/right turning holes, several short par 3s but also some longer par 4/5s.
- Great use of elevation on some holes (eg. 5, 11, 15).
- Gravel tee pads are in good shape, nothing fancy but they do the job.
Cons: - Course is very wooded, only one true wide open hole. If your accuracy if off by much it could make for a long round. Holes 12-14 are longer wooded holes that can be especially rough.
- Hole 16 (the only open hole) plays through a field that doesn't appear to be mowed often. On one occasion I played through waist-high grass, which is no fun.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of the more enjoyable courses in the area. Can be very challenging/frustrating to play, most of the course consists of fairly tight wooded shots. Great test for your midrange game.

Favorite holes are 3, 11, 15 and 16.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Tight and Turning

1    4/17/2011   4/19/2011
Review By: swatso
Played: 625  Reviewed: 387  Exp: 11.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Even sans any type of map, this course was a cinch to navigate, with a very natural flow, with branch-lined mulched paths leading from the baskets to the next tees.
Cons:
(Cons - or should I say extreme challenge?) The long, tree-filled, sharp right-turning trio-of-doom that is holes 12-14.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays up, down, and across several slopes of gently undulating land dedicated to disc golf. Hitting fair-to-tight throwing lanes carved through collections of small and mid-sized hardwoods is the omnipresent challenge you'll find here.

Fairy even blend of left-/right-turners needed off the tee, with most of the lefts on the front nine, and most of the rights on the back nine. Playing from the middle tees, most turns were needed at about the midpoint between the tee and basket. Very few straight shots needed from the tee.

The course starts and ends behind the pavilion across from the first parking lot. Two nine-hole clockwise loops, with a practice basket between tees 1 and 10.

Informative signs at the middle (black) 4x8 tees, which were filled with a dirt/gravel mixture. Short (red) tees, marked by an in-ground board with a bit of red paint, were easy to find, but only managed to find a few of the long (blue) tees, also marked with a painted in-ground board.

Favourite hole: #4, one of the longer ones at 400', initially starts down an alley, then needing a bit of left fade into a small glade, in order to have an open approach to the basket, downhill a bit and in the woods. Too far left or right in the glade, and you'll have many small trees to work around.

Least favourite (overly challenging?) hole: #12, the most terrible of the trio. Need to exit a narrowing funnel ~200' away, then turn hard right, to find a couple of ~150' walking paths to a jailed basket location.

If you prefer grip-n-rip and/or have an aversion to trees, do NOT play this course. If, however, you prefer them tight and turning, come by for a challenge, especially when you reach 11-15.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Nice woods and elevation changes

2-4    3/10/2010   10/25/2010
Review By: Olorin
Played: 411  Reviewed: 115  Exp: 40.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Design
*Excellent elevation changes- every hole is up or down with some Up-Down-Ups and Down-Up-Downs thrown in.
*Terrain- the woods are very scenic. I really felt out in nature and away from it all
*Fairway shape variety- lots of curves. The Black layout has 7 Left, 8 Right, and 1 S shape with only 2 straight.
*A little water with a stream in play on 2 holes
*Figure 8 design with front and back nine loops that both end near the parking lot.

Basics
*3 sets of tees on most holes
*Tee signs are pretty good. Metal, with a map including each tee and the next tee.
*Black tees are the main course and made of concrete. Blue and Red tees are natural

Amenities
*The course has a warm up basket, a basic message board that isn't used much, and some benches.
Cons:
-Some Blue tees were impossible to find, if they even exist, so I gave up on them on a few holes
-The design of a few Blue fairways require short fluky drives just to get back to the main fairway, without being able to get to the basket
-A couple of the fairways are just a little too tight.
-Many pars on the tee signs are goofy; they're just a feel good Rec par. e.g.- par 4s on the Red tees of 290, 170, 205; par 5s on the Black tees of 365, 355, 490; par 5s on the Blue tees of 400, 445, 400...
Other Thoughts:
Blue tees Course Level = Blue (most suited for Advanced players rated 925-975)
Black tees Course Level = White (most suited for Intermediate players rated 875-925)
Red tees Course Level = Red (most suited for Juniors and Intermediate players rated 825-875)

My favorite hole: 11, a very scenic, fun, and challenging downhill shot with a creek that plays all down the right side.

~There's decent length variety. The Black tees have 2 <199/ 8 of 200-299/ 6 of 300-399/ 2 of 400-490
~Because of all the woods there are tons of leaves in the Fall, so it's quite easy to lose a disc. Make sure to watch your disc carefully. This gets a little old, but it comes with a wooded course.
~The Red tees are marked with landscape timber and a red mark.
~Someday it would be nice to have a map of the course. There's a long written walk through, but that's a little tedious to use.

All in all, if you like woods courses then this is a good choice. With lots of elevation changes, good fairway shapes, and 3 sets of tees it's a fun course. I'll go back whenever I can.

NOTE: Look in the "Links/Files" section for my files with Hole-by-hole evaluations, and a more detailed Overall review. You can also read more of my review philosophy and rating notes at Disc Golf Course Reviews

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Elk Creek

5+    10/15/2010   10/19/2010
Review By: Bamm
Played: 108  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9.6 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tight course. Well shaded for those really hot days. Almost completely wooded so you're not out there just slinging your arm off. A real shot makers course. Nicely kept up and very good signage.
Cons: If you have little patience, you might want to chill out before playing this course. Almost every hole we heard "good deal, nice throw" and about that time, TREE! They seem to jump out of nowhere and smack down even the best of throws, but hey, that's part of the game, right? Please put in some trash cans guys....
Other Thoughts: I would call this my home course. I love to play it and playing amongst all these trees helps your game immensely at other courses. Play it, you'll come back..

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    9/25/2010   10/14/2010
Review By: stsiler
Played: 30  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 14.2 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: - A moderately difficult, mostly wooded course.
- Tee shots and fairways require accuracy but are not unreasonably tight.
- Very little underbrush - difficult to loose discs.
- Course flows extremely well from basket to next tee.
- Nice tee signs located at each tee box.
Cons: N/A
Other Thoughts:
Score Breakdown:
Variety:3 Balance:3 Strategy:4 Character:3 Fun:4 Avg: 3.4

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Not for Beginers

1    7/8/2010   7/8/2010
Review By: Han_Tzu
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.6 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: It is a very pretty area and easily located. The Tee signs are very nice. Although very wooded it is near impossible to loose a disc. Not much in the way of underbrush. A nice range of hole hyzers, anhyzers, tunnel, s curves. Three different length tee boxes. To pitch from the red tees would be best for beginners like me. I chose to do Black and definitely suffered for it. Easy access to play front nine or just the back nine if so desired. From were you park hole one shoots left and hole nine shoots away from the parking lot.
Cons: So many trees!!! I have no problem with playing a technical course but with one hole after another of dodging trees you get worn out quick both physically and mentally. The tee boxes are well worn graves that could use to be flipped to concrete slabs. Intimidating to a beginner.
Other Thoughts: So many trees!!! I have no problem with playing a technical course but with one hole after another of dodging trees you get worn out quick both physically and mentally. The tee boxes are well worn graves that could use to be flipped to concrete slabs. Intimidating to a beginner.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Elk Creek

2-4    7/5/2010   7/5/2010
Review By: w8nforhim
Played: 75  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 10.9 Years
This review was updated on 8/26/2010
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is very well designed. The layout is superb, with the front nine as well as the back nine ending up right back where you start, that way if you only want to play one or the other, it's very simple. The course markers were pretty accurate and let you know where to throw when you couldn't see the basket.

16 of the 18 holes are in the woods, and yet if you throw decent shots, you always have a chance at par or better. The woods were thinned perfectly, making lost discs irrelevant.

Great course to play on a hot day, as it is almost entirely in the shade. Also a great place to practice your finesse with soft throws where direction often plays more into it than force.
Cons: The course could use a trash can or two at the start where the picnic tables are located.

The field on 16 was not mowed, but it was not impossibly thick. Still easy to find your disc.

I had a couple issues with some holes being par 3 or par 4, when they should have been the opposite.
Other Thoughts: A must-play course for beginners and pros alike. The course is definitely a challenge, with trees seeming to magnetically draw your discs towards them. However, the course was not impossible. The paths between holes were well beaten down and easy to follow.
Favorite holes:
7-- An excellent eagle opportunity if you get a great 1st shot off the steep hill and over the gully.
The hole with the bridge down below is definitely well designed and a delightful challenge (I nailed the creek bed both times I played it!)

16: one of two open shots outside of the woods and a great chance to just wing the disc as far as you can!

Overall, a great course. I will definitely be back!

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.