Millersville, MD 
Kinder Farms Park Share
Uploaded By: jpinsky Hole #9 (Taken 8/2017)
3 / 147ft.   3 / 205ft.   3 / 260ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #9 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 9
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Not quite a jewel

1    11/16/2019   11/22/2019
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 36  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 1.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lovely farm setting even if the course itself is rather cramped. Bad foot and all, I enjoyed traipsing through the farm to get to the course.

Course hardware (tees, baskets) seem to be in overall good shape. Three tees and two baskets (every hole? Not sure) offers fun and reasonable challenge for every level of player.

There are some good holes here. I think the best are holes 1, 5, 6, 8, 12, 14...
Cons: However, many are too cramped upon themselves or not tremendously different from the hole before it.

There is no tee sign at no. 3 which has its pads close to no. 5's. Distinct confusion if this is your first outing.

Fall leaf carpet probably a bit too thick now and in need of a leaf blower. I temporarily lost a disc under the leaves on no. 7. So too players in front of me on Day no. 2 (read on) on holes 10 and 16. One found his but the other could not find his after much looking. Some of us stopped to help.

The course is very popular and, because also rather cramped, it gets crowded. There was a severe traffic jam on my Day 2 outing. I replayed some holes from Day 1 just to get further back in the train where there were fewer folks.
Other Thoughts: Yes, I played the 18 holes over two days. Some how I managed to find the old-format map online versus the current format. Had printed the latter (is black and white) but managed not to pack the paper in my bag (frown). Was hopelessly turned around and wasted too much time looking for the next hole. Needed to meet/overnight with friends in the area, so gave up and came again the next morning with the current map.

This course reminds me of Burke Lake in Fairfax County, VA. Also very popular and cramped. One will always play it because it does have some good holes and the overall scene is pretty, but they both could do with redesigns that space out the holes more and potentially lengthen some of the shorter, narrower fairways.

Kinder is a keeper though. Just not quite a jewel.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Nice Course

1    3/4/2017   3/8/2017
Review By: dandther
Played: 45  Reviewed: 18  Exp: 44.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I enjoyed our round at Kinder Farms. Highlights:
-Good variety in the hole layouts, which means no real advantage to a single type of shot off the tee.
-I really liked some of the more open holes. They used the landscape and scattered trees well.
-I liked the different tee options on most (all?) of the holes.
-The baskets are really good. Can't remember the brand. I especially like that each one had the hole number on top.
-I loved the 18th hole. After all the holes through the woods, you are challenged with a long open uphill hole. Into a strong wind the day we were there.
-Navigation arrows on the baskets helped, since I'm from out of town and have never played here before.
Cons: Things I didn't like as much:
-The signs at the tees didn't give a lot of information showing where the basket might be. This wasn't as big of an issue in early March, but when the leaves come in, many of the baskets will be completely hidden from the tees.
-I'm not a fan of as many heavily wooded holes as this course has, but that's my personal preference. Also, having complained about this, I'll say that I really liked the way the woods are used on several of these holes, so this ends up not being much of a criticism.
-The tees are slick. I'd love to see concrete.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed our early spring round on this course. I'll be back in the summer, and we'll probably play again, though I'll be sure to bring bug spray to protect myself from what surely will be a haven for ticks.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Great up and coming course with a nice DG hearbeat and vibe

1    10/15/2016   10/16/2016
Review By: MarkNizzle
Played: 16  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 9.9 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Kinder Farm Disc Golf Course Plays in a beautiful park with that is well kept and offers a variety of activities besides DG. The Course offers a good mix of open/wooded holes with elevation changes. I also like that there is multiple pin placements that will require all shots along with adding replay value. I recall throwing BH, FH, Rolllers from the tee, and escaping trouble with tomahawks, thumbers, cut rollers in the wooded holes in my only round. Most Baskets were Mach 5's and in great condition. The baskets had an arrow sign pointing you to the next tee making navigation easy.

Notes on Holes:
About 1/3 of the course is open the other 2/3 play in the woods, that being said: I think this is a course you need to start out strong from the jump because the wooded holes will require a sharp game and some luck to score well. I like that the first two holes are short but technical, giving you some time to warm the arm before cutting loose. Memorable holes to me were 1,4,6,14,18. Id say the signature hole here is either 4 or 18. There is something about Hole #4, having two lanes out of the woods while looking downhill at a basket that sits behind a bunch of large trees from the teepad tempting you to go all out on a Roller. Hole 18 is also nice to see after playing many wooded holes there it sits on top of the hill in an open field allowing you to cut loose on it with no worries about going OB or hitting a tree.
Cons: Teepads: I know pavers are being installed here soon. With that being said: some of the holes could really benefit from a level solid teepad, hole 6 comes to mind and the wooded holes also.

Signage: Updated signage indicating the pins, its current position, and measurements, OB etc. would give this course a nice finishing touch to its redesign.
Other Thoughts: The Facebook page for the Kinder Farm Disc Golf club has a lot of activity and provides useful information on the course. On the FB page you can get news for weekly leagues and course maintenance days by the Club.

Design Ideas:
Hole 5 would be cool if it was elevated on a pyramid or something adding some character to this open hole.

A Basket suspended from a tree in the woods would be a cool placement idea hole #14 maybe?

I rate this course a 3.5 today, but it could easily become one of MD's best with the work that's going into it. With a $6 park entrance fee i feel the bar for this course is set high on the level of Patapsco.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course That Still Needs Work

2-4    9/24/2016   9/26/2016
Review By: terptwerp
Played: 9  Reviewed: 9
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nice mix of open and wooded holes. Also a decent mix of somewhat long and short holes.

The wooded holes are removed from the park. I saw deer on three separate occasions.
Cons: Most holes did not have tee pads. Fortunately conditions were dry when I played. Minimal signage. There are no signs for most holes, which makes it difficult to know where to go and throw especially without tee pads.
Other Thoughts: Overall this is a nice course. If tee pads get poured and signs are installed, this will be a 4 star course.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Good, Watch out for $6 entry fee can be avoided

1    5/8/2016   5/20/2016
Review By: DiscBaltimore
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Mostly smart holes, well designed course.
Was it very good shape. No long grass and mostly clear tee signs. Playing blind my group did not get lost.
Some nice long holes to challenge and a few birdies to grab also.
Cons: Not many. Some space sharing for 1st hole, but its not bad and people seemed to respect the course.
Other Thoughts: Good course. Willl return. Well worth the 30min trip.
NOTE You can park near the baseball fields and walk around to avoid the parking fee. Its very easy.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Amazing course

2-4    2/27/2016   3/1/2016
Review By: pmorgan1214
Played: 46  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 8.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I traveled to Baltimore and got the chance to play this wonderful course. This course is located in a beautiful park that has nice hills and terrain for a disc golf course.

From what I read this course just got redesigned and a lot of hard work making this a top course in the area.

This course makes you bring out every shot in your bag. Forehand, backhand, skip shots power shots and tight shots.

Pros for the course

1. Fun challenging disc golf lines
2. baskets- most are mach 5 baskets but some are older but catch well.
3. pretty sure there is bathrooms up by the park as water at the bathrooms.
4. the use of the terrain and the area that you are in. requires a lot of accuracy and a lot of power. a challenge for all player skill levels.
Cons: There are quite a few cons to the course right now that I think will affect it from being a top rated course. However since they have redesigned this course from a 9 hole course, they have done an amazing job.

1. pads- The pads that are being installed right now are carpet. I still cringe at a photo on our disc golf page of what carpet can do if your foot gets caught in it. huge negative but they are trying to put in concrete.

2. signs- this is a pretty big one for right now but they are working on it. The original signs are on the front 9 and make it easier to know where you are throwing.

3. walkers- not sure how much pedestrians walk down the middle of the course when your playing but the back 9 I had 4 people walking down the middle of the fairway. possibility of hitting someone.
Other Thoughts: Overall the course was in great shape for them just redesigning it. They had logs in around the tee pads in the back 9 which was a nice touch. The design of the course made it fun and enjoyable for anyone looking to get a nice round of disc golf in.

Overall I would totally give this course a 4.0, This course requires your top A game to get a 54 which I did not do my 3 rounds that I played here. There is a ton of potential for this to be a top course in the state. Add some nice pads, tee signs and this course is in the top 100 easily.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Awesome Renovation

1    9/27/2015   9/29/2015
Review By: JDYingling0825
Played: 10  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The new renovation to the existing course adds 9 more holes in the wooded area adjacent to the original course offering tight technical tunnel shots and well-guarded baskets. The original course has been modified and updated as well moving the fairways further from pedestrian traffic, adding long and short teeing areas and lengthening and rearranging the existing 9 holes overall. With the alternate teeing areas, the course now offers holes for any level of skill and with the future planned improvements including permanent tee pads, more alternate tee pads, more baskets and basket locations, etc, I can see this course quickly becoming one of the most popular courses in MD.
Cons: The new renovations to this course are very much a work in progress. There are no permanent tee pads so far, fairways can get a little rough between work days, still have some tree stumps in the fairways from tree removal, parking costs $6.00 per day or $40.00 per year unless you walk from the ball fields, can get crowded with non-disc golfers around long weekends and holidays.
Other Thoughts: All things considered this is, in its current state, one of the best courses around this area and knowing the plans for its very near future, It is definitely a course you want to come back to and check out often. I have played the course a few times a week since it has been completed and I can honestly say that I may have only played the same layout twice. Special thanks go out to Steve Hawkes for a well-designed course and the care that goes into keeping it beautiful!

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Great course

5+    9/15/2015   9/15/2015
Review By: Walt
Played: 4  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 12.8 Years
This review was updated on 9/27/2015
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Great for beginners and experienced players alike.
Good variety of holes of wide open bomber holes and technical wooded.
The grounds are very well kept (bushes/shrubs aren't over grown like some of the other courses around here) and baskets are great in great condition.
The holes are well marked and mapped out with directions to the next box at every basket.
Cons: Pay to play, only $4-6 or so (unless you're military it's free)
Can get a little crowded and you will sometimes get non-players walking through(usually only on holes 3-6)
Other Thoughts: My favorite course to play in the area, really fun, and good to hone your skills.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great upgrade!

2-4    7/20/2017   8/21/2015
Review By: Longjonsilverz
Played: 46  Reviewed: 21  Exp: 13.9 Years
This review was updated on 7/20/2017
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new updates to this course have dramatically changed it for the better. The Course is now 18 holes instead of 9. There is now a good mix of forested holes and open holes. Many holes are now longer in distance compared to before. The new layout also provides more variety and is more challenging than the old course. The forested holes are not too thick so losing a disc isn't too likely. Each hole has a map on the tee signs and several basket locations and tee locations.
Cons: There are still quite a few stumps (as of 7-20-17), some even near the tees so watch your step. Some of the tees are natural and worn out with holes. Finding the white tees can be challenging sometimes when the grass is getting a little tall.
Other Thoughts: As previously mentioned this is a renovation which not only adds 9 more holes, but changes the original 9 to a much better layout than it used to be. The original course was not worth going out of your way for, but now Its worth checking out because this is a great course. The only big drawback is that you have to pay to get in the park. You can avoid this by parking at the sports complex next to the farm and walking over from there. Its a little long but it avoids the entrance fee. Hole 1 is across the street from the playgrounds next to the large sign. The long and short tees are only marked with a colored small square in the ground in a few spots (as of 7-20-17). Look for the worn out grass near the red tees (which always have the signs) for the long and short tees.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.