Harrisonburg, VA 
Westover Park Share
Uploaded By: devious_imp Hole #16 (Taken 4/2010)
3 / 300ft.   3 / 300ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #16 Basket



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 35
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Tough Beginner Course

1    2/1/2020   2/23/2020
Review By: LeeZ
Played: 6  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 0.2 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lots of parking and easy to find.
Two baskets on every hole makes it a challenge for everyone.
Concrete tee pads are in good condition.
Great use of elevation change and one small creek comes in play for the last couple holes.
Short technical course for people that enjoy this type of disc golf.
Cons: The tee signs were not very clear and some tee pads are missing the signs altogether which makes navigating this course difficult at times.
Busy place lots of people and traffic on the holes close to the road and buildings.
Other Thoughts: I enjoyed the challenge but if you don't like playing 18 straight holes without being able to just air one out then this may not be the course for you. Extremely technical and lots of low ceiling which makes it very tough for beginner's. Overall the pros out weigh the cons in my opinion and it's certainly worth checking out.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

Solid course in a city park

1    11/10/2019   11/21/2019
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 36  Reviewed: 35  Exp: 1.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Pretty if well-used park. Kept tidy and feels safe for a central city park. It is though Harrisonburg, VA and not Baltimore, MD!

The park is on a rather steep, sloping plain essentially, and the course runs up and down this plain. There is also the creek plain that has holes 17-21. The sloping plain provides plenty challenge for uphill and downhill shots alike.

Plenty trees all over but mostly nos. 1-4. Opens a little more thereafter. Tightens up again at the 11 fairway, 12 tee, 14, 15, 16. Then opens a bit more with 17 and 18. Even more with 19; nos. 20-21 nearly fully open. Very nice variety of openness and tightness to go with the elevation changes.

I played to the short pin. I think there was one pad and two pins for each hole, but maybe some had two tee pads. Don't remember now.

Popular course but not crowded. I came on a holiday Sunday afternoon.

I think the best hole on the course is no. 19. One of the longer fairways with fewer trees, throwing from an elevated tee.
Cons: Holes 3-5 have a close OB fence. Not sure you can get over there legally or safely to retrieve a lost disc. I don't mind OB but not to the degree you lose your disc. I lost nothing here because I laid up and played it safe.

Not a lot of this, but other park users may walk through the course with their dogs while you are trying to throw your shot…
Other Thoughts: There is an updated scorecard (with more reasonable pars for the longer holes) on the city park's website.

Some baskets are not visible from the tee pad so do study the hole signs at the tee to know where you are going!

The online map may give you the impression this is a flat course. See above; it most definitely is not! You start out climbing (holes 1-4), you are on a crestline for awhile (holes 5-7), then you go down and up and down the sloping plain (holes 8-15).

If you play a fall afternoon, the sun will be in your eyes for at least a third of the holes. Only a slither distressing.

While I dislike courses with odd numbers of holes (total not a multiple of 9), I like this course very much. Shall play it whenever I am in the Shenandoah Valley or nearby Skyline Drive or Charlottesville.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

Trees and Low Ceilings

1    5/1/2019   5/1/2019
Review By: markmcc
Played: 271  Reviewed: 248  Exp: 7.8 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a solid 21 hole course in a beautifully kept city park. The terrain is typical manicured park with hundreds of mature, trimmed-up trees and a completely clear understory. However, the trees are not trimmed up as high as in most parks, so the ceiling is somewhat low and often comes into play. The only brush on the entire course is along the small creek on Hole 21.

The course featured gently rolling hills that resulted in uphill or downhill elements on nearly every hole. Many holes (including the first three) were uphill with quite a low ceiling, requiring low line drives to reach the basket.

The course lacks defined fairways. What you generally see are a hundred trees between you and the basket, with any number of gaps to use in your attempt to get there. This gives numerous options from dead straight to wider paths on either side. Much of the challenge on the course was trying to figure out which (if any) of the many available lines offered an advantage.

The initial half of the course was wooded and tight, with the back half opening up more and more. By the 18th hole trees were less daunting, and Holes 20 and 21 were downright open! Overall some good variety, but not until the end of the round.

Most holes offered two baskets, which are both permanently in place. The short basket is the classic DISCatcher with yellow band. The alt pins are a different basket (Mach V?) that are powdercoated an unusual lime green color. They showed up great. In many cases the distance to the long pin wasn't greatly increased, but it was always offset to bring even more trees into play near the basket.

Good concrete tees, and decent signage along with benchs and trash cans make the course infrastructure very good.

Cons: This course has a lot of repetitive holes early, consisting of 250' - 350' shots through evenly spaced trees with a low ceiling. While it gives plenty of opportunities to work out various lines, there isn't much variety.

Most of the wooded holes lacked any specific line, which I suppose could be a pro or a con. The trees are so evenly and, is some cases, tightly spaced that the difference between a great shot and a bad kick was only inches. There is definitely an element of luck on many holes as you neared the basket, as you were simply hoping to hit gap after gap between the teepad and the pin.

The course is very compact in some areas, with multiple baskets near each other. The weekday morning I played there was one other player and even then we had to stay aware of each other and occasionally wait a bit to throw.
Other Thoughts: I imagine that this is a course that could grow on you, as multiple rounds would begin to reveal lines that aren't obvious the first couple of rounds.

I don't think that I'd want to play on a busy weekend, as the proximity of the holes to one another would certainly create some issues.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

First course played, but still the best one 10 years later

5+    11/30/2013   11/30/2018
Review By: Duke of NY1
Played: 20  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 13.9 Years
0 Helpful / 9 Not
Pros: - Calculated fairways that require a variety of shots in your arsenal. - Easy to play. Hard to master.

0 of 9 people found this review helpful.

Throw West(over), Young Man

1    6/11/2017   6/19/2017
Review By: DiscGolfCraig
Played: 333  Reviewed: 329  Exp: 15.8 Years
This review was updated on 5/1/2019
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Westover Park is a surprisingly enjoyable 21-hole course. It winds around the park, rec center and swimming pool, giving players a fun round of disc golf.
- I enjoyed Westover more than some other, higher-rated (at least according DGCR's ratings) courses in the region. This isn't a flashy course, but it's a great example of the KISS method.
- Course continually plays up and down the same hills throughout the round. You start at the far right of the park, throwing uphill on #1. That same hill is still in play all the way up to #14, where you're now throwing uphill in the far, back left portion of the park.
- There isn't anything fancy here, just a bunch of decent, slightly-above average holes. The main hole design is this: a fairly straight hole, maybe with a slight dogleg, that has just enough trees players are forced to carve shots around in order to be in birdie range. On almost every hole, even if you hit a tree off the tee, you should still be able to advance your 2nd shot to within putting range.
- Course tends to have tons of switchbacks throughout the round: times you play up then hill, turn around and throw back down hill; times you play one hole, turn back 100 feet to now play the next hole that plays alongside.
- Course is very consistent in terms of layout, design, and length. Average hole is 307 feet along, ranging in length from 204 feet to 472. You want consistency? 15 of the 21 holes range in length from 225 - 360 feet. If you can throw straight 250 feet, you'll be looking a ton of birdie putts to short up-and-downs throughout the round.
- #12 is a fun, simple layout. Sense a theme yet? It's a 344-foot, slight downhill layout with players aiming towards the swimming pool (don't worry, there's a tall fence). There's not a lot of challenge here. It is a simple 3 at worst, for most players. But the backdrop of the swimming pool is a different visual.
- I also enjoyed #18. It's a real chance to unleash a drive, at 472 feet. The sidewalk on the left is OB, but it shouldn't cause much difficulty. Two decent shots will leave players putting for 3.
- Great tee signs. They're a great tool for first-time players.
Cons: The course layout is tight. The switchback element is there because of the lack of space. You couldn't fit in 21 holes without squeezing in some layouts. Perhaps a couple holes could, and should, be eliminated as a safety precaution.
- Some major safety issues. Holes #3 -5 play right next to a couple picnic shelters. Hole #10 plays right over the tee for #11. If the course is ever crowded, you'll have to be on constant watch for discs sailing from other fairways. Be prepared to skip holes if the park is busy. I doubt park goers care that they're walking through your fairway.
- I probably wouldn't play here if the course were crowded. I couldn't enjoy myself if I was always worried about being hit by other players. Or, more importantly, I wouldn't want to worry about hitting others simply because my shot sailed slightly offline.
- There was no signage for the final three holes - #19 - 21. After finishing #18, I saw the basket for #19 straight ahead. I walked around and didn't see anything indicating a tee marker. Skipped that one and tried for #20. Made an arbitrary tee for the next basket I saw. Made two good tee shots, got ready to putt and noticed I was on #21. Didn't find #20 until later.
- The course is redundant. I enjoyed it as a simple, slightly easier layout. If this were my home course, the closest 18-hole layout to me, I'd want something a little flashier.
Other Thoughts: Westover Park is good for what it is. Don't expect greatness. Enjoy a course where you don't need to throw many drivers.
- Due to the lack of variety, I was surprised this course measured longer than 6400 feet. It felt shorter than that, probably due to throwing mostly mid-range discs off the tee.
- The positive of all holes being close to 300 feet is that there are plenty of chances to park tee shots. My tee shot on #17 - a 246-foot hole - resulted in a tap-in birdie. Ace runs on holes like this feel much better than ace runs on shorter holes.
- The first two holes might be two of the most difficult on the course. Both play uphill, creating longer layouts. It also doesn't help that #2's basket was in a different location from the tee sign. The course is front-loaded and played much easier. Don't let a rough start discourage you as it gets easier from there.
- This is the perfect 'tweener rating. It's not quite a 3.5-level course, but it's better than a 3.0 rating. The safety concerns are serious enough to take points off for, resulting in a 3.0 rating. I'd rather play Kiwanis in Staunton than here. Better yet, drive 45 minutes to Walnut Creek. Still, this is a decent course that has plenty to offer.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 short distances low ceilings

1    10/31/2016   10/31/2016
Review By: hyzerkite
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This place is worth playing. If you can throw through gaps and not try to birdie all of them then scores can be lower than my Halloween round today. While staying at the Nutt it is a half hour away and worth the trip. Poke and pray but on the gentle side. I remember thinking this the most tech course for having almost zero rough. Tee signs are all there and it is very clean. Skatepark and pool on site at rec center. Bag hangers galore. Can play this course with a driver mid and putter. Fun 21 holes.
Cons: The lanes through the small diameter timber are sometimes only a few feet and require lots of flip hyzer work and the dangers of bouncing discs into roads and other park traffic can be elevated with a busy park. Rollers work wonders/disaster here. Small property was definitely used to full potential without gutting trees out to make wider fairways.
Other Thoughts: Hole 21 is a good open bomber with a creek just short of 400 feet. Easily reachable from elevated tee box. Crown jewels are actually both post hole 18. 20 is great example of cool but dangerous. You throw down a walking path over a bridge. So cool when nobody is in the park could be a hazard with some traffic like a quarter of these holes. I enjoyed my morning round thoroughly this Halloween and can say it is the first VA course I have played. I can assure you it will not be my last. 3 disc rating for cleanliness and tee signs and good discatchers. Course itself is a longer dinker with potential.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 So Much Fun!

1    7/13/2015   7/13/2015
Review By: jeffboi
Played: 14  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This is a great course. It is very well marked and super easy to navigate. The tee boxes and baskets are in excellent shape. There is some nice use of elevation. The lines are tight in spots but totally fair and doable if you can play a nice control game. Everyone we met on the course was super nice. I would gladly play this course on a regular basis if I lived in the area. This is what recreational disc golf is all about.
Cons: There really are no major cons here, this course is fair and tons of fun! The only bad things I could possibly say are that it is not a championship course because of the lack of OB and water hazards; and there is only one set of tee boxes - I like to see forward boxes for players who can't throw it 350+

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 A touch repetitive

1    12/26/2014   12/27/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 160  Reviewed: 58  Exp: 10.9 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course has a lot of the amenities I look for when rating a course. It has excellent concrete tee pads for the first 18 holes. DISCatcher baskets, informative tee signs, bag holders, the works.

Some of the shots are pretty cool. I especially liked hole 1. There wasn't too much in the way of elevation changes to be utilized, but the course did what it could.

You'll be throwing all of your discs off the tee's. Some shots require drivers, some mids and some putters. There is variety when it comes to distances and rights and lefts.

Although hitting trees over and over could get frustrating, this course would be more beginner friendly than most courses. You'll have virtually zero chance to lose plastic while honing your gap-hitting skills.
Cons: The course is too repetitive. I felt like every hole was a slight alteration of the last. This is mainly due to the park landscape itself. The entire place is somewhat evenly littered with evergreens which will have you guessing if you've already played this hole.

Along with the repetitiveness, there are several instances of "spray and pray" shots. You'll just have to throw your tee shot and hope you don't get chopped down. Many holes don't have a defined "shot".

Some holes are long, but the low ceiling will prevent you from going over the top or throwing rollers. It forces you to throw a line-drive up the middle and hope you don't strike a tree. It forces your hand too often.

There are several shots that require you to literally throw over the next tee pad (hole 10 is an example). There was a party in front of me on hole 11's tee. It is literally directly in line with 10's tee and basket. Not sure how this could happen, but I'd suggest relocating some baskets to better accommodate park traffic.
Other Thoughts: Easily the best course in the area and I'm sure it gets the most traffic. The course could benefit a lot from a few tree's being removed (which I hate having to do) and a few baskets relocated to accommodate flow/safety. Not a bad home course, but lacks the necessities required to make me want to write home about it.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Worth playing

2-4    10/20/2014   10/23/2014
Review By: baronbrapp
Played: 7  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Very well maintained. The grass is short and there is very little underbrush. I didn't see any trash. Signage was good.
Great for practicing your midrange game. There are an abundance of trees, so I was required to be a lot more creative than usual. I threw forehand rollers, skip hyzers, a scoober, and a grenade spike in my two rounds. I also had to throw several anhyzer putts to work around trees. It's great practice in hitting your intended line and keeping the disc low. Due to all the tree hits, it's good for breaking in discs.
The course was nice and empty when I played.
Cons: There are a ton of planted homogenous trees on most holes. If you can't hit your lines, you're going to get frustrated fast.
Your DX type discs will emerge two levels more understable.
If you like throwing distance drivers, you won't get your fix here.
Some holes play across others. Wasn't an issue with the vacancy when I played. Some tees require backtracking from the previous basket - just pay attention where the signs mark the next tee.
There are good views but most of the time you're in the woods.
Other Thoughts: Overall, good for practicing the midrange game and challenging your creativity.
Definitely worth a play if you're in Harrisonburg. I'll definitely play here again. If you have time or are going to be driving East on I-64, Walnut Creek Park outside of Charlottesville is a spectacular course and would recommend that over this course if you could only play one.
If you're stuck on the I-81 corridor, I actually think the Staunton course (20 miles south) is more fun.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Westover Stopover

1    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 220  Reviewed: 196  Exp: 13.6 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees(holes 19-21 are carpet), nice tee signs, bag hooks, and Discatcher baskets with 2 pin locations. Great slope of elevation to play over and is designed into the course nicely. Small creek comes into play on 20 and 21. Kiosk by hole 1, navigation is fairly easy without a map. Very well maintained and clean course, no underbrush to lose a disc in. Great for beginners and more experienced players. Nice pavilions, bathrooms and pool.
Cons: Not much to complain about. The close proximity of holes to each other and some other areas of the park create some safety issues. The repetitiveness of the low ceiling cedar shots. No indication of pin location.
Other Thoughts: Westover is a quick and fun stopover off I-81 in Harrisonburg/JMU. The GPS coordinates took me to the back of the park by hole 15 so I started there. The course is obviously loved by the maintenance crew and local players.

This course will really test your vertical control as well as the horizontal playing through all the cedar trees, but more so tests your vertical control because you can miss your horizontal line and get lucky on most holes, but too high and you will get knocked down trees and too low in you are hitting the ground. The elevation slope combined with the low ceiling is often the change of the challenge of your line, so you have to hit your 20 degree uphill line or downhill line on holes. You would think the roller would be a prevalent shot here, but the ceiling is often too low off the tee. Once you get to the back 9-21 things open up a little bit and the last few holes have a couple intermediate level more open par 4s. There are a few ace runs as the course is relatively on the short side. The back half were my favorite on the course. There is not much that will really wow you here, but if you are looking for a nice fun quick course to stop and play on I-81 this is an excellent choice.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.