Staunton, VA 
Kiwanis DGC Share
Uploaded By: Chutney Hole #5
3 / 210ft.   4 / 430ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 Blue Tee: 230' right to left fairway that plays moderately uphill.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 25
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3
Improvements look great!

1    6/13/2019   6/14/2019
Review By: TimboBaker
Played: 19  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 9.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The new tee directional signs are good, since I'm from out of town, had no problem negotiating the course.
New tee pads also good. You all have done a LOT of recent clearing it looks like, with signs up for the next work day. Hope you get it all tip-top soon.
Cons: You may want to cut a better path around the pond/mud on 12, it was a little rough getting around it. A couple of the early holes are right along the road, with trees. I imagine you could get some unfortunate kicks out into the traffic there.
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a great, well-balanced course that is well taken care of. I will play again if I get back to town! Thanks.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Help needed

2-4    9/8/2018   9/11/2018
Review By: mshelton
Played: 76  Reviewed: 31  Exp: 17.2 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 2 tee pads and 2 baskets per hole
Nice elevation changes
Some nice shot lines, couple of almost forced right handed flick shots
Cons: Teepads are in bad shape
Hole signs missing or faded beyond legibility on some holes
Navigation can be frustrating in spots for the first time player
Rough has gotten quite bad on the wooded holes
Some holes seemed kinda not so well thought out where others had too much going on
Other Thoughts: I played here back in 2011 and on a recent trip with my girlfriend we stopped in for a round. I had forgotten most of the course with the exception of 17 and 18 so it was pretty much a new experience for me.

Started off with really high hopes when we stepped on to the first tee pad which is large and concrete, looked around to a well maintained park, even commented "Why can't Richmond keep a park up like this". Unfortunately things declined after the first hole, the teepads turned to rutted out 4x4 lined boxes and then to mud spots on some holes. There were some pretty cool shots to be had in the first wooded section but a lot of limbs had started to grow into the fairways and kinda hurt the fairness of those holes, thinking 7 and 11 specifically. The rough thicket is pretty bad also, I understand it's not supposed to be easy when you miss the fairway but having to crawl to get to your disc or bleed through briers or both, doesn't make for an enjoyable round.

I could see that my girlfriend, a novice level player and a pretty good sport, wasn't enjoying herself much though she would never admit it. Seems the short tees to short baskets really don't work real well for players he caliber, seems to be an opportunity missed, with 2 tee pads and 2 baskets it would be nice to see a beginner-novice level challenge to bring new players in.

Some of the holes were pretty cool throws, 4, 6, 12, and 13 I really did like, other holes like 16 and 11 kinda let me down. 11 seems to have been over thought, throw out the tunnel back into a tunnel to an hillside basket in between 2 trees and is on a a 6' pole with rollaway potential, I think every trick in the book was used on that one. 16 felt like a filler and is a shame because there's a long walk from 15 to 16 through some area that could make a really nice wooded hole.

In going back and reading this I feel like I may be bashing the course and that's not my intention, it's a good course but seems to be falling into disarray like a lot of courses. It has a lot of potential with the woods and elevations, with some work and few design changes it could be a great course.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

Navigation is tricky

1    9/3/2018   9/4/2018
Review By: eric_vdberg
Played: 762  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 36.1 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice baskets.
Good next tee signs in many places.
Some good use of elevation.
A variety of distances and flight paths.
Cons: Navigation - more next tee signs would be helpful, especially from #10 to #11, but a much simpler solution would be to tape or paint the spokes orange and blue to point to the next basket. Also there was no course map at the starting sign board and after playing hole #10 with it's handmade tee sign, I thought that the course ended there and the count of 18 must have been by playing to both baskets, with the 10th recently added to get closer to the tennis court parking area.
No right turn allowed to get into the tennis court parking lot 50 feet away from the entrance, forcing a circumnavigation of the entire park for no good reason.
Rutted & obscured tee areas,
Signs exposed to direct sunlight were badly faded, some were missing.
Overgrown sides of fairways, with the rough being quite dense in places.
Most of the long baskets were in overgrown areas.
Other Thoughts: After seeing the rutted small stone blue (long) tee area and the beautiful concrete orange (short) tee pad on #1, I decided to play the shorter tees. Unfortunately #1 was the only pad that was concrete. After that it was a challenge to be sure what pad you had found, as many had faded so much that the effort to find it was not worth it, so I just played from whatever tee I found first.
Every hole might have had an orange basket, but if they did then many of them were buried in overgrown foliage that made searching for discs a certainty.
Many of the distances seemed to be off. A local told me that there has been some redesign in the last year or two, so that could explain it, however reading other reviews a lot of these issues seemed to have been there since the beginning.
It seems like this would be an exceptional course if maintenance was better.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Cool course, nice layout.

1    7/2/2015   7/2/2015
Review By: Moose33
Played: 72  Reviewed: 71  Exp: 7.5 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The park is pretty nice, well maintained with baseball fields, basketball and tennis courts, horseshoes, a really nice playground and a petty nice disc golf course.

It's a full 18 with two sets of baskets on every hole one set is gold banded disccatchers the other appears to be mostly chainstars but not 100% uniform.

They are all in pretty good shape and placed well.

Signs at the tees are nice and tell you distance as well as the preferred route. Many good next tee signs too.

The layout is nice and widely varied, some really tight wooded holes, some shirt with a lot of OB, some long and more open, but fewer of these.

If your Simon Lizotte looking to air out your arm this isn't the spot, but the old growth hardwoods meandering pathways and two layouts make it well worth a play.
Cons: A couple long walks between holes, 15-16 stands out and a few more that aren't so intuitive. #1 isn't super easy to find either.

Pads weren't my favorite, not too long, gravel and in need of some leveling, I don't like wooden posts at the end of pads either I always fall.

Overall the weirdest thing is a giant, old, mostly empty admin building that looks super haunted.
Other Thoughts: This is a pretty good park in a place that I didn't expect one, rural courses in the south typically aren't this good or well maintained.

Someone loves this place and it shows, thank you of your the club or p&r person responsible.

It has flaws and I probably would have used the money for the second set of baskets for concrete tee pads but that may have not been okay with the parks people. A lot of times they like the idea that the courses could be easily pulled if they wanted.

I would happily play again!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Course

1    10/4/2014   10/14/2014
Review By: SMontgomery
Played: 49  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 8.8 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very good variety of shots and layouts.
Cons: Very confusing to navigate if you dont have a guide.
Other Thoughts: Better tee signs and course maps would be great. I like the fact that there are score cards and pencils at the practice basket. I will definately play mulitiple times.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Welcome to the Jungle

1    6/14/2014   6/15/2014
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 219  Reviewed: 196  Exp: 13 Years
7 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Dual gravel tees and dual Discatcher baskets on 18 holes provide a variety of playing options. Practice basket and kiosk by parking lot and hole 1. Excellent hole designs with variety of shots over rolling elevation in the open or heavy woods and over a pond. Navigation was fairly easy with good signage. 2 loops of 9 holes back to parking lot. Fairways are well maintained.
Cons: The biggest con IMO is the jungle rough and lack of groomed fairway width on the wooded holes. There are thorns and poison ivy/oak throughout the rough and the fairways are quite skinny, so one tiny kick off a tree and you are in the suck. The long basket on hole 2 says 6. The map on here is not correct for the back 9, as hole 10 is what the map says is 11, although the navigation without the map was pretty easy. The first section of wooded holes 2-6 is a bit cramped together. Hole 6 plays over a park road. Hole 16 plays over the edge of the baseball field. Many of the long baskets are just tucked into a ridiculous jailhouse of trees and rough. Biting flies were abundant. No bathrooms or drinking water.
Other Thoughts: Welcome to the jungle
We've got fun 'n' games...

Welcome to the jungle
Watch it bring you to your
knees, knees
I wanna watch you bleed...

I have a real hard time rating this course because of the rough, some of it boarders between genius and insane. It reminds me of Rockburn Branch when the rough used to really bad there. I had a lot of hope for Kiwanis when I stepped up to hole 1 and is nice looking par 5 uphill, but as I approached the long basket fear set in as the window is maybe 10' wide with nasty rough on both sides 100' down the tight woods. I really enjoyed the more open holes here, 9, 10, 12, 13, 16, 17 and 18 come to mind, great back 10 holes in general. The wooded holes are also great, but oh the rough!

This course has potential to be a 4 with it's nice rolling elevation and mix of open and wooded holes, but the long basket positions were borderline silly in places and the rough is just too much unless you are into machoism or pitching short shots down the fairway. Most of the holes are great, they just need to clear the brush out to make them playable and enjoyable. If you are traveling through the I-81 corridor I have a hard time recommending playing this course in the summer unless you don't care about poison ivy or losing discs a few feet off the narrow wooded fairways, winter should be more playable though.





7 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Work in Progress

2-4    4/2/2013   4/15/2013
Review By: aPfaff
Played: 78  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 9.8 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Lots of hole variety, up down left right straight tight open
-Interesting holes (6,11,12,13,18)
-It is set in a nice park with lots of amenities (Baseball, Tennis, Basketball, Swimming, Park, Shelters, Walking Trails)
-The baskets are very nice discatchers that are color coded to the layout you are playing
-Greens are very tricky (i.e. 2 has a steep downdrop that ends with OB)
-There are no throw and hopes
-Thorns were not a problem on the fairway
-Locals were friendly
-Not a lot of trash on the course
Cons: -Hole 9's long pin - the pin is situated on a very steep slope with pine needles on the ground, even if you throw a perfect shot, it may roll/slide back down the hill
-Teepads, they are crushed stones and most have little mounds in the middle of the teepad where one could role your foot, hopefully they can install concrete some time
Other Thoughts: Overall it is a pretty good course. It has definitely improved over the last few years. When I first played this course it was pretty bad, not the design, but the upkeep and the dirt tees. The club (SAW) is improving this course and it will only get better with time.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 A hidden gem! Great for disc golfers of all levels!

1    10/6/2012   12/9/2012
Review By: aussieinva
Played: 18  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 7.3 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a course that I look forward to playing whenever I am in the Staunton area. It has many of the characteristics of an excellent course: a good mixture of open and wooded holes, great use of elevation, tough enough to challenge experienced player but forgiving enough to allow beginners to enjoy the game and as a bonus, free scorecards with maps on the rear make navigating the course a breeze for newcomers. The course starts off with a nice open hole to allow players to get warmed up before heading into the forest for progressively tighter fairways for the next few holes. It then follows a pattern of an open hole and then two or three tighter holes that will test your accuracy skills. This pattern gave the course a nice flow and didn't really give an advantage to any one style of play which is nice when playing with friends.
Below are some of the main positive points about the course.
1: Course provides scorecards and pencils that are located in a mailbox between the practice basket and the first tee. The scorecards have a map on the back to help first timers and infrequent visitors navigate the course.
2: The course is free and has a dedicated parking lot next to the practice basket for disc golfers.
3: There is very little pedestrian traffic on the course. This allows you to throw to your heart's content without fear of striking an unsuspecting hiker or someone walking their dog.
4: Good use of the parkland and elevation. Has plenty of hole types to suit just about every type of player.
5: Beginner friendly - This course would be great to bring friends and family and introduce them to the game but still challenging enough to test the skills of seasoned players.
6: Signature Holes. Every great course should have at least one memorable hole and for me this is hole 6. The tee pad is perched on a small hill and to reach the basket you need to launch your disc over the road and onto the green and avoid the thick brustle to the right and behind the green. Its like playing across a river without the fear of going swimming for your disc if you come up short.
7: Well sign posted: It was easy to tell where the tee pads were and which hole they are for.
8: Multiple tees and baskets: Multiple tees are an essential part for any good course and have two different baskets on many of the holes allows for a different playing experience.
Cons: There really isn't a whole lot to say negativity about this course as it is a fun course but I have a couple of items that you may want to be aware of:
1: It's easy to end up on the tee for hole 6 instead of the tee for the third hole. Just keep going past the tees for hole 6 and you will find the tee for hole 3. If you have your trusty scorecard map it will point you in the right direction.
2: The pathway behind hole 11 down to the tee for hole 12 is steep. If you have mobility issues you may need to find a different way down to the 12th tee.
3: It can be a little confusing to find the 16th tee. Its a decent walk and there seems to be a few paths on the way. If you follow the map on your scorecard you should be ok.
Other Thoughts: The course is a great way to spend a few hours with friends or even as a solo challenge to get a new personal course record. It may be missing a few of the "nice to have" items like concrete pads, bag hangers etc but this does not detract at all from having a good time here. If you are in the area you need to stop by and play a round, you won't be disappointed.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    3/6/2012   3/21/2012
Review By: JeCroisQue
Played: 26  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 18.5 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Lots of variety here. There are a solid mix of wooded and open holes to help you hone your game.
-It also requires a good bit of shot making, a lot of the holes demand specific shots which I like as a challenge.
-Alternate pins.
- Fairly well maintained.
Cons: - I wasn't fond of the tee pads, they were gravel and were kind of annoying. I had stones in my shoes all day.
Other Thoughts: There wasn't anything really special about this course for me. It was nicely laid out and fun, but it didn't have anything that would make me want to drive 30 minutes there when my home course is so close. It is a nice switch up though when I get bored and will go back.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 winter improvements

5+    9/13/2011   9/14/2011
Review By: VaDGer
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 12.3 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nicely maintained. Great mix of holes; open, wooded, lefty, righty, long, short. New red tee boxes of gravel dust on holes 12 13 and 15. Tees on 4, 14 and 16 will be completed by months end. More coming. Nice scorecards with accurate maps. Professional signs will be installed over the winter and early spring. Every hole will be marked and easy to find.
Cons: Need more signage for the casual and visiting player. Working on clearing a little more brush from various areas. Thanks to Parks and Rec for this help!
Other Thoughts: This is my home course. It will be transformed over the winter of 2011 and spring of 2012.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.