Stephens City, VA 
Sherando Park Share
Uploaded By: lotsill Hole #6
3 / 201ft.   3 / 201ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee: Basket all the way down on right


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 26
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
1 2 3 Next >
 Good times

2-4    10/12/2008   10/13/2008
Review By: thatguy
Played: 22  Reviewed: 6
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well maintained course. Good variety of wooded and open holes. Practice basket. Course is set away from the rest of the activities in the park (no interuptions in play). Everyone I have met at this course has been very friendly. This course has some challenging holes and some that make you want to bang your head against a tree when your disc takes a wrong turn. Overall it's a great place for beginers and seasoned veterans.
Cons: Watch for poison ivy if your disc goes into the woods.
Other Thoughts: You will get good exercise walking this course. There is a great variety of up hill and down hill shots. Lots of dog-legs in both directions. This is a great and beautiful course that I will play again and again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    10/4/2008   10/4/2008
Review By: valkyriefb11
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 11.1 Years
This review was updated on 10/12/2008
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sherando Park is a well groomed fun course. The course is well kept and very clean. All of the signs and tees were clearly marked and very easy to follow. Sherando offers a good variety of open, wooded, and mixed holes. There is also some elevation with several uphill shots. Perhaps the most striking aspect of the course is the wealth of right turning dog-legs. (Left handed players enjoy)
Although the course is on the grounds of a park, it was wisely placed away from the other park amenities (i.e. the playground and ball fields)
When you play the course, it isnt particularly difficult, but the cedars/pine trees do offer some fun obstacles to get around.
Cons: If you follow par according to the signs many will find that it is very generous.
Only one tea/pin placement -- It would be nice if there were some variety. (more personal preference than a real con)
Other Thoughts: The course is not in the main area of the park ... it is across the street.
There are a ton of restaurants within 5 minutes of the course.
The peaceful, rural setting is beautiful and very conducive to playing well.
This is definitely a great course ... there arent any particularly amazing holes but at the end of the course you'll still feel like you played a great course.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 sherando

5+    1/2/2009   9/12/2008
Review By: brian j
Played: 93  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/7/2009
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: each hole has nice flat tee pad and sign describing hole

nice hole variety, and layout.

challenging with a few holes that are real par 4's

not very crowded and even on weekends you never feel like you're near other people

great place nearby to buy discs (icredible flying objects in winchester)

plenty of parking and the course is well maintained

right off i-81 so plenty of food options
Cons: not much... only one pad per hole

pin potitions ralely move (i've been playing there for 6 months and they've never moved)

poison ivy is thick if you're disc goes into the woods that line the fairways

doesn't seem to be a strong dg club in the area so while there is a league night (wed's at 5 pm) there's not many other ways to connect with other golfers. random doubles or something would be nice.
Other Thoughts: sherando is the closest course to my home (30 minutes) so its the course i've played the most often. i often play tues mornings and have the place all to myself.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 I Love Sherando

5+    7/22/2008   7/22/2008
Review By: kcbrez009
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 10.4 Years
This review was updated on 8/13/2008
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Excellent variety. 8 full holes in the open. 8 full holes in the woods. 2 that are half and half. Some longer holes, some short and technical.

Great tee boxes - concrete and tapered.

Beautiful rural park setting.

The course is used enough that the parks system maintains it nicely, but not so much that it's a high traffic area.

Plenty to do in the vicinity, even though it's a bit rural.
Cons: It's on the outskirts of northern Virginia. It's quite a hike for most DC area folks, so they stay away. Actually, that should be in the "Pros" section.

Only one set of tees.

Baskets are only moved occasionally.
Other Thoughts: Worth the trip. Within 15 minutes of the northern entrance to the Blue Ridge Parkway, Skyline Caverns, and historic Winchester. There are plenty of fast food joints in the area, but if you're going to be in the Front Royal area near the BRP entrance, Spelunker's is one of the best burger joints in the world. Imagine Five Guys with really, really good ice cream.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Sherando

9/18/2006   1/22/2008
Review By: ferretdance03
Played: 87  Reviewed: 19  Exp: 12.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/27/2008
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Sherando is one of those course that you love to play and you want to do better every time. There is a good variety of shots out there, but quite a few right turning shots. (Dave is left handed!) Elevation changes, shots in to the woods, out of the woods and over the woods and open bombs as well.
Other Thoughts: This is definitely one of my favorite courses to play. Like Jaymon said, it's not overly difficult in nature, but there is trouble to get in to. You are mostly trying to best your last round as there are no epic holes or challenges provided by the course. Overall, a fun course to play that will have you coming back time and time again.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Short but Superb Shenandoah Valley Course

9/16/2006   9/12/2007
Review By: jaymon1
Played: 78  Reviewed: 78  Exp: 16.4 Years
9 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Variety, layout
Other Thoughts: Sherando Park is a real secret gem among Virginia disc golf courses. I was most reminded of Seneca Creek while playing the course; it's very well maintained, it has a nice balance of open holes with woods holes, though with well-defined fairways, and it has lots of cedar trees. Unlike Seneca, though, the course is pretty much strictly a par 3 course, and does not feature multiple tee pads or basket placements. Like Seneca, however, there are no bad holes on this course and picking a favorite is difficult. All told, playing "Seneca Lite" is still better than most other courses in the country.

The Sherando course starts off pretty straightfoward, with two holes playing in the wide open fields, both reachable with your tee shot. But then it moves into the woods for a couple holes, plenty open still but with steep penalties for errant shots. Sherando is also an interesting challenge in that it calls for many right-turning shots - of all the courses I've played thus far, only Kilborne in Charlotte is comparable in this regard. While Sherando lacks any of my favorite course features - towering views, scenic water challenges, or even downhill shots, its appeal builds with every hole, because I just kept thinking, wow, this is a pretty cool hole. So like Seneca or Patapsco, the cumulative effect is that by the end I really felt like I'd played a great course, even though no one hole really excited me. Overall, the course ranks toward the easy end, with only a couple holes over 300 feet, though control is a key skill for many of the woods holes.

I think lots of disc golfers equate hard with good when evaluating a course. For me, though, Sherando is pretty as a course, has lots of interesting challenges, and in the end left me with a wide smile. While I think it's lack of length and flexibility keep it from elite status, its definitely one of the better strict par 3 courses in the region. I can't wait to play it again.

Favorite Hole - #3 - Moderately tight fairway over steep depression and up other side, with sharp wooded drop all along left side of fairway.

9 of 9 people found this review helpful.

1 2 3 Next >

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center