Viroqua, WI 
Veteran Hills Share
Uploaded By: peacefulbean Hole #14 (Taken 8/2015)
3 / 285ft.   3 / 355ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Mid-Fairway



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 12
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Southwestest Bestest

5+    11/7/2020   2/20/2021
Review By: Mushin No Shin
Played: 841  Reviewed: 30  Exp: 16 Years
19 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Veteran Hills Dgc is in the Driftless Region near the western end of the Ocooch Mountains, between the Mississippi and Kickapoo Rivers.

Beautiful property for Disc Golf with a variety of Woods and Terrain... the Designers used it Masterfully to create a Phenomenal Discing experience

1 2 3 & 18 play in Pines. Good diversity of Lines, Distances, and use of Elevation. I love DG in Pine Forest, so this is a most excellent way to start and finish a Round, imo

4 is Outstanding!!! One Tee and Basket used to Perfection

5 6 7 & 8 are more open Gold Level holes. Great design in that each hole is uniquely distinct, and offers different multishot landing zone Challenges, with good Greens

9 is the Big Downhill bomber hole, with 2 very different Basket positions

10 & 11 play back in some HardWoods and offer very Fun, Tight, and Tricky opportunities for Birds

12 & 13 are big open Uphill Huks with Baskets protected inside the Woodline. Great 'Blue Level' design mixing Open and Wooded features

14 or 15 is another example of the Designer creating an Excellent DG Hole with a rememberable Look... Downhill, Acerun, and Unique Green (drawing a blank on either 14 or 15)

16 is the last Gold Level hole. Huge Drive to get back up the main hill. Both Basket positions are sweet, but the long is a Fantastic Challenge

Can't say enough about the Excellent Design. Not easy to create 18 Distinct holes. And where there's a Second Teepad or Basket Position; it is well thoughtout and executed, and adds to the Variety of DG out at Veteran Hills

Teesigns, Concrete Tees, Benches, and an information Kiosk. Kiosk notes Basket Position and has Donation Box

Played numerous Courses with a 420 hole, but this is the first time I've played a Kocain sponsored hole?!?!

VFW property with Food and Drinks available after the Round
Cons:
Not much to complain about here...

Currently:
only holes 5 6 7 8 14 & 16 have a Second Tee, and 4 5 11 13 14 17 & 18 have One Basket position

No Water to Feature in Design

Rolling Hills with moderate elevation... Tame Topography for the Driftless region, takes away from having Signature extreme 'Top of the World' Hole

5 is the first Open Hole. There's some Nappy Pines in the Fairway guarding a landing zone. Once the Pines mature this will be an Aesthetically pleasing hole, and an excellent challenge... but for now it's the Roughest

17 is a strange obstructed downhill dump shot, maybe waiting for some Fairway trees to mature also?!?
Other Thoughts:
First played here in December 15 with TallPaul, and the Course Rough was ROUGH! The course was still pretty newerish, and I felt it was overrated at 4 back then... but one could see the potential and understand the overzealous enthusiasm

Made it back here in October 20, and the Caretakers have worked this Dgc into a GEM. Veteran Hills is Superbly maintained, designed, and loved by the local DG Stewards.

Even made a November Roadtrip, detour through Viroqua, cause this course is worth it... and the Baskets were in the other Positions, making the second trip extra worthwhile :)

Such a great area of Wisco for so many activities, and having another championship caliber Dgc in the Driftless near Justin Trails is Phenomenal. Looking forward to seeing Veteran Hills continue to phenomenon-enon-n-on-n-on-n-on

19 of 19 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Course

5+    12/6/2020   12/22/2020
Review By: Jeremycubby
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Long and short wooded shots with wonderful tee pads. Makes you throw many shots within your bag and doesn't favor any one type of player! Open shots are here as well with some tough to reach but fair pin placements.
Cons: Can be very muddy and slick when it's been raining or wet out. This course can also be slick in the winter time and has some pretty rough areas that can be almost impossible to throw out of and possibly lose a disc. A good throw will keep you out of danger though.
Other Thoughts: Wonderful course with multiple pin placements for a shorter and longer course. I'd consider the longer pin placements championship level disc golf where lows scores would be tough and well earned!

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Best in the Southwest (Wisconsin)

2-4    5/26/2018   5/28/2018
Review By: WisconsinDG Traveler
Played: 102  Reviewed: 7
This review was updated on 6/13/2018
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Course design and layout is fantastic

+ Excellent use of wooded areas (holes 1-3 are fantastic, but I favor wooded/piney holes)

+ Significant amount of terrain and elevation variances and the layout often utilizes the terrain brilliantly

+ Two sets of tee pads on most holes

+ Tee pads are of significant size and are almost always well located fair and consistent

+ Although the tee signs do not provide the most detailed information, they are (from what I can tell) accurate and even informs the player(s) what pin position is currently in use. Overall, I never wondered where the basket was located.

+ Very well groomed (during my visits) with well-defined fairways (the local DG club does a fantastic job of keeping their prized course in great shape)

+ Some spectacular and well-designed pin placements

+ Albeit, the rough can be, well, rough I didn't find it unfair or unreasonable on any hole (hint: stay in the fairway!)

+ Even the more "open" holes utilize well placed obstacles, making it more fun and challenging than the typical long-bomb-competition style of so many open holes/courses (I don't typically find most open holes much fun, but these were!)

+ All of the holes are quite unique (in my opinion) and no two shots I threw were the same. Great variety!

+ Some really fun and interesting valley shots

+ Good practice basket to warm up with before starting the round

+ The VFW (onsite) has a decent bar that serves food as well, which comes in handy after a day of throwing plastic
Cons: - Although I love wooded holes, hole 11 really has no lane to shoot for. As it stands now, it truly is a "spray and pray" shot from the tee

- Again, the rough can be insanely difficult to deal with and in many places the loss of a disc is not uncommon

- Although I don't mind it, there are a few spots that require a bit of a walk to the next hole

- Again, the tee signs are good, but for this caliber of course they could provide a bit more detail (I'm nitpicking here)
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is one of the top 5 courses I've played (note: have not yet made it to Highbridge Hills, Sandy Point, Silver Creek, Blue Ribbon Pines, Zobel, Wilderness Campground, Mont du Lac, Fox Creek, etc.). [****UPDATE: I have recently played both Zobel and Wilderness Campground and both of those courses are a bit better than Veteran Hills.] In my opinion, Veteran Hills is the top course in Southwest Wisconsin (yes, even over Justin Trails). Although it is a bit of a drive for most, I believe it to be a worthwhile trip.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 The Vet

5+    1/17/2018   1/31/2018
Review By: JuStYwHaT
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 5.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is a gem. Relatively new, the maintenance crew is continuing to make it better and better. Course has a great blend of technical wooded holes, as well as, long flat out bomber holes. With the addition of alternate tee and basket locations on several holes, soon to be all holes, this course is shaping up to be a must play in the state of WI!
Keep up the good work!
Cons: On some holes, if you miss the fairway, you miss bad. It is jail in some spots. I'm sure that the volunteers that maintain this course will soon have some of this cleared up. There are no water features, but this course does fine without!
Other Thoughts: If you play this course anytime, please stop in at thw VFW, located on thw property, and say thanks to thw staff.
The VFW donated the land on which this course lies. Support them, as they have given the opportunity for a great course in the heart of the Driftless region!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Veterans hills

5+    8/23/2017   1/23/2018
Review By: ChuckHeiam
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A fun mix of shots, lots of bench's.
Cons: Short and simple the rough and stumps but this is a new course so that will work out with time. You really need to use spotters to speed up play and cut down on lost discs as it stands right now. In a few places it can be a bit confusing as to where to go next because there are numerous hiking paths in the area.
Other Thoughts: This course plays a little longer than suits my skill level but I enjoy playing it we go there several times a year to play, especially for the big Winter Wizards event there which hs taken off in the last couple years. The course is right behind the VFW so there is a place to get food and drinks and have been very supportive of the course. This could easily be a championship level course and there is another less than a half hour away so it can be a hell of a weekend get away if you road trip and camp. Once the rough gets better I will raise my rating for the course for sure.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 

1    10/17/2016   10/18/2016
Review By: huskerfan
Played: 59  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 9.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is one of those larger woodlands type courses that top caliber players enjoy, yet average plays would as well. Great mix of some really cool fairways and beautiful hilly Wisconsin scenery make this a must play course.
-Large cement pads.
-Well marked (new) fairway signs.
-Lot of next fairway direction arrows.
VFW, right there for a burger and beer!
Cons: -Not really much to complain about, the barb wire to the left of 18 is marked.
Some small stumps has small flags marking them.
Ok, kinda nit picky, but some of fairways are spread out and understand to have nice fairways this can happen.
Other Thoughts: To quote Kenny Bania from Seinfeld: .."it's the best Jerry, the best!!!!
Well, OK maybe not the BEST, but definitely one of the nicest courses I've played on. Congrats to all those that helped out!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 True Rating of 3.75

1    7/2/2016   7/4/2016
Review By: Money_Shot
Played: 95  Reviewed: 33  Exp: 16.8 Years
3 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: -There are some great layouts on a decent amount of holes. The designer of the course did a great job in my opinion of making holes fun, offering plenty of challenges while also giving some ace runs. Solid design out here

-Signage did a good job at indicating where the next hole was which was important with some of the walks between holes on this course. Arrows on trees indicated direction of next hole.

-Some decent scenery to throw in.

-Decent baskets that all catch well.

-Nice variety of hole lengths and a great variety of wooded and open holes as well as some great elevation shots.
Cons: -Unmarked Barbed wire 5 feet off fairway on hole 18. I threw a shot slightly in the rough down near the basket, when I went to putt I brought my arm back only to get stabbed by a rusty barb wire fence blending in with the shrubs I had my back against. This is unacceptable, wire that close to the fairway needs to be marked by bright ribbons or signs. After my round I had to stop by a gas station to get a bandage and antibiotic as the rusty fence pierced my skin with ease.

-Early holes on the course had very difficult rough with chopped shrubs and trees pushed to the rough, making a bad shot difficult and brutal (see thorns below) to find.

-The rough out here contains several different species of some brutal thorns. Not only should you be concerned about getting snagged on a hidden rusty barb wire fence, these things punish shots off the fairway throughout the course. Plain and simple, the rough out here is about as rough as it gets, WEAR PANTS and LONG SLEEVES.

-There are stumps throughout most fairways. Watch your step out here, get too complacent and you will be doing a nose dive onto other stumps. They clearly had to "cut" this course out in about 50% of the course, making chopped stumps common.

-signs weren't always accurate for the hole design. The signs for the hole design are general curvy lines to give a guy an idea of where the hole is. I don't have a problem with basic signs giving basic hole designs, but at least be accurate on the sign. There are no trees shown on the signs, making it difficult to determine where the break (dogleg) happens etc. We found ourselves walking halfway up the fairway to find the baskets on several holes due to our lack of confidence in the signs. In general, you don't want to be doing that on a course with longer holes.

-Only 1 garbage at the start. This gets the job done, but still seemed odd not to have at least another 1 or 2 throughout the course

-Seemed like some long walks between holes.

Other Thoughts: All said and done this is a good course that deserves a play if in the area. I strongly suggest wearing pants to this course or plan on walking out with bloody scrapes all over your arms and legs unless you throw with lazer-like accuracy. I rated this course a 3.5 because you cannot rate in increments but it is truly is a 3.75 course. Since the current rating on the course was above what I feel it should be, I always go with the lower option and vice versa. They did a great job at bulldozing this course into the landscape; there must have been a lot of hard work put into creating the fairways as there are chopped stumps everywhere, making the trip factor out here a major problem. I can't stress enough how big of a downer running into barbed wire out here just 5 feet off the fairway was. Nobody expects to go find their disc after a decent shot and run into barbed wire blending into the shrubs just off the fairway. If there were signs, my group didn't see it. After playing this course and driving from MN hitting up disc courses on our way to Alpine Valley, my friend and I decided this is not a course we would go out of our way to ever play again. In fact, we kind of found ourselves wishing we didn't drive the 1 hour total out of our route to play it. It's a good course and great if you live fairly close (within 45 minutes) or are going close by, but don't expect to walk out of this course and be blown away like some of the other reviews have said. I have been coming to Wisconsin to hit up tons of the great courses this state has to offer for many years now, but Wisconsin has much better disc than this to offer in my opinion and experience.

3 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great course

1    5/26/2016   5/30/2016
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 526  Reviewed: 283  Exp: 16.9 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is set on a beautiful piece of land dedicated exclusively to disc golf. The design here is excellent. Absolutely amazing use of the land available. The baskets are chainstars that were all in great shape and catch great too. The tees are natural but were still in decent enough shape. This is still a new course so maybe concrete will be added at some point anyway. The course is permanent and free to play. There are basic signs at each hole and arrows and next tee signs at every hole which makes navigation a breeze. The fairways were all mowed and in good shape when we were here. The town of Viroqua is not very big and is not really near too much else so I doubt it would ever be busy. There is a great mix of open and wooded holes here. Also the elevation here is abundant and used very nicely. A number of the holes have short pads, though not all of them. It would be nice for newer players to have shorter, easier options on all of the holes. But this is a championship caliber course so you should recognize that going in. I thought the mix of shots was fine/normal here. Most courses do favor RHBH and this wasn't any different. But this place will require all shots and discs in your bag. I can't state how fun and challenging this course is accurately. I can nitpick this and that but It's just plain fun. Not for fair weather players by any means.
Cons: The cons I have can and probably will all be addressed at some point since this is a very new course. First the tee pads. If they put concrete or even rubber pads in here it would really upgrade the overall experience. Second the signs, the current ones are very basic. If these were updated it would make the course more appealing. As they are currently though, serve their purpose.
Other Thoughts: This is just a flat out very fun yet challenging course that was designed to make the absolute most of the available land. I personally would rank this in the top 20 in WI out of the about 200 I've played. It kind of reminds me of maybe the middle brother out of the Justin Trail's little and big brothers. With better signs and tees this is a 4.5 for sure. As it stands now in it's infancy it is still a solid 4. Go out of your way to play this, It's that good. You won't be disappointed unless you only like plain park style courses. This paired with Justin Trail's would be an absolute brutal but awesome day of disc golf. About as good as you'd find in WI.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Course with potential

2-4    5/12/2016   5/15/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 27.6 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: If you were to look at each hole individually and out of context, each is practically a masterpiece of design. The course is laid out well, easy to follow and a challenging hike that offers great exercise. It is also among the most difficult disc golf I have ever played, owing to the slopes, elevation and length.
Cons: No concrete tee pads. I know this doesn't bother many, but on a course of this length, it reduces my distance from the tee by about 15% and takes about a half dozen holes out of birdie range and into a range where I must be careful to avoid a bogie.

The length between holes ranges from long to extremely long in some cases, though I forgive this because they were utilizing the land so well to create great holes.

There should be a sign to show you the well hidden path down to the first hole. If you didn't look at the map, you will walk well past it, see a path that leads down, and end up at the green and forced to walk over 300 feet back to the tee. The signage is pretty terrible overall, with the exception of the arrows that indicate where to go next. Hole 4 is illustrated as a big, long right to left curve, when it is absolutely straight when you look back to the tee. Hole 15 is also illustrated as a left to right curve, when the shot is in fact a left to right.

The BIGGEST FLAW, however, is that the course is utterly lacking in balance from the short tees to the long pins that I played that day. I am a lefty backhand player, and only three holes fit that configuration (3, 5, 8, and 5 and 8 are inordinately long and impossible to get a deuce). Only four holes are balanced (7, 15, 16, 17, and 15 is so well guarded that deuce is nearly impossible and only players who can throw well beyond 450' have any chance of a part on 16).
Holes 1,2,4,6,9,10,11,12,13,14, and 18 ALL favor a RHBH throw and 4,6,9,12, and 13 are so long that a lefty really struggles for par (even a short hole like 2, that a lefty could reach, is nearly impossible).

Hole #11 is patently unfair. A tree on the right is marked to be taken down, but this favors the righty that is already favored on that hole. A minimum of a half dozen trees to the left should be removed to make the hole fair (it is reachable at 280, but has such a protected green in an arroyo that having an impossible fairway is beyond punishing and unfair).

The rough to the left on #4 needs to be cleared a bit and a lot of deadfall removed. It is nearly impossible to find a disc in there without a long search and many trees make the possibility of ricocheting to the left likely.

#13 is disastrously unfair to the lefty from the short tee.
Other Thoughts: The land is exceptional and the design pretty good. There are not alternate tees on every hole, and creating a few more that are shorter--the course is championship caliber, but even a former pro over 50 like myself will struggle a little, though I only bogied 16 in each round--and that don't have completely impossible slopes, hills and design tricks.

There is a difference between challenging and fair and unfair, and this course is mostly unfair with the potential for changes that would bump up my review to 5 stars and put it in my favorites (I am taking off a half star for the lack of tee pads, and a half star for the ridiculously unbalanced favoritism to the righties and the bad signage).

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

Updated - Course improvements galore!

5+    8/11/2017   5/12/2016
Review By: Sneaky Pete
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
This review was updated on 12/23/2020
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Update - 3 years later, all of my comments still stand! Challenging course with great hole design and topography changes. Consider even par as an excellent score. Super cool group of guys working on keeping the course up and running while making improvements. VFW=food+drinks on site. Wildlife is abundant on the course. Great mix of distance and technical shots. This course separates the wheat from the chaff quickly. Cement teepads are in! 6 add'l short tees are now available. Alternate basket locations and frequent layout changes make it a different course often. The little stumps that persisted after initially opening the course are nearly all gone (Hole 5 has a handful, but are easily seen/avoided). Constant groundskeeping has opened up some fairways considerably. The group tending to this course are constantly working on improving it. New sign posts are currently going in and brush removal has been non-stop all summer.
Cons: The rough is still rough! (I consider this a pro, but folks that are about sacrificing accuracy for distance will suffer).
Other Thoughts: If you are anywhere near this course you should play it! Just a wonderful course all around.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.