Suffolk, VA 
Bennett's Creek Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #2
3 / 294ft.   3 / 326ft.   3 / 385ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Red Tee. Basket is at 11 o'clock and guarded by a small opening in the tree line, maybe 20' wide. Green can hold water after heavy rains.



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 32
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Variety of Throws

1    11/29/2019   12/2/2019
Review By: lee76007
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Theirs a variety of wooded and open field holes, with the majority in the woods. The part of the course in the woods strings along on a hiking trail, and their are ravines. Tee throws are open and narrow, but the approach throws can be a challenge in the woods. Baskets are protected by trees. I like the variety of the wooded holes, their are tees that start off in the open field, throwing into the woods, tees in the woods throwing into the open field. Tees on a hill, throwing across a ravine to a basket on top of another hill. Tees on top of a hill throwing down the ravine into a basket, and tees at the bottom throwing up the hill. Some baskets are placed on the side of a hill, sometimes I putted up hill, side hill, and down hill. These are the types of throws I don't experience in the Virginia Beach area where I live. The long par 5 No. 10 was playing into the wind in the open field, that was brutal and a bogey. The dog leg left no. 16 was down wind, at the turn the wind carried the disk and that was beautiful and a birdie. On the wooded holes best to stick with your most trusted disk to keep straight, for myself mid-range driver.
Pros:
- the hole signs looked new and had an arrow on the map pointing to the next tee after playing the hole.
- Their were arrow directions posted on trees to guide you to the next tee, which was needed. I had printed a map at the suggestion of previous reviews, but never had to use it.
-looked like tee pads were new.
-enjoyed the wildlife along the creek, sounded like I was hearing geese.
Cons: -not every hole had tee pads, some holes had only one, and some none. At those holes were some very short and hard to find wooden tee markers. Some of the wooded holes tee area was on a very narrow hiking path, not enough room for tee pads, and sometimes couldn't find any tee markers at all. Ended up teeing at the hole sign. I'm a 4 step thrower, and on a few holes that was impossible to do on the narrow tee area, which was on the hiking trail. On no. 9 an open field hole, only saw one tee marker, the other two couldn't find, same with no. 2.
-treacherous footing along the holes on the hiking trail. This time of the year the trails were covered with wet leaves, leaving the trails very slippery going up and down the hills. I've had Achilles tendon reconstruction and it was scary to walk along the paths.
-with the difficult navigation along the wooded holes, it took an hour and 20 mins to play the round, I normally do two rounds, but no longer had the time. At the three 18 hole courses I rotate on, it takes me 40 mins to 55 mins.
Other Thoughts: I really like the layout and the variety of throws that Bennett's Creek offers. The course was difficult for the most part, and probably even more difficult when theirs full foliage on the trees and bushes. Also a very scenic course along the creek. It was too bad about my difficulty to navigate along the trails, I don't plan on returning until the warmer months next year when the ground is dryer and hopefully the leaves have blown away off of the trails and I can have a more enjoyable experience. This course will probably be a twice a year visit during the warmer months.
In my opinion:
Signature Hole is No. 7 which the tee area's sit on top of a hill, the basket is half way up another hill across a marsh area with the creek on the left, and a tree line on the right. It looked like their would be Catskills in the marsh area during the warmer months. The tee area sits higher than the basket, and the elevation gives more distance on the throw. The hole is short enough, and the basket is high enough that a short throw should land at the bottom of the hill, hopefully not rolling into the marsh. If your a short thrower I recommend using the red tees to avoid the marsh. I would imagine in the warmer months this hole is very scenic when the foliage returns.
Trouble hole is no. 11 which the three tee pads are located in the open field, throwing towards a very narrow tree line that looks like a picket fence. The open field is about 2/3rds of the distance, with the basket unseen until you get past the tree line. Long range throwers could reach the tree line or fall short. Mid range and short range throwers may find a long second shot into the tree line which could mean hitting a tree or scrubs. The key is off of the tee pads get as close to the tree line as possible to give your self a second short distance to pick a narrow spot to throw into the tree line. But, the fun doesn't stop there. When you do get past the tree line, the hole has a slight dog leg left, with the basket located at the bottom of a small ravine. The direction (no fairway) to the hole is clutter with trees as if they were a pinball machine. Their are very narrow pathways to the basket. If you have no line to the basket, just pick a spot as close as possible. When theirs foliage in the warmer months, this hole becomes more difficult. I call this the "Picket Fence" hole.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Very fun / challenging

5+    2/21/2018   2/21/2018
Review By: Jhawkins
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 9.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Very challenging mix of open and tight wooded holes. Some water crossings with options not to. Hole locations change periodically. 3 Tee locations.
Cons: Could be marked a little better. Could be difficult your first time.
Other Thoughts: Very fun and challenging for all levels.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Out of State Visitor

1    7/5/2017   7/7/2017
Review By: aaronjernigan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every basket has its own challenge. If it is an open area, then you either have a long distance to cover or the basket is out of site around a tree line. If the basket is in the woods, you may have trees, a small window to throw through, or a swampy area to throw over.
Overall I liked the unique and diverse challenges every basket offered.
It appears that they are making improvements to the course.
They seemed to be adding a lot of mulch to the areas that you walk in the woods. There were giant piles of unspread mulch in places.
Cons: You MUST have a map. You can get them online.
I spent more time looking online for a map of the course and searching for the next tee pad than i did actually playing the course.
There are NO clearly defined directions.
There are trees with spray painted arrows that tell you which direction to go which don't really offer much help.
Baskets do not have yellow ring around top making them hard to visibly spot in the woods. They are plain metal baskets.
Some tees have gravel, some have concrete.


Other Thoughts: Bring Bug Spray!
Find a map on you Phone.
Have patience looking for tee pads and baskets
Allow yourself more time than usual to play for the unclear directions.
You will have a great time playing this course. Definitely challenged my skills.
This course would be Excellent if they would make their baskets more visible, tee pads clearly visible, and easy to navigate directions to the next tee pad.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course in nice location

2-4    4/18/2017   4/19/2017
Review By: Prorider2themax
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4
Pros: Good variety of shots
Located in a pretty park
Fun use of geography throwing over parts of the creek
Free to play
Uncrowded from what I saw
Cons: Dirt tees
Not many signs and hard tee markers to see
Other Thoughts: I would look at a map before you go or it can be tough to find your way around. I would say its definitely worth playing because of the geography.

 Bennet's Creek

5+    8/15/2014   5/11/2015
Review By: vcisjb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Nearby to the Chesapeake Square area
I'm a sucker for woody courses
Mostly shady.
Keeps you on your toes.
Makes REALLY good use of a small area.
Really nice course to find out where your strength lie.
If your experienced you can make this a fun course.
Cons: Bring the deet, and check for ticks when your done.
Maybe they have a map somewhere, I've never seen it, but I haven't looked super hard either
A few holes you assume you know where the basket is aaaannnnnddddddd your wrong...
Other Thoughts: Could be an awesome course. Signage, bag holders, a bench every few holes, trash cans, score cards and or maps. Sounds like a cool eagle scout project...

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Great Little Course

5+    4/13/2015   4/14/2015
Review By: JROUECHE
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 4.9 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course that circles the outskirts of the water. Lot of terrain change which makes if fun. love holes 7 and 13, you drive over a marsh to the banks on the other side. Mostly shaded.
Cons: I been playing course for a wile now so i know the course but it be nice to have signs at each hole for newer players or out of town players. or have a map at the parking lot to give players a general idea on where to go. Gravel tee boxes need work all rutted up.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for stumps and roots, i know its in the woods but just keep an eye out, some brush was cut like 3" from ground making it a tripping hazard. Love this course just wish they fix up a few things and it be great. Also i made a new score card for this course since some holes moved it not 100% accurate but close enough for me and my buds to use when we play.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, tough course

5+    12/13/2014   12/13/2014
Review By: liverbuzzz
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 9.7 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Difficult but achievable lines on each hole. Great use of the landscape. This area has a ton of water but not enough courses utilize the uniqueness of the area (i.e. bayville).
Cons: Hard to navigate the first time out. This is really my only con for the course other than a few holes that have some extremely tight fairways. If they would add a map and signs at each hole this course would be getting 4's.
Other Thoughts: Love the course, love the location, very easy to get through a round quickly just tricky to get through quickly the first time out. I would love to help put up tee-signs and a map...

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/18/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course, lots of trees and rough terrain. Mud, swampy areas, and lots of roots...and bugs!
Cons: No signs at tee areas(if you can find them). Very hard to navigate. Spent a lot of time figuring out where the basket was on each hole before playing. Played the first 4 or 5 holes and then could not find the next hole. Thanks to a local that pointed us in the right direction or we would have probably not found the next hole. It was way over by the boat launch area. The hole that you had to throw over a big swampy gorge was pretty cool, but overall not real happy with this course. Didnt see any but from what i hear...watch out for snakes!
Other Thoughts: With some work this course could be nicer. Put up some signs and make baskets more visible, improve the tees, and offer a course map. I might go back sometime and play but would rather journey out and find nicer courses to play. Add some benches, trash cans, and bag holders.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

  Home course

5+    1/20/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: jimmyjank
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2014
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New gravel tee pads put in over the weekend, some course management by cutting down a few oddly placed trees, short drive from my house.
Cons: Trees, trees, and well trees!! All but 2 holes 9/10 play either into, out of, or through the woods.
Other Thoughts: Rating this a little higher than i previously would have. Showed up monday and BAM new gravel tee pads, played a few holes and noticed that they had cut down some trees that were right in the way of tee shots, and i also noticed when i was playing that they had layed some foundations to move baskets around in the near future, all of this was a much welcomed sight especially since the last time i played was only a week before.

EDIT: all baskets have now been moved to the new alt. position.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Marcia

1    4/5/2013   4/23/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 625  Reviewed: 388  Exp: 11.4 Years
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
Three (natural) tee locations per hole. For this review I played from the middle/whites.
Cons:
A bit too tight (random)/short/flat/repetitive.
Other Thoughts:
Other than wide-open, extremely long (~1/7th of the total course length is provided by this one hole) number-10, the course plays in-to, out-from, and within a dense collection of small-/mid-sized tree trees that form a border between the open space of this small, flat park, and the water, mini-inlets, and marshes of Bennett's Creek.

There are a few decent holes here. A couple holes have you throw over a marsh/inlet, more mental than physical challenging for the advancing player, and the short tees are located to minimize the chance the newer player will find much trouble. Holes 12-15, in the far corner, use what little elevation change is available, and have some of the larger trees to avoid..

From the tee, you'll need a blend of straight and turns, including some fishhooks! You'll also need, at times, a bit (lot) of luck, as some throwing lanes/windows are quite tight - bordering on random, sometimes crossing the border! Alternate lanes typically don't exist, the dense collection of trees can prevent easy recovery, and some "unfairly" (challenging?) located trees can re-direct many a fine looking-shot.

Favourite hole: #13, as it offers both the marsh and elevation change, in addition to the ever-present (larger) trees, to overcome, with #7 being an honourable mention, as it is similar to #13, and also provides a bench, just past the basket, from where there are some nice views.

While I enjoyed my round here, and would play again, given sufficient time, you do have to have an inclination for random/tight to play here frequently.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.