Suffolk, VA 
Bennett's Creek Share
Uploaded By: Aaron D'Angelo Hole #10
4 / 630ft.   4 / 765ft.   5 / 900ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #10 Red Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 33
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Challenger!

1    4/11/2020   4/11/2020
Review By: Freqe C
Played: 10  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 10.2 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: There are three spots to throw from so nice for those who aren't great have a chance. The front nine, while a challenge was tolerable. Hole 10 is the open long and it was great to just launch. The others in the park were nice, and helpful.
Cons: This is a very challenging course, and it is laid out a little wonky. Like, it can be a bit of a hike between holes, and there is not a good map. Many of the holes have one tee box for the three tees, so you have to look around to find where to throw from.
Other Thoughts: I didn't see a whole lot of Creek, but a bit of swamp and lots of trees. This is not for the faint of heart or new players. It was a fun course, though. If you want the challenge, take a shot here.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Variety of Throws

5+    11/29/2019   12/2/2019
Review By: lee76007
Played: 15  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 1.1 Years
This review was updated on 8/30/2020
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Its a course heavily wooded, some ravines, marsh, and a few open holes.
-Red tees will challenge beginners, intermediate will be tested by the white, and blue can be difficult for advanced.
-The holes that have blue tee gravel pads are in good shape, because its likely nobody wants a beat down playing from them.
- the hole signs look new and had an arrow on the map pointing to the next tee after playing the hole.
-On the hole sign it will show you the location of each tee. That's important because some tee locations cant be found. Just play where you think its located.
- Their were arrow directions posted on trees to guide you to the next tee, which was needed. My first visit I found no need for a map.
-Snakes, geese, and sand fiddlers are the wildlife I've encountered.
-I play a few rounds first thing in the morning, and I'm normally the only one on the course. It's peaceful.
-Not sure if its park staff or the local Disc Club, but the past few months they've put a lot of time in the wooded portion of course clearing out brush, fixing
the one bridge, and grooming. It looks perfect!!
Cons: -The tee pads are a mess. Some of the ones in the woods are no longer marked or hard to find for a first time visitor. It took at least 4 visits to find all of blue in the woods. Just check the tee sign, to get a good look where the tee may be. Some tees are no longer marked. In the woods their natural, and some have roots growing over them, making them very hazardous.
-The holes that have red tee gravel pads are sunken. White is okay.
-Distances don't match on tee signs and scorecard. But most are so close, hard to figure what may be correct.
-The long par 5 No. 10, there's nothing between tee and basket. It's the most boring hole I've played on any 18 hole course. If the wind is blowing, its against you, and even longer.
-The snakes, I've seen them cross the trails in the woods. It's sunglasses off and eyes ahead.
Other Thoughts: I really like the Blue layout, its very difficult off of the tees trying to hit gaps, reach baskets and throwing over the marsh on a few holes. For all tees its a pinball machine in the woods with the heavy trees. Then there's the rollers when putting. You get a break on 9 thru 10, and 16.. I give the layout a 4.5 mostly on blue, and that's where my overall rating is anchored on.
It takes about an hour to play red, and 75 min to play blue.
Roller baskets: 1, 4, 6, 7, 11, 12, and 15. Depending on the angle, they can be death putts into the marsh or down a ravine.
Notable tee drives all from blue, see PHOTOS:
No 1. from the open to woods a 30 foot gap from 90 feet out.
No 2. from the woods to the open a 10 foot gap from 60 feet. A second line was just open to the right side
clearing out branches. 25 foot gap needing to elevate throw, from 90 feet to open fairway.
No. 5. 4 foot gap, 15 feet out all woods.
No. 8. 6-20 foot gap 20 feet out all the way to 120 feet.
No. 14. Tunnel shot, 10 feet wide, about 120 feet down fairway.
No. 15. 5 foot gap, 100 feet out. Can miss to the left, and get at least another 20 feet down fairway.
No. 18. Tunnel shot, 10 feet wide and 110 feet down. A gap shrinks to 7 feet at 70 feet down.
Notable Holes:
No. 6 Blue Par 3 375 feet from the open to woods. 30 foot gap at 100 feet down. Down ravine and back up, the shelf is about 240 feet out, at that point dog legs left. In the ravine is canopy and heavy trees with brush on both sides of fairway. from shelf theirs heavy trees to the basket with very small gaps to get there. The basket may not be seen from shelf and is to the right, at 20 feet from basket the shelf drops. Death putt.
No 11. Blue Par 4 489 feet. Tee from open fairway to heavy woods that look like a picket fence. The fairway on left is lined with oak trees. The fence is about 300 feet out, the fairway then down slopes to basket in heavy woods. The basket is a lazy roller. From tee hug the oaks hitting the 15 foot gap on left at fence, best path to basket.
No. 12. Blue Par 3 309 feet? Maybe 270? Very shallow and small ravine gently down and back up to shelf about 120 feet out. Then back down to basket with a clutter of trees with small gaps to a lazy roller. From tee heavy trees and brush down fairway 15 feet wide. At 90 feet 2 large pines left fairway, and to the right two smaller pines on right about 5 feet forward, and a 6
foot gap. RHBH has an advantage over LHBH. Good luck!
No. 17 Blue Par 4 510 feet? Looks more like 410 feet. The tee is elevated over a grassy fairway that rises back up to a shelf about 5 feet higher than tee area. The shelf is about 210 feet and a straight shot, then a lazy dog leg right to basket. On right side of shelf from tee is blocked by heavy trees, on left is trees and brush. The landing area is about 20 feet wide, if you don't make the shelf, a roller may take you to the marsh. On approach its straight and narrow to the basket with the same 20 foot width. 5 feet behind basket is heavy brush.
Signature Hole Blue Par 3 260 feet. Open tee across Marsh to a roller basket half way up hill. Tee is about 5 feet elevated above basket and a straight shot. The marsh is about 20 feet below. At the 70 foot mark is a 20 foot gap to reach marsh with heavy trees and brush on right, and marsh/creek on left. Its about 230 to reach other side of marsh. Above the last 30 feet is overhanging limbs. The wind plays a factor from the creek. I've had beautiful flights where the disc rises up, then drops just below the limbs. The basket can be parked to the right where the hill has a small ledge. Its a fun and challenging throw! And scenic.
Trouble Hole is No. 13 Blue Par 3 310 feet? Maybe about 360? The tee is elevated above the marsh, with the creek to the left. The right side of tee is block by brush about 10 feet out Your throwing to a shelf about 240 feet out, and elevated above you about 15 feet. To safely reach across the marsh you need at least 210 feet. Hit the wall to the shelf, a roller to the marsh. On the left to the shelf is over hanging branches, so you can only get to the shelf on a right to left, the flight path is a lazy dog leg left. From the shelf is a clear path to the basket. The hole is very challenging and scenic. The huge pine tree that you see in the white tee photo that also blocked shots, is no longer there, it came crashing down recently.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very fun / challenging

5+    2/21/2018   2/21/2018
Review By: Jhawkins
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 10.3 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very challenging mix of open and tight wooded holes. Some water crossings with options not to. Hole locations change periodically. 3 Tee locations.
Cons: Could be marked a little better. Could be difficult your first time.
Other Thoughts: Very fun and challenging for all levels.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Out of State Visitor

1    7/5/2017   7/7/2017
Review By: aaronjernigan
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Every basket has its own challenge. If it is an open area, then you either have a long distance to cover or the basket is out of site around a tree line. If the basket is in the woods, you may have trees, a small window to throw through, or a swampy area to throw over.
Overall I liked the unique and diverse challenges every basket offered.
It appears that they are making improvements to the course.
They seemed to be adding a lot of mulch to the areas that you walk in the woods. There were giant piles of unspread mulch in places.
Cons: You MUST have a map. You can get them online.
I spent more time looking online for a map of the course and searching for the next tee pad than i did actually playing the course.
There are NO clearly defined directions.
There are trees with spray painted arrows that tell you which direction to go which don't really offer much help.
Baskets do not have yellow ring around top making them hard to visibly spot in the woods. They are plain metal baskets.
Some tees have gravel, some have concrete.


Other Thoughts: Bring Bug Spray!
Find a map on you Phone.
Have patience looking for tee pads and baskets
Allow yourself more time than usual to play for the unclear directions.
You will have a great time playing this course. Definitely challenged my skills.
This course would be Excellent if they would make their baskets more visible, tee pads clearly visible, and easy to navigate directions to the next tee pad.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course in nice location

2-4    4/18/2017   4/19/2017
Review By: Prorider2themax
Played: 24  Reviewed: 4
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good variety of shots
Located in a pretty park
Fun use of geography throwing over parts of the creek
Free to play
Uncrowded from what I saw
Cons: Dirt tees
Not many signs and hard tee markers to see
Other Thoughts: I would look at a map before you go or it can be tough to find your way around. I would say its definitely worth playing because of the geography.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Bennet's Creek

5+    8/15/2014   5/11/2015
Review By: vcisjb
Played: 9  Reviewed: 7
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Nearby to the Chesapeake Square area
I'm a sucker for woody courses
Mostly shady.
Keeps you on your toes.
Makes REALLY good use of a small area.
Really nice course to find out where your strength lie.
If your experienced you can make this a fun course.
Cons: Bring the deet, and check for ticks when your done.
Maybe they have a map somewhere, I've never seen it, but I haven't looked super hard either
A few holes you assume you know where the basket is aaaannnnnddddddd your wrong...
Other Thoughts: Could be an awesome course. Signage, bag holders, a bench every few holes, trash cans, score cards and or maps. Sounds like a cool eagle scout project...

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Great Little Course

5+    4/13/2015   4/14/2015
Review By: JROUECHE
Played: 2  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 5.7 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice course that circles the outskirts of the water. Lot of terrain change which makes if fun. love holes 7 and 13, you drive over a marsh to the banks on the other side. Mostly shaded.
Cons: I been playing course for a wile now so i know the course but it be nice to have signs at each hole for newer players or out of town players. or have a map at the parking lot to give players a general idea on where to go. Gravel tee boxes need work all rutted up.
Other Thoughts: Watch out for stumps and roots, i know its in the woods but just keep an eye out, some brush was cut like 3" from ground making it a tripping hazard. Love this course just wish they fix up a few things and it be great. Also i made a new score card for this course since some holes moved it not 100% accurate but close enough for me and my buds to use when we play.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Quick, tough course

5+    12/13/2014   12/13/2014
Review By: liverbuzzz
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 10.5 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Difficult but achievable lines on each hole. Great use of the landscape. This area has a ton of water but not enough courses utilize the uniqueness of the area (i.e. bayville).
Cons: Hard to navigate the first time out. This is really my only con for the course other than a few holes that have some extremely tight fairways. If they would add a map and signs at each hole this course would be getting 4's.
Other Thoughts: Love the course, love the location, very easy to get through a round quickly just tricky to get through quickly the first time out. I would love to help put up tee-signs and a map...

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/18/2014   6/28/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.3 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Challenging course, lots of trees and rough terrain. Mud, swampy areas, and lots of roots...and bugs!
Cons: No signs at tee areas(if you can find them). Very hard to navigate. Spent a lot of time figuring out where the basket was on each hole before playing. Played the first 4 or 5 holes and then could not find the next hole. Thanks to a local that pointed us in the right direction or we would have probably not found the next hole. It was way over by the boat launch area. The hole that you had to throw over a big swampy gorge was pretty cool, but overall not real happy with this course. Didnt see any but from what i hear...watch out for snakes!
Other Thoughts: With some work this course could be nicer. Put up some signs and make baskets more visible, improve the tees, and offer a course map. I might go back sometime and play but would rather journey out and find nicer courses to play. Add some benches, trash cans, and bag holders.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Home course

5+    1/20/2014   1/21/2014
Review By: jimmyjank
Played: 3  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 6.8 Years
This review was updated on 2/24/2014
5 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: New gravel tee pads put in over the weekend, some course management by cutting down a few oddly placed trees, short drive from my house.
Cons: Trees, trees, and well trees!! All but 2 holes 9/10 play either into, out of, or through the woods.
Other Thoughts: Rating this a little higher than i previously would have. Showed up monday and BAM new gravel tee pads, played a few holes and noticed that they had cut down some trees that were right in the way of tee shots, and i also noticed when i was playing that they had layed some foundations to move baskets around in the near future, all of this was a much welcomed sight especially since the last time i played was only a week before.

EDIT: all baskets have now been moved to the new alt. position.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.