Tucson, AZ 
Groves Park Share
Uploaded By: jbrock Hole #2 (Taken 6/2010)
3 / 196ft.   3 / 261ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #2 Basket to Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 22
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3

1    2/18/2020   2/18/2020
Review By: uponthesart
Played: 2  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 1.4 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: simple course
concrete tee pads
Cons: tee pads and set up somwhat convoluted, so it was hard to figure out how to play it the first time
park is way back in a neighborhood, so a bit tricky to get to
Other Thoughts: overall was a fun course, and there was a nice crowd when i was out, but some tees are really hard to find

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Counterintuitive

2-4    11/23/2018   12/2/2018
Review By: jdog17
Played: 10  Reviewed: 10
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -It has grass
-It's has multiple concrete tee pads
-There's a tree here and there
-Has a brand new map (which you will need)
Cons: -Totally flat
-Goes in a circle, then turns back around and goes in the same circle (sorta) again
-Tee pads for each hole can be difficult to figure out even if you use the map since the 3 tee pads on each hole work in two directions
-Not much distance
-Giant pain in the ass to get to, at the end of a convoluted neighborhood
-I'm not a great DG player and this course is almost too easy
Other Thoughts: This course drives me nuts because (while I admit I suck at navigation) I have been on much longer, more arduous courses with blind shots and they were far easier to navigate. There are A, B and C pads on each hole and the only marking is a brick that kinda leads to the basket. I just find it really hard to navigate this course and it looks super easy. For me, it's not intuitive at all.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Fun, maybe a little too easy

5+    7/29/2017   8/1/2017
Review By: tankmlee
Played: 19  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 5.8 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -lots of basket placements
-all concrete teepads for the "A' course
-good use of land
-pins change position about once a month
-local players are super friendly and helpful
-4 leagues a week and every league has 10+ people
-alternate "B" and "C" pads add a huge layer of difficulty and length
Cons: -fairly boring park
-no facilities
-occasional random oblivious people walk through park
-can get crowded playing with only 9 baskets
-trees keep dying and opening up the course making it easier
-some of the teepads are damaged
-the park map is there but it doesn't show the multiple pin positions
-most of the b and c pads are blind so playing them with people in the park is a challenge
-lot of cactus' in the rough
-parking lots gets crowded easily
Other Thoughts: I personally know the guy who changes the pin positions here and he likes to keep the pins in the toughest positions, but has no real rhyme or reason to when the baskets move.

There are plans to put all concrete teepads for the B course as well.

the locals care about this course a lot and it shows, they have a very good working relationship with the city and they have been improving the course more and more.

this park is not perfect but it has lots of potential for a 9 basket course.
If you feel like playing this course and don't know your way around most of the locals would be more than happy to show you.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Great use of the space, creative course.

1    3/9/2016   4/27/2016
Review By: pmay5
Played: 219  Reviewed: 164  Exp: 18 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Good baskets, two concrete tee pads per hole.
Creative basket placements, #2 was elevated, #3 in the middle low tree limbs, #5 back in the desert, #9 in the far corner of the park.
Good use of the available land. They used the trees available and worked all the way around the park, even stepping into the desert a few times.
Probably not much else going on in this park, except dog walkers, so mainly a DG Park.
Cons: Neighborhood wasn't the best, but didn't have any trouble.
No elevation available, but I don't count that against the course.
Most holes were rather short, but its not a big park!
No water, restrooms, shelter available.
No tee signs or map at course, so print a map from here.
Other Thoughts: The designers did a real good job to lay out 18 holes, playing to 9 baskets, in what is a pretty small park. It doesn't look like there are too many others activities in this park, partly due to the condition of the neighborhood. So this is pretty much a DG park, with some grass, which is probably a luxury in the desert.
It looks like the local club plays some events here and I saw 4 others playing on the weekday morning I was there, so it does get some rounds played.
I would definitely play here often, especially if I lived on this side of town.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Groves Park - A nice, short course

5+    6/22/2014   6/26/2014
Review By: Chromezero
Played: 10  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Groves Park is a short course but still fun. It's 9 baskets and can be played as 18. It has a lot grass, which is rare for Tucson courses. It has some challenging holes but is great for teaching newer players. The regulars at this course are generally friendly.
Cons: Some of pads/holes are tricky to find if it's your first time there. It would be nice if there were tee-pad placards or maybe arrows to point you to the next hole. Occasionally, an ATV or two can be heard racing around the park.
Other Thoughts: This has become one of my favorite courses in Tucson. It may not be "World Class", but it's great for a quick round after work.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Nine By Four

1    5/22/2014   6/12/2014
Review By: swatso
Played: 641  Reviewed: 395  Exp: 12.8 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros:
While there are only nine baskets (plus one for practice), there are two tees per hole, and the course does play back upon itself, so there are two 18-hole layouts.
Cons:
Dead flat.

Minimal obstacles - an occasional tree trunk or branch to miss, with only one basket offering a challenging approach through trees (number -5, set barely inside the wild space).

Some baskets much too close to private property or entrance/parking lot.
Other Thoughts:
Course plays in a clockwise, then counterclockwise, manner around the edges of a small public park located between a school/neighbourhood and undeveloped area. The course is open and short, so ace runs and birdy chances should be in abundance for the experienced, but offer some challenges to the less-advanced player.

Navigation: The online map I used mid-May 2014 has one error - there is no longer a basket-4 near the fence/play area. There is a new basket in the open space between old basket-7 and basket-8. Otherwise, the map did help me locate all the short (concrete) tees, and I mostly found the longer tees, which seemed to be transitioning from dirt patches/single brick to "real" hard-surface tees.

A place to play/practice/safari?/glow?, but not very challenging.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Nothing to call home about...

2-4    4/30/2014   5/15/2014
Review By: Outdoor Craziness
Played: 19  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 9 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: The location: it's disc golf in the ghetto. The course isn't much, but the organizers are doing their best with what they've been given. It's a pretty sketchy area, but this definitely opens the game up to a lot more people. I think that deserves some praise.
Cons: The challenge: the A-tees are all pretty simple par 3s. I'd say this is a great place to introduce someone to the game, but it's also a great place to get robbed. And I've heard about people being held up at gunpoint out here.

The parking: a few of the holes require throws over the parking lot. Beware of errant drives...

The wait: since there are only 9 baskets, it's pretty awkward waiting for groups to finish before you can go.
Other Thoughts: I only play here if I have to.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 A Green, Grassy Course In Southwest Arizona Is A Treat!

1    4/6/2013   4/9/2013
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1505  Reviewed: 1450  Exp: 43 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I was pleasantly surprised to find a green, grass park here in Tucson. The baskets are placed are around the perimiter of the park. There are concrete pads for the longer tees. # 1-9 play in a clockwise direction, then you can play it counter clockwise 10-18 going back the opposite way. I would have had no clue about this had I not ran into a couple of locals to show me the way.
I only had time to play # 1-9. This layout was fairly short and easy. Very recreational in nature. At least three ACE runs. Definitely each hole was an easy birdie.
Previous reviewers have mentioned the punishing OB with it's cactus, etc. At least, speaking for the front nine, I thought it would be pretty difficult to miss these fairways and get to the OB's.

Although the park is fairly small aand flat, there are a few trees and the designers have done a nice job using them to create obstacles.
Cons: I could see this clockwise/counter-clockwise design being a problem when there are multiple groups playing here.
This is a beginner/recreational course. Nothing more. If you're looking for more of a challenge in the Tucson area, you'll have to drive up to Marana.

Other Thoughts: I was cool with this course. Playing on grass was a treat after playing the desert courses in New Mexico and Arizona. Groves is a great place to teach someone the game. It's a fun little throw that doesn't take forever. It has some great little ACE runs. When in Tucson, I highly recommend it.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Much better elsewhere...

1    1/11/2013   1/29/2013
Review By: bsnone
Played: 20  Reviewed: 6
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Decent baskets and fairly good tee pads. Basket placements make use of what little trees are in the park but at least they tried! Probably a great place to take a first timer, provided that the other person knows the layout.
Cons: Layout is very confusing, I had my iphone with me and had to check the map on this site between every hole to know where I was going. Easy short holes - an average player could play this course with a putter only (short course) or a midrange and a putter (longer tees). Lots of crossover between holes and dodging other players is a regular occurrence. Just really tough to navigate - it was a point of frustration.
Other Thoughts: If this were my backyard, I'd probably play regularly just to go throw but it was not at all worth driving across town to try out. I was actually surprised with the amount of traffic on the course for such a dull layout.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/5/2012   5/28/2012
Review By: ZDotHalbach
Played: 21  Reviewed: 12  Exp: 10 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Nice baskets
Well manicured park
Some holes may make you think
Concrete tees
Cons: No tee signs
Confusing flow (ended up playing backwards)
No benches
Course can interfere with other park activites
Not much variation of shots
Other Thoughts: Just another 9 hole course is all it really is.
Some minor improvement can make this course a lot better

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.