Virginia Beach, VA 
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: MattWithTwoTs Hole #18 (Taken 7/2016)
3 / 215ft.   3 / 284ft.   3 / 258ft.   3 / 328ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #18 White Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
My First Course

5+    10/31/2019   10/31/2019
Review By: lee76007
Played: 6  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 0.3 Years
This review was updated on 11/2/2019
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I'm new to Disc Golf as of almost two months ago, and Bayville gives a good overall game to help me learn.
- I like the four different tee boxes/markers and two baskets on each hole. I don't see my self becoming stale on the course and with a variety of different angles and yardage to play from.
-With the many trees that come into play, eventually I'll learn to move the disc around. Already happening for me on some occasions.
-Hole 1, 6-9, and 15 are on an easy hill.
-Theirs good course etiquette from other players, I'm always asked if I would like to play thru.
- I like to walk at a brisk pace for the exercise (at least that's what I tell my wife, why I'm playing). Its a short distance from basket to tee and that's a plus because I always play at least two rounds. My average round is 40 minutes, a good sweat is worked up.
-The course, baskets, and tee boxes are all in good shape.
Cons: I don't really have one. I noticed today the leaves are falling and covering the ground. One guy was trying to find his disc today, and on Tuesday I found a disc laying on the ground beneath leaves. but that's all part of nature.
Other Thoughts: I'm glad I found the game on Bayville. The course will help develop my game in the years to come. I had told myself after my first birdie on no. 18 Tuesday I would step up to the red baskets. Not ready for that yet, I'll stick to white tees and yellow baskets until I have better control.
Based on my opinion:
Signature Hole: No. 16 has a narrow fairway on the left side guarded by trees. Tree guarding a second shot. On right side a small opening. Yellow basket on small mound about four feet high. Red basket is guarded by a drainage ditch, that can come into play for the yellow basket as well. Short landing area behind both baskets. I consider it the most scenic hole on the course.
Trouble hole: No. 12. Trees in front of the tee box, and all along the left side. The second shot from the left will likely be blocked from trees as well. On the right side is a line of trees and a ditch. If you go right, you must throw an immediate right to left or you will find yourself in the tree line or if it goes thru, the 13th fairway and that will be a bogey.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Caution in the fall...

1    6/4/2008   9/4/2018
Review By: Hey it's Stellato
Played: 24  Reviewed: 22
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Been a while since I played this course, but wanted to log the review. Looks like some great improvements have been made to signage to aide wayfinding. Shorter holes with lots of overlapping fairways, and the overlapping play can feel intimidating to newer players, but those who have played this type of course before will feel much more comfortable.
Cons: Be careful playing this course around the time of year when the leaves fall... we caught this course at peak leaf-fall season and it was impossible to find disc as the entire ground was a pile of leaves.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 DG History - on the East Coast

1    7/20/2017   11/30/2017
Review By: pmay5
Played: 165  Reviewed: 102  Exp: 16.5 Years
This review was updated on 12/2/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two tees and two baskets on every hole. So you have 4 separate courses, something for every skill level. Baskets are yellow and red.
Great tee signs on every hole.
All the baskets are in good shape and easy to spot.
Two practice baskets.
In a multi-use park (tennis, ballfield, playground, basketball) but the course sits in a section separate from those. The only possible interaction is with a walking path on the first few holes.
Seems to be kept up very well by the Parks crew and local club.
Cons: Park gate was locked when I got there for my early morning round. (So I drove past the park and parked in the retirement community lot, no problem!) The park has a walking path through it, why would the gate be locked?!
I could see this course getting crowded on busy days, with so many baskets and tees in a relatively small area. But I still like the variety!!
#18 was a so-so finishing hole, nothing exciting about it!
Other Thoughts: The oldest course in the state of VA and my first Steady Ed original !! I imagine it wasn't originally laid out with 2 baskets per hole, but added later for extra challenge and variety.
The large, old-growth trees in the park provided plenty of obstacles without making it hard to find discs. You have to throw a variety of shots, several holes had more than one option off the tee. A pleasure to play.
#16 provided the only elevation on the course, a small mound with the yellow basket on top, nice little change of pace.
The only water on the course is a drainage ditch beside #16 and in front of #17 tee. This made #17 interesting as you had to clear a mando after clearing the ditch.
#13 is longer than most of the holes at 400', so you have an air it out hole, but still hit your gap.
I believe there are benches on just about every hole, along with the tee signs and cleanliness, further proof this course is well taken care of.
Just a really neat layout where players of different abilities can play in one group, and each be challenged, but not overwhelmed. In most cases, the longer tee provided a different look at the hole.
Now, if the local club can get a course laid out at Mount Trashmore, they will have their elevation course to compliment Bayville.
#99 on my course list, one more to the Century mark!!

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 This Course Caught me off Guard

1    11/12/2017   11/12/2017
Review By: Freqe C
Played: 10  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 9.4 Years
Pros: Very technical, at least for a beginner like I am. There is a lot of variety in this course, and it is like 8 courses built into one. The trees make this a fun course and it taught me a lot. As far as I have seen, all of the players seemed to be really nice and courteous.
Cons: This park is very popular. Not too bad of a con since everyone is super nice here.
Other Thoughts: I really need to practice more, because this course really challenged me. I found a fun game look at all the "Next Tee" signs as some of them have things written on them that made made me laugh.

 Fun time playing

1    9/10/2017   9/10/2017
Review By: PureAngus
Played: 11  Reviewed: 5
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -2 tees and 2 baskets for every hole
-Plenty of benches at trash cans
-Enough challenge to but fun, not frustrating
-The park itself is pretty small and they really make the most of the space they have.
Cons: - Each hole felt slightly similar as they are all mostly flat and moderately wooded. I only threw my drivers once or twice and would have liked at least one hole I could confidently bomb it down.
- Some large groups. Not as bad as what I expected based on reading past reviews, but I could see it getting congested easily.
Other Thoughts: I'm in town visiting and this course was really convenient to get to. Wawa close by and plenty of amenities in the park itself. Its certainly a popular course but I didn't have to do much waiting around on groups at early morning-noon on a Sunday. The course definitely makes you think about each shot you make and offers enough challenge with the trees to be fun but not overly difficult. I'll certainly make my way back here in the future.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Yell "FOUR"

2-4    6/16/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: nickhead
Played: 48  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 25 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really enjoyed playing this tight city park course. It really has some dynamic holes to play and creates a multitude of possible paths as the trees are everywhere and nowhere all at the same time. It was very fun to play.
Cons: Way too many people. Disc are flying everywhere. The course is laid out well but can be confusing as some baskets site nea eachother. Play with a local. And don't forget to yell four....
Other Thoughts: Play the course. It is very nice and has a good vib. Don't forget to hit munden point too.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Fun Course

5+    4/10/2017   4/19/2017
Review By: Prorider2themax
Played: 23  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees
Multiple baskets
Good course layout
Free

Cons: Very flat
Minimal geography
Heavily wooded for the most part
Can get pretty crowded on weekends
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course. The maintainence is on point. Not a lot of geography though and it gets somewhat monotonous

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Great place to play on that beach vacation

1    8/15/2016   8/15/2016
Review By: thirtydirtybirds
Played: 15  Reviewed: 10  Exp: 4.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Well marked tee pads with good signs.
2 tees, 2 baskets per hole, for 4 looks.
Plenty of benches and trash cans throughout the course, clean park.
A good variety of shots through some thin woods. You gotta bring out most of your shots here.
Hard packed sandy greens, makes approach accuracy important
Cons: Not many, it's pretty flat, but it's right on the coast so that is to be expected. It's really hot and humid in August, but again that's to be expected. There were some downed trees and branches that need to be cleaned up, but I'm sure that's not normal.
Other Thoughts: If you are going on vacation in Virginia Beach, or a local getting into the game this course is worth a visit. Every hole has at least a couple different lines to take. The trees are not thick like I'm used to in western Maryland, they are more spaced out, but the course is well designed in this environment. This course rewards a good gameplan and well placed shots. You can get skips for days on this hard sand.

Overall, I think it's a fun course. Clean, well maintained and well marked. Worth playing if you are in the area.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A great fun place to play

2-4    6/20/2016   6/28/2016
Review By: xred54x
Played: 6  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 3.8 Years
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Great layout, flat course without major hazzards. A great place to practice and develop your shots.
Cons: Crowded on weekends.
Other Thoughts: Just wish I had this park close to my home. I would play here all the time if I lived closer. Park envy all the way from Connecticut.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Better than 3 stars

5+    12/17/2015   12/17/2015
Review By: DgDamon
Played: 3  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I started at Bayville nearly 15 years ago and after moving out of the area played it 5 times this week while visiting the area. The new layout is great and allows you to play 4 different courses.

Tees: Concrete, all in great shape
Signage: Excellent, easy to understand
Baskets: Also great

The holes are challenging but not impossible. The two practice baskets plus benches and trashcans on every hole help this smaller course bat above it's length.
Cons: It can get crowded on weekends. The primary crowd is a little rougher around the edges than other courses I've played. The leaves are an issue in the Fall but there could be snow so leaves are a small price to pay.
Other Thoughts: While there's not a huge grassy bomb on this course it has everything else you'd want, even a guy selling discs in the parking lot.

0 of 3 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.