Virginia Beach, VA 
Bayville Park Share
Uploaded By: MattWithTwoTs Hole #5 (Taken 7/2016)
3 / 253ft.   3 / 288ft.   3 / 305ft.   3 / 330ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #5 White Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 60
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2
Fun time playing

1    9/10/2017   9/10/2017
Review By: PureAngus
Played: 7  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -2 tees and 2 baskets for every hole
-Plenty of benches at trash cans
-Enough challenge to but fun, not frustrating
-The park itself is pretty small and they really make the most of the space they have.
Cons: - Each hole felt slightly similar as they are all mostly flat and moderately wooded. I only threw my drivers once or twice and would have liked at least one hole I could confidently bomb it down.
- Some large groups. Not as bad as what I expected based on reading past reviews, but I could see it getting congested easily.
Other Thoughts: I'm in town visiting and this course was really convenient to get to. Wawa close by and plenty of amenities in the park itself. Its certainly a popular course but I didn't have to do much waiting around on groups at early morning-noon on a Sunday. The course definitely makes you think about each shot you make and offers enough challenge with the trees to be fun but not overly difficult. I'll certainly make my way back here in the future.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Yell "FOUR"

2-4    6/16/2017   6/16/2017
Review By: nickhead
Played: 48  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 22.9 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Really enjoyed playing this tight city park course. It really has some dynamic holes to play and creates a multitude of possible paths as the trees are everywhere and nowhere all at the same time. It was very fun to play.
Cons: Way too many people. Disc are flying everywhere. The course is laid out well but can be confusing as some baskets site nea eachother. Play with a local. And don't forget to yell four....
Other Thoughts: Play the course. It is very nice and has a good vib. Don't forget to hit munden point too.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fun Course

5+    4/10/2017   4/19/2017
Review By: Prorider2themax
Played: 17  Reviewed: 4
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good concrete tees
Multiple baskets
Good course layout
Free

Cons: Very flat
Minimal geography
Heavily wooded for the most part
Can get pretty crowded on weekends
Other Thoughts: This is a fun course. The maintainence is on point. Not a lot of geography though and it gets somewhat monotonous

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 

5+    5/27/2015   5/29/2015
Review By: dg_morgan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -This course has a cute use of the space. The park itself is relatively small, but none of the fairways really interfere with one another.

-It's free!

-There is a good variety in hole length and design, with some shots being a bit more open and others being a bit more technical. It has a few unique holes which are fun to experience. (I like throwing to the basket on top of the hill!)

-Lots of trash cans and several benches are placed throughout the park. (Some older reviews mention a lack of these things but the remodel has progressed since then and the amenities have indeed been added.) Also, almost the entire course is in the shade.

-Very entertaining layout with nice tees and two tees/pin positions at every hole.
Cons: -As the only park in the area, it tends to get busy during peak hours.

-This course is towards the tail end of a redesign. While hole #1 has the new prototype sign posted (it is a very nice quality sign and I am excited for them to be implemented at every hole), the rest of the course is still operating under the system of spray painted numbers on trash cans. Once the signs are finished, the park probably deserves to be bumped up to a 3.5 rating.
Other Thoughts: -Because of the soil composition, our discs skip an awful lot at this park!

-This is a really great casual park to play at for your daily round. I enjoy playing here a lot as it has challenging holes without being demoralizing. (It's entertaining for skilled and amateur players alike.) It's very good quality and fun, making a great home course and is definitely worth the stop for people passing through.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Good course lots of leaves

5+    11/22/2014   11/23/2014
Review By: liverbuzzz
Played: 15  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: I really enjoy playing this course especially after the redesign that happened this year. Every hole has at least 2 cement tee pads and several holes have a red and yellow basket so it makes for a great variety of shots and holes. The lines are pretty clear even though it is heavily wooded but still very doable to make it to each basket without hitting trees (no impossible holes).

The course is well maintained and is very user friendly so it was just enjoyable. It also plays quickly and I was able to get in 4 rounds in an afternoon.

One last thing is the nice variety of shots both right and left dog legs, tunnel shots, straight a head and various others.
Cons: Since the redesign the course does not have updated signage. Even though it is usually clearly marked where the next hole is it still took a little time searching during our first round to find each tee pad. Also the course map is now obsolete.

This is more of a seasonal thing but there were a ton of leaves so finding discs was not always easy.

1 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun

5+    8/4/2014   8/6/2014
Review By: knoxstephen5
Played: 55  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 3.5 Years
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Nice course with good variety. Lots of options with multi tee pads and baskets. Tees easy to find and course is overall very easy to navigate.Very fun when not crowded.
Cons: This place gets crowded in the early afternoon on any nice day.If you want to play with no crowds, get here early! Some fairways run close so an errant throw can put you on a fairway where you don't wanna be. Lots of big crowds here. I have got stuck behind groups of 5- 8 people playing that ignore the rule of let faster and smaller groups play through. This is why we go elsewhere to play most of the time.
Other Thoughts: The simple fact is that the hampton roads area needs many more courses to play as big as it is. I find myself and my girlfriend taking the drive to Munden Point where there is never a crowd.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 NOB sailor likes the "hometown" course

5+    3/30/2014   4/6/2014
Review By: Discgolf Duncan
Played: 9  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.6 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A nice flat course with easy tee-to-basket sight.

Moderately wooded which gives the course a challenge for skilled and amateur players alike.

The course was recently remodeled, so it seems like a brand new course to play.

Two tees and two baskets on each hole give the course a nice variety when playing.

Easy to follow layout with hole numbers on each trash can at each tee.

Two practice baskets to help with overcrowding while practicing your putts.

There's a port-a-potty near the parking lot for "quick use" and a larger building with both male and female restrooms for the "extended stay".
Cons: Lots of dead leaves on the ground make it difficult to find discs that slide under them.

There are still a lot of "divots and potholes" so be careful when treading on the dead leaves. I've almost twisted my ankle more than once.

A huge amount of overcrowding can be a problem when traveling with a group. I seem to do just fine when traveling solo, but I still have to play through a few groups.

The course seems a bit cramped between holes. If you miss the fairway on one hole, you seem to be on the fairway of another. It's very close quarters.
Other Thoughts: After the remodeling, there are no benches at any of the holes. Apparently, the city had ordered the wrong benches and are waiting for the correct ones to arrive. It's been about three weeks since the remodeling and I've yet to see any benches placed on the course. I'm not sure when they will be there, so plan on standing the whole time or taking a seat on the ground. It doesn't bother me at all, but for some it's a hassle.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Combinatorics Fore You

2-4    4/5/2013   4/22/2013
Review By: swatso
Played: 529  Reviewed: 369  Exp: 9.3 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Twenty holes, two baskets per hole, two concrete and two toeboard/natural tees per hole allow for a lot of combinations.
Cons:
Twenty holes, two baskets per hole, two concrete and two toeboard/natural tees per hole allow for a lot of potential other tee, fairway, and basket buzzing - better have a good set of lungs when crowded!
Other Thoughts:
The course is set at the end of a multi-purpose park, with a main road forming one side, and houses/fenceline the other side. In-between with have a steady, but very gently, upward-sloping land, and randomly-scattered upon it, tall, but relatively small-diameter trees - a nice setting for a disc golf course, with no underbrush, so minimal chance a disc loss.

With four choices of tee location and two baskets per hole, the choice of how long to play the course is completely up to you. Short-to-short is fine for newer players, and offer experienced players a lot of birdy opportunities. Long-to-long provides a good challenge for intermediate/advanced. Want it harder still? Go find the toeboards!

The scattered trees do typically suggest a preferred throwing lane, but the trees are far enough part that on many holes secondary lanes abound, and it is often easy to recover from a wayward shot, although this likely means you're throwing from a neighbouring fairway. The primary throwing lanes require a variety of left/right/S/no turns from the tee, but few, if any, are overly sharp, and primarily mid/late fairway.

Tee areas were top notch. Signs, with distance information, at both concrete tees. Shorter tees also has bag holders, benches, and trash cans. Most of the toeboard tees were findable without too much looking.

Navigation: With the excellent map, not too bad for this first-time visitor. Short tees to short baskets has the most natural flow, i.e. minimizes backtracking. Tee-1 and tee-10 both start near the parking lot, and it is simple enough to include, or exclude, the two extra holes between 13. and 14.

A solid course. Although the terrain is fairly homogeneous, the multiple baskets and tees offer a variety of lengths and throwing lanes. Worth a visit if in the area, but if playing in a fully-attended tournament, wear a helmet!

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Fun course in VA Beach

1    10/13/2012   10/17/2012
Review By: flyingdisc
Played: 18  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 6.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Family friendly course
-Variety of skill level play
-Restroom on site
-Good map of course at hole #1
-Good location
-Cement tee pads, signs at each hole*
-Clean course
-Easy course to navigate
-Not much of a chance of losing a disc
Cons: -Fairways a little tight
-People walking dogs through course
-Course could be interesting on a busy day
-No big arm drives, mostly all wooded play

Other Thoughts: Fun course! Was vacationing here for a few days and course was easy to find. Played in the morning on a Saturday, so do not know how crowded it could be in the middle fo the day. A few people playing when I was there, but in no way a crowded issue. Nice course that has been around since 1977 from what I understand. Nice restroom facility with good parking. Apparently there is a baseball field and kids area on the other side, but did not see it as I was just there for the course. Pretty much entire course is in the woods, but not so much that you could loose a disc here. The only place I could see someone losing a disc would be on whole 17 where there is a small marshy area with high grass and water. Two different tee pads to throw from. Most shots from the short pads were around 180-220', with the long tees around 210-300' to the basket from what I remember. Cement tee pads were in good shape. Tee signs at every hole* except for hole 13(b-c). I found 13c but didn't see 13b?? These two extra holes had wooden poles with numbers marked on them at the top, I guess for each extra hole. I believe there is a picture of one of them on here. Plenty of shade with the obstacles providing it the only real interference to the basket. My biggest concern on this course was just the fairways being close together and playing this course on a busy day could get very interesting. If you play on a busy day, be aware of other golfers throwing around you. Clean course with trash cans around. There are benches on the course at different holes. Oh, there are also different basket locations for each pad you throw from as well. Basically two tee pads and two baskets for each hole, which is nice depending on your skill level. While you don't need to throw big here, the course does provide a fun game for a beautiful afternoon, or morning.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    4/12/2012   4/18/2012
Review By: 11abush11
Played: 80  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 7.7 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: -Concrete pads
-Signs with distances and pars
-Color coded baskets
-Not to bad mix of lefts and rights.
-Practice basket
-Multiple tees
-2 baskets


Cons: -Very tight shoelace layout
-Have to be cautious when ripping them when others are around which could lead to a bad kick off of a tree into another lane on a different hole.
-Not to much variety or suprises though
Other Thoughts: Fun little park in Va beach that we stopped at to play while down in the area.
Very packed on a Thursday afternoon and I can only imagine what its like on the weekend here.
Ha almost got a contact high while playing the courses ;).
Solid city course as far as im concerned!

1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.