Texas City, TX 
Texas City DGC Share
Uploaded By: space_ace Hole #1 (Taken 6/2017)
3 / 210ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 6
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 Decent course

1    7/12/2017   7/14/2017
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 989  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Cement Tee pads and signs for all the holes
Map and directions to hole one at the parking lot
Park is bare, but the course uses what is there.
Cons: Not a lot of trees to throw around
LONG walk to hole one, and even longer walk from 15 to 16

Other Thoughts: This course is a true 3 for me, it is not all that good, but it is not bad either.

The park is located next to a small lake between the Dike and a sea wall. Very little elevation being so close to the bay. It is mostly a hyzer fest.

I do like the finishing 3 holes, although they are far from the rest of the course.
16 is a nice ace run.
17 has danger water on the left side of the basket
18 has you throwing across part of the lake, not the most challenging hole, but fun to throw.

Would I play here again?

Well, Jack Brooks park is not all that far away and it has 2 good courses. I would probably play there instead. So no, will probably never play here again.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Good Average Course

5+    5/23/2016   5/23/2016
Review By: CribDaddy
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 4.8 Years
This review was updated on 10/23/2016
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Course is easy to find
2. It has an excellent layout
3. Long Holes to allow "Maximum Throws
4. Maintenance is "Above Average"
5. Excellent Signage and Maps (located at North and South ends of Course and East of Hole #1)
6. Constant winds allow you to improve your game
7. Excellent wildlife interaction
Cons: 1. Constant winds hamper your game
2. Not enough trees to slow winds
3. Swamps will eat your discs if not played with respect.
Other Thoughts: I live in Texas City, so this course is easily accessible, along with Brooks Courses in Hitchcock. I will not compare the two, as they are completely different venues. They have built a bridge across the culverts on Hole 17 which will allow your shoes to stay dry more than not. The wind can be a problem for beginners, but as I have been playing this course, I have learned to use the wind to my advantage, and it has improved my overall game.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Not Brooks, But Pretty Good Anyway

5+    5/3/2016   5/9/2016
Review By: retrodog
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: 1. Easy access to main road
2. Nice layout
3. Well maintained
4. Scenic wildlife views
5. Minimal standing water after rain
Cons: 1. Water hazards that will devour you discs
2. Long drive from anywhere but Texas City
3. No wind protection
4. Ravenous snapping turtles, if you're made of bread
Other Thoughts: I started playing this course because my friend is allergic to Jack Brooks park. So far it's pretty good. I like the long holes and intricacies of the course. But it's still not quite like Brooks prime. The transition between some holes on the front nine must be confusing because we frequently see people wondering around like zombies. But there's a sequence to the layout and a nicely posted map so you just have to study it a bit to get it down.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Worthy Offering

5+    3/16/2016   3/18/2016
Review By: space_ace
Played: 48  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 25.9 Years
This review was updated on 6/3/2017
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is brand new and shows attributes of a well-built and well-planned layout. The concrete tee boxes are above grade, large, and properly textured. Signage is clear yet unobtrusive. Course navigation flows intuitively. Interference with park pedestrians and fellow disc golfers is minimal. Ground maintenance is top notch and thankfully appears to be a priority on this property. There is a good mixture of short and long holes. Water hazards are challenging, but not impossible to negotiate. The wind off the bay will make this a thinking-player's course. One mis-step will bump up your score.
Cons: This course would benefit from a practice basket. It appears there is plenty of room prior to the first tee box for such a feature. If you are a fan of tight, tunnel shots, you won't have that opportunity to show your skills here. Most drives and approaches are unobstructed as there are not many trees on the course. I'm not sure how the course will fare in the summer. There isn't much to protect players from the sun, but the bay water might keep temperatures from skyrocketing. In any case, be prepared to protect yourself. Time will tell regarding sharing the property with fire ants and mosquitoes -- typical of most courses in this area. A flag was added atop each basket in April 2016. I'm not in favor of anything man-made in the field of play on a disc golf course. While these flags may be useful in gauging the direction and speed of the wind, I suspect they will become faded, tattered, and torn -- future eyesores on what is otherwise a beautiful property.

Update: Within six months, the flag atop each basket was completely shredded to threads. They were all replaced in May 2017.
Other Thoughts: I found this course to be a delight to play. I am hopeful that it will be well-maintained far into the future. Even though it is located farther away than other area courses, I will make the extra effort to continue to play here on a regular basis. Loud applause to the course designer and others responsible for creating this recreational facility of the city of Texas City, Texas.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 If You Have To Get Out And Play...

1    12/29/2015   2/10/2016
Review By: jason.soule
Played: 45  Reviewed: 5  Exp: 8.9 Years
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: Good Baskets
Good Tee Pads
Signs Exist
Some Interesting Holes Along the Water
Cons: Wide Open
Some Unnecessarily Long Holes
Virtually Useless Hole Signs
Other Thoughts: This course is trying to be something that it is not. It has long holes that try to make it into a challenging tournament course, but it plays more like a pitch and putt course. It would be a better course if they shortened up some of the longest holes and made it more beginner friendly. There just isn't enough variety in the topography to keep things interesting.

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Average City Course

1    12/26/2015   12/28/2015
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 287  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 9 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Being a brand new course, the fact that this course already has concrete pads, tee signs, course map and DisCatcher baskets is a sign that there is a group of people that obviously believe in the value that the course can be. The Texas City Parks and Rec department footed the bill for the entire course, which is commendable. In Houston, many courses do not have the luxury of having concrete pads or tee signs without rigorous fundraising.

The course has a wide variety of different shot lengths, from short 190' over water to long 500+' bombs. The few trees that are present on the course provide a bit of challenge compared to just being in an open field.

There are ponds, lakes, and the Galveston Bay that all come into play in very strategic ways. A lot of baskets and tees are perched near water's edge that will require a good shot to avoid getting wet. Like I mentioned before, there a few holes, namely the final three holes, that play around a small lake, and you will have to throw over the water in some respect on all three holes.

This can be both a pro or a con, but the wind is vicious here. On paper, Texas City is a very easy looking course, but with the wind coming off of the bay, this course becomes much more difficult. I had never played in such high wind, and I know overall it was a positive learning experience for myself. The wind definitely will challenge even the better players. With the water throughout the course and the wind, smart shots are needed.
Cons: The course is woefully average, when there are not open fields to throw in, there are a few big trees that a big hyzer can overcome. There are no holes that really stick out in my mind as the "signature" hole like there are at others in the City. There are no tight lines to hit, no major wooded areas, no "gimmick" or "tricks" that make this course unique and worth the drive away from Houston to play. This course is not bad; if I lived in the area, I would have no hesitation playing this course on the regular; it is just a simply average course.
Other Thoughts: When I played here, I thought that this course was a combo of Milby and Moffit, two signature Houston courses. It has the shots of Moffit with a few Milby-like holes and the aesthetics of Milby.

With Jack Brooks only 15 miles away, I would find it hard to convince myself that I should play here rather than there. Like I mentioned before though, I would have no hesitation playing this course if I lived closer. Very average course, but worth playing at least once.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.