Williamsburg, VA 
New Quarter Park Share
Uploaded By: Dooley Hole #13 (Taken 8/2009)
3 / 289ft.   3 / 321ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #13 White Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 63
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7
balanced course in quiet woods

1    7/19/2021   7/23/2021
Review By: DumfriesLizzie
Played: 61  Reviewed: 56  Exp: 3 Years
14 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: A very beautiful space. Parkland setting is a nice mixture of open and wooded holes. The property has several meadows in the midst of woods. The elevation in said woods is distinctly rolling.

It's a very challenging course, particularly in the woods but also the two longest holes at no. 3 and no. 18. Both requiring a precise approach into a wooded green. Also wooded no. 16 which is also fairly long and undulates a good deal.

Other open or mostly-open holes also allow you to air out your bombs: nos. 1, 7, 10, 11, 17, and 18. Par 5 no. 18 is 669 ft from the short tees to the short basket! To provide additional challenge, several of these holes have baskets sitting in wooded alcoves.

Some of the all-woods holes require strategy, particularly if you are not a long thrower. Holes 5, 6, 12, 15, and 16.

The course (indeed the entire park) does not seem to get too busy, so perhaps one can largely play in peace (the locals know if this is true or not).
Cons: There is a fee to pay to play (residents and non-residents) although it appears that some might be sidestepping that. $3 per day for the residents; $5 per day for non-jurisdiction people in 2021.

I felt that nos. 12 and 15 were a bit much in their tight turns and twists (short holes though). I suspect they are a nonissue for the advanced player.

The grass was a little high the day I played, and I did get a tick that I noticed early.

A bit of confusion on the pars. The paper scorecard presented here is the most generous but is dated 2008; the current paper scorecard handed out in the park office has no pars listed; the DGCR pars under the "Hole Info" tab are the most severe for short/short; and the hole signs in the field vary the par by the basket on at least holes 3 and 10. I guess you be the judge which pars you are going to use...
Other Thoughts: It appears that the course is in the middle of things in metropolitan Williamsburg, so very accessible for locals. It certainly is a good course to play on the way to or from Virginia Beach. Could also potentially be part of a Richmond weekend.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful.

My First 4 Plus Rated Course

2-4    1/18/2020   1/20/2020
Review By: lee76007
Played: 59  Reviewed: 50  Exp: 2.1 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - Variety of open, wooded holes. Several open tee pad throws to wooded baskets and wooded tees to open basket.
- Gully/ravine holes in woods offers throws at all angles on journey to basket, and putting.
- Scenic wave effect in the open fields. Caught some swirling light winds for some beautiful flights.
- The wooded holes and those baskets placed in the woods from open tees requires placement throws to survive the hole. The type of disc golf I enjoy.
- Concrete pads in the hilly wooded holes a plus for me.
- The difficult course will give you an evaluation of where you stand with your skills
- Great signage posted for forward pads. Red flags on top of baskets easy to see.
- Grounds including open fairways very well kept.
- Pro shop offers more than a dozen variety of Innova discs for sale. Lowest weight I saw was 159g.
- The Rangers are very accommodating. The park opened at 8am this past Saturday. I drove thru the open gate at 745. Office wasn't opening until 9am, sign on door said go play and pay later. Very flexible with guest.
- I enjoy history, and the park has some civil war history. Theirs a redoubt along side the no. 9 fairway.
Cons: - No signage on back tees, with out scorecard you wont know the distance, but you'll at least walk past the forward tee pad and know the location of the basket if your playing for the first time on course.
- Blue flags on top of baskets not easy to see in woods. But I understand the historical significance of using the color.
- Winter months the park doesn't open until 10am Mon-Fri. If you show up at 745am like I did, you may find the road gate still locked? You can still play, after hiking in about a mile.
- This is not a beginners course, also need to be in decent shape for the woods.

Other Thoughts: It took me until my second round to enjoy the course and appreciate the difficulty it offered. I spent the first round overwhelmed, its the most difficult course I've played, but fun. The first round is my longest so far, it took 90 mins. Had a difficult time finding the no. 10 basket which had a blue flag in the woods. Also spent some time finding the opening for those baskets in the woods, with tees from the open to prepare myself better for the second round. Here's some notable holes:
-No. 3 420/583 ft caught a swirling wind towards the basket both times on the second shot. Always beautiful to see the disk swirling, rising and lowering a few times. I've only seen that on an occasion at Munden Point in Virginia Beach on holes 2 and 13.
-No 4 is the first straight down hill hole I've played in my short time with disc golf. That was fun!
-No. 5 302/360 in the woods is uphill dogleg right, with a hook at the end to right, too the basket. The right side is block by trees. I know I'll par the blue one day, not so sure about the closer red.
-No. 12 elevated tee pad in woods, ravine, elevated landing area for a safe short tee shot, again a ravine. basket on side of hill. Thrilled both times to make my placement throw from tee, only to have my approach hit a tree both times and disc slide down hill. I'm going to get by those trees one day.
-No. 15 shared tee pad at 302. Tee pad is evaluated with ravine on right and in front. I felt like I was on a perch. Fairway down steep ravine and back up toward basket. Huge trees on left on side of hill, don't miss right, disc will slide a long ways down.

The course is my measuring stick, on my progress in disc golf and I like the challenge. I plan on visiting every other month. Its about an hour from my home.

In my opinion:
-Signature Hole is No. 18 669/804 ft par 5, its the way a finishing hole should be tough! Not lay down like a lamb, like the other courses I've played so far. It reminds me of championship courses finishing holes when I played in tournament ball golf. Elevated tee box to a wavy open fairway, when the green grass returns I would imagine scenic. From the tee, hug the tree line on the right side to cut down on distance, keeping to the right of the yellow foul pole on the far left side of fairway, further than the distance to the baskets. The opening to the baskets in the woods is about 200ft to the right of the foul pole. When you cross the dirt road, that crosses the fairway. By then you should be able to see the red flag on right just in the opening of woods, blue flag deeper about 150 feet straight into the woods. When foliage returns it will be more of a narrower approach.

-Trouble hole no. 16. 348/420 feet. From the tee pad it doesn't look to bad. Its straight down with tree lines both sides down, but wide enough. I was able to hit my target area both times around in the fairway. If your a big thrower and don't know the hole you may want to lay up and not find your self in the ravine and the deep gully. The second shot you know theirs a ravine ahead of you, but the problem is what's in it. The red flag sits on the far side of the hill straight, just above the deep gully. The blue flag dog legs left, also on the far side of the hill, but on the top portion of the very shallow end of the ravine. From your safe second shot, you'll find the total left side of the fairway blocking a short cut to the blue flag with large and small trees. In the ravine/gully there are large and small trees blocking the approach to the blue flag. Except on the far side of the hill, the same side where the flag sits. A right to left throw along the far side of the hill is your line. The closer to the flag, the more likely the disc is able to stick to the hill. Theirs a fallen log just with in the putting area that can be used for a good target. Falling short will block your next shot to the blue basket with trees, and the ravine funnels into the gully. That is steep to get your disc, and will be a tough throw out of there. Over time, the gully looks like it will grow bigger. When the foliage returns, it will be a more difficult hole.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 A Bit Out of my League

1    9/2/2019   9/2/2019
Review By: Freqe C
Played: 11  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 11.2 Years
1 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This course is awesome. Everything is kept up quite nicely. The holes are marked well. The tees are all cement which is nice, and they are level and flush with the ground. This course was a huge challenge for me as I am not that great at Disc Golf, but it was a great learning experience. You are far enough from everyone else that there are no distractions. The wildlife is pretty cool. The elevation changes are awesome, and add a whole new dynamic to my game.
Cons: I have no cons.
Other Thoughts: I found a disc out there and got it returned to the owner. Label your discs if you plan to play out here. There are a lot of thickly wooded areas and we almost lost a disc or two out there. This was a tough course for me, but it let me know more of what I need to work on. Bring bug spray. I didn't check, but it would be neat if the office sells refreshments. It can get pretty hot out there.

So, DGCR says there are three baskets and two tees. The two tees were there, but they had taken down the white and blue baskets. They did just have a tournament out there, but I am not sure if those baskets are only for tournaments. I tried using my scorecard app, U-Disc, and it was consistently about ten to 12 feet off on every basket. Not sure what that is all about.

Three dollars if you live in York County, five from outside the county. Still a fair price! Lots of merchandise.


1 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Long and challenging!

5+    2/21/2018   2/21/2018
Review By: Jhawkins
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.3 Years
3 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Beautiful park and area. Open holes are long. Wooded holes have lots of elevation changes. Multiple tee locations.
Cons: Very wooded, may be hard to find disc on bad throws.
Make sure park is open before you go! You can still play but have to walk from gate parking lot about 3/4 mile.
Also check for tournaments before going. Twice I've been turned away after driving 45 minutes.
Other Thoughts: Eat at Shorty's when your done!

3 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 New Quarter - a great experience for my 100th course!

1    7/21/2017   12/5/2017
Review By: pmay5
Played: 259  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 18.3 Years
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two large, smooth tee pads on every hole but one (#15 had some terrain limitations), the tees are flush to the ground with a nice transition of gravel.
Great tee sign at every tee, showing the layout, dual baskets and distance from both tees. There is even a name for each hole.
Chainstar baskets are all in good shape.
Perfect mix of open and wooded holes, with several starting or ending in the woods. Generally, the holes come in pairs, 2 open, then 2 wooded, really keeps it interesting and wondering what's coming next, at least the first time through.
Also, great mix of uphill and downhill holes along with right and left turning holes.
Benches on most of the tees for a break on this challenging course. I played the short tees and did not feel overwhelmed, it is playable for most all players.
Isolated from the rest of the park, only a couple of holes near the road, and a good chance to see wildlife (it was deer for me). The course is on a great piece of property.
Nice pro shop with plenty of discs for sale (most, if not all, were Innova). Restrooms and water available at the parking lot.
8 AM park open did NOT mean 8 AM, I got there earlier and drove right in (do you hear me Bill Frederick in Orlando! and Seneca Creek !?).
Cons: Thinking, thinking, hmmmm...
OK, maybe they could use benches at both tees, but not a huge issue.
Other Thoughts: Really enjoyed the opportunity to play this fabulous course. I thought my plans were going to be dashed when I arrived and saw the 8 AM opening sign. But the gate was open and the ranger was cool with me starting and paying when I was done.
You know it was an awesome course when you can remember every hole 4 months later, and especially your favorites:
#3 - after 2 open holes to start, this one has an open drive, but then you have to hit a gap in the trees, then downhill to the basket.
#8 - completely in the woods, and rather short, but with a steep dropoff behind the basket, so take a run at this one at your own risk.
#11 - back in the open field, group of trees in the middle, pick your own route to the basket.
#12 - I love a course with an "Oh Sh**" hole, and this is it. In the woods, tee shot has to clear a small ridge, through a gap, breaking left that drops away to a valley once you clear the ridge. Pretty sizeable drop in the fairway, then the basket is halfway up the next ridge, very fast green.
#16 - last hole in the woods, good sized fairway that again drops down to a valley with the basket just on the other side.
#18 - fun, long finishing hole, Par 5. Wide open fairway to let it rip one (actually two) more times, then the basket is tucked into the trees. The basket was in the long position for me, made this hole even tougher.
The Ranger (uniform and all, county employee) was very cool. Told me to take as long as I wanted looking through the merch, even pointed out some NQP stamped discs, picked up the Leo3. He was more than willing to talk about the course, offer snacks and tell stories of others who had been through. I wonder why this isn't listed on the "Shop" list on this site?
Another course that had been on my wish list for a while, would have no problem paying the $3 a day, or annual membership, if I lived in the area.
The quality of the park, the challenge of the holes, the amenities available all made this a great experience for my 100th course!!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Top few courses in VA

5+    10/31/2015   11/2/2015
Review By: Curspider
Played: 18  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: - Amenities are great
- Well maintained
- Varied shots
- Mix of open and tight fairways
- Second set of tees to add difficulty/change hole dynamic
- Tough but fair
Cons: - Baskets have to be moved between positions instead of two baskets per hole
- Lacking water...?

-Not much really
Other Thoughts: This course is a premier course for the area, definitely the best course south of Hawk Hollow and the Blockhouse. A must visit if anywhere nearby!

2 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Excellent wooded course with elevation.

2-4    6/12/2015   6/12/2015
Review By: Doofenshmirtz
Played: 104  Reviewed: 65  Exp: 9.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course combines mature forest and elevation in a very challenging and fun way. About half of the holes are tunnels with a combination of open areas and wooded areas in many of the others. Most of the more open holes require hitting specific lines, with some holes allowing right or left turning lines to reach the basket. Many of the tunnel shots also allow both right and left turning approaches to the basket.

Elevation comes into play on several holes with both downhill and uphill throws. There are no true "top of the world" shots, but there is significant elevation around the basket on several holes. Hole #8 is probably the best example with a hidden steep slope just to the left of and behind the basket. If you fly by the basket, your disc is going a lot farther. Hole #12 also has significant rollaway potential as do several others. Hole #16 is a 420' tunnel with a dropoff at the end. If you can hit your line, that dropoff may help you get very close to the basket. I hit the line the first time and then missed a 30ft putt.

There are two sets of tees for every hole. While the longer tees add distance to all the holes, they are also thoughtfully placed to subtly (and in some cases, not subtly) change the line. There are also multiple basket positions for every hole although the baskets were in the same position for both my rounds.

This course has a number of holes that require right turning shots with some requiring distance in excess of 300 ft. Right handers should be prepared to throw some forehand shots that end hard right.

Most of the holes are at least partially heavily wooded. There are definitely some holes that hitting the right line off the tee can be the difference between a 2 and a 5. But there is nothing about this course that is unfair.

The park office, where you pay your fee, has a good selection of Innova discs and sells bottled water and soft drinks. There are bag hangers at the short pin positions.
Cons: There are a couple of holes that are mostly wide open. Hole #18, from the long tees, is just over 800 feet, most of which is across a wide clearing. As an ending hole, this one feels a little long and lackluster and similar in style to holes #3 and #7.

There is more apparently available elevation than is being used on this course. However, not knowing what restrictions the designers faced, I'm in no position to second guess. They certainly did an excellent job on the existing layout.

Make sure to grab a map at the park office. There are some minor navigation issues that the map clears up very well. There are no signs at the long tee positions and no way to tell from the tee what position the baskets are in, HOWEVER, you will be told this at the park office if you ask.
Other Thoughts: After playing both the long and short tees, I think the short tees are the most fun. Some of the holes lose a little too much of their challenge in the short position, at least for the red tees that I played. I highly recommend playing both tees if you have the time.

In my mind, the holes that really shine the most are the tunnel shots, with all of them being top quality, challenging and fun holes.

This course is pay to play with an insanely cheap $3 all day, making this the best value of any fee I have ever paid to play disc golf. Bring insect repellant that will work on deer flies. There are no bathrooms and no water on the course. Both days I played, I was the only person on the course.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 

1    5/20/2015   5/28/2015
Review By: dg_morgan
Played: 15  Reviewed: 8
10 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -Incredibly well maintained and beautiful course.

-The man at the front shop was very friendly and gave us directions as well as a map of the course when he learned we were new to the park. The pro shop has discs and bottled water for sale.

-The fee is very cheap.

-About half the holes are in open fields and half are in the woods, which gives a nice balance to the course. The wooded holes have several slight elevation changes and have many tasteful tree hazards. The open holes give amateurs a break from the technical shots and allow for a bit of practice.

-The signage is very good quality.

-The park is large and spread out, which allows you to have a rather calming experience, even when others are playing on different holes.

-Overall, the park is designed beautifully and with variety. It was a relaxing place to play due to the scenery and the holes were all very engaging. It is nice to have breaks from the more difficult forested holes in the form of interesting open shots. I would love to play this course again.
Cons: -In two or three places, the navigation to the next tee can be a little unintuitive. But, we needed only to quickly consult the course map (free from the pro shop) to find our way.

-As mentioned elsewhere, while the holes are fun and interesting, there is no particular signature hole. Implementation of this could really put this course over the top.
Other Thoughts: -As a heads up, we did see a snake in the woods, so do with that information what you will.

-This is the best course in the area and well worth the hour drive it took for us to reach it. I would recommend that anyone who plans to play in this area of Virginia make a stop here, because it truly is one of the highest quality courses I have seen. And it's fun, too!

10 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Makes the most of the land

1    8/16/2013   9/29/2014
Review By: splatbaseball51
Played: 171  Reviewed: 59  Exp: 12.5 Years
5 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This course makes the absolute most of the land it has available. From the white tees, it is a little on the short side, but is a great Am course. The blue tees add a little more distance but it still doesn't feel like a premier championship level from there.

There is a seemingly even number of open and wooded holes, some having a little of both. Big arms will rejoice when they get to air a few holes out. Technical shots will be required in the woods.

The layout doesn't favor backhand/forehand, so in that respect it is great. There are a few holes that you may drive with a putter or midrange, but most will involve a driver of some sort.

There isn't any apparent filler holes (designed to get you from one hole to the next without much thought), which is a welcoming change. However, coincidentally, there isn't a signature hole either.

The signs were top quality and I don't recall any major navigational issues. Additionally, I don't recall any major chance of losing discs, despite being in the woods for many holes. The underbrush is minimal so you should feel OK about tossing a blind shot.

The wildlife on the course was excellent. You're almost guaranteed to see deer while playing. The park is also nestled close to some historic sites and civil war reenactments can often be heard while playing. There is plenty to do in the area outside of dg, so don't hesitate to make a trip to the area.

The pro shop on site is excellent and definitely adds to the experience. Paying $3 to play for the day is certainly not a problem. The maintenance of the park itself, in addition to the disc golf course, is top notch.
Cons: There is very little elevation changes on the whole course. This is to be expected of a course so close to the ocean, but it still detracts from the overall difficulty and rating of the course.

There isn't any water involved. To be a premier course, you have to have a water element. I could easily see giving this course a 4.5 if it had h2o.

No signature hole. All of the holes seem to have a purpose and aren't "forced", however none of them stand out. Just a minor setback.

The course didn't challenge me like I was anticipating. Most of the holes are fairly straight forward and many allow you to open up with no fear of trees or other hazards. Precarious pin positions are the only real obstacle to be had other than a few narrow wooded fairways. The course could benefit by adding more distance to the open holes and more dog legs if available.

Seasonal closings. The course is only open at certain times during the winter, so you will either need to walk into the park during the closed hours or arrive at a scheduled opening.
Other Thoughts: One of my favorite courses to play on the east coast. Definitely a must play when driving through and I'd even suggest a trip to the area since there is plenty of other attractions to keep your attention between rounds. Give New Quarter a shot!

5 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Gem of the Area

5+    9/20/2014   9/26/2014
Review By: DiscinMiller
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 11.2 Years
4 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Two textured slip resistant tee pads. Two pin positions (a pro and a con for me) Amazing Staff in the office. Nice supply of innova discs to buy and they will let you try them out before you buy in the field behind the office.
Course has a wonderful mix of open holes and holes in the woods as well as birdie holes and holes where a par is a great score.

There are a few benches through the holes to sit down from time to time, bag hangers at every hole, most holes have them at both tees. There are nice plaques with hole info at every hole, the holes also have nice little names. The course also winds through some remains of a battle field, which is a cool addition.
Cons: Not the fault of the course, but ticks and chiggers can be found here regularly. Often times late summer the fields get neglected a bit and the grass gets high, helping breed said bugs. (the office always has free bug spray sitting outside for people)
The alternate pin position is much more challenging on most of the holes, often times adding 100 feet or more to the hole. A few of those long baskets are pretty unfair (number 8 is directly next to a 10 foot deep ravine, which is nearly impossible to get in and out of if your disc finds the area) I think the course would greatly benefit from purchasing another 18 cages and having both pin positions available on every hole at all times. I avoid the course like the plague when it's on the longer positions, just takes the fun out of it for the recreational player.
Hole 5 might be the most difficult par 3 I've ever played, it requires an large anny or flick with tons of bend but only about 150 feet, then the same shot again to get to the cage. small gap in the trees. hate that hole
Other Thoughts: Ive played this course literally hundreds of times. The nndg club helps maintain, and they are wonderful in many ways, but their deviant long pins are far too difficult at times.
All in all this is a great course to play. If you are a newbie or a consistant over par player at an average course, this place may be too tough for you. It really requires a great mix of great shots to shoot in the red figures. My best is 55 from the short tee and short cages, but occasionally find myself shooting close to 70, there is tons of trouble to be found.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.