Overisel, MI 
Orc Hall Share
Uploaded By: apdrvya Hole #6 (Taken 9/2015)
3 / 315ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
THE HALL!

1    9/14/2020   9/15/2020
Review By: DFrah
Played: 34  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 2.3 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: My favorite part about this course is probably its name. When you park in the small lot you will see "THE HALL" in large text emblazoned on the side of the building this course gets its name from. Even better than "Orc Hall", which I guess was the previous name and is a pretty cool name in itself.

THE HALL (building) is a small event venue owned by Overisel Reformed Church. THE HALL (disc golf course) is a small 9-holer that plays mainly on the large lawn between THE HALL (building) and the church building. The course shares this space with a soccer field, playground, and fire pit area. Most of the holes run back and forth across the lawn.

There are seven baskets here (two of the holes share a basket, and one basket was missing when I played). The baskets that were present looked older but were in fine shape. Similarly, there are six tee posts with distance and a rough flight path routered in - these were mostly in fine shape but the other three were missing when I played.

Holes 3 and 4 are somewhat interesting. For hole 3 you tee off next to the firepit, aiming for a basket about 200' off the lawn and into the woods. It's a fairly tight fairway that first curves to the right slightly then back to the left slightly. I was fortunate to hit it just right and tap in for a birdie. Hole 4 is a bit of a tunnel shot off the tee to get back out of the woods.
Cons: As seen on the course map uploaded here, many of the fairways cross each other. It would be impossible to safely play many of the holes if any other disc golfers were present, or soccer players or playground visitors for that matter. Fortunately, when I played there wasn't a soul in sight.

No elevation change, and fairly short holes.

No obstacles on holes other than #3 and #4, except for the soccer net on #8.

The wooded area of #3 and #4 mentioned above looked like it was slightly lower than the field that the rest of the course is on. I would bet that this area of the course is an unplayable swampland in the spring.
Other Thoughts: This course is basically in the middle of nowhere. If you live very close by, I think it's a fun place to go toss some discs in a field and practice (and watch out for any other people around). For anyone else, unless you are on a mission to bag every course in the area it's not worth the drive - even from Holland.

THE HALL!

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 Bagged And Tagged!

1    9/4/2017   9/5/2017
Review By: The Valkyrie Kid
Played: 1493  Reviewed: 1438  Exp: 42.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This small 9 hole course plays mostly over the small soccer field that sits between the church and Orc Hall. There are quite a few attractions squeezed into this small area. They include a playground, picnic shelter, BB courts, a sand volleyball court and the soccer field. The baskets are these temporary single chain, model with a dull yellow cone on top. Apdrvya has identified them as Innova Travelers. I knew they were baskets and not barbecues. The tee signs are simple posts with the hole # and distance.

The course starts at the parking lot and plays 305' across the soccer field. # 2 is a 250' hyser throw up towards the Orc Hall. # 3 I s short hole throwing into the woods. I couldn't find a post sign. The fairway is pretty overgrown here. # 4 plays 210' out of the woods to # 4/8 basket. They share a basket. # 5 then plays across the soccer field 353 to a basket up in the corner. # 6 then throws straight across the soccer end line to a basket near the woods. 7 then plays 390' back towards Orc Hall. # 8 is kind of cool. It's tee pad is the back porch of Orc Hall where some fire wood is currently stacked. It's a 230' anhyser throw to the basket in corner. Then # 9 goes 290' back to the basket by the parking lot.
Cons: Most everything about this course could be construed as a Con. The cheap baskets. The signage. The criss crossing fairways. But I kind of see all this as a quirky, little church course. It is OK for the church's members it was designed for.
Other Thoughts: The extremely, scary, dangerous crossing fairways will definitely be a concern the very next time they host a large tournament here and have to begin with a Shotgun Start. Actually, there's probably a greater chance of them hosting a Shotgun Wedding in the Orc Hall.

I won't be losing any sleep over these crossing fairways.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 decent but not perfect

5+    11/4/2015   11/5/2015
Review By: rushedmc
Played: 3  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 8.4 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Very good spot to learn and practice not a lot of people around never busy got some challenge to it but not a ton most of it being out in the open makes in easy not to lose disc but has happened befor
Cons: it says theirs no water hazards in course but to the right of hole 6 and the ending of hole 4 there is water you can lose your disc in but other then that is it.

it also kind in the middle of no wheres so it make hard to justify driving all that way to play 9 hole

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 don't go that way, nobody goes that way!

1    9/16/2015   9/16/2015
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 318  Reviewed: 298  Exp: 10.4 Years
8 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic- plays around the perimeter and over a soccer field behind a church in rural Michigan. I can't see this course getting much traffic other than church goers but still, when you see the map you will understand to, BE CAREFUL!!

Baskets-- Innova Travelers, nice and seemingly newish. The yellow bands help to aide in visibility.

Teesigns- nice. 4x4 posts with a rough sketch of the flight path, length, par and hole #.

Routing and nav- not terrible but not great. Look at the map.
Cons:
Where to begin...

Teepads-- most of the teepads are concrete but are the parking lot, sidewalk, back patio and other public areas around the church property. Where they aren't concrete, they are woodchips. Probably one of the poorest choices for teepads known to man. They will need replaced on, at least, a yearly basis.

Danger- Holy crap. Look at the map. Many, many times you throw over other fairways or come very close to proximal tee areas. This is not a long course but there are some 300+ footers out here that would beg some speedy discing. This property is TINY for a 9 hole course and the use of this property is somewhat poor for a course. Hole 5 and 9 come very close to the playground. hole 2 you throw past a firepit next to the back patio. I can't see how this is safe.

Variety and challenge-- while there is slight variation with a couple of more woodsy holes, most of this course is wide open and with the exception of moving targets, there aren't many obstacles.
Other Thoughts:
If you're baggin' courses, go for it. If not, scratch it off your list.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.