Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Sunnyside Share
Uploaded By: neilbert20 Hole #12 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 247ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee Sign


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
A Challenge at My Level

1    9/23/2017   9/23/2017
Review By: mike3216
Played: 4  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 2.2 Years
Pros: Challenging mix of open big-arm holes and tight technical wooded holes, with the emphasis on the latter. I needed every shot in my limited arsenal, and many more that I didn't have. The wooded areas are open enough to create no problems finding or getting to your disc, but they are often jail with the only option being to pitch out. And that stinking holly, which is everywhere, is picky!
A lot of thought clearly went into this layout, and every hole presents its own challenge.
Cons: I have been playing about two years, I'm working on accuracy off the tee, and I don't have a workable forehand flick at this time. Thus, many holes on this course exceed my capabilities. If you are at my level or below, you will be playing plinko off the trees quite often.

A couple of holes with multiple potential basket locations can be confusing.
Other Thoughts: The course beat me down at my current level, but I see it as a course I will like more and more every time I play it.

keep on the sunnyside (but play the darkside too)

2-4    8/11/2017   8/11/2017
Review By: globetrotter
Played: 102  Reviewed: 93  Exp: 5.2 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Other Thoughts: The Blockhouse in general is phenomenal, with two top notch courses, the Tiki course, and everything else there. It is an experience that you will not regret. I recommend coming for a tournament. They have camping onsite. If I had known that at the time, I would have stayed there.

The Sunnyside is the more open of the two Blockhouse courses, although it has a stretch of very demanding and tight wooded holes. This is simply one of the best courses I have ever played. The open holes are long and demanding, requiring power and accurate placement. The shorter holes all feature a unique twist or challenge of their own. The wooded holes require tight lines and the ability to hit landing zones. There are numerous quality multi-shot holes. And it is all so picturesque, particularly hole 10, which plays down a hill, through a gap in the trees, and back up to a basket guarded by manicured bushes that look like something off of a Victorian estate. There are a couple of water carries -- a long tee shot (not over water the entire time), and a short, downhill ace run. There is one hole that is really short but has a fairway like a plinko table with no obvious line to the basket. And it works.

There is something for everyone on this course. Do yourself a favor and visit the Blockhouse.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

One of my All Time Favorites

5+    9/6/2016   10/12/2016
Review By: jsemales
Played: 43  Reviewed: 39  Exp: 13.5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: The Lightside of this course is another fantastic addition to the Blockhouse. It involves plenty of big arm throws and incorporates a nice balance of technical shots through the woods. There are few courses I've played that compare to the Blockhouse and would gladly bring anyone to play here. The astro turf tees are a great addition to the course. This course comes with my highest recommendation for any level of player.
Cons: I don't like paying to play, but it's totally worth it here.
Other Thoughts: Bring bug spray and enjoy the company of the hosts.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Sunny side up

1    6/8/2016   6/8/2016
Review By: apdrvya
Played: 305  Reviewed: 288  Exp: 7.6 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros:
Aesthetic-- plays on a DG exclusive property. 'nuff said there.

Baskets-- all there and in great shape, flags and LED's add visibility on the more wooded and long holes.

Teepads-- Turf. Normally I hate turf but these were longer tined turf and really didn't provide any issue for traction even after rain.

Routing and nav-- fairly straight forward. Follow the worn paths to the next tee which is usually fairly visible from the previous.

Teesigns-- great. Full color. Only gripe is they could use some "exit" arrow to help guide you out of some stickier places.

Challenge and variety-- I found this course to be a little bit more vanilla than the darkside course. #1, 9 and 10 are definitely the signature holes here. Also, oddly enough, the wooded fairways here seemed much tighter here than Darkside (#2 for example).

Shelters/benches-- nearly every hole as a shelter or bench which is very welcome on the hot days we played.. Also, water coolers were spread throughout the facilities.

Facilities-- top-notch. It's unfortunate that people haven't honored the facilities as they deserve and they have "closed" the course.. Truly truly a shame. Three 18 hole courses on one property that is disc golf exclusive and you can't respect that? seriously...
Cons:
Variety/challenge-- a little more vanilla than the Darkside course. The challenge factor here isn't as high as the obstacles aren't as many as the other course.

I really can't think of any other cons..
Other Thoughts:
Contact them through the Facebook page and see if you can make it out.. seriously, enjoy the honor of playing here.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 It's Always Sunny Compared to the Darkside!

1    5/30/2014   4/12/2015
Review By: sidewinder22
Played: 185  Reviewed: 169  Exp: 11.3 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The private 18 hole Sunnyside course consists of more variety than the Darkside as it plays over a little different terrain with some more open areas, grass fairways, interesting greens, a berm, corral, and also plays through the same thick Virginia woods, rolling elevation, creeks and ponds. There are two loops of 9 holes, a couple ace runs, a couple par 4s, and more variety of distances, use of elevation changes and danger of water. The Sunnyside is more suitable for players of all skill level.

The large astroturf tees here are my favorite, nice Mach III baskets with flags, navigation and signage, tee area shelter and interesting nicknacks. Very nicely maintained mowed grass fairways and little underbrush in the woods, which is amazing given how thick the woods are.

Other amenities on site include a second professional 18 hole course, awesome Tiki course, arcade, concerts, camping, pool and bathroom.
Cons: Holly in the rough. Deer flies. Some of the wooded holes are unfairly tighter compared to the Darkside. Couple deuce or die holes. Hole #17, I'm not a fan of this short 133' hole of plinko.
Other Thoughts: It's alway Sunny compared to the Darkside! The Sunnyside is more fun with it's variety of terrain and distances, but still a very technical course. This is probably most people's favorite of the courses on site and I'm in that camp. I wouldn't call Sunnyside an open course, but it's open holes are where the course really shines and provides some truly memorable signature holes...

Hole 1 - an open par 4 with the tee shot over the pond,

Hole 9 - a short open downhill par 3 with the corral surrounding the basket,

Hole 10 - a par 4 with undulating elevation with somewhat open tee shot and my favorite green scattered with sculptured shrubs,

Hole 11 - a somewhat open par 4 with sloping elevation,

Hole 15 - an open uphill par 3 with a berm/bunker protecting the basket on a shallow green,

Hole 16 - short downhill par 3 tees from the woods into the open and across the pond with the basket just across it.

The Blockhouse(formerly Grange) is a true country club experience for disc golf. If you get the chance to play here, consider yourself lucky.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 good variety

1    8/18/2013   10/22/2013
Review By: Shamis
Played: 53  Reviewed: 14  Exp: 7.4 Years
0 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Very nice mix of open and wooded holes. The turf tees are surprisingly good. Several really tight fairways and some long bombs. Also had a good mix of elevation changes and hazards. Some very unique holes such as the cattle chute hole where the basket is surrounded by fences.

The staff was friendly.
Cons: Only con would be that based on the terrain they have there they could have easily added a few really cool watershots that would've spiced things up a bit.

0 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Sunny Day!

1    7/5/2013   7/17/2013
Review By: #19325
Played: 345  Reviewed: 177  Exp: 16.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: With two 18 hole courses on the property this place is very cool. The Sunnyside was my favorite of the two. It has a great mix of wooded and open holes. Elevation and water comes into play. There is a small pro shop on site, pool, and camping. This course was very fun to play.

The property is well manicured and clean. They've put a lot of work into sitting areas around the tees.

There are several unique greens. Hole 9 and 10 come to mind.

Excellent tee signs. Very descriptive.

DGA Mach 3 baskets.

Large and level astro turf tee pads. I liked them a lot.

There is an awesome mix of distances. I threw the entire bag on this course. A lot of traditional par 3 holes with a handful of par 4's.

Navigation was pretty easy. I did not have to use the map one time.
Cons: Most holes have only 1 pin position and only 1 tee per hole.

Some baskets had flags on them. All the baskets could use flags or bright tape on them. Some were hard to spot.

Hole #17 is the only hole on the course I did not like. It's a 133ft prayer shot thru the trees.
Other Thoughts: This was well worth the stop during vacation. With the 2 permanent courses on site and the super fun tiki course you have to check it out.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Beautiful Place

1    7/15/2013   7/15/2013
Review By: krob190
Played: 12  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 4.6 Years
This review was updated on 7/18/2013
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: The Sunnyside Course uses a great combination of wooded and open holes to always keep you guessing. There is a challenge to the course, but it plays fair at the same time. The conditions are excellent and the facilty is accomodating of all skill levels.
The maintenance of the facility was quite impressive, a lot of time and thought go into the design details which makes it well worth the $5 price to play all day.
The pro shop on site had Innova and Discraft discs to purchase at prices that are cheaper than most retail stores.
Cons: There was the occasion where I was not sure how to get to the next hole. But, a long look around allowed me to figure it out pretty quickly.
Other Thoughts: I have only been playing disc golf for a couple of months, but I am really impressed with the Blockhouse facility. Great pro shop, friendly staff. I feel like this course was difficult enough to challenge an experienced player yet not so tough that a beginner would get frustrated in the least. I will definitely be returning here.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 WOW, great course and time!

1    4/22/2013   4/30/2013
Review By: Kent18
Played: 165  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 8.6 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Where to start? Sunnyside the course when I played it for the first time was in excellent condition. Great tee pads even though they are turf. Great tee signs. Great course flow. Beautiful course and fun holes. Good balance of wooded and open holes. Grass was perfectly mowed. Big hyzers and anhyzer shots make it very fair. What I didn't know was this course is on like a "Disc golf park complex" that exists on someone's private property. They have 3 courses counting Sunnyside. with places to camp , disc golf store, fun tiki bar with tiki night course all adding to the overall enjoyment of this place.
Cons: For the course itself this may be nitpicking but mostly every hole has benches but some of those benches seemed to have been ripped out of an old movie theater and school bus and those benches though nostalgic are in pretty ratty condition. One hole could use an updated bridge or stepping stones around the pond.
Other Thoughts: Well I would start of saying if you have never played here, you need to come at some point. When you come you need to take it all in and you have to camp here. It literally feels like your at disc golf chucky cheese, but the courses themselves are legit PDGA championship courses. What a great combo! Sunnyside is the most open of the courses here and my guess because of that slightly easier than the darkside. I would love to participate in a PDGA event here.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Great Course

5+    12/31/2012   1/1/2013
Review By: ARIK HANZIN
Played: 9  Reviewed: 6  Exp: 6.5 Years
This review was updated on 10/14/2014
2 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Greens were excellent - many had bushes, trees, ponds, ect clustered around the green making for interesting puts.

Great use of elevation.

Great distance on many holes - great for big arms.

I thought the Tee Pads were great.

You'll be throwing all sorts of shots.
Cons: Not that "sunny." Front 9, excluding hole 1, were very tight and wooded
Other Thoughts: I like it more every time I play it.

2 of 9 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center