Spotsylvania, VA 
The Blockhouse - Sunnyside Share
Uploaded By: neilbert20 Hole #8 (Taken 5/2013)
3 / 309ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #8 Approach


 Share URL:

Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
 The Easier Side

2-4    5/23/2010   5/30/2010
Review By: DWill
Played: 238  Reviewed: 45  Exp: 39.4 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Great mix of open, semi-wooded and wooded holes, with two 9 hole loops that bring you back to the club house area.

Water comes into play on a few holes, either by having to throw over it, or by avoiding it. Some nice views of the course and property from the higher elevated tees.

Great tee pads, most of which are the top grade synthetic ones. They drain well and are plenty wide and long. Tee signs with basket location(s) and distances provided.

Course navigation is fairly straight forward and not difficult even with out a map.

Club house, bathroom, game room and pro shop, not to mention two other courses on the property. Very convenient to I-95, about half way between Richmond and DC.
Cons: Muddy and swampy in spots, especially during or after a heavy rain.
Other Thoughts: This course, along with the other two courses on property, make this a disc golfers paradise. Only about 15 minutes off of I-95, it is a nice diversion to your trip on the I-95 corridor.

Besides all the disc golf that one can play here, there are other amenities, such as the game room and snack bar to keep you entertained between rounds.

Seeing is believing, so make sure you stop by and see for yourself.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Sunny Side Up

1    5/16/2010   5/16/2010
Review By: luv2throw
Played: 30  Reviewed: 4  Exp: 8.2 Years
1 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Extremely challenging with some tight fairwas and some open drives as well.

Well designed

Some good distance holes.
Cons: None
Other Thoughts: When playing the Grange be sure to bring plenty of food and water or other drinks because there are no stores nearby and once you get there you will not want to leave. For sure.
Bring swimming trunks and bathing suits for the pool and hot tub.
Be sure to bring a tent or something in case you drink too much because they really don't want you drinking and driving.

Plan to make a full day or two of your trip.

Be sure to make friends with mike the dude with the Jester hat on most of the time. He is the owner and one of the coolest guys you'll ever meet.

1 of 8 people found this review helpful.

 This is the easy one?

1    2/21/2008   3/11/2010
Review By: Riverhouse82
Played: 50  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 12 Not
Pros: Long! Short! Water! Trees! Fields! Elevation! Rough! Sand traps! Bunkers! Island Greens! HFS!!! I loved every second on this course. It is not begginer friendly but who cares. It is beutiful
Cons: It can get pretty muddy and homeboy needs afew new box's so don't forget to donate!!!
Other Thoughts: Every player owes him or herself a trip out to the grange. DONATE!!!

1 of 13 people found this review helpful.

 DG Oasis

2-4    6/9/2009   9/30/2009
Review By: dobsonr
Played: 23  Reviewed: 22  Exp: 9.4 Years
This review was updated on 1/6/2010
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: It has been a while since my trip to the Grange, but it was a memorable trip and I will be returning as soon as possible. The Sunnyside is one of two full-length, 18-hole courses on site, and it was my favorite of the two. As the name implies, it is the more open course - but there are still plenty of wooded holes. The course design here is very creative, making this one of the best rounds of disc in the state. The course gets off to a great start, throwing over a pond into an open field on #1, followed by a series of wooded holes. The highlights for me were #1 and #9, which plays slightly uphill to a basket in a small fenced area.

There is little to complain about at the Grange. The teepads are all excellent, the signage is great, and most holes have a place to sit (some even have little huts built behind the tees to provide shade on hot days). Clearly a lot of work has gone into making this place what it is today - bridges, benches, huts, and all kinds of decorations make the courses at the Grange truly unique.
Cons: With a name like "Sunnyside," I expected this course to be more open than it is. Looking at these 18-holes alone, the variation is as good as it gets. However, in contrast to the heavily wooded Darkside course, I was hoping that there would be more open holes here. It doesn't take away from the experience, though.

Both courses on site are also longer than the average course. This isn't a problem for me at all, but it's something to keep in mind when planning your trip.
Other Thoughts: The course is pay-to-play, but considering all the work that's gone into the place, and the fact that it's on private property, I can't list that as a con. There is a clubhouse area that provides a great place to rest between rounds, and while there was nobody there when I played, it looks like they sell drinks (beers!) there, probably during big tourneys. There is also a huge inventory of discs at the entrance, so you can stock up before your rounds (or replace whatever you threw in the pond on #1). Between the Sunnyside, Darkside, and Tiki Course, the Grange is a disc golf oasis, and one of the best places to play in the state. Highly recommended.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Just Plain Outstanding

2-4    11/10/2009   8/26/2009
Review By: forehandfranz
Played: 201  Reviewed: 127  Exp: 25.4 Years
This review was updated on 7/19/2011
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Mike T. and his merry band have created a most enchanting disc golf experience. Two 18 hole championship courses plus a bonus Tiki (par 2 night course) await you. Plan an entire afternoon to enjoy this labor of love.

This course features a classic disc golf layout of open rolling farm pasture that will allow you to air out your drivers and tight woods that will use Everything in your bag. Many of these wooded holes are even more wooded than the Dark Side, so don't plan on leaving your accuracy game behind. The property is gorgeous and was sheer delight to be playing during the golden evening hours. Flow was outstanding and seemed easy to navigate (though I was with a group of locals). The 9th hole finished at the clubhouse, which was nice. This hole which I call "The Corral" is a fenced in area at about 300' distance (it is slated to become #18 as it is a more classic finish).
Each hole seemed unique from the others. One is a monster that doglegs right through a tight fairway then thick woods-which they plan to lengthen another 100'. It should rate a par 4 for certain. Teepads are in top condition with AstroTurf on many and crushed granite on others (this apparently eliminates mud and drains well).
Cons: As with the Darkside, would do good to have a couple "next tee" signs, but this is a minor nitpick. Also, a couple holes could be rated par 4's.
Other Thoughts: I prefer this slightly over the Darkside course, but recommend you take at least a half day to play both and then include the Tiki course as your early night wind-down.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Fun in the Sun

1    7/6/2009   7/6/2009
Review By: NovaDiscHead
Played: 9  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 33.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The Grange is a privately owned "Disc Golf Resort" located in Spolsylvania, Virginia. The Grange features three Disc Golf Courses, The Sunny Side, The Dark Side and the mini Tiki putting course. In addition, The Grange also has an outdoor bar, with live band stage, video games, a swimming pool with hottub and camping. If you're in the Central Virginia area, a stop at The Grange is a must.

I played the Sunny Side on a hot, sunny day...how appropriate. Here's a hole by hole review of the course:

Hole 1: 615 feet, a long, open right fading hole, with a large pond that comes into play over the first 165 feet. You need to throw with power and accuracy to clear the pond, and get a good location for the up shot.

Hole 2: 324 Feet, runs you from the clearing into the woods. The entrance to the wooded area is flanked by two, count 'em, two sets of two trees, making it a challenging "thread the needle" hole. Once you do thread that needle, there's another needle threading to be done for the hole.

Hole 3: 304 feet- is a snaking hole with a tight line to the hole. A hard wrist snap, and a fast disc are key on this hole.

Hole 4: 192 feet- sounds easy, right? I mean, 192 feet and straight, should be able to ace it every time...but not so fast, my friend. the fairway is tight as a hookers skirt, and the hole is hidden behind a wall of leaves...so if you ace this hole, you're a stud.

Hole 5: 363 feet- The basket is located right in front of you...unfortunately, the tight fairway bends left, then right, with large trees constricting the fairway to a narrow window at 151 feet.

Hole 6: 363 feet, another hole with the basket right in front of you....but this is the grange, so it can't be easy, right? First theres the narrow fairway 136 feet out, then there's the huge tree in the center of the fairway, 233 feet down, then a coprse of trees encroaches into the fairway from the right, making the putt have to come from the left side.

Hole 7: 240 Feet- A nice, right turner with some trees about 105 feet down making the turn a challenge to hit, just right.

Hole 8-272 Feet- 98 feet out, coming from the left is a large OB swampy area, then a pari of large trees behind the marsh make this a litte more challenging. In addition, there's an OB stream bed running down the fairway on the right side. Be careful of the mud...I almost lost a shoe walking to my tee shot!

Hole 9: 272 feet- Probably the signature Grange hole, first you must clear a nasty scrub marsh area, out to 130 feet, then you are throwing into a basket located inside a corral, with a pig chute, fences and shed. Fun stuff!

Hole 10: 535 feet- A great hole to rear back and throw, the basket is up the hill to the left, flanked by a set of firs making the putt and excercise in precision.

Hole 11: 550 Feet- is a fairly straight shot, with a narrowing fairway with low brush on the flanks.

Hole 12: 247 feet- A slightly wooded hole, with a snaking fairway, this hole features to basket placements on either side of the fairway.

Hole 13: 210 Feet- Is a straight fairway, and fairly short...but as usual, the course has some nasty surprises... like a large tree smack-dab in the way of your tee shot, and the smaller trees flanking the basket making the up shot harder.

Hole 14: 289 feet- has a large tree 158 feet in the middle of the fairway, and scrub brush on both sides.

Hole 15: 210 feet- Nice and short, so should be easy, right? No way! First there's the nasty mound covered in brush blocking the hole, and curving in around the mound can land you in the thick woods on either side of the basket. Saw a nice big Black Rat Snake here, so beware!

Hole 16: 210-320 feet, depending on tee used (three choices) The hole is located right behind a large, brackish pond, making this hole VERY risky. If you come up short, your disc is getting wet.

Hole 17: 163 feet- Heavily wooded fairway with almost no clear path to the basket. All the trees are very young and thin, so it's even more frustrating, as the hole is so tantelizing close...I think it was laughing at me.

Hole 18: 250 Feet- A gorgeous, long hole bringing you home, with three large trees arrayed down the fairway, at 119, 186 and 259 feet. Also, beware of the small streambed that runs across the fairway at about 195 feet.
Cons: Not too many cons, just be careful of widelife.
Other Thoughts: A wonderful "must play" for anyone in the area, and a great Disc Golf Destination.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Great Private Course

1    7/1/2009   7/1/2009
Review By: Neophyte
Played: 19  Reviewed: 15  Exp: 9.5 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: There are a lot of very interesting holes on this course. Hole 9 stands out in this regard. You throw across a small valley to a basket that is inside of a small fenced in area. This is complicated because of structures on the backside and right side of the fenced area.
While called "Sunnyside" there are a good number of holes in the woods with pretty narrow fairways. There are not as many tight wooded holes as on "Darkside" but still plenty for a good mix.
This is an exceptionally well maintained course. The tees are all well packed and have rakes alongside to fix any problem spots. All the holes have seating available for the rest of the members of your party and many of them even have covered spots to get out of the elements or the sun. The seating is everything from wooden benches to old connected "airport" chairs. There are new looking tee signs on every hole and they look great. While heavily wooded this is one of the easiest courses to navigate that I have played. There were signs pointing to the next tee in almost every situation where there would be a question as where to go next. Additionally even though there is a great possibility of a couple of throws going off the fairway this is not a huge problem because it is very easy to locate your disc. There is really no underbrush to speak of and most discs stand out well in contrast to the leaf covered ground.
Cons: Not too much to say here. While navigation is fairly easy between holes it would still be nice to have a map. Also a lot of the holes felt like "tweeners" to me. They are difficult to birdie but almost more difficult to bogey (if you can stay on the fairway with your drive). Of course this observation might just because of where I am as a player right now.
Other Thoughts: This was my first experience with a privately owned course. I have to admit I was a little apprehensive at first. It seemed very strange to pull into someone's driveway and then get out and play disc golf. I quickly got past this because of how welcoming Mike and the others who maintain this course are to all the visitors.
I appreciate very accurate directions on the "course info" section of this site because when navigating my way to a new course I am always wondering if I am going the right direction. Once exit I-95 and get on Rte 606 it turns into Rte 208 after about 6 miles. If you go straight through this intersection then Rte 648 is two miles down the road. The rest of the directions are perfect.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 A course to remember.

1    6/21/2009   6/22/2009
Review By: Disc Dog
Played: 82  Reviewed: 46  Exp: 10.3 Years
7 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This was the first of 3 courses at the Grange's 56 acre piece of land. It has a slightly more contemporary feel than its sister course the Darkside.

It starts out with a big bomb over a pond and finishes over a marsh area with the basket in an old cattle truck loading pen.

The baskets are well placed with the area surrounding them well maintained. They are all in good shape and do a good job of catching the disc.

The tee pads are old carpet and I think astro turf. But they play well. Some are the rock dust and chips and I understand that will be the case with all of them eventually.

They have just put up new tee signs and I like them very much. They are colorful and easy to understand.

They have used the course topography well. The fairways are kept clean and are manageable.I saw no crossing fairways and the no areas where you could be in harms way when someone else is throwing from another basket. After the first couple accuracy and patience become the game here. Forcing your throw and getting into the woods will add many throws. While there are a lot of trees finding a disc was not abnormally hard because they do work at keeping the undergrowth down. However there are several water hazards and OB's but they are well defined with rope and the signs show them accurately. There is a variety of straight, left to right and right to left. Some will give you multiple looks. There is enough variety in distances to have an ace chance and to go for distance. It has more balance to it than the Darkside course.

Like the Darkside, to me the best part was the flow of the course. It just seemed to fit. Because of this and the obvious wear on the paths it was easy to get around the course. Even without a map.

This course is more contemporary than the Darkside. It mixes the fairways with a couple of bombers and has some very tight alleys. It also has a section where deuces can be hide by a good rec player.

I did not see any foliage that was hazardous (poison ivy, oak and such) but I do hate those prickly hollies that are everywhere.

There are plenty of benches and several of the tee areas have small covered structures to get under.

Many of the tees on all three courses have a theme. My favorite was here and was called the fish hole. A three hundred foot dog leg right that goes down then up. I did it in 3.

There are regular events to take part in. Every Friday is a glow game, The monthly played on Saturday mornings, and the Virginia Open is played here.

The attitude of everyone I met was great and Mike, the owner, is one of a kind.

There is a good pro shop on site.
Cons: There are not many cons here but its not perfect.

This course has thicker foliage and some marsh areas that the other 2 courses do not and can eat a disc.

Drainage was also a problem in some areas. I found myself slipping and sliding even when I stayed on the fairway.

Bring plenty to drink.The physical exertion is high here and there are no water fountains. There are a few 5 gallon water jugs spread out but I could not bring myself to use them. Its not Mike and the gang but not everyone is as trustworthy.

Parking could be tight on a busy day.

There are no par markings on any of the baskets and it is assumed that all are a 3. At least a couple of them should be 4's

They serve beer here and while I did not see anyone acting inappropriate it may be an issue with some.
Other Thoughts: I thoroughly enjoyed this course. I do not want an easy time but I don't want it to half kill me either. This course accomplishes that. Aside from the water hazards, marsh and some poor drainage this is a course more suited to a wider variety of people.

If you only have time for one course to play and you have group of people with various skill levels than this is the one to play.

Everyone from Mike to the players were nice and willing to work with a first time player to this course.

With its old school charm (hippie and courses) and overall quality experience I now understand why this place has become sort of the holy grail for disc gold in Virginia.

There is also a nice in ground pool here. So bring the family and they can swim while you play. Then dive in when you or all of you are done playing golf.

7 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 The Grange- Sunyside

1    5/9/2009   5/18/2009
Review By: Ragmagnet
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8
2 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: There is a great amount of variety on this course, as well as a VERY good setup for social get togethers.
Cons: Holes are poorly marked. Holes 2-5 are muck ponds when it rains. Most holes have tight, tunnels, only six feet wide, for you to get your disk through.
Other Thoughts: There is no doubt that The Grange is a one of a kind course, tucked away in rural Virginia, sporting some challenging Virginian terrain. The Sunnyside starts out tough, but gets easier and easier, to a surreal point. By Hole 18, the course is a breeze. But Hole one is arguably the longest one there, with several challenging holes that follow, in the early part of the course.

2 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Disc Golfer's Paradise

2-4    10/17/2008   3/14/2009
Review By: InfiniteSight
Played: 117  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 14.2 Years
8 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: A great experience. Baskets lit up with rope lights at night. A gumball dispenser that had led lights for discs. Some great power throw opportunities with many technical holes. Good variety of elevation and a couple good water shots. Almost every kind of throw comes into play here. They have the coolest clubhouse on the planet. A stage with live music, food, big arcade, swimming pool, hot tub, a bus load of discs for sale, and an all around good vibe. For a private course this place is unbelievable.
Cons: Can be tricky to find your way through the first time but not too bad.

Variety of tee pads. Wish they were concrete

The hole they call plinko is very tough to maneuver your disc through. It sits behind many skinny trees that stand close together.
Other Thoughts: Camping was a blast. If possible make a weekend of it. You won't wanna leave. Very cool owners that deserve a donation and a round of applause for making this place. Every town needs a Grange.

8 of 10 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.
Disc Golf Center