Minster, OH 
Lake Loramie State Park Share



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 4
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
Getting better with maturity

5+    6/9/2017   6/9/2017
Review By: Nugzy
Played: 17  Reviewed: 2
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: New course design installed in June 17th turned this into an 18 hole challenge not for the faint of heart. The course has now expanded across the channel using the woods and elevation away from the general public. Excellent variety of wooded and elevated shots. Lots of scenic views throwing next to or over the lake.
Cons: Could be mowed for wider fairways. Plays close to parking lots along 2 holes.
Other Thoughts: As a local to this course I understood it to be installed 9 holes at a time over 3 years utilizing Eagle Scout help. The original 9 holes are now cleaned up as we have understood how the course plays. We have managed the tight openings on holes 2 and 5 as you can always cut things back but can't cut things longer but we have cleaned up the tight openings on hole 2 and 5. We will continue to push the parks to mow wider fairways on the hanging basket hole. This course will continue to improve as it matures over time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

OK course for casual fun

2-4    11/6/2016   11/15/2016
Review By: SK45869
Played: 9  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 34.3 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Nice concrete tees and signs. Decent length of course. Some holes are mowed nicely
Cons: Some holes simply have a narrow fairway mowed and if you're outside of that and in the taller grass its full of poison ivy. Some holes are near picnic tables and parking areas so you need to modify your path to make sure you don't hit cars or people.
Other Thoughts: I'd give this a higher rating if it wasn't for all of the poison ivy. I've tried it twice but probably won't go back unless they spray or mow that.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good start, needs a tweak or two

1    7/1/2016   7/10/2016
Review By: sisyphus
Played: 296  Reviewed: 280  Exp: 5.9 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Situated at the driveway leading to the Earl's Island Pavilion, the Lake Loramie DG course has nine nice DGA 24 chain baskets (plus a practice basket by the left hand parking area), excellent, flat, level, flush, concrete tees, and good signage. There are long tees on 5 & 7. Holes range from 217 to 530 feet, and demand precision and control of approach shots to get into the wooded basket positions on holes 2, 5 & 9, as well as needing to avoid getting wet on holes 1, 4 & 5. There's even a nicely executed, hanging basket on 7.

For really big arms with massive cojones to boot, there's a hyzer line on hole 4 that crosses a heck of a lot of water (if that's your thing). Fortunately, there is a dry alternative to the left. There's another chance to show off on hole 5...

The course has some variety for a nine holer, and is a reasonable challenge for the Intermediate disc golfer looking for a casual round.
Cons: The lack of a course kiosk and map at the start (there's currently a map at the 5th tee (short)) made me want to post up a schematic map here on DGCR, which I suggest you take with you. Being brand new, the woods entrances to the 'greens' on 5 & 9 are tight, and bordering on ridiculous on 2. Certainly the intent there is to open that up for a reasonable approach.

In season, the 12' wide mown path on hole 7 is very tight, with tall prairie grasses to hide all but the purest of throws. Being a lake (park) course, expect a significant amount of goose droppings, and no changes in elevation.

My biggest concern was the number of times a fairway runs right through a planted grill or picnic table. And hole 5, in particular, may never be free of non-players enjoying the lake for relaxation. Disc golfers will be required to use good judgement on when to alter or skip a hole.
Other Thoughts: Reviewer Background as of this writing: played 274 courses and written 257 reviews, with skills hovering around a 900 rating, I started playing at 50 and am now 55. I don't throw far (300 footers feel like success), but am addicted to DG, and have played with folks ranging from age 7 to 87, so I try to write reviews helpful to all.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

There's another thing to do besides watch GREAT High School Football in this area.

1    10/10/2015   10/15/2015
Review By: danhyzer
Played: 1444  Reviewed: 98  Exp: 29.3 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Most of the holes we're on the lengthy side for a 9 hole course. (3186 ft, avg 354 feet per hole)

Long cement tees at every hole.

practice basket

No fee for entering or playing the Disc Golf course (in a State Park)

# 4, most players could be intimidated by this hole, as a RHBH player would probably want to take their drive over the lake and past several shoreline trees to put it into putting range. But I liked the way the hole was designed (I sorta wished the basket was closer to the water, but there's plenty of water on that hole and on the course)

# 5 was a very fair fairway. A shank of your drive either left or right spelled trouble (Bigger trouble if you go right as you'd be in the lake, versus an O.B. parking lot that is for small boats to launch into the lake) oddly their was a small kiosk that had a map of the course @ # 5 tee sign (if it wasn't for the small gap that one had to take their putt at, I would say this is one of the more challenging holes on the course.

# 7 had a hanging basket with the "Pro" tee from platform out and over the lake. At 530 feet, this is the longest hole on the course

# 8 you better duece this simple hole tucked beneath an Oak forest (gotta have one simple deuce hole ;))
Cons: the wooded holes didn't make sense to me, the 1st wooded hole # one's drive we be set up nicely for a run at the basket except this basket was tucked in between 4 trees and the opening to the woods was very small. The second wooded hole, # 5 was a very fair fairway. A shank of your drive either left or right spelled trouble. A good drive meant that you once again had to punch through a small gap to get to the basket that was in the woods of maybe 20' from the fairway. the last wooded hole, # 9 one had to dogleg left into a small gap, but bigger than the other two wooded holes with the basket tucked all the way in the back of the gap towards the lake. IMHO I thought the gaps could of been a little more forgiving and a little wider.

the other issue I had was from the "pro" tee of # 7. It was a cool hole from the tee sign (hanging basket), but no fairway from the tee to the rec tee and if one left that fairway be expected to walk through calf high scrub. the hanging basket was blocked by some branches to the right of the basket and to the left was a tree with long needle like thorns (not a Hawthorne tree, but worse). so if you missed your putt one could possibly stick their disc into one of those large needle like thorns and ruin their disc for life.

Smallish parking lot.

.
Other Thoughts: With all the land I saw of the park. IMHO, I thought another 9 hole course would easily fit in, but would be better suited at another location (like further south, down by the campgrounds, more bridges with possible island holes). and thus down by the campgrounds the campers could have a better accessibility to play Disc Golf than where it's currently located (not far, but a long walk <short 2 minute drive>

oddly their was a small kiosk that had a map of the course @ # 5 tee sign.

I can see nothing but good things to come from this course. with a little widening of the gaps that one has to throw their putt/ upshot into the woods on # 2 and # 5. There's plenty of room for another 9 holes.

Beautiful Park (no fee for entering or playing the Disc Golf course) for camping, fishing and sight seeing to go along with playing Disc Golf.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.