Bridgewater, NJ 
Chimney Rock DGC Share
Uploaded By: valkyriefb11 Hole #1
3 / 292ft.   3 / 243ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #1 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
Smokin' Chimney Rock

1    8/9/2019   8/20/2019
Review By: Ryal
Played: 57  Reviewed: 54  Exp: 2.4 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + The course plays mostly away from the rest of this active yet peaceful park.
+ Good balance of lefty vs. righty, open holes, tunnel throws and true wooded challenges with some water features to boot. I was impressed with the diversity at this 9-hole course.
+ About three or four of the holes have significant elevation changes. (A lot of trials are densely packed into this course!)
+ Approachable for new players thanks to two tee off areas for each and every hole...
Cons: - ... but there are no actual tee pads here: just patches of worn down dirt denoted by stout vertical wooden markers painted different colors depending on which distance it is, which can be hard to see in the first place. Some tee areas have exposed roots and rocks.
- The tee signs have distance and par but no diagram of the hole.
- It's rather brief with only two holes near or exceeding 350ft from the long tees. (A positive thing for the new players)
- Some of the tees are too close to the previous fairway or basket. Tee4 and fairway3 come to mind.
- Some areas of absolutely impenetrable rough here- especially on hole 2.
Other Thoughts: My favorite hole here was definitely hole 5. From my limited experience It's so delightfully rare to encounter a 9-hole course with a healthy stream that the player throws over not once but twice! Hole five is a downhill glide through some trees and over that stream. My least favorite hole was hole 8. I was nervous throwing out of there because it's the part of the course that heads back towards the main park, and I couldn't see if anyone was at the end of the tunnel. It felt necessary to yell, "Fore!" both times I played it.

As for the course as a whole, Chimney Rock deserves a higher score than what I gave it today. Everything that I love about a course is right here. It's got some nice elevation challenges, a well-used water feature, a nice setting with an enjoyable walk, tree dodging, and the kind of hybrid-style holes that are both open and just wooded enough to force the player to think before they throw. It is a great example of what a 9-hole course can be.

But the tee areas have a lot to be desired. Those roots and rocks in the wooded holes can easily cause a stumble, and the areas probably get soggy after rain. The tee signs should be updated to include diagrams of the hole ahead, and maybe they could be installed at each tee area instead of just the black (long) one. And even though it is a brief 9-hole course, some 'next tee' signs would be nice to help out new players as well.

In closing, Chimney Rock is already a good 9-hole course with some enjoyable disc golf for all players. All that's missing is some extra love of groundskeeping and some touches of infrastructure. I aim to return one day in the future. If the above issues are addressed, then I will gladly award a higher score! Recommended.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very good park course

5+    7/14/2018   11/2/2018
Review By: HyooMac
Played: 63  Reviewed: 63  Exp: 2.3 Years
This review was updated on 1/5/2019
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: + Nice park setting.
+ Holes are mostly open and well-defined, with 3 heavily wooded holes stuck in the middle.
+ The construction of stairways and bridges to Make the woods holes workable is really impressive.
Cons:
- No teepads, and the in-ground tee markers take a beating
- Only 9 holes, although you can play it twice from the different tees.
- Finishes with two blind tee shots. They're fun holes, it's just too bad they're back-to-back and come at the end.
Other Thoughts:
- This is a great place for "advanced beginners" - if they've played a bunch of wide open parks (like nearby Harry Dunham), Chimney Rock is a good stepping stone to longer, narrower and wooded courses.
- This is one of the better "scout project courses" I've come across. Whomever designed it and worked on it deserves credit.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 

2-4    9/8/2017   9/15/2017
Review By: bobmcnelly
Played: 180  Reviewed: 125  Exp: 8.5 Years
1 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - i guess this course recently had some improvements done to it
- new tee signs
- long and short tee pads for each hole
- good variety of distances with 2 par 4s
- several technical holes that require you to hit your line
- some elevation change
- navigation of this course is relatively easy
Cons: - tee pads are all natural and some have roots and rocks on them
- there are some very thick and nasty areas on this course but mostly all far off the fairway
- lots of random pedestrians walking through the course when the park is busy
-hole 9 plays pretty close to a walkway and a picnic area, could lead to a safety issue
Other Thoughts: A fun little course that works well as a quick play option for this part of New Jersey. This course is definitely better than the previous reviews would make you think.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful.

  Not Worth Your Time

1    6/3/2016   6/12/2016
Review By: ChainSmoker19
Played: 28  Reviewed: 1  Exp: 13.6 Years
1 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: Holes in the woods have some potential.
1-2 of the wooded holes go over a creek, which is always a plus.
Cons: Holes either poorly marked or not marked at all.
Cars park on the course during weekends.
Brush is incredibly thick, you have to play extremely conservative if you don't want to lose any discs.
Hole 9 is in the middle of a picnic area, which surely could cause an issue if being used by pedestrians.
Other Thoughts: I'm not sure what this course was like when it opened, but I know it is in very rough condition now. There are a couple better courses in the area, so I truly cannot think of any reason ever to go back to this course.

1 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 CERTAINLY NOT

1    6/4/2016   6/6/2016
Review By: Spirit of Rich
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
4 Helpful / 5 Not
Pros: It's about 15 minutes away from Harry Dunham Park in Bernards, a nice 9-hole course that respects the integrity of the game.

The first hole in the woods wasn't bad.
Cons: This "frisbee golf" course had several holes virtually unplayable due to crowding for a softball tournament, which led to park goers treating the fairway of hole 1 as a parking space and people literally driving through other parts of the course. If you still wish to pursue this tumultuous experience, avoid weekend afternoons.

When it came to the holes that were playable, we spent more time trying to figure out where to start most holes than actually playing. What a mess!

Hole 7 is a disc eater. Simply unethical to have rough this wild.
Other Thoughts: If this is your hometown course you gotta respect your roots, but otherwise I can't justify coming to this course without major changes. Sad!

4 of 9 people found this review helpful.

 A little of everything.

1    11/14/2015   11/14/2015
Review By: gbikofsky
Played: 17  Reviewed: 7  Exp: 27.4 Years
This review was updated on 11/20/2015
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Tee#1 is on the top of a slope and is a great spot to practice long throws. We liked that three of the holes were in the woods.
Cons: The starting marker for hole 4 and 7 had fallen down and we had to look around to find where to start.
Other Thoughts: I played with my two children. They liked the three holes in the woods. The course was fun and a little bit challenging, due to the narrow fairways.. Except for the missing tee off markers, it was pretty well maintained. It is a beautiful park. After we played, we practiced distance throwing on the first tee.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Don't Go

1    10/21/2015   10/22/2015
Review By: owvanguard
Played: 120  Reviewed: 32  Exp: 11.4 Years
2 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Bathroom with running water. Grass is cut.

Good baskets
Cons: No tee pads and in most cases no clear idea where to tee from.

Some holes have tee signs and others do not.

Fairways are too narrow and the rough is a wall of thorns.

Good chance to loose a disc on every hole.

Hole 9 has a blind tee shot right at a picnic bench.
Other Thoughts: I lost two discs here, hole 7 I did not play because of super tight and dense rough. Hole 9 I did not play because unsafe.

2 of 6 people found this review helpful.

  Needs Work

2-4    11/5/2014   11/6/2014
Review By: turbotime69
Played: 1  Reviewed: 1
1 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: 1 - Quality professional baskets
2 - Clean
3 - Short but enough obstacles to compensate
Cons: 1 - No tee pads, markers or anything to indicate where to tee off.
2 - Signage is poor or nonexistent
3 - Woods are THICK and littered with sticker bushes
Other Thoughts: Far ways are narrow which is ok and forces you to work on accuracy but the thickness of the woods makes going for distance unappealing as a shanked disc will get swallowed.

The course layout is pretty simple but could be really great fun if all my "Cons" are addressed.

If someone wants to organize a clean-up effort I'll help, PM me.

1 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Cool course, needs a little work

2-4    5/27/2014   5/29/2014
Review By: nwinnie34
Played: 11  Reviewed: 11  Exp: 5.7 Years
This review was updated on 6/23/2014
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Cool layout, secluded, great woods holes, baskets are in great shape, was a fun course for both beginners or the more advanced
Cons: Poor signage, couldnt find Hole #9 tee box, the place needed a good mowing, WOODS ARE THICK, stay in the fairway or else you'll spend half the round in the woods searching for a needle in a haysack, i lost a Silver Discraft Ti Buzzz on the 6th hole, please call me if you find it, i had it for literally one day
Other Thoughts: The idea is there, this is my 2nd time playing this course and I'm not sure if i will go back, id rather play other courses and not spend an hour per 9 holes looking for discs.... i know i should stay in the fairway... haha but sometimes it don't work out like that, ill come back in the fall when the foliage is less thick, TONS OF PRICKERS in the woods

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Less than Decent NJ Course

5+    9/12/2013   10/18/2013
Review By: EWSdiscgolf
Played: 89  Reviewed: 28  Exp: 6.1 Years
This review was updated on 3/6/2015
3 Helpful / 3 Not
Pros: 1. There was a decent use of terrain. Some holes were downhill, some uphill, and some flat. I especially liked the downhill holes.
2. Chimney Rock offered a long tee but half of the time I couldn't find it.
Cons: 1. There really weren't any tee pads. They were grass and on a rainy day you have absolutely no footing. They should really add new concrete tee pads
2. The signage is awful here. Most holes have faded signage and some holes don't even have signage at all! I heard that they were supposed to make new updated tee signs in January 2015 but they didn't.
3. Absolutely no course amenities. No benches at tees, garbage cans on course, disc bag posts/hooks, next tee arrows, etc.
4. Not really that much hole variety in distance. Other than one 485 par 4, all holes are 160 feet.
5. There really wasn't a signature hole on the course. Most holes are not very unique. Maybe if they extended hole 2 and moved the basket to on top of the hill, it could be signature.
6. Most important: the overall fun factor. I really don't know what to say but most of the time this course really isn't interesting at all but it is a good course for a quick round.
Other Thoughts: Don't really come here if you are looking for a challenge or hoping for a solid 4 rated course. Play the new Thompson Park or Greystone Woods.

3 of 6 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.