Lindsay, TX 
Lindsay Park Share
Uploaded By: gnduke Hole #6 (Taken 10/2015)
3 / 407ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #6 Tee Sign



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 5
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Lindsay Park

2-4    4/29/2020   5/4/2020
Review By: aclay
Played: 194  Reviewed: 100  Exp: 36.6 Years
6 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: -- Excellent map.
-- Water in play on four holes. The creek is small, so it's fairly easy to retrieve discs. But hole 2 has you throwing down the creek, adding some challenge.
-- Restrooms and water, although the restrooms were locked during our COVID-19 era visit.
-- Disccatcher baskets.
-- Decent range of hole distances. Two holes are shorter than 200 feet while one is longer than 400 feet and another is just short of 400 feet.
-- Beautiful park with trees that add shade and challenge.
Cons: -- Holes 5-6 are 500 feet away from the rest of the park. There is a sign, so you're not going to get lost. I generally don't mind the walking (after all, I'm outside to get some exercise), but this isn't a walk through a nice park. You are walking down a city street. Holes 5-6 are basically in a different park from holes 1-4 and 7-9. The fact that you have to make that walk twice adds to the frustration.
-- In several spots, tees and baskets are really close to houses and yards. Sometimes, that leads to a feeling of being crammed in. Also, there are a lot of signs saying don't cross the fence to retrieve a disc. Certainly, people have the right to not have strangers in their backyards, but those signs tend to create a feeling that disc golfers are not welcome.
-- On our visit, the park didn't appear overly crowded, but we still waited a lot. The walking path through the park had walkers (with and without dogs), runners and kids on bikes. The creek has kids fishing/playing.
-- There are a lot of mandos. I'm not the biggest fan, but I understand when they are for safety. However, the mando on No. 1 forces you to throw over/along the walking path.
Other Thoughts: -- This course is not worth a long drive to play, but we combined it with Moffett in Gainesville and Muenster and made a day of it.
-- It was very windy when we played. Given that there are wind farms in the area, that probably is a normal situation.

6 of 6 people found this review helpful.

 Surprisingly Decent

1    4/9/2019   4/16/2019
Review By: c_a_miller
Played: 287  Reviewed: 209  Exp: 9 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lindsay, TX is a bit out of the way. It is a tiny town west of I35. Its one park has a nine hole course that is actually fairly decent. The park is scattered with trees, which adds challenge on every hole. There is a creek that runs through the park. 3 fairways cross the creek adding even more challenge. Though a plus, is the creek seems shallow enough where you can retrieve your disc, just with a one stroke penalty. There are also mandos throughout the course that are put in for park safety; all of these combined create a pretty challenging course.

The baskets seem like they are brand new, probably from the lack of play at the course. There is a nice course map at the beginning. Each tee has a really nice sign with distances and a layout of each hole. There are gravel tees, which is really all that is warranted here as no holes are too long, which would need a large run up.
Cons: The walk from hole 5 and then back to hole 7 seems to be a bit of a ways down there. I did not play those holes as when I played here, those holes were under construction.

There are walking trails coming into play on literally every hole, and being the only park in the city, the walking trails are used regularly. Watch out before throwing! The course also does feel a little crammed in the park. The fairways are very close to one another.
Other Thoughts: This is a decent course that probably exceeded my expectations. It definitely makes driving up here from the DFW area to bag course worth it, as before only the 3 hole course in Gainesville was up here.

I would never live in a small town of ~1,100, but if I had to, and it had to be disc golf related, I would not mind living in Lindsay, TX.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Wonderful park and course

1    3/24/2018   3/25/2018
Review By: TheHipstick
Played: 164  Reviewed: 69  Exp: 17.9 Years
2 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Well kept park and course, multi use park with activities for kiddos
Nice natural teepads
Great tee signs
Nice Innova DisCatcher baskets
Opportunity to throw many different shots
For the most part, great layout for the course and area
Same creek runs thru the park, which adds to the fun/difficulty factor
The creek isn't a disc eater, you should be able to get your plastic back
Cons: The only bad thing about this course is the long/out of the way walk between basket 4 and tee for hole 5, then the long walk back from basket 6 to the tee for hole 7
Other Thoughts: Great course, highly recommend if your in the area.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Lindsay Park

1    2/27/2016   2/28/2016
Review By: tkmcdougal
Played: 193  Reviewed: 94  Exp: 13.1 Years
5 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: Lindsay Park is a fun little course with great tee signs and good DISCatcher baskets. There is a good course map at the parking lot. The course has great signage including the mandos. When you have to cross the street for holes 5 and 6 there is signage giving you easy directions. There is also signs around neighbors houses saying don't hop the fences. The course offers some tight challenging lines on a fews holes that were really fun. The designer makes good use of the land that is provided as well as the creek comes into play on a few holes.
Cons: The course felt a little crammed into the park. I am not a fan of long walks between holes. Holes 5-6 were down the street, then you had to walk back. Hole 7 is right after Hole 4's basket so you make a good distance walk to just get back to where you were. The course is also very busy. There were multiple people walking dogs throughout the park which makes it important to be aware of walkers.
Other Thoughts: Lindsay park was a good course that makes you use different shots throughout the round. The designer did a nice job for the land that he was provided. The course doesn't favor only RHBH but makes you use RHFH as well which I appreciate. The course is in a good location as there are not any other 9 or 18 holers for a good distance.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful.

 Pleasantly surprised

1    2/6/2016   2/6/2016
Review By: Pizza God
Played: 993  Reviewed: 353  Exp: 33.1 Years
4 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: Good Tee signs and good directions signs on the course
Course map at the parking lot
Most holes are designed to throw around trees.
Several holes play around the little creek.
There is even a course poll to retrieve your discs if you need it.
Cons: Gravel tee's, although for a short course, cement tees might have been a waste of money.

Biggest con on this course is the walk to a separate part of the park to play holes 5 and 6
Other Thoughts: In all, I enjoyed this course. It helped that I got an ace on hole 1 with a skip shot :)

But for a small town, this is a great course to have.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.