Pittstown, NJ 
Camp Tecumseh Share
Uploaded By: timg Hole #12
3 / 401ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #12 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 7
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
Come To Tecumseh!

1    4/7/2018   4/16/2018
Review By: Ryal
Played: 25  Reviewed: 17  Exp: 1.1 Years
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: + Quiet and peaceful venue nestled within the heart of a sleepy camping grounds (at least in early April).
+ Tecumseh features a nice assortment of wooded, hybrid, and open holes.
+ Tee areas had clear and concise signs indicating where to throw, how far, and the par.
+ Some nice elevation challenges both gradual and abrupt. Otherwise, it's flat on average.
+ More than a few water hazards add excitement to several of the holes.
+ Thick woods make for a challenge of accuracy and control. Several tunnel shots and narrow fairways.
+ Generous wide-open fields allow for powerful unbridled releases. Several holes are longer than 350 feet.
+ The grounds appeared well-maintained. Even my careless throws were easy to find. I didn't not see garbage anywhere except in the numerous trash cans, and the fairways were easy to tell apart from the rough- especially on the open holes.
Cons: - The tee pads are hit or miss. Some are rubber. Some are solid concrete. One or two are missing altogether. It does not take away from the playability of the course, but it does seem a bit slipshod.
- Only one tee pad and pin per hole. Newer players may likely feel intimidated not having a short tee option.
- Some flight paths cross right over or veer very close to the campground's roads. I did not encounter any campers during my session, but I imagine that there will be plenty of them during the warmer months. Be careful and have a bit of patience.
- The first seven holes have a ton of rocks and exposed roots that may cause a stumble. Watch where you're stepping.
Other Thoughts: I'll admit to at first feeling bored with Tecumseh. Sure, the venue was serene and contemplative. I did appreciate the elevation obstacles presented to me with holes 4 - 6. However, the first seven holes took place within the same cluster of woods relatively close to one another with not much change in scenery between them. Worse, the rocks constantly underfoot began to irritate me. I began to get a horrible feeling that the whole course was going to continue like that.

Not so! Hole 8 was the first open hole of the course. The rocks vanished. It felt freeing to throw a disc and have it not hit a tree. From there, the course pretty much stayed open, and the landscape felt more varied. The elevation and accuracy challenges are more present in the wooded holes, whereas the distance and course navigation challenges are largely within the open holes.
Some hybrid holes come into the mix with 10 through 13 featuring a great many OB areas to watch out for.

To my mind, the star of the show was hole 11 because it has the player navigate a relatively open grove of trees, fly over an OB road, and fly up and around a bend to find the pin in a somewhat difficult spot near some barrier trees planted at the bottom of a cliff atop which is, I'm guessing, the campsite's dining hall. I imagined that whole room full of people pointing and laughing as my disc hit a power line and landed a few yards away from the pin.

Lastly, holes 14 through 18 are all opportunities to throw your hardest. As I've only been playing for about ten months at time of writing, my arm still isn't that well developed, but I can certainly understand the joy that someone would feel to have the chance to use all your strength in a wild fling far into the distance. Hole 18 is a monster.

In conclusion, Camp Tecumseh, is a fun well-rounded course not specializing in any one type of skill. I didn't like how repetitive the opening seven holes felt with nothing but the same set of trees in all directions, but once it opened up, the course really came alive. It is a calm and beautiful place with a lot of acreage at its disposal. Get ready for a healthy walk. I am envious of anybody who camps here. I may do so myself this summer.
If you like wooded holes both with and without elevation, you'll be happy here. If you like expansive meadows with and without elevation, you'll be happy here. If you like disc golf, you'll be happy here.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

Could Become New Jersey's Finest

1    3/8/2017   3/8/2017
Review By: RamsFan1
Played: 74  Reviewed: 74  Exp: 7.8 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: 18 hole challenging course in a beautiful part of the state on a wonderful piece of camp property. The grounds are immaculate.There is a welcome board here and bathrooms on site. Features a good mix of both short and long holes and is balanced with an even number of open and wooded shots. Excellent new signs give you par, distance and flight path off the tee. Tee pads are of adequate length and the course features new DisCatcher baskets. There are benches at a number of the holes, and navigation is relatively easy for first timers. The elevation here is great and adds to the challenge, as does a shallow creek which winds around much of the course. Many very good holes, none more so than 18- a superb 900 foot par 5 finishing hole with OB left, OB right and a creek to contend with. You'll need more than just a RHBH to score as well as you'd like.
Cons: Currently, there is only one tee and basket placement per hole. The tree right in the middle of hole 3's fairway 15 feet off the tee box should be removed! Par for both hole 4 (probably a par "3") and hole 12 (could be a "4") are questionable; Wind can be brutal on the open holes and make for some frustrating golf. Uniform paver or cement pads for all 18 holes would add immeasurably to the course. Some more "next tee" directional arrows would be of help.
Other Thoughts: New Jersey is developing some fine disc golf courses and an argument could be made that Camp Tecumseh might become the best of the bunch. It characterizes the best of what North Jersey disc golf has to offer: a course on a magnificent piece of property with elevation and woods both a major factor. Tecumseh very much reminds me of Camp Sankanac in PA- another course on church property with rolling hills, elevation, water and a bridge all coming into play.

As a 40+ year old player with an average arm, I am not enamored with a lot of wide open distance holes. It is a measure of just how much I liked this course that I nonetheless enjoyed my experience here. Any listed "cons" are a reflection of the course being relatively new and will be addressed in time. As it stands, Camp Tecumseh is a superb playing experience.

This property is owned by the Salvation Army and is not always available to the public- call before you take the trip to play. Kudos to John, the camp staff and others who have made this course and its events memorable.

Located 15-20 minutes from both Alexandria Township Park and Tinicum. Make a day of it and play a round at all three!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 A Solid, Challenging Experience (At Your Own Risk)

1    6/11/2016   6/20/2016
Review By: Spirit of Rich
Played: 6  Reviewed: 3
3 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: The course itself is overall a pretty well kept round of 18, with baskets in great condition and clear pathways throughout the wooded areas. Nice and smoothly paved tee pads. The front and back 9 offer two different terrain types, with the first 9 being almost exclusively in the woods and the back 9 in more open terrain. Good use of elevation.

Experienced players will find fun challenges in the wooded section. There's good use of trees to protect the basket as well as elevation and sharp turns from the tee.

There's a bench beside the start of every tee.
Cons: Play this course with someone who has been here already if possible as we spent far too long trying to actually find where each tee was. This was a particular problem for the first set of holes in the woods. I would recommend having a picture of the map with you at all times as the holes are generally poorly marked, especially those front 9 in the woods.

This course can be unforgiving for beginners. There is just one tee-off for every hole, and the first set of holes in the woods can be very frustrating for those still new to the game.

The course is on a camp site on private property that has some hours difficult to access. Be sure to check their facebook page before planning a trip.

Other Thoughts: Ever see the Wickerman? This is a beautiful camp but you won't be able to shake your sense of unease that you're being watched at all times and that things aren't quite as they seem. Could there be something sinister that lies beneath the projection of peace and serenity? Even in broad daylight, the sheer size of the camp juxtaposed with such a small number of people at the camp would sometimes send shivers down my spine. The few people you do run into are very friendly, perhaps a little too friendly. At one point while my friend and I were taking a break on a bench, we were being circled above by a vulture - an innocent coincidence, or were we being marked as potential victims? On hole 17 as we walked toward the hole after our first throw, a deep hole nearly tore my friend's ankle to bits. Had he suffered real injury, he would have been easy prey.

I'm a firm believer in making sure absolutely nothing gets in the way of a nice disc golf experience, so all I will say is this. Tread lightly, keep your head on a swivel, and expect the unexpected. You don't want your first trip to Camp Tecumseh to be your last.

3 of 10 people found this review helpful.

 Decent NJ Course

5+    5/29/2016   5/30/2016
Review By: jksdg
Played: 101  Reviewed: 2  Exp: 5 Years
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: - Really great new DisCatchers with no rust
- Good level tee boxes that have nice traction for when you throw
- Some holes have Innova flags on the baskets
- Private land, but the course is still free to play
- 7 is a really long and wooded par 5, but it is still fair and fun if you can hit your lines
- Just put in course map right near the parking lot. Take a picture of it or you will get lost.
- Now there are benches at almost every tee box
Cons: - Hole 3 may be close to impossible to get a birdie with a good drive off the tee. There are 3 trees right in front of you, leaving about the space of 2 discs to get through.
- Hole 4 is probably a par 3.5, easy birdie if you just hit your line
- No tee signs but they are about to put them in
- The front 9 was good, but the back 9 was very open and simple, especially from 14-18. OB can make them tough, but they are still wide straight shots right to the basket.
- No next tee signs, a non-local might not find many tee boxes
- In the summer, the wooded fairways are covered in plants, making it hard to find discs.
- Not always open to play
- Some of the basket placements could be more creative (for example 12, the basket is tucked in left on flat ground, but you could but the basket on top of the hill so you are near the lake).
- Some fairways are close to other fairways
Other Thoughts: Overall thoughts (for all of the 10 categories, each is worth 0.5 points towards the rating)
Quality of tee pads - 0.5 - There are really nice paved tee pads on almost every hole
Quality of signage - 0 - There will be tee signs soon, but right now there are not tee signs or next tee signs, making each tee very hard to find.
Course Amenities - 0.5 - There are benches at most tees and a bunch of garbage cans on the course
Park Amenities - 0.5 - There are bathrooms and it is also a summer camp so there are other things there other than disc golf
Overall use of available terrain features - 0.5 - The designers used what they had to work with well for about 15 of the holes, other than 14, 15, 16, and 17, the designers placed holes exactly where they should have been
Changes in elevation - 0.5 - There are so many uphill, downhill, and straight shots. Tons of elevation changes
Variety of hole length - 0.5 - With a par 62, there has to be lots of par 4's or par 5's meaning long holes. But there are also a lot of short and technical holes, meaning that there is a lot of hole length variety
Tee and basket options - 0 - There is only one basket position and tee box per hole
Signature hole - 0 - Some say that 18 is a signature hole, but I really think that it isn't all you have to do is throw 3 long and straight shots, and then tap in for an easy birdie
Fun factor - 0.5 - Did I have fun? Yes, I did. There is a combination of bomber holes and ace opportunities, making you use most discs in your bag.
Final Rating - 3.5


0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 Potential but not quite there

2-4    3/23/2016   3/23/2016
Review By: kindableu
Played: 68  Reviewed: 13
Pros: -Front 9
-Nice elevation use
-Nice use of water hazards
-So many benches!
Cons: -Lot of hard turns, bring your favorite utility discs
-Some tees and fairways are pretty close to each other
-Back 9 has a few just wide open holes in a field, let down after the more technical front 9 in the woods
-Really needs tee signs, player a couple of holes in completely the wrong direction
Other Thoughts: This could be a great course but its not quite there yet. Really needs better navigation assistance and the back 9 really take a step back.

 Fun Little Gem for New Jersey

1    11/1/2015   11/1/2015
Review By: whitefedora
Played: 339  Reviewed: 27  Exp: 9.8 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: - This is a neat course that has an outstanding group of regulars.
- varying mix of long and short holes, open and tight, and shot selection. One of the holes is a tight 754' slight hyzer through trees with a guarded basket.
- uses the elevation it has well with some definite ups and downs.
- the rough isn't where you want to be and definitely makes it hard to get out, but it's not "screw it, I'm leaving this disc" or getting yourself beat up like crazy or leave you searching for days. It's a great rough.
- the tight fairways never seemed too tight or unfair, but some were definitely challenging.
- beautiful park(? It's owned by salvation army, but it's not public) er... property. Well mowed where it needs to be mowed.
- nice baskets in new condition
- it's private land and well taken care of and it's free.
- nice tee pad areas. Mix of different styles, but everywhere was level and smooth.
Cons: - open for hard to access hours, but I'm just happy it's open for the public ever since it's on private property.
- some of the basket placements are blah.
- each tee is marked with what number hole it is, but that ends the navigation. No hole lengths either. Bring a map. The links page here has an accurate map with what seems like the right distances.
Other Thoughts: This a great place to enjoy some peace and have a splendid round of golf.

Hole 1- 226' slight tight hyzer in the trees. Perfectly fair and fun
2- 320' with some fun fairway obstacles and a well thought out and designed hole
3- 275' I actually don't remember this hole
4- 421' This hole is deceiving. It goes down a grass road like fairway and the juts up the right in the trees. From the road though you can see hole 5's basket as a super long slight hyzer fairway. Without the signs I played this wrong at first.
5- downhill 460' anny shot. Really fun.
6- back up the hill 225' straight and a bit tight, but not overly by any means.
7- this hole is a beast. 754. 30' wide tops fairway that has a gentle left turn around the 400' mark and starts to go uphill very slightly. The basket is slightly guarded as well. Tough.
8- 340' that pops you on the edge of the woods, but is entirely open, but with the rough riding your right hand side the hole time.
9- my first real beef with the course. It's 521' and basically wide open. At the 425' ish mark is a 90 degree turn where the basket is almost touching the rough. This makes it so that you first have to crush it way out there just so that you can maybe have a look at 100ish foot 2.
10- 315' flat guarded basket with old growth trees making a very clear ceiling.
11- 500' beast that is flat until the end it curls up quite the big hill.
12- starts at the halfway point of the fairway of 11. So you have to walk back down 11's fairway. Kind of annoying. It's straight and flat until the end again. You can see a giant hill and it's not up the hill, but rather towards the bottom way left of the opening. Not nearly as bad as 9 was being close to the rough. This one is fair. Just tough.
13- 280' slight turnover NOT THROUGH the right gap like I thought. It's the bigger fairway on the left, lol
14- 465- with some slight downhill. The basket is kind of tucked, but not really. It's wide open and fair. Just a wee bit boring.
15- 220' open with the exception of one giant tree you have to either hyzer or anny around. Road is OB on all of these next holes. Making it a bit more of a thinker
16- 340' straight. Basket is in the small pocket of large trees. Pretty straight forward, just don't go OB over the road.
17- 454' downhill slightly and the basket is surrounded by OB 50' past and 50' right. But there are some tall pines that help catch and cause the otherwise wide open hole to be more of an accuracy test
18- 900' crusher. The last 200' have a bridge and river you have to throw over and the entire last 150' is littered with trees and has a clear ceiling. Definitely makes your second shot a placement shot. Again road is OB. So the hyzer lane becomes dangerous, but fun and I thought optimal.

All in all really fun and I really want to give it a 3.5, but there are some improvements that need to be made first. Like the navigation and signage.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 The start of a great course

1    10/17/2015   10/18/2015
Review By: SmurfItchy
Played: 62  Reviewed: 9  Exp: 7.4 Years
This review was updated on 10/30/2015
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: I got the opportunity to play this course with the guy who created it. It was really cool to see and hear about each aspect of this course and you could tell he put a lot of thought into it. He told me one of his favorite courses is Nockamixon, which you can see thats where he drew his inspiration in designing this course. The front 9 is in the woods, with a couple of long par 3s where you need to shape your throw and a very long in the woods true par 5. The back 9 is open for the most part ending on a 900 foot use everything you got left down hill par 5. Each hole is different from the last which gives it a new feel and not the same old shot.
Cons: The only two Cons that I can think of to keep this review from a 5 star is the front 9 and signage. With it being still so new there is a lot of brush and stuff that can be cleared off (which sounds like thats in the works). And with there being limited signage right now its hard to navigate for the first time, but it sounds like that will be put in soon. The second with it being at a camp its not always open, but just email or Facebook them. They are extremely nice and will do their best to allow you to get on this course.
Other Thoughts: Overall, this is a really fun new course like a mini Nockamixon. With the great potential of this course, its going to be one of those course people recommend you drive two hours to go and play.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.


Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.