Sheboygan, WI 
Vollrath Park Share
Uploaded By: snappyfingers Hole #14 (Taken 3/2012)
3 / 170ft.   3 / 170ft.   3 / 170ft. Par / Distance:
Hole #14 Tee



Course Rating Distribution
0.0
0.5
1.0
1.5
2.0
2.5
3.0
3.5
4.0
4.5
5.0

Reviews: 36
Avg. Rating:
Clear FiltersFilter/Sort
Reviews between: and Sort By:
Exp. (in years): Played: Reviewed: Only Trusted Reviewers
  
< Prev 1 2 3 4
What a great course

2-4    6/9/2018   11/6/2018
Review By: northernfrolfer
Played: 8  Reviewed: 8  Exp: 10.5 Years
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: great condition, practice putting basket, great signs, good mix of holes that forces you to use a variety of shots, baskets are in great shape, it's up kept very well
Cons: i didn't really have any issues,
Other Thoughts: it's a very fun course that will challenge you to use creativity and multiple types of shots. I played the hole by the lake like a sally but I didn't feel so bad when I walked past a group standing by it waiting on a member who was out swimming in the lake to find his disc. Honestly it is a very fun course to play and for the most part every hole is easy to find.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

A True Piece of History

1    8/26/2018   8/30/2018
Review By: MrFrosty
Played: 511  Reviewed: 136  Exp: 26.6 Years
3 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This course is generally considered the oldest course in Wisconsin ( UW campus-Plattville ? ) and should be treated as a treasure , whether it is or not . The course has been around since 1980 , but the course is taken very seriously , especially by the locals . You can pull up and park on the street ( I didn't see any parking lot in the park ) right next to hole 1 , which is where you want to be , anyway . There is a pro shop right next to a putting basket and hole #1 which they say is loaded with discs for sale ( I was there too early in the morning and it wasn't open ) . I had a course map that I printed off , but if you follow the locals , who are there at all hours of the morning and evening and ask them , they will put you on the right track . I threw my putter at a straightaway 1st hole 196' , which might have been a mistake , realizing the there is a quick and large dropoff starting at about 202' . Time to start descending . After putting out , you turn left og the basket to the next approach and immediately see several baskets within you vision . I threw at the wrong one and had to return to the tee after a local pointed it out . 2 plays tight against the woods and brush on your right . After getting my bearings straight I went to #3 . Several holes on this course utilize a pretty deep ravine that sits in the middle of the course . The mostly short holes from 1-12 make you appreciate what disc golf was like in the age of hard plastic and few discrepancies between a driver , a midrange and a putter . The holes may be very short but many of the basket placements are in tricky spots and may have you reaching in your bag for something straight , tight or hyzer right ( terrible rhyme ) . Sorry . Anyway , Some drastic elevation throws , like #12 , which is a short hyzer that drops off the table to a green that has road and some sort of construction behind it . A lot of touch shots go into these first 12 holes which make it a lot of fun . Once you get to the bottom of the course , you will only stay down there long enough to throw a 320' to a basket that sits hidden and protected on the left and has Lake Michigan on your right . Don't worry , your disc will not bathe in it unless you hit a high wind AND you mishandle the BeJesus out of your drive . You throw out of this big lower land on your next shot , #14 which is straight up and out on your right 170' , which you must put about 270' of torque to get it to the basket . 15 - 18 should put you on mostly level ground except teeing off on a hill on 17 and throwing across the ravine on #18 , probably the longest hole on the course . These last 4 holes would be the only time you might pull out your driver , depending on how much arm you have . My signature hole was #17 , a blind shot over the medium sized trees that breaks left , that could cause you some stress because the basket has the ravine almost right behind it . The course boasts multiple pin positions , 1 cement tee pad per hole and the chain baskets are in solid shape . The tee signs are descriptive and in great shape ( I liked the signage a lot ) . The course is well taken care of , and whether you are a strong tournament player , or a Sunday morning thrower or newbie . you should be assured of a fun round . If you live in Wisconsin , APPRECIATE IT . If you are passing through , PLAY IT .
Cons: Only a couple of cons to talk about . I am not going to pick at a lack of benches or trash cans for this course, or that it plays short , because of it being a 1980 course and it is pretty landlocked in this small park .#1 The underbrush on this course , especially in or near the ravine could have you spending tim that you might not have looking for your errant throw . #2 The course can crowd up quickly , and the course plays so tight that a poor drive may clip some poor player in the leg or back . #3 Use the locals sense of direction or hope that your map skills are up to the task when throwing at the first several baskets , or you may have to retee when you find out you were throwing at #4s basket from #2s tee .
Other Thoughts: While out , I saw the real people enjoying the disc golf game . Pretty good playing Sheboyganites , 3rd shift workers drinking beer between holes with their coworkers , guys with their girlfriends , players with puppies ( Don't pee on my bag , bowser , or you will get an Innova enema ) . Just kidding . Make a day of it and couple it with Jaycee , but play this one for sure . A real piece of the past to enjoy

3 of 3 people found this review helpful.

  Good Course

5+    8/27/2017   8/28/2017
Review By: CGraves148
Played: 24  Reviewed: 1
2 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: Good for powerful players to practice there putter drives and Good technical course in the front 9. The back 9 is more open distance holes. Good course with a lot of natural OB.
Cons: Woods are very punishing if you go in. Hard to find discs in the woods.

2 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Challenging and Fun Short Course

5+    6/25/2015   1/6/2016
Review By: Spike Hyzer 23
Played: 92  Reviewed: 88  Exp: 26.2 Years
This review was updated on 1/18/2016
1 Helpful / 2 Not
Pros: This short course announces its challenge on the 195 foot 1st hole by forcing you not to go 10 feet past unless you want to go down into a 35 foot ravine (3 of my tournament foursome did so, and I was glad to be short and get a par while they all bogied). The fun continues with a blind 2nd, a surprisingly technical 3rd and 4th.

The elevated tee on the 5th tricks you into over shooting its 161 feet, just as you will under estimate the 6th as it goes dramatically up at the end of 145 feet.

The course simply continues in this fashion throughout, challenging the player with elevation and highly technical shots going right, left and straight (the short 11 uphill is hard to reach, and 13 runs magnificently along Lake Michigan and the locals play that you don't get a penalty if you throw out with your opposite hand, which save me a tournament stroke!). 14 is another demanding short uphill, and I could go on and on about this great little course.

It's no wonder Barry Schultz honed his short game here in his youth.

PS--The tee signs are among the most accurate in terms of mapping that you will ever see, which helps on a short course with so many blind greens. And, despite being a course in a city park, they do manage to throw in a few long holes that don't interfere with the course flow, the rest of the multi-use park, or nearby residences.
It's just a brilliant design.
Cons: I do not see a con. It may not be a big bomber's course, but it will befuddle them and kids, older players, and ams can all beat the top pros here if they aren't 100% on their games.
Other Thoughts: I played one of my first Am events here and was 19th after one round out of 80 players, then shot the hot round of the day (beating all the pros) to move up to 5th.

1 of 3 people found this review helpful.

 Oldie but still holds up as fun

2-4    8/9/2014   8/10/2014
Review By: smatthew854
Played: 22  Reviewed: 13  Exp: 18.4 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: This is a well marked course in a very nice park. Pro shop actually on course too, something I haven't seen much of at any of the other courses around here.
This is the oldest course in Wisconsin and you can tell. Many of the holes are very short by current standards. As such you will find yourself using mid range discs for all but the last 6 holes.
This course plays over a ravine for many holes. As such there are plenty of elevation changes making many holes feel much closer than they actually are.
You also have several blind shots that curve to the right which adds a level of difficulty for RHBH throwers like myself. Something needed as the holes are very short otherwise.
Even with the lake right next to you there is no true water hazard. As the only hole you travel along the lake would take a terrible errant throw to put in in the lake. The bigger hazard is all the trees you will most likely hit along the way on all the holes.
Cons: On many holes the pin is within 30 feet of the next tee. Making the tee easy to find, but also means when you tee off you are in danger of hitting the next group all the time. Because it is quite the busy park.
You need to play with a group and pay attention to where the discs land. If you don't make the fairway and hit the wooded rough it is quite easy to spend 5 minutes or more looking for your discs.
Other Thoughts: Well worth the trip to play the oldest course in the State. Just remember that when a course is that old it was designed at a time where all anyone had was a putter so expect the short shots and a more control oriented game.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 WI's oldest

1    6/28/2014   7/2/2014
Review By: wolfhaley
Played: 408  Reviewed: 241  Exp: 15.5 Years
2 Helpful / 0 Not
Pros: The course is set in a popular park alongside Lake Michigan. There are nice level concrete tees on each hole. The baskets are Mach 3's that are all in good shape and caught nicely. Multiple pin placements on most if not all the holes I believe. There are a lot of trees throughout the course. Also the elevation is pretty awesome here. There are a bunch of up and downhill and even across valley shots. This is what really makes this course so good. There are also stairs and steps going up and down many of the steeper hills to aid in getting around. The tee signs here serve their purpose just fine. They have the hole number, basic hole map, par, distances and any alternate pin locations. Hole 13 plays along the lake shore which is pretty cool (and smelly). There is The Shack right by hole 1 which has a good selection of discs. This is very cool and rare for a public course. The course was surprisingly clean for how busy it gets. Also everything was well mowed.
Cons: The course gets extremely busy. There can be long waits and rounds will potentially take longer than expected. Also a bunch of the holes run right next to each other, in fact most do. This is the most dangerous course I've seen in this regard. A little confusing in a few spots for first timers with many tees and baskets being very close. Nothing too major just be aware of it.
Other Thoughts: This is WI's oldest course so it wasn't originally designed for todays discs. Even with that being said it plays just as good today as I'm sure it did back in the day. This is a really, really fun course. There's also a number of other course within a half hour or so making it a good area to play some nice courses. This is a good one though that I'd recommend to any skill level player.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful.

 Very cool old school course

5+    10/15/2013   11/15/2013
Review By: Stardoggy
Played: 528  Reviewed: 213  Exp: 8.2 Years
This review was updated on 12/26/2015
3 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: This is an old school course, with 18 holes somewhat jammed into a city park, on the shore of Lake Michigan. The course offers one set of concrete tees and multiple pin placements on most holes.

Holes 1-4, 7, and 9 are packed together on a moderately wooded section of the park and can get a bit hairy when there are a lot of people are there.

Holes 5, 6, 8, 10, 11, and 18 play back and forth across a large ravine, which adds in quite a bit of elevation, with 18 being about 350' and going fully across the ravine. Lake Michigan breezes can wreak havoc on your shots here, so be careful!

12-17 play back around the backside of the park, with a bit of elevation mixed in (12, 14). Most of the holes are pretty straightforward, with many having a defined line. Hole 13 plays right along Lake Michigan, which makes for a great backdrop.
Cons: This course is 18 decent holes packed into a small space. This is the oldest course in WI, so it was designed long before warp speed drivers, so it's hard to ding it too much.

Traffic. This place gets BUSY...and being right in the middle of town, a lot of that traffic is teenyboppers. Now, I will say that most of the kids are well mannered and polite (and some decent shots, to boot). But there are a large amount of kids who could care less about the people around them, and basically do whatever the hell they want. On a normal day you'll find kids bopping around holes in no particular order, and I certainly wouldn't leave my bag unattended here...definitely a shady element to the place when it's busy.
Other Thoughts: This really is a nice little course, especially if you can hit it on an early Saturday morning with nobody else around.

The Shack, which is the pro shop on site, is filled with great people and a decent selection of discs, bags, and other gear. Lots of Innova and a little bit of other brands.

Ample street parking is available, and there's other activities on site. You'll often see kid's sports going on in the bowl, or high school aged kids playing Ultimate. There's also a nice park and pavilion.

Overall, good solid course in a nice setting...especially if you can get there during non-peak times.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful.

 Very Fun Park Setting

1    8/9/2013   8/14/2013
Review By: discochad
Played: 18  Reviewed: 5
0 Helpful / 1 Not
Pros: A LOT of variety. Woods, elevation changes, and even a hole along Lake Michigan.

Some interesting basket placement - hidden in smaller areas.

Quite a few aceable holes with good throws - no gimmees.

Decent variety of length as well. More discs in your bag can be played.

Tee pads well marked and maintained.

On site pro shop was a pleasant surprise and the person staffing it was very helpful in giving some advise/direction for first time players.

FREE course - even with scorecards.
Cons: A little confusion on where to go next after a few holes, even trying to follow the scorecard. Fortunately there were enough players out to help us find our way really quick.

Par seems high on quite a few holes. I'd play the course as a straight par 3 - even though they have many holes marked as 4s.
Other Thoughts: Make sure you know where the basket is before you throw. Some hole's baskets can be mistaken for others. I would definitely play this course more times if/when I'm back in the area. Love finding free courses like this one.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful.

 My First Love

5+    6/26/2013   7/30/2013
Review By: kevinmeves
Played: 8  Reviewed: 3  Exp: 38.4 Years
0 Helpful / 7 Not
Pros: Great elevation changes, 18 unique holes, great location, pro shop on site
Cons: Very crowded (popular), neighboring park sometimes interferes with play.
Other Thoughts: This was the first course I ever played and spent the majority of my summers here as a child.

0 of 7 people found this review helpful.

 Crowded

1    7/7/2013   7/26/2013
Review By: 2chainz
Played: 4  Reviewed: 3
0 Helpful / 4 Not
Pros: Fun elevation changes and is easily maneuvered; there is many places to practice up and down hill shots that are not normally found in city courses.
Cons: Sooooooo crowded; i felt like i was ontop of another golfer at all timers and some times i had to thread the disc around people let alone the course design. And it wasnt anything too fancy and short for my taste.

0 of 4 people found this review helpful.

< Prev 1 2 3 4

Join Disc Golf Course Review for free to add your review. Have an account already? Sign In to add a review.